Old 12-06-2011, 08:28 PM   #121
DanielXR8

Default Re: Who is more Australian Holden or Ford?

Originally Posted by SSV Redline
I think both Ford and Holden have etched a place in our Aussie culture and in our Aussie history. Nobody can change that. The rivalry has done alot to help keep both brands in the spot light. In the future however brands will give way to concepts and that means the name Ford and the name Holden will be pushed into the background. A popular modification is the de-badging of cars and more and more models are being released with less and less badging. There will come a time when a Ford will only be recognised as such because of the blue oval.
All true, conversely the badging on Holden and Fords are getting bigger and bigger. The badge on a Falcon today is the same size as what use to only be on a truck once. Its interesting to see what was big enough when they reintroduced the more traditional oval Ford badge on the XC Falcon and compare that with what the FG now carries.

Holdens badge on Commodore and Cruze is now so big, they might as well make it the bonnet pressing and be done with it.

Dan
DanielXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2011, 08:38 PM   #122

The Camry is 99% a Japanese design, at least the Falcon and Commodore are designed here.
It seems I really need to work on my sarcasm.
SteveJH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2011, 09:05 PM   #123
imperial

Well I have many friends, and I just can’t believe how sucked in they are regarding America’s [obama] owned Holden.
It seems that unless you drive a Holden you are crap co’s Holden are the great Australian car, this is the biggest propaganda this country has ever produced and people are so bloody week mined that they would believe any bit of BS. When I hear the stupidity that comes out of their mouths my immediate thought is of ‘Hitler “and how easy his evil propaganda worked.
To me cars are all the same they all have good points, bad points and faults, hence that’s why we have great forums like this to help each other out with car issues.
I would NEVER EVER buy a Holden, I do not like to be fooled or deliberately lied too, if Holden didn’t claim that it is Australian I would have no issues with them at all.
So it just goes to show propaganda can sometimes back fire...
Holden’s are full blooded American
imperial is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2011, 10:00 PM   #124
venthan87

I would say Holden because Australia is more closely founded on British terms, where, obviously, Holden originates. However I still think Fords are better.
venthan87 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2011, 11:08 PM   #125
steve851

Originally Posted by ThaFlash
another thing to consider regarding the ops original post....

the younger generation seem to have the finger on the pulse as one generation of p platers after the other drive vn-vx models, very few ea-au models in comparisson unless its an ex cab, another ugly scar on the australian ford motor company's image
yeah i agree the younger generation do have their fingers on their pulses, but its not the one on their wrists. As for Vn-Vx holdens is it not true that the v6 engine from them is a buick designed engine (not Aussie designed) and the alloytech engine is also an American designed engine, unlike the Falcons I6 engine
steve851 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2011, 11:22 PM   #126

Originally Posted by steve851
yeah i agree the younger generation do have their fingers on their pulses, but its not the one on their wrists.

I think the younger generation (my generation) have moved away from Falcons and Commodores in general. There are certain subsets that stick to the big Aussie cars - mainly the bogans and country kids - but a huge chunk of today's P-platers are now in more fuel efficient and trendy cars like Subarus and Mitsubishis. Where the panel van once had a following, the crew-cab 4X4 ute has taken it's place. You'd sooner get the mickey taken out of you for buying a Commo/Falc than praise because they're just not cool anymore, the culture has changed.

Sure it seems like every male P-plater is in a big Aussie car but they probably just stick out because most of them are tastelessly modified and drifting around corners.
Old 13-06-2011, 10:13 AM   #127
big_landau

Originally Posted by Ford_The_Win

I think the younger generation (my generation) have moved away from Falcons and Commodores in general. There are certain subsets that stick to the big Aussie cars - mainly the bogans and country kids - but a huge chunk of today's P-platers are now in more fuel efficient and trendy cars like Subarus and Mitsubishis. Where the panel van once had a following, the crew-cab 4X4 ute has taken it's place. You'd sooner get the mickey taken out of you for buying a Commo/Falc than praise because they're just not cool anymore, the culture has changed.

Sure it seems like every male P-plater is in a big Aussie car but they probably just stick out because most of them are tastelessly modified and drifting around corners.
this is why the new fpv/hsv cars will never be collectable like the the muscle car era,the young people basicly have no interest in the new cars at all.
big_landau is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2011, 02:40 PM   #128
Buntz
Straight Eight

Originally Posted by au11futura
ford invented the first aussie ute.
/end of thread
Old 13-06-2011, 02:58 PM   #129

Originally Posted by Buntz93ED
/end of thread
not really, because it was based off an american design - pretty much like all of ford australia's and general motors australia's cars
Old 13-06-2011, 03:05 PM   #130
Buntz
Straight Eight

Originally Posted by gtxb67
not really, because it was based off an american design - pretty much like all of ford australia's and general motors australia's cars
It was made using an existing car, by an Australian designer, specifically for an Australian market.

The ute is Aussie, and Ford built it first.
Old 13-06-2011, 09:44 PM   #131
Falcman0o7

since 1972 the falcon was ours. designed and built right here.

Just about all holdens are re-badged global bitsas yet claim to be 100% aus.

Soooooo annoying. Look at the captiva! global. territory, aus.
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2011, 09:46 PM   #132
Falcman0o7

Originally Posted by imperial
Well I have many friends, and I just can’t believe how sucked in they are regarding America’s [obama] owned Holden.
It seems that unless you drive a Holden you are crap co’s Holden are the great Australian car, this is the biggest propaganda this country has ever produced and people are so bloody week mined that they would believe any bit of BS. When I hear the stupidity that comes out of their mouths my immediate thought is of ‘Hitler “and how easy his evil propaganda worked.
To me cars are all the same they all have good points, bad points and faults, hence that’s why we have great forums like this to help each other out with car issues.
I would NEVER EVER buy a Holden, I do not like to be fooled or deliberately lied too, if Holden didn’t claim that it is Australian I would have no issues with them at all.
So it just goes to show propaganda can sometimes back fire...
Holden’s are full blooded American

So spot on mate. Very very true...
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2011, 10:01 PM   #133

It was made using an existing car, by an Australian designer, specifically for an Australian market.

The ute is Aussie, and Ford built it first.
true, i am being picky here, but while the ute is an australian design, i don't see any 1934 ford vehicle as australian

but then i do not see my coupe as an australian car either. while in a similar way to the 34 ute, it is an australian design, the car in my view was just a cross between a torino and a mustang

i know i am being picky, but it is my way of saying neither ford aus or gm aus are australian companies - of course it is all down to interpretation of what makes an a vehicle's origins belong to a particular country, but to me it is where the model first started, not where it was modified to suit local markets
Old 13-06-2011, 10:01 PM   #134

Originally Posted by Ford_The_Win
The series 1 engines were imported but series 2 onwards Aussie made. Just to clarify. And because I have nothing better to do on a Saturday night.
more accurately re manufactured..

centre the crank shaft as it was offset, drill the block and fit balance shaft to try and smooth it.
redo the entire valley cover to stop some cylinders running rich and lean on others.
Old 13-06-2011, 10:50 PM   #135
stevz

Originally Posted by Falcman0o7
since 1972 the falcon was ours. designed and built right here.
Yeah, don't you just love those "unique" Australian designs....

stevz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-06-2011, 11:10 PM   #136

Originally Posted by stevz
It's called a design language, or corporate theme.

At least they didn't FULLY copy an "Opel Rekord", put their own badge on it and call it Australia's own.
Old 14-06-2011, 04:50 AM   #137

Wasnt the XA falcon designed in a US studio too?
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-06-2011, 06:00 AM   #138
landau460
BA MK2 GT

Was just thinking there have been two major car manufacturers perceived in this country and there are two major political parties in this country then why not move the names liberal and labour out and slot in Ford and Holden. I'd at least know what im voting for!

Vote 1 for Ford at the top of the ballet paper we'll driive you further

Fords I've owned

80 escort panelvan, 73 Landau, 73 xa fairmont, 74 Landau, 75 Landau, 75xb falcon, 67 falcon, 80 xd falcon, 94 ed falcon, 05 mk2 GT
landau460 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-06-2011, 02:03 PM   #139
Buntz
Straight Eight

Originally Posted by gtxb67
true, i am being picky here, but while the ute is an australian design, i don't see any 1934 ford vehicle as australian

but then i do not see my coupe as an australian car either. while in a similar way to the 34 ute, it is an australian design, the car in my view was just a cross between a torino and a mustang

i know i am being picky, but it is my way of saying neither ford aus or gm aus are australian companies - of course it is all down to interpretation of what makes an a vehicle's origins belong to a particular country, but to me it is where the model first started, not where it was modified to suit local markets
The ute is characterised as being Australian. And it was designed by an Australian working for Ford of Australia. Whether it was a 34 coupe or not. Ford created the Australian icon. Ergo, more Australian than GM.

There is no getting away from this.
Old 14-06-2011, 05:47 PM   #140

Originally Posted by stevz

Drawing an extremely long bow with the EB.
Old 14-06-2011, 07:49 PM   #141

The ute is characterised as being Australian. And it was designed by an Australian working for Ford of Australia. Whether it was a 34 coupe or not. Ford created the Australian icon. Ergo, more Australian than GM.

There is no getting away from this.
So the Americans coped their El Camino's and Ranchero's from Ford Aus?
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-06-2011, 08:04 PM   #142

Drawing an extremely long bow with the EB.
I agree. Firstly, the Granada, Crown Vic, the US Fairmont, Falcon and Cortinas of that era all look similar - it was a corporate Ford look.

Secondly, the Falcon and the Scorpio share a similar front-end design but that is where the similarities end. The Scorpio is much more awkward and European-looking than the EA-ED Falcons.
Old 15-06-2011, 09:01 AM   #143
banarcus
hmm eyebrows

Who cares which is more Australian? Not the car buying public anyway, who are deserting the "Aussie" large car in droves and buying smaller cars or SUVs.
Old 15-06-2011, 04:56 PM   #144
big_landau

Originally Posted by banarcus
Who cares which is more Australian? Not the car buying public anyway, who are deserting the "Aussie" large car in droves and buying smaller cars or SUVs.
yep sad but true,90% of the young people i talk to want something cheap on fuel and cheap to run,thats all they have to say and thats as far as the conversation goes.they dont even go as far as saying a make or model.
Old 15-06-2011, 05:43 PM   #145
350125GO
67 Galaxie Hardtop

Originally Posted by big_landau
yep sad but true,90% of the young people i talk to want something cheap on fuel and cheap to run,thats all they have to say and thats as far as the conversation goes.they dont even go as far as saying a make or model.
Tis true, but they get jealous when you rock up to theirs in a big rumbling V8
350125GO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-06-2011, 06:22 PM   #146
big_landau

Originally Posted by 350125GO
Tis true, but they get jealous when you rock up to theirs in a big rumbling V8
yes thats priceless
Old 15-06-2011, 07:23 PM   #147
RAREV8
Previously ScottishXC

Originally Posted by MethodX
Wasnt the XA falcon designed in a US studio too?

The coupe certainly was.....by an English Ford designer, in the same studio as the similar looking CJ-CM Valiants!

Gilesie
XAGTCoupe
Pilch
Aussie_afroman
Donut King
Bad Boy Benny
BAWITHLOT
Greenmachine
CUZ351
OhioXB
Falconunbelievable
4VXC
Uncleraggy

FG G6 Ego, tech pack, Tropic gold 1973 Landau, Cosmic blue 1975 P5 LTD....long term project
Im just bored of the single/narrow minded...
RAREV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-06-2011, 07:37 PM   #148

Originally Posted by big_landau
yes thats priceless
It's a pity that they think youre a horrible bastard for killing all the little fwuffy animals with your awful monster carbon belcher.

I just laugh at them while revving my V8. Arrgghh! All the cute bunnies are dying
SSD-85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-06-2011, 07:46 PM   #149

Originally Posted by RAREV8
The coupe certainly was.....by an English Ford designer, in the same studio as the similar looking CJ-CM Valiants!
Yes it was I had a chat to Wayne Draper ex Ford designer in the later years who knew this bloke who also pushed the idea and designed the Landau ...... only because he took some pics of mine and sent them over to him as he still has a soft spot for them and lives in England. Was an interesting discussion about the way the Landau came about .....

Old 15-06-2011, 07:57 PM   #150
big_landau

Originally Posted by Scotty85
It's a pity that they think youre a horrible bastard for killing all the little fwuffy animals with your awful monster carbon belcher.

I just laugh at them while revving my V8. Arrgghh! All the cute bunnies are dying
donst building a new car make more pollution/carbon footprint than if you run a old school v8 for 20 years?dunno if its true or not but thats what i have heard.