30-11-2016, 05:50 PM | #1 | ||
EL XR6
I cannot comprehend the ignorance and hatred in this thread... honestly it has left me speechless! Why are people so bothered? If lycra really irks people that much that they feel the need to hate on someone, perhaps you should seek help... because there are seriously bigger issues in life to worry about!
Is it a superiority thing? I make myself feel better because i've bagged out the bloke whose riding his bike in lycra? Why do you even care what he wears... just keep on driving and let it be. He's happy pedalling along minding his own business, so what's your problem? I don't ask for you to stare... Keep your eyes on the road. Nor do I care that you may have rode 20k to the shops in your work shorts, I choose to wear sports specific clothing as it is most comfortable for the type of riding I do, that's it... end of story! Seriously people stop hating on each other... there are inconsiderate cyclists out there just as much as there are inconsiderate drivers (probably a lot more drivers to be honest) Just accept it, you are no better off than the person next to you on the road, move on. And as for the "poser" comment? I'd be less bothered if that comment was made by someone pre pubescent, but unfortunately this seems to be the norm these days, a blight on society and only makes yourself look pathetic. STOP JUDGING!!! End rant
30-11-2016, 06:25 PM | #2 | ||
That's an interesting judgment you have made there. But seriously this thread discussing lycra clad cyclists is way off topic. That is why I made the comment about wanting to drag race my car but do it on the street not on a track.
It seems to me that it is a parallel of what the militant cyclist lobby has done in recent years. Over the last few years it has become a huge hobby/sport by large numbers of people who want to ride in large groups on the roadways which have been designed mainly for motorised traffic throughout a hundred years or so past. So now everyone has to change to accommodate them. Road systems, motorists, professional drivers and laws. It seems that it isn't happening quick enough for them and they are becoming more militant even though many cycle ways have been built in recent years to accommodate them, large numbers of them still insist on riding on the roads during peak times in groups then complain about their lack of safety and how hard done by they are. The govt has changed the laws to accommodate this perceived lack of safety but by being militant and bringing attention to themselves they have come under scrutiny by the authorities who have also increased fines to keep cyclists in check on the road system because many of them were just disregarding the road rules and were a law unto themselves. And predictably the lobby is outraged that the fines are too large and cyclists are being picked on so a big response is that "we are going to arm ourselves with cameras and get drivers who annoy us prosecuted." Little wonder that there is heated discussion about the subject.
30-11-2016, 06:32 PM | #3 | ||
Show me one Cyclist in this thread that has said the fines are too high and they are being picked on. From what I read, we all agreed with the fines as it catches the small minority that give us a bad rep.
30-11-2016, 07:01 PM | #4 | |||
My post refers to the cyclist lobby groups and the militant attitudes displayed!
30-11-2016, 07:13 PM | #5 | ||
If I go to a mates place and the beer is crap I don't complain coz it's a freebie . anyone using roads has to pay TPPD and rego and have roadworthy$$. even sum of the old timer scoots and council lawn mowers have to. fellas on bikes using roads are gettin freebies and pay nothin so I reckon if you fellas want a voice pay up yer dues and get ripped like the rest of us. good on you for gettin away with it and no biggie but were all road users hey. Make it easy to catch dodgy riders too
Last edited by Dave1966; 30-11-2016 at 07:23 PM. |
This user likes this post: |
30-11-2016, 07:40 PM | #6 | ||
that old chestnut.
perhaps before you bring it up next time, do a little bit of research, particularly on what happens to registration fees, and how roads and infrastructure is funded. also, perhaps have a look at how motorists having to be registered caused a big drop in law breaking.... for the record, i would gladly wear some form of ID that was attached to my drivers licence details. i doubt it will ever happen as it would be a nightmare to introduce and an even bigger nightmare to legislate. |
30-11-2016, 08:04 PM | #7 | |||
Keep in mind that in NSW at least rego for a 1.5 tonne car is what, $250 or so? So what would that make a bike under 10kg that doesn't have a motor.. like $2 or so? Easy! Let me know where to send my gold coin.
30-11-2016, 07:32 PM | #8 | ||
30-11-2016, 06:45 PM | #10 | ||
30-11-2016, 07:36 PM | #11 | ||
Wasn't the idea of registration revenue was to pay for wear and tare cause by the vehicle and which is why trucks pay more than cars?
30-11-2016, 08:09 PM | #12 | ||
NSW Rego Fee is $64 (flat rate) regardless of the weight.
Weight tax (M/V tax) is $441 for a VE Calais V V8. Paid it today! So $441/1707kg = 26c/kg. So on a pro-rata basis, a 10kg bike is pretty close to your guess of $2! But the govt would put the $64 rego fee on top of it. |
30-11-2016, 08:58 PM | #13 | |||
Last edited by Dave1966; 30-11-2016 at 09:13 PM. |
30-11-2016, 11:04 PM | #14 | |||
So which government department should I send my cheque to, and what else will everyone whinge about when this is implemented?
"the greatest trick the devil pulled, is convincing the world he doesn't exist" 2022 Mazda CX5 GTSP Turbo 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 1967 XR FALCON 500 Cars previously owned: 2021 Subaru Outback Sport 2018 Subaru XV-S 2012 Subaru Forester X 2007 Subaru Liberty GT 2001 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura 2001 Subaru GX wagon 1991 EB XR8 1977 XC Fairmont 1990 EA S Pak 1984 XE S Pak 1982 ZJ Fairlane 1983 XE Fairmont 1989 EA Falcon 1984 Datsun Bluebird Wagon 1975 Honda Civic |
01-12-2016, 06:20 AM | #15 | ||
well I pay fer the all ya can eat buffet at the pub but I still share it with the other lads hey. the department of common sense need funding maybe old mal should start one up and send the money to them.
Last edited by Dave1966; 01-12-2016 at 06:26 AM. |
30-11-2016, 08:27 PM | #16 | ||
EL XR6
Rego is a completely invalid argument... how are they possibly going to police it? How are they going to register all bikes currently in use? At what age does a rider need a bike registered? Does this mean we need to get a roadworthy certificate on bikes? The cost to implement a registration scheme alone would probably discredit the idea completely. Think about it... common sense should prevail surely. If as you say you are sick of paying rego, join the club and grab a bike, start pedalling away my friend... all power to you!
30-11-2016, 09:21 PM | #17 | |||
30-11-2016, 10:01 PM | #18 | ||
now that is invalid budd.how bout I'm in the transport industry? should I just get a bunch of lads on 347 visas and give them all a pushie and haul containers or freight? what's you fellas hourly rate by the way
Last edited by Dave1966; 30-11-2016 at 10:19 PM. |
30-11-2016, 09:05 PM | #19 | ||
If a cyclist paid registration, would that then legally allow them to use a complete lane, or even both lanes on a 2 lane road?
30-11-2016, 09:11 PM | #20 | ||
probably the same as old mate on his mower or old timers scoot. I get what you mean about wear and tear and rego, but old timers scoot isn't doing much wear and tear either unless he drops too much viagra and gets all Gorky and does circle work on Doris's front lawn hey
30-11-2016, 11:41 PM | #21 | ||
I wasn't having a go at cyclists, I was merely showing the math on the estimate for the post above mine, and making the comment that the NSW govt wouldn't miss any opportunity to grab another $64.
I fail to see how your theory works for my 65km each-way commute though. I'm lucky to see 1 cyclist a month, and that's normally a young fool with no helmet free-wheeling down the hill, on the footpath, towards the railway station in the residential area near where I live. I'm yet to see one on the M7 during peak hour in over 8 years of travelling it daily. Rego does have some merits though. I have sustained over $800 damage from a self-absorbed MAMIL who didn't want to unclip his feet from the pedals because he was simply too hardcore, and leant on the car beside me at the lights (I'm surprised he didn't run the red light). Driver of said car took exception to it, as you would, but instead of using verbal means to make his point, he chose to bunny-hop the clutch, skittling the cyclist onto the front guard, bonnet, and bumper of my car. I got out to help him, and pointed to the damage, only to be told "haha, get F'd, you gotta catch me" before he took off down a footpath & across an oval, with no way of being able to catch him. So how is that fair to me? THAT sort of behaviour would be dealt with if there were some form of ID or rego system that was clearly visible, but I'm not holding my breath for it. |
01-12-2016, 12:10 AM | #22 | |||
I guess it's all about respect. If you want respect you have to give respect. Just don't judge us all by the actions of a few. Some of us do try to share the road, which includes obeying the rules. |
01-12-2016, 06:31 AM | #23 | ||
01-12-2016, 06:24 AM | #24 | |||
Life is not fair, deal with it. I have had more damage done to my cars over the years by motorists than cyclists. |
01-12-2016, 07:09 AM | #25 | |||
Yer spot on about life not being fair bro. I always wanted to be a porn star but I was told I didn't have the face fer it. bit of a shame coz I go pritty good hey but I just said "oh well life isn't fair deal with it" and it works good hey. reckon next time some Neanderthal in a car does anythin to you on your bike just do the same thing and say oh well life is not fair deal with it like Ol Davo did. true |
01-12-2016, 07:15 AM | #26 | ||||
The culprit on the bike was right there, and I even helped him get up. Same scenario, using your example of a car driver in a shopping centre carpark, and very few would do a runner (much easier to catch them on foot if they did, or follow their car if they drove) but even if they did exactly the same "F-U" and took off, the obvious thing - which is what my rego comment was about - is that you can ID them by their numberplate. Quote:
Same with the animal bike couriers who mow down pedestrians, and have little squealing sirens to tell people "get outta my way" - they may stick in people's minds, especially if you've been clipped on the back of the ankle by their pedals, but I'm smart enough to realise they are a minority as well. The only time I encounter cyclists whilst driving is on weekends, and I've never had an issue with them. I've been held up by them on the odd occasion, yes, but I never harassed them, even when crawling along at 10km/h up a hill in the national park behind 3 of them zig-zagging side to side in the lane up the hill. FFS it's a weekend - people can do what they want to do. I chose to participate in something I like doing, and so did they. At the destination, we actually met up with those same cyclists, and they complimented us (a group of Brock Commodores) on our cars. One guy even owned a nice VK 5L replica, and started asking about if he could join the club. As you can imagine, the convo turned to behaviour on the roads, and every single member of their group (by now numbering about 20) had been hit at least once by a Maccas thick shake thrown from a moving car. I am one of the least anti-cyclist people posting in this thread, yet some see fit to try to label me as one, simply because I'm offering a balanced view. |
5 users like this post: |
01-12-2016, 07:27 AM | #27 | ||
sorry for any confusion. i was only replying to you in regards to the cyclist leaning on the car. the rest of my post wasn't directed at you. just general comments.
01-12-2016, 06:10 PM | #28 | ||
The clown who caused his fall is that idiot cyclist himself. If he hadn't leant on someone else's car, nothing would've happened.
I don't think the driver of that other car did anything wrong at all, nor should he be liable for anything.
01-12-2016, 08:08 AM | #29 | |||
Like that guy who beat up the bus driver in Brisbane recently. He got away with road rage because no one could identify him. I know cyclists will just say "yeah but people can put on a fake plate" Obviously, just like how all other road vehicles can do that. But most accidents and road rage incidents involve regular people who were not expecting to be involved in that situation. How many would be using fake plates on their daily commute unless they were out looking to cause problems. |
01-12-2016, 09:42 AM | #30 | |||
Trev
Seriously where does it stop... I can't believe people want our suffocatingly nanny state to become even more nanny and have rules for everything. People like you will want people to have a licence to walk to the shops, a licence to breathe...
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) |
2 users like this post: |