You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 24-03-2006, 08:13 PM   #121

Originally Posted by XA-Coupe
well.. I have got my car for this project... but it's not an EA.. it's a NA !!
nice!!! :
Old 24-03-2006, 08:45 PM   #122
XA-Coupe

A bit bigger and heavier than I banked on ... but it was at the right price
XA-Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-03-2006, 03:14 PM   #123
eav8

so you going to street it or race it?
project #1: Ea series1 Spac conversion to straight gas; 351Cleveland; T5; EB dash; sunroof and more as I get to them. :evilsasmo
Fully road legal and cruising in QLD!!
---------------------------------------------------
Happy dealings with; PROTD, !gn!t!on, Big_waity,Phongus
eav8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-03-2006, 05:25 PM   #124
XA-Coupe

Originally Posted by eav8
so you going to street it or race it?
race, it wont be registered. It won't be a weapon.. just a play car to use up some spare bits.
I wouldn't mind swapping it for an EA sedan as I just prefer the shape .. driveline obviously isn't important.
XA-Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-03-2006, 05:31 PM   #125

but no body suspects an NA!
Old 04-04-2006, 11:01 AM   #126
eaona

Default v8 ea

well here is some pics of my ea. I put this clevo stroker in with minimal of cost. I moved the starter motor to the left using an adapter plate set up that cost about a hour of work and an hour of thinking about it. the only other cost was a custom three core radiator $400 and twin thermos from an el $110 at the wreckers. the rest I had in the shed.
the car is rego'ed too I bought it for $400 it is straight as a die and has brand new tyres and only 150,000 kms on it. I am going to drive it when I'm not working. and my girl friend can drive it to she don't like commodores.
File Type: jpg 000_0217a.jpg (39.4 KB, 93 views)
File Type: jpg 000_0270a.jpg (40.7 KB, 181 views)
File Type: jpg 000_0215.jpg (33.6 KB, 85 views)
eaona is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-04-2006, 10:24 AM   #127
eav8

looks good. I see you went the auto route rather than try for manual...You say it is registered..Is that legally v8 complianced and inspected registered or was the car already registered before you trnsferred gear?
Also are you running LPG or Petrol?

If it is all legal what state/ country are you in to have met epa requirements.
project #1: Ea series1 Spac conversion to straight gas; 351Cleveland; T5; EB dash; sunroof and more as I get to them. :evilsasmo
Old 19-04-2006, 02:27 PM   #128
eaona

Car was rego'ed when I got it. I live in tas and we dont have yearly inspections here.
I have got a quiet exhaust on it but it is sounds a bit lumpy for a 6. The cops pulled me up in it the day I got it going and it was coming straight out of twin pipes no mufflers and the cop just checked the tyres and rego and was goin to put me on the drug tester so I tod him go for it and he left me alone.
the car was 4speed auto and has a 3.23:1 diff which is to low geared because the car will wheel spin through 1st and 2nd and by the time you are in top gear it is reving its head off at 160-170kph.
I am hoping that the diff out of an XF will fit in the EA because I have the old one out of the XF I had the clevo in its 2.77:1 ratio and the car was cruising at 200kph with that.
Have u got your car going yet EAV8?
was wondering how you went/are going and if you got the cooling system worked out yet mine will still get a bit warm if I flog it hard for 30 mins or so but it slowly cools down when I start to cruise it or let it Idle in the drive way for a while. I am thinking I might get a davies craig electric water pump and controller so it can control the thermos as well
Old 19-04-2006, 02:36 PM   #129
eaona

car is on straight petrol.running it on gas dosent make sense in a v8 because you can say that if you spend the money right it will go as hard as petrol but if you spent the same money on it running on petrol it would go twice as hard again.
Its auto because I work 11hrs 6days a week, so I like to be lazy, and its got power to spare any way.
Old 19-04-2006, 07:13 PM   #130
eav8

hmmm eaona......you live in the state where I was born and raised until I left and joined the army.......I understand what you have done and good on you. I know Tassie cops let a lot go under the radar so long as you don't start ripping up the streets you'll be ok.
I HAVE indeed got my vehicle up and running and doing donuts in my front yard.....I still need to get ef thermo's but I am currently running a single blow through thermo from a **VL**. It doesnot keep cool for too long but it is for longer than no fan lol..
I now have an interior installed....typical roof lining needs replacing though.

I still need to sort out some problems with my clutch not being bled up properly and I need new brake pads all round.
I have a standard 2.77 ratio dif and I find that I am spinning wheels in first whilst rolling with little effort. Mind you my setup is not properly tuned yet and I expect alot more from it. I want to drop diff to 3.08. The T5 gives me better top end capabilities than the auto I think.

I am waiting on a dual points distributor to re-curve for the gas and in stall...It's in the mail.

I'm currently waiting to see if my xb coupe shell sells to see if I have some cash to sink straight into it.

I'm taking the beast over to tafe in the next couple of weeks to properly do the exhaust system and tidy up a few other things that i really require the hoist for.

I would like to see some pics of your beast. Please post them here.
Old 29-06-2006, 07:44 PM   #131
eav8

hey guys. It's been a long time between drinks but I thought I'd update.

Since my last post I have installed the thermo's (work a treat) and have had a complete 21/2 inch system installed. I saved a little money buy using 2nd hand cats and some lukey straight throughs that I already had.
Still cost me $800 as they had to custom fabricate entire system....Great value as they did a VERY nice job.

Still to do are the windscreen replacement, new tyres....Have paid for them just got to get them fitted.....Will cost nothing as I'm now working as a mechanic in Wondai and will fit them myself.
The tyres I have purchased are temporary and will be relaced with 245/60/14's rear and possibly 235/60/14 fronts. These will be on refurbished 12 slotters.
Also have to have LPG tank tested and installation certified along with an emissions tune and mod plate inspections.

I am hoping to have the car on the road by mid August. Then I can start on the body work ;)
I have one a myriad of other little things as well...
A digi camera is now on laybuy and as soon as I get hold of it I will annoy you'all with a ton of pics of the work done.
Old 08-07-2006, 11:57 PM   #132
DOMN8N
AKA ___DOMMUZ

do you have piks this is very intersting as i put a eb 4ltr in my 3.9 cfi and they didnt say a word when i got it regoed
Old 01-08-2006, 08:17 PM   #133
eav8

A quick update.
Got the LPG system tested and certified today. I am sorry to say that I was a little disappointed with torque gas in caloundra. Their interaction with customers is good....but
/rant on: Some things went missing from the vehicle boot space (spare gas gear I had taken with me "just in case").Guy said if it had been there it would have been sitting next to my spare tyre on the ground...I thought maybe I had forgotten to put it in. Got home..no gear...@$@#$@#$
Also they attempted to charge me for some things that had not been done.
My biggest disappointment was that I told them I wanted to get the beast running to it's best and was even prepared to buy a billet mixer and converter they had there to increase performance..the response was "sorry we don't have time we have three conversions ..and that job of yours to do"...What my monies not as good as theirs?
I had booked my work in with plenty of warning and turned up at 7.30am as they told me (21/2 hour drive from my place). I even said I was willing to bump my budget up a bit (an extra grand) for the extras...I guess just trying to take me for $400 more than quoted was good enough for them....They also didn't fit a safety cut off solenoid to the tank because they apparently didn't have any. (apparently it's "only a safety thing" anyway)wtf it's an APA tank and they install heaps of them / end rant cause i'm getting annoyed the more I think about it.

Anyway. I now have rectified a "problem" with the fuel guage they couldn't rectify. It was reading empty with a full tank (filler pipe section where screws into tank was contacting sender output, grounding it through the tank thus no signal.) turned adapter to clear sender terminal and oh my god the guage works.
Some wiring in the boot needs to be redone due to bodgy connectors.

At least the beast is now gas certified and another step closer to the road.
I'm having cooling issues and feel that the radiiator may be insufficient. Currently using EA auto 6 cyl radiator with twin thermo's so I am looking for something better..Suggestions?

I think I'm still on track for rego this month. God I hope so anyway.
Old 01-08-2006, 08:26 PM   #134
EF_Frmnt

you really need at least 15s 14s just look bad. sounds good though. if you want a good gas theres a few good gas guys at metro ford i think. (one anyway) and ford at strathpine ford as well.
EF_Frmnt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2006, 01:57 PM   #135
eav8

Talking It's Done. Eav8 Is On The Road

As of today EAV8 is a legally registered road monster. lol

After much mucking around (and heated "discussion") with Queensland Transport and some good information from some Brisbane based engineers and mod platers, EAV8 is now a completely complianced and mod plated 351c, Hydraulically actuated T5, straight gas member of the highway fraternity.

Still some minor cooling concerns but on 140 ish km round trip for inspections didn't go over 110c.
I find that if I stay under 2000rpm I have no problems it's only when I go past here that the temps start to rise. I'm figuring it's either a timing curve issue (dizzy not yet re-curved for the gas) or maybe I have an internal leak from one of the cylinders (no sludge in coolant or coolant in the sump).

But any way what a relief to finally have that part of the project behind me.
Just gotta come up with a bodykit (GTO rear and sides and probably eb gt front) and some paint ideas.

Also decided not to go with 12 slotters but got a set of EL xr8 rims. Now I gotta save up for tyres to fit and find someone who can do a repair to one (hit a pothole or something and slightly flattened the back edge of one enough to be unroadworthy)
Old 31-08-2006, 03:13 PM   #136

mate thats fantastic, and what even better is that you are not using 12 slotters!
Old 31-08-2006, 03:52 PM   #137
SiKoRa_eL_97

Sick man real lucky have fun driving u V8

better confiscate his computer.
SiKoRa_eL_97 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2006, 07:16 PM   #138

mate thats fantastic, and what even better is that you are not using 12 slotters!
Bwahahaha! Seconded!

It's great to hear that EAV8 is finally on the road, congrats mate
Old 31-08-2006, 07:29 PM   #139
eav8

thanks to all who have given me advice and support during this build up. Hopefully I will get a chance to meet up with some of you at a club meet down brisbane some time. Hopefully by then it'll look better on the outside than it does at the moment.
Old 01-09-2006, 02:01 AM   #140
banarcus
hmm eyebrows

And get that digital camera off layby too
Old 01-09-2006, 06:35 AM   #141
eav8

camera should be out by october :(
Old 01-09-2006, 09:23 PM   #142
kyro_02
V8 wannaabeee

nice you went through with it and it all came along good, is this your daily driver or just weekender? even on gas, will it eat your wallet ??

with your heating problem, you tried a tougher, or bigger radiater ? or get yours checked incase of any problems with it?
kyro_02 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2006, 11:38 PM   #143
DOMN8N
AKA ___DOMMUZ

thats going to be one fast ea
Old 02-09-2006, 07:10 PM   #144
eav8

cooling sorted by using dt66a thermostat, twin thermos, and new eb radiator (they're all the same)
My main problems from there were getting the system to bleed properly. I am also using ea reservoir so I think the pressure maybe to high in the cap so is over pressurising the system. I just occassionally let the cap off and release some pressure.
Hasn't gone over 110c for a while now. And believe me I've been going every where in it.
This is a daily driver. LPG in my town is 70.9cpl at the moment. More than I think it should be but still half the price of petrol.
Performance is better now that I've removed the stepper motor and just let the engine have what it wants. (still needs a REAL tune and the dizzy recurved). It feel a bit sluggisg but that could be the 2.77 diff.
Did a wheel alignment on Friday and it turns out that I may have a bent axle housing as the rear passenger side (?) has a ton of toe in. Not a problem really as I plan on putting a xr8 or similar LSD in at some point.
Will be tryng for the LPG rebate lol. Might get some money to put towards the bodykit .
Old 10-09-2006, 01:45 PM   #145
Southy

take it to the drags already! i wana see times~!!!!@@!
Southy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 01:56 PM   #146
eav8

had a bit of a tune done on gas analyzer. It was running way too lean (some vacuuum leaks etc). Goes a lot harder now but I'm still not happy. In my opinion I should be frying tyres froma rolling start in1st and 2nd but it just grips and goes.
I told the guy doing the tune that I wasn't happy with its 'sluggish' performance. He came for a test drive and after we hit a rather illegal speed he just said "it's a bit soft in the rear end" and "what more do you want it slams you back into the seat".

It doesn't put me back into the seat though. But then the drvier never seems to feel that bit lol.

I really need a different diff. Is only a 2.77 ss. I would really like a 3.45lsd or modified 9inch. But then budget is already blown for a while.
Old 10-09-2006, 01:57 PM   #147

Originally Posted by eav8
cooling sorted by using dt66a thermostat, twin thermos, and new eb radiator (they're all the same)
My main problems from there were getting the system to bleed properly. I am also using ea reservoir so I think the pressure maybe to high in the cap so is over pressurising the system. I just occassionally let the cap off and release some pressure.
you'll find the 6 cyl and V8 radiators are in fact different.....same ammount of cores but the V8's have more fins per inch to aid cooling

so long as its keeping cool for you though it doesnt matter.....good work
Old 10-09-2006, 09:38 PM   #148
eav8

^^^ thanks for that bit of info. NATRAD guys told me they were all the same. I wouldn't know and it seems to be doing its job.
Old 11-09-2006, 12:01 AM   #149
efgiar
rofl copter

In regards to ur starter, sounds like the drive is stuffed on it. pull it off, check the teeth, sounds to me like they are worn, or the clutches in the drive are stuffed.

dont kno if this has been covered yet but ill post anyway

thats all
efgiar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-09-2006, 09:39 AM   #150
eav8

starter had faulty clutch. replaced clutch unit and it hasn't missed yet. does need a new set of brushes thgugh.