You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 13-05-2010, 07:54 PM   #121
TheZHLANE

fg is ugly and has a bubble but
TheZHLANE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-05-2010, 08:37 PM   #122
JimNiki
71Mach1

Originally Posted by rag top
Not the Eleanor crap.... the original style was better
I'm sure you're aware of the original 1973 Eleanor.
Gone in 60 seconds (the original), the car chase goes for like 40 minutes!

The car was a 71 mustang 429 with a 73 front on it to make it look newer.
(As you may know, with the petrol shortage issues (arab embargo) of 72 and insurance costs skyrocketing, pressure was put on all auto manufacturers to cut the horses and pollution for 73 onwards. For this reason in 73 the most powerful motor was a 275 hp low comp 351 clevo with anti pollution. This is why they used a 71 car. If you haven't seen it, watch it... it's outdated but still entertaining.
violets are #0000FF
all my base
are belong to you
JimNiki is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-05-2010, 12:20 AM   #123

Originally Posted by jeep_by_ford
Yep pretty much, otherwise they wouldnt have changed it
The XY was a tough looking car but they changed it to XA. It's called evolution! The fact they changed so little when they went from EA to EB is testament to the EA's design. They didn't have to thoroughly change the entire front and rear ends (XA-XC for example) on each successive model because it looked very good in the first place. Before the EA was released, they took one over to Europe (or might have been a scale model of it) with no badges and got other designers to guess what it was. Many thought it was an Audi!

Old 14-05-2010, 06:45 AM   #124
89.SVO

Originally Posted by Double Se7en
Au falcons are pretty disgusting IMO but the Au fairlane on the other hand is nice as hell. When im finished the Zh the Au is next on the list.

Au fairlane + bags + 13inch daytons + continental tire kit = badass
you sir are a moron. kinda hard to fit 13" wheels when the minimum on a AU 1 is 14". and AU2 and 3 is 16"
89.SVO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-05-2010, 07:34 AM   #125

haha, I knew Dezza would come in and defend the EA

(no offence bud)
Old 14-05-2010, 09:09 AM   #126

Originally Posted by PepeLePew
What a interesting thread...I've often said new cars have no character, including my turbo. It had style, but little character. It was fast, but it was clinically fast. It doesnt rock, or roll, nothing falls off, it had NO rattles to speak of. It was equipped with a nice polictically correct quiet exhaust from factory. I can jump in it every day, and it wont break.

I miss the involvement 'character' gives with the car. I miss a car thats in your face. I miss a car that you NEED to get up close and personal with under the bonnet. I miss a car that ROARS down the road rather than whooshs. I miss a car that doesnt have trac ctrl/ ESC, whatever, so I can get in whatever trouble I want, when I want.

And I miss a car that looks like humans bolted it together.

The answers in this thread will be all individual, but thats what to me differentiates the old from the new, the character laden from todays slick offerings.
best post in thread. im yet to own a car with character. the ED came close but never got there. it was too well looked after before i got it.

the AU is now sick, but as you put it, clinically sick. one day ill get something old!!!
Old 14-05-2010, 09:18 AM   #127

Originally Posted by WILDEB
you sir are a moron. kinda hard to fit 13" wheels when the minimum on a AU 1 is 14". and AU2 and 3 is 16"
try 15" on Au1
Old 14-05-2010, 09:34 AM   #128
StrokedXT

Originally Posted by Dezza
The XY was a tough looking car but they changed it to XA. It's called evolution! The fact they changed so little when they went from EA to EB is testament to the EA's design. They didn't have to thoroughly change the entire front and rear ends (XA-XC for example) on each successive model because it looked very good in the first place. Before the EA was released, they took one over to Europe (or might have been a scale model of it) with no badges and got other designers to guess what it was. Many thought it was an Audi!
Not sure how that changes the fact the EA looked cheap and the changes made to it in EB form made a huge difference to the overall appearance of the car.

The fact they changed so little from EA to EB is testament to the fact it was still a fairly new design and money was tight, hence no need for an all new model after a short period of time.
StrokedXT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-05-2010, 09:49 AM   #129

dont be too quick to call someone a moron when you dont know what you're talking about

you do realise that for the mexican look they offset them out.......massively.......they dont need to fit over the brakes

have seen 13's on an NC....i know for a fact 14's is the minimum that will fit over the brakes...
Old 14-05-2010, 10:29 AM   #130

Originally Posted by jeep_by_ford
Not sure how that changes the fact the EA looked cheap and the changes made to it in EB form made a huge difference to the overall appearance of the car.

The fact they changed so little from EA to EB is testament to the fact it was still a fairly new design and money was tight, hence no need for an all new model after a short period of time.
The EA was around for 3-4 years before the EB update in mid '91, & the boxcar shape remained until '94 (6-7 years). Not exactly a short period of time.
Old 14-05-2010, 06:12 PM   #131
samftr

yep my ef was a 94 model, ah that was a good car..

Felcen!
samftr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-05-2010, 06:43 PM   #132
JimNiki
71Mach1

What are you trying to say It takes many to make a car culture. Id much prefer my character fillled AU then a Kelvinator inspired BA. As for the manure comment says alot about your IQ level. The AU bashing gets a bit old
my apologies ...It won't happen again...Jim.
violets are #0000FF
all my base
are belong to you
JimNiki is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-05-2010, 10:02 PM   #133
rag top

Originally Posted by JimNiki
I'm sure you're aware of the original 1973 Eleanor.
Gone in 60 seconds (the original), the car chase goes for like 40 minutes!
I have my own copy and love that car chase. That was the original Eleanor... and the car wash scene was hilarious!
Old 15-05-2010, 07:38 AM   #134

Its all in a persons personal opinion, I am not a fan of new cars in fact newer than XC and its just transport to me, but thats not to say I dont respect a person for being obcessed with XF's or AU's or what ever if your passionate about your car we are on the same page

Old 16-05-2010, 07:54 PM   #135
89.SVO

Originally Posted by LUXO_8
dont be too quick to call someone a moron when you dont know what you're talking about

you do realise that for the mexican look they offset them out.......massively.......they dont need to fit over the brakes

have seen 13's on an NC....i know for a fact 14's is the minimum that will fit over the brakes...
well the offset would just look hideous and illegal
Old 16-05-2010, 07:55 PM   #136
89.SVO

Originally Posted by HLC
try 15" on Au1
um no. there is a AU in my town with 14" XF Fairmont alloys
Old 16-05-2010, 08:29 PM   #137

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

well the offset would just look hideous and illegal
It actually looks awesome, and who cares if its a defect?

Old 16-05-2010, 08:35 PM   #138
Ryan

Personally anything after 1988 isn't really my cup of tea. In saying that I actually prefer the Falcons made after 88 through the 90s compared to the Commodores from that time.

VB-VL. Absolutely love them. Looks are a very subjective thing though. People who grew up in the 30s, 40s, 50s probably thought cars like the XU1, Phase 3, SLR5000, R/T Charger had no style, or character when they were new.

I guess it's a generation thing, and what you grew up with. In most cases anyway.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2010, 08:42 PM   #139
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

Few people in this thread need to contain themselves.....no need to shove your opinions down others throats or slam the opinions of others when they conflict with your own....lets keep it civil and on topic.
PepeLePew is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2010, 08:49 PM   #140
Ryan

It's not something I would drive, but I've gotta admit that looks pretty cool. Different.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2010, 08:57 PM   #141

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

A grownup I suspect.
Falcon Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2010, 08:57 PM   #142

It actually looks awesome

Im speechless!
Old 16-05-2010, 09:10 PM   #143
89.SVO

Originally Posted by Ryan
It's not something I would drive, but I've gotta admit that looks pretty cool. Different.
ewwwwwwwwwwwwww. that looks effing horrible
Old 16-05-2010, 09:15 PM   #144

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
A grownup I suspect.
lol, so there are no 40 year olds driving around with defectable cars?

Old 16-05-2010, 09:48 PM   #145

isnt it marvelous that there are different styles and tastes for everyone....

id rather diversity than everyone liking the same thing, otherwise we would all be driving stock white camrys
Old 16-05-2010, 11:00 PM   #146

I reckon you cant beat AU2/3 XR's and T series falcons. To this day, the styling hasn't dated to the same extent of the B series. The sexy curves, quad headlamps, curvy interior, just nice! I really don't know what Ford were thinking when they designed the interior of the FG. Those door trims are awful and remind me of a car made in the 90's. Apart from the utes, the FG looks good to me, but not enough to want me to trade the BF on. I would like my AU2 XR back though!
duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-05-2010, 02:35 AM   #147
Fled74
The Thread Killa

Someone mentioned something about the Mazda3 having "character".

I couldn't resist.

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." - Aristotle
Fled74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-05-2010, 06:06 AM   #148

The cars that I can think of that have the most character now, are Camaro, Ford Flex, Mini and Ferrari California. I think the retro styling can bring back character to cars. I would like a modern retro car inspired by the 1962 Eldorado convertible.
Old 17-05-2010, 07:42 AM   #149
89.SVO

Originally Posted by LUXO_8
isnt it marvelous that there are different styles and tastes for everyone....

id rather diversity than everyone liking the same thing, otherwise we would all be driving stock white camrys
sorry. i don't like camry's
Old 17-05-2010, 08:53 AM   #150

Originally Posted by STANI
fg is ugly and has a bubble but

Wash your mouth out.

I think the T series front ends looked awesome.

BTW that horrid abomination of a DC LTD should be killed. In LA there's heaps of hispanics that drive with those ghey wheels and all of them look stoopid. We shouldn't bring that garbage here, it should be stopped at customs and the owner prosecuted for crimes against style.