#121 | ||
Just as there are a myriad of idiot drivers on YouTube, does that mean you drive in the same fashion as all those morons? I would think not.
There are idiots and there are people who do the right thing. I'd be surprised if the idiots made up 10% of the cycling population.
Previous Rides Bionic BA MKII XR6T 245kW I6 Turbo, 6spd Manual Grey (yuk what was I thinking) AH Astra CDX Coupe 93kW NA I4, 5spd Manual Sensation FG XR8 290kW NA V8, 6spd Automatic Current Rides Octane GTF SC V8, 6spd Manual, Manta 3" X pipes and hotdogs Starlight Lotus Evora S 258kW SC V6, 6spd Manual |
This user likes this post: |
#122 | ||
Wait, what?
This actual incident/accident is on 'the project' tomorrow night if any1 is interested..
#123 | ||
I don't understand your motivation here, for every dumb bike video a dumb car video could be posted in response.
There are definitely idiots on bikes but there are also definitely idiots in cars. The difference is the car driver can more easily kill the cyclist. I'm not a huge fan of what some bike riders do, but that doesn't mean I hate them all.
Previous Rides Bionic BA MKII XR6T 245kW I6 Turbo, 6spd Manual Grey (yuk what was I thinking) AH Astra CDX Coupe 93kW NA I4, 5spd Manual Sensation FG XR8 290kW NA V8, 6spd Automatic Current Rides Octane GTF SC V8, 6spd Manual, Manta 3" X pipes and hotdogs Starlight Lotus Evora S 258kW SC V6, 6spd Manual |
#124 | ||
I'm ok with that so long as the scheme is well thought out and implemented, your posts come across as if you wish them malice though.
#125 | |||
"Please mr policeman that nasty cyclist just ran a red light. His rego no is xyz 123." How ******* pathetic do you think you would come across as? Cheers Mike
Current - 2014 FG MkII FPV GT (No 1460) Winter White, Black Stripes - 6 Speed ZF - Factory Leather & Sat Nav - Tint - Full Metal Dipstick - K&N Filter. Wife's - 2018 Peugeot 3008 Gtline, Pearl White - 6 Speed Auto - Fully Optioned. My Toy - 2014 Smart Fortwo Passion Crystal White, Black Tridion Cell - 5 Speed Auto with Flappy Paddles - Tint - Twin Exhaust The only good Commodore is the one now very very quickly disappearing in my rear view mirror. ![]() |
#126 | ||
You think cyclists are excruitiating to deal with, you haven't dealt with nothing until you've come across horse owners moving their horses about or riding them on the back roads.
I was travelling back home from Woodend once cutting around near the base of Mt Macedon, and I crested a hill at about 100km/h doing the speed limit and nearly hit two horse riders in the middle of the road on the other side. The road is for riding push bikes or driving cars on, not riding horses. Even when they're moving them about on the roads, 200 series Land Cruisers, F series, Falcon ute, doesn't matter they all pull out in front of you on the highways and accelerate slower than a 3 cylinder Dihatsu Charade and do 70km/h in 100 zone like they are incapable of pulling their horse float any faster, nor will they pull to the side to let you past when they have the chance. I'd rather the whole Tour De France on the damn road then the arrogant horse brigade. I vote for rego on horses (and for their riders to wear proper clothes) ![]() Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 14-01-2015 at 02:03 AM. |
4 users like this post: |
#127 | |||
Current - 2014 FG MkII FPV GT (No 1460) Winter White, Black Stripes - 6 Speed ZF - Factory Leather & Sat Nav - Tint - Full Metal Dipstick - K&N Filter. Wife's - 2018 Peugeot 3008 Gtline, Pearl White - 6 Speed Auto - Fully Optioned. My Toy - 2014 Smart Fortwo Passion Crystal White, Black Tridion Cell - 5 Speed Auto with Flappy Paddles - Tint - Twin Exhaust The only good Commodore is the one now very very quickly disappearing in my rear view mirror. ![]() |
2 users like this post: |
#128 | ||
The article had to go back to 2002 to find another example of this sort of case
![]() ![]() Some people need to understand that there are humans on bikes wearing less head and body protection than a motorcyclist. Some people should think twice before trying to give a cyclist a scare on the roads before he goes home with a snapped collarbone and a broken leg to his kids. |
#129 | |||
I drive a GT and I also ride a bike. When driving I give cyclists plenty of room and make sure they are not endangered in any way. I think it is called courtesy. It is a much better feeling than hate. As a cyclist I always take care around cars. I always acknowledge motorists that show courtesy to me. And there are plenty of them that do. I know a good therapist if you want to lose that hate inside you. People who harbour hate tend to live shorter lives than one's who know how to let it go. Or maybe you could get on a bike and see what it is like on the other side? Cheers Mike
#130 | |||
#131 | ||
#132 | ||
News flash Australia is a minority in its hatred of cyclists the rest of the world embraces it. That puts you in the minority.
Don't let facts get in the way of a good story though... I expect you would accept any video I can find of a driver being bad as a representation of you?
#134 | ||
Trev
So they are all the same are they? I come across absolute dickwad drivers, probably much like you by your attitude, and good drivers that act like reasonable human beings. It is amazing how easily everything flows when everyone is just reasonable.
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) Last edited by russellw; 27-01-2015 at 12:20 AM. Reason: Removed deleted post quote |
#135 | |||
![]()
#136 | ||
Trev
Yes I do this daily.... Slaps forehead.... I would say on an idiot to reasonable human ratio cyclists might be in front, marginally more car drivers are selfless tosspots than cyclists from what I see, but there are plenty of both out there. For evidence of the amount of absolute tosspots out there, just read this thread for evidence of how many people throwing tanties because every cyclist is out there to make their day as bad as possible. Man some of you really do come across as beyond pathetic little cry babies
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) Last edited by russellw; 27-01-2015 at 12:20 AM. Reason: Removed deleted post quote |
#137 | ||
News flash: Nufties (sometimes they drive cars, sometimes they walk and sometimes they ride a bike) are the sheer minority on the road yet when they use the roads they behave like spoilt children who think the entire world revolves around them. Unless this attitude changes, they will continue to be universally despised, and rightly so.
Fixed it for you...most people do the right thing most of time. Sadly some people do not. Poor behaviour is not isolated to one transport user group. Believing that one group is the devil incarnate and all others are perfect is simply not supported by facts - specifically selected YouTube videos are hardly facts on which to base all road users of a particular type. I know this won't change the mind of some in this thread - comes down to the Taylor Swift song (Shake it Off), haters will always hate and just can't (or won't) see the facts due to their own bias and emotion. I'd just ask how such people feel if it was them riding a bike or walking across a road, perfectly legally and was hit by a car running a give way (as I have). Or perhaps one of their loved ones in harms way? Wonder if views would change then. After a 2000kg Vs 100kg is hardly a "fair" confrontation is it? Perhaps tempted should dust off the MTB and go for a ride? This may provide a different perspective? And if nothing else provide a great chance to role model what they believe is the appropriate and lacking standard behaviour? |
#138 | ||
'The difference is the car driver can more easily kill the cyclist'
A cyclist can also just as easily kill a pedestrian. |
#139 | |||
Each 'group' blames all others and expects 'them' to be perfect - and hows that working for us all so far? And to think this thread is the warmup - after "The Project" story tonight the real 'discussions' will start up (again) everywhere. |
#140 | ||
Guzz226 I believe you are quite right but sometimes some of us see more of the bad behaviour than others. Trev lives in country Vic , come down to the peninsula on any weekend in summer and I will guarantee you will see some atrocious behavior by both driver and rider , but I see it from a drivers point of view.
The signs say single file only and you come round the twisties at the speed limit or less only to be confronted by two or three cyclists chatting in the lane, what to do ? clean them all up or drive over the edge into the bay? no wonder motorists get irate. Get a puncture half way up a steep narrow hill then stop athe edge of the road to fix it , when a 50 metre walk either way would take them out of harms way and stop motorists having to play chicken with oncoming traffic in trying to avoid them. Then they monopolise all the cafes leave their bikes on the footpath in pedestrians way. I see this weekend in and weekend out when the sun is shining . I don't dislike cyclists but they make it hard to love them. If I did in a car what they do on a bike I would be broke from paying fines or doing time. We all need be calm and respect each other but some make it very hard to do just that and I mean both sides. GT450 |
#141 | ||
Trev
REALLY. Wow, I would imagine that would be really, really, really hard to do, and of course also prove imminent and extensive injury to the cyclist also.
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) |
#142 | |||
Trev
I am an absolutely courteous rider and driver, I am also somewhat of a hoon in any powered vehicle, but I am also courteous (almost) at all times to other road users. I am with you in this in some part at least but I do think I guess the reason why some cyclists and groups do this. I stick to the left as much as possible and try to ride on the white line or the gutter side of the white line if the road is clean, but I can tell you that when I do this SOME motorists give you no room, do not move in their lane at all, on Monday I had two trucks shave past me with less than a foot to spare, while I was at the extreme left of the road, when they could have easily moved across in their lane some more, or marginally intruded into the other lane to be a courteous reasonable human being, like all the other cars and trucks did and as I would have done in the car.....Now if I ride in a more dominant part of the lane this forces said knobheads to go around me, they get annoyed at that of course but at the same time it can make me feel safer, and I would think as part of a group this improves safety for the group quite significantly, as otherwise the more numbnutted motorist just squeezes past with scant regard to passing distances etc. effectively they are just being ignorant tossers with their whole time behind the wheel being all about them and bugga every one else. It is these types of motorists that cyclists in groups and riding two-abreast etc. are trying to protect themselves from. Thus I can see why some city cyclists try and dominate a lane to the exclusion of all others as a self protective measure against the few tossers in cars/trucks that are just plain ignorant. I rarely ride in groups but when I do ride with the few guys I ride with the back one shouts car back when a car is approaching and while we only ever go two-abreast at most so we can have a chat or whatever as it is a social activity, the car back call sees us all quickly move back into single file for car to pass with minimum inconvenience and largely we do this before car is close enough to have been impeded at all, but this is us riding on country roads with relatively little traffic.
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) |
#143 | ||
Common sense should prevail under all situations but things to think of are the single file signs a "Regulatory" sign or "Warning Sign" there is a difference
Can't they go to Cafe's and where do they leave their bikes if they do, maybe councils should erect a bike parking compound near shops like they have carparks around them.
#144 | |||
FWIW our group when cycling follows the laws to the letter and have even been know to go troppo occasionally if we seen another cyclist do something illegal or silly (run a red light etc). The cafe issue I understand as well - although the flip to that argument is many cafes actively peruse the cyclist market to cash in on the coffee and breaky market and need to work with council etc to better accomodate all their patrons. My own motto is I would rather be alive than right - so often I will yield to common sense rather than riding in a way which is legally right but also high risk - eg you will never see me riding in the left hand lane of a 80km suburban rd even though I legally can cause it is just too high risk with drivers at that speed, often looking into the sun (I live out West and commute to the CBD). I actually take 50% longer to ride to work to avoid all the primary and secondary roads as much as possible. I appreciate it is frustrating when some cyclists are stubborn and pig headed and by doing so put their safety at risk. Sadly they don't have a monopoly on the stubborn right fighter stakes which is why there is so much conflict where everyone thinks they are right and the "others" are 100% to blame. Cyclists Vs Drivers is just another example of human nature and the selfish attitudes of some people who think the world revolves around them and everyone else is to blame for everything whilst they are blameless. Sad really, but true... |
#145 | ||
You've seen the damage and deaths caused by one punch cowards? Cyclists wear helmets do they not? So is it not a feasible scenario that a pedestrian hit by a cyclist can be knocked down hitting their head on the ground causing severe head trauma and possibly death? Yes the cyclist will also possibly be injured but not to the same extent to which a pedestrian can be.
#146 | |||
Trev
What are those rude people doing out walking anyway :-)
#147 | ||
Come on now ladies... You're all pretty!
#149 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
LOL. Yes, this thread has gone about as far as it needs too.
As quoted by Guzz226. Sometimes idiots drive, sometimes they ride a bike, sometimes they walk......
#150 | ||
Trev
Sometimes they spend too much time on AFF :-)