You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 20-12-2014, 10:25 AM   #151

Default Re: fuel prices

In PERTH on hols from Qld Hertz charged me $1.09 driving around PERTH its $117.9 to $127.9. Cheaper than Brisbane definetly cheaper than Rockhampton!!
Old 20-12-2014, 10:44 AM   #152
kevino

Mate Brisbane petrol some round 1.18 now.
kevino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-12-2014, 11:34 AM   #153
Simple6

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Tech article on rear bushes. 

You know what's really insulting? In Alice were still paying $1.65/L and it's similar in Darwin. The NT has not had the price drop the rest of Australia has been getting. I know it'll never drop to major city prices, but not passing on a price drop of some amount is really frustrating.
Old 20-12-2014, 12:20 PM   #154

Originally Posted by Dauphin View Post
I found out this week that a friend of mine who lives 50 kms from Melbourne pays about $100 less for their rego than I do (only 13 kms from Melbourne).
Yeah same deal here, my rego is $100 cheaper than Melbourne rego.

Saves me $300 over my 3 cars
Old 20-12-2014, 01:21 PM   #155

Originally Posted by Big Damo View Post
Yeah same deal here, my rego is $100 cheaper than Melbourne rego.
Never lived in Syd (and have no wish to, I cant hold my breath that long

But I do know that the Ute in my avatar is about $100 cheaper here in Country NSW than it was in Country Qld.
Old 20-12-2014, 03:30 PM   #156
GCRXR6

Originally Posted by csv8 View Post
In PERTH on hols from Qld Hertz charged me $1.09 driving around PERTH its $117.9 to $127.9. Cheaper than Brisbane definetly cheaper than Rockhampton!!
When ya get home, pop on out to Bouldy... $1.34.99 Diesel / E10, $1.38.99 ULP. Woollies Alenstown still 10c up yesterday.

Even the Bouldy prices are up on what they should be, but at least they're giving the others a rip.

Enjoy WA
Old 20-12-2014, 04:17 PM   #157
Tassie f100

Filled up with diesel in Hobart yesterday arvo at $1.49.9.Said that fuel prices are supposed to be coming down the old sheila said freight is higher to Tassie.I pointed out it costs less to ship fuel to Habart than to most of Victoria she told me don,t argue the price is the price.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-12-2014, 04:41 PM   #158
Grippy
Racing improves the breed

LPG conversion companies must be hurting with these low petrol prices.

1964 Mini Cooper S Historic Group Nb Touring car

Victorian Hill Climb Championship
Grippy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-12-2014, 06:00 PM   #159
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by Grippy View Post
LPG conversion companies must be hurting with these low petrol prices.
Maybe, but LPG is still half the price of ULP so there still are some savings to be made.....I'm hoping LPG will go to the low 50's after the new year....Its presently 59.9 at alot of servos.

But ye I think you are right, conversion only shops would be doing it hard.

Last edited by GASWAGON; 20-12-2014 at 06:05 PM.
GASWAGON is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-12-2014, 06:48 PM   #160
ford man xf

How come diesel is not really being affected much?
It's pretty amusing though, considering the XR8 next year will be reborn with the same spec engine as the FG GT, could you imagine being a HSV owner forking out all that money on a brand new GTS, then pulling up to the lights next to a FH XR8 and then sitting side by side all the way to 100 and beyond
Even more embarrasing would be the lower spec variants of the VF in HSV's stable getting whopped by a factory XR8.
ford man xf is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-12-2014, 07:16 PM   #161
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by ford man xf View Post
Good question I was going to ask the same thing!

Diesel is still around the $1.40 mark.....wots going on???
Old 20-12-2014, 07:32 PM   #162
bobthebilda

Originally Posted by ford man xf View Post
One thing (and there are obviously others), is that the asians use alot of diesel, and unleaded fuel is not in so much demand over there. As alot of our fuel comes in from Asia, the refineries cant change the mix to any great extent to what gets spat out the other end. With high demand for the diesel, prices stay high, but unleaded gets sold off as an unwanted by product to customers who use it.
bobthebilda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-12-2014, 08:43 PM   #163

Originally Posted by Focusfan View Post
On the news this week, the ACCC has been given more power to investigate servo's over charging.
HAHAHA. We will see how much they do. Should take bets that by the time they do all their investigating that the prices will be correct.
Will take them 2 months just to start. What a joke.
The government probably steps in and says, don't bother doing anything, cause lower petrol prices means lower GST returns for the gov. It's in their interests to keep prices high.
Old 20-12-2014, 11:03 PM   #164
OCTANEBOSS

ULP $1.49 in Kalgoorlie, we get ripped here
OCTANEBOSS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-12-2014, 06:53 AM   #165

I see Canada is down to 80c, I wonder if Australia will be there soon? Or have taxes increased so much to prevent that from happening?
Old 21-12-2014, 08:46 AM   #166
NAK302

Originally Posted by csv8 View Post
i'm hearing you. $1.47 at BP Yaamba RD yesterday and $1.45 at BP Yeppoon. why? is regional QLD subsidising the SE corner again
NAK302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-12-2014, 11:10 AM   #167

Originally Posted by chevypower View Post
I see Canada is down to 80c, I wonder if Australia will be there soon? Or have Oil Companies Greed increased so much to prevent that from happening?
Fixed it for you
Old 21-12-2014, 12:09 PM   #168
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by bobthebilda View Post
One thing (and there are obviously others), is that the asians use alot of diesel, and unleaded fuel is not in so much demand over there. As alot of our fuel comes in from Asia, the refineries cant change the mix to any great extent to what gets spat out the other end. With high demand for the diesel, prices stay high, but unleaded gets sold off as an unwanted by product to customers who use it.
O.k what about Heavy Road Transport trucks dont they get cheaper diesel than normal everyday consumers? They're the ones that use the most diesel.
Old 21-12-2014, 12:29 PM   #169

Originally Posted by XR6WGN-LPG View Post
O.k what about Heavy Road Transport trucks dont they get cheaper diesel than normal everyday consumers? They're the ones that use the most diesel.
.............Yeah right.
Old 21-12-2014, 12:39 PM   #170
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by GasOLane View Post
.............Yeah right.
O.k you are saying they dont get cheaper fuel then? I was sure they did???

Its not really fair that diesel is still expensive while ULP is now so cheap.
Old 21-12-2014, 12:48 PM   #171

Originally Posted by XR6WGN-LPG View Post
O.k you are saying they dont get cheaper fuel then? I was sure they did???

Its not really fair that diesel is still expensive while ULP is now so cheap.
The large multinational companies would get a discount through their respective fuel suppliers due to the quantity they buy, and I believe that Primary Producers get it a little cheaper.

But unless the run of the mill Truckie/Owner has an agreement with a fuel company they would be paying pump price.
Old 21-12-2014, 12:51 PM   #172
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by GasOLane View Post
The large multinational companies would get a discount through their respective fuel suppliers due to the quantity they buy, and I believe that Primary Producers get it a little cheaper.

But unless the run of the mill Truckie/Owner has an agreement with a fuel company they would be paying pump price.
Bloody that must make it expensive for truckies to operate.

This is why we need LNG trucks like they're doing in the U.S now.
Old 21-12-2014, 02:32 PM   #173
Tassie f100

Commercial vehicles over 8 tonnes get about a 16c rebate plus as businesses they claim back the GST as do every business operator.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-12-2014, 07:49 PM   #174
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Commercial vehicles over 8 tonnes get about a 16c rebate plus as businesses they claim back the GST as do every business operator.
O.k thats good then.......I know at my dads work where they use lots of excavators and dump trucks and other equipment their diesel fuel bill is something like 80k per month!
Old 21-12-2014, 10:26 PM   #175
bobthebilda

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Nah, most businesses can get the fuel tax rebate. So the mines and even some heavy transporters can claim back the 45 cents or so that is added to the price of each litre. Even if you purchase petrol and were to use it for such things as cleaning, or even electricity generation, you could claim back the fuel excise. The excise was created to keep the roads up to scratch (altho most of it gets diverted else where). The logic being, that if you are using fuel for other purposes than driving on the roads, why should you be paying the excise.
bobthebilda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2014, 12:21 AM   #176

106.9 for E10 unleaded in Revesby, NSW. 122ish for Diesel.

when did we see prices like that? Last century?

Old 22-12-2014, 12:47 AM   #177
Adamz Ghia

I started driving at the end of 2004, I was paying between .95 and $1.00 per litre. I remember Hurricane Katrina hit in 2005 and it went to $1.19 and we all lost our minds...! Back then the experts were saying fuel would be $2 per litre by years end...!
Adamz Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2014, 12:55 AM   #178

Originally Posted by Adamz Ghia View Post
I started driving at the end of 2004, I was paying between .95 and $1.00 per litre. I remember Hurricane Katrina hit in 2005 and it went to $1.19 and we all lost our minds...! Back then the experts were saying fuel would be $2 per litre by years end...!
That sounds right actually. Back then, I was working for Woolies and I recall the staff discount cards were tinkered with to no longer offer 5% off for petrol as once it got to the mid 90's cpl it no longer saved you 4c but 5c then it was up from there. Apparently they didn't want it to every go over 4cpl saving, but they never factored in the price going up.

Geeze - I still remember the notice board in the staff room showing shares at something like $4.35...

Old 22-12-2014, 10:27 AM   #179
Focusfan

Still average $1.24 p/l in Brisbane. Still shows how Queenslanders are being ripped off by fuel companies.
Not as high as some country areas but still pathetic compared to other capitol cities around Australia.
When will the government get off their lazy backsides and really do something about this.
As previously said that so long as they are cleaning up with tax they do not give a s#*t about the public.
Pump price should be about $1.05 Australia wide, country a bit extra for transport costs but not a huge jump.
Focusfan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2014, 10:51 AM   #180
johnydep

Originally Posted by Focusfan View Post
Still average $1.24 p/l in Brisbane. Still shows how Queenslanders are being ripped off by fuel companies.
Not as high as some country areas but still pathetic compared to other capitol cities around Australia.
When will the government get off their lazy backsides and really do something about this.
As previously said that so long as they are cleaning up with tax they do not give a s#*t about the public.
Pump price should be about $1.05 Australia wide, country a bit extra for transport costs but not a huge jump.
Wow, nice whinge.

Petrol prices drop & you can only see the negatives.

So what Adelaide is paying $1.14 p/l (about $6 per tank less than Brisbane), I'm sure that they're paying more than Brisbane for something else.

Be happy & grateful that you're receiving some sort of fuel discount.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.
especially concerning their love of the motor vehicle.

http://www.fireservicecollege.ac.uk
johnydep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post