You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-03-2012, 11:09 AM   #121

Default Re: When does Plastic become Classic?

Originally Posted by falconator
obviously a few boxes must be ticked to a constitute a classic,and it would be hard to predict for the future without a crystal ball.My old man took his split windscreen kombi to the wreckers and i think they gave him 50 bucks for it,in the 80s.Now they are highly sort after.
I knew of a bloke that had a wb statesman with near 0 ks on the clock,he just backed it out,then back in,for twenty years.If he was after a investment ,he should have bought something with Bathurst heritage.Hind sight is cheap.
Hind sight is cheap , your right
The main problem lately is sellers assume that something will in years to come be a collectable or rare and are selling in todays money things over inflated
I sold a genuine sandman pvan bout 20 years ago and struggled to $900 and it was a driver,now fast forward 20 years , yeah there worth alot more, but who is to say id still have it, it mite have been crashed, rusted out or even stolen by now
Then add in yearly insurance, rego costs, maintenance costs, the list goes on
People have to add in real world costs, not just a buy 1 price , sell another

If ya bought something old for lets say 5K today, in a year add a grand and a half for costs, then multiply by ten (over ten years)it would owe you 20K
But generally wont be worth that
Old 02-03-2012, 11:25 AM   #122
max_torq
From the Futura

usually a car that has lasted thirty years has an interesting story to tell.
Old 02-03-2012, 09:16 PM   #123
damo76

When does Plastic become Classic? Never....
damo76 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-03-2012, 12:04 AM   #124
XB GS 351 Coupe

Some Plastic is already classic:

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

XB GS 351 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-03-2012, 12:09 AM   #125
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Originally Posted by XB GS 351 Coupe
Some Plastic is already classic:

Very, very nice
1986 XF Fairmont Ghia 4.1L EFI Regency Red, trip computer, venetians - 163Ks
1979 P6 LTD 351, Goldust - 185Ks
1989 Mazda MX5, Red 1.6L, 5sp manual - 102Ks
P6LTD351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-03-2012, 12:14 AM   #126
jixel 78

[QUOTE=pottery beige]i love this old knee slapper....

now.. before all these zeros at the end of GT prices came about and they were regarded as just rusty old bomb falcons...

a)why didnt you buy one..

b)why didnt you buy one..

c)why didnt you buy one..

thats right you more than likely had ample opportunity to enter the GT market but mr softied out.....

its all good to sit back and sook after the fact.. classic....

Hahaha. I like cars. I`m sure youre claypot has plenty of zeros on it mate. Good luck to ya and all the zero counters pumping up its tyres.
jixel 78 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-03-2012, 12:52 AM   #127
f4ll3n

When does plastic become classic?
Should be answered with a real car is a steel car, which is apt for the time this bumper sticker became promiscuous..

Being an Australian Ford forum I take the question to be how do the prospective classics measure up to the XY GT HO Phase III (270kw/1530kg)? (Figures vary by reference on the XY, and the car must be an Australian Ford factory manufactured vehicle)

And the two most recent cars that come to mind are the G6ET and Territory Ghia Turbo.
f4ll3n is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-03-2012, 10:19 PM   #128
motorcycles4eva
love the xa's

see thats where you're wrong.. the xy gt ho isn't a classic.. its a fricken animal!!!
different category..lol
motorcycles4eva is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-03-2012, 10:40 PM   #129

Originally Posted by jixel 78
Hahaha. I like cars. I`m sure youre claypot has plenty of zeros on it mate. Good luck to ya and all the zero counters pumping up its tyres.
im no left lane bonnet popper.. to me its just an old bomb falcon.......
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-03-2012, 11:37 PM   #130
I Whiting I
FG XR6 TURBO

Being Born In the 90's ( im 17 ) The car I feel in love with was the XF falcon And ive Had to have one since i was like 10 Just seeing them i thought Man they look So Mad Like It was a Classic in my Eyes and thing before that Was like Mad old still a classic But it was always a classic Everything b4 XF was a classic In my eyes To me i cant see the EL - EB being a Classic Mayb a classic to someone younger to me But who knows haha I know a few people who think the EB was a Classic But to me thats Rubbish Carb = Old / Classic haha
I Whiting I is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2012, 04:15 PM   #131
brett7777

when you think about it, there are quite a few plastic cars that are classic already, that is, some of the early Japanese models.
I doubt if any of our modern cars will ever reach the dizzy heights of the prices that early 70's GT's go for tho.
Nissan Skyline 370GT Coupe
FPV BF F6 Typhoon #202
BF XR6 Rebel

Founder of BA & BF FORD FALCON FACEBOOK GROUP
brett7777 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2012, 06:43 PM   #132
Gspec ZL

I was born in the 90s like I whiting I. I also now see an XF as a classic. But to be more specific i have always seen the ZL fairlane as a classic. If not now in no more than about 5 years. So i bought one that had been stored like it was a classic. These big old cars are just passing there bottom out price now in my mind.

I also have a 1978 Datsun 200b. i consider it a classic it is 34 years old. It has chrome bumpers. People often try to buy it off me on the street or ask about it or to grab a photo and i always get looks.
Gspec ZL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2012, 09:18 PM   #133
Assassinbm

Well, flack jacket on.....plastic becomes classic after its spent its time at the recyclers, then melted down to become tail lights & indicators for my XY........... yes I am in my 40's hehe!!!
Old 01-05-2012, 10:43 PM   #134
JimStone

Plastic...Check

Rare...Check

Bathurst heritage...Check

Classic straight from the showroom floor...undeniably

JimStone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 02:39 PM   #135
platinumXR
IWCMOGTVM Club Supporter.

Originally Posted by JimStone
Plastic...Check

Rare...Check

Bathurst heritage...Check

Classic straight from the showroom floor...undeniably

Yes, I will second and THIRD that.

A) relevance,
B) Heritage,
C) Significance
D) Presence
E) Performance

Toys:
2017.5 LZ Focus RS, Magnetic Grey my new pocket rocket
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
1993 EB2 S-XR8 Sedan, Platinum, manual (now sold)
1975 XB Fairmont GS Sedan, Tropic Gold...or Starlight Blue...not sure yet...(SOLD)
platinumXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-05-2012, 05:04 PM   #136
noosacuda

When it's a Corvette or Bolwell.
noosacuda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post