Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
06-12-2007, 09:38 PM | #151 | |||
Ha, ha !! Pffffft...... |
06-12-2007, 09:38 PM | #152 | ||
If it does spell the end, or significantly result in a decline in sales, new vehicles, etc... think of what will happen to the after-market and performance/modification industries also.. either a significant increase in cost to modify, simply due to a lack of stock performance cars coming off the line or a significant increase in options for existing performance and sports cars.
But then again, I think most of us can and will get a good nights sleep regardless.. however Garrett is a massive tool and shouldnt be allowed an opinion. |
06-12-2007, 09:39 PM | #153 | ||
kyoto protocol will be something our aussie ingenuity will have to adapt to we have some of the best minds in the business so i can't say i am to worried if it benefits the planet we can drive till we are a one hundred !!!
06-12-2007, 09:46 PM | #154 | |||
06-12-2007, 09:49 PM | #155 | |||
06-12-2007, 09:51 PM | #156 | ||
Back on track! Daves illicit activites in toilet blocks
06-12-2007, 09:57 PM | #157 | |||
06-12-2007, 10:00 PM | #158 | |||
06-12-2007, 10:02 PM | #159 | |||
06-12-2007, 10:11 PM | #160 | ||
Global warming...
Any of you blokes been to the Flinders Ranges,and around the general area??? And did you notice all the old farm houses etc,crumbling into ruines??? A couple hundred years ago,that land must have been lush with growth to sustain sheep and cattle,hence all the farms up there... Introduce the steam engine,cut down all the trees to feed the steam engine... And the Flinders is fcuked...YEA right... 100 years is nothing in the cycle of the earth.we plebs living here on earth are just fleas on the dogs back,once he croakes it,were doomed... vik...Just remember folks,Captian Cook only lobbed here in a sailing ship 200 od years ago...Has any thing changed since then??? |
06-12-2007, 10:26 PM | #161 | ||
Dylsexic poofters of the world untie...
06-12-2007, 10:35 PM | #162 | |||
06-12-2007, 10:38 PM | #163 | |||
06-12-2007, 10:38 PM | #164 | ||
I love how they've changed the fear pedaling from the polar ice caps melting and flooding us, to global warming not leaving any water for us!!!
Which one is it going to be????
06-12-2007, 10:42 PM | #165 | ||
What a Kyoto ??
;)
06-12-2007, 10:43 PM | #166 | |||
Hedge your bets and sure as the sun will rise tomorrow...life will go on.
06-12-2007, 10:48 PM | #167 | |||
5.4L 3V V8
[QUOTE=cov115]
Do a bit of research into politics mate and you might be able to come up with a better response. |
06-12-2007, 10:49 PM | #168 | ||
Cattle farts are also a big concern , there will be a green tax on rump stakes shortly too.
seriously though . think of daily world pollution . with 6.2 billion people . 1000years ago the population was only 280 million people . third world countries have gone from drinking petrol to driving cars. whats it going to be like in the not too distant future where chinese people have 2 cars per family. imagine another 100 years from now . our grand children will be here . whats it going to be like for them and thier grandchildren . if you think of the exponential scale of this . it may be time to act now . ( mind you nature could run an equal course all on it's own . but we cant stop nature . we can change our ways as we do constantly now . 200 years ago there were no engines . 200 years from now . i dare say there wont be any as we know them either. |
06-12-2007, 11:08 PM | #169 | ||
Complete ****** n bogan
Majority of polution is by the Coal Powerplants I am pretty sure. Cars make up something like 10%?
06-12-2007, 11:18 PM | #170 | ||
Oh my gawd!!! why does every thread turn into a political debate!!! Make a difference people or SHUT UP!!! Either you care or cruise along with the popular....Life is too short for politics.....See the people around you and love them for who they are...better or worse!!! Get a life people...and while you are at it!....Get a heart!! You might get it broken once if you are lucky.but it will make you stronger..but for FFS....love the people that love you....that is all I have to say!!!! This thread is dead to me!!!
06-12-2007, 11:32 PM | #171 | |||
<<< <<< <<< <<< |
07-12-2007, 12:10 AM | #172 | ||
Well this thread turned political because its the politicians who chose to implement the Kyoto, other then that you just ripped of my post and added a bit more desperation to it then i did.
07-12-2007, 12:40 AM | #173 | ||
I reckon it will be dearer, but it wont be killed.
Even if it means driving with a little less anger, or driving the 8 a few times a week instead of everyday so be it. Worth paying for the feeling of 6 litres under my right foot.
A philosopher is a person who finds a problem for every solution . :Reverend: 95 EF XR8, Advance headers, Vortech V2 t trim blower, Ported Cobra Manifold, Capa Switch Chip Eliminator. 307 rwhp 395 ft/lb 13.2 @ 105mph Now NA- AFR 165 heads, 1.6RR, Ported Cobra 269rwhp 14.2 ... needs stall and 4.11's 1977 CL Chrysler Panel Van, 360, 727 torqueflite auto soon to be restored. |
07-12-2007, 12:55 AM | #174 | ||
Let the adaptation begin.
I don't think any changes will be that sudden that everything will go up the creek overnight. I don't think there's much cause for panic here. My undies are still clean.
07-12-2007, 01:11 AM | #175 | ||||
If the globe was your face and your chin was Australia, imagine standing in the sun on a hot summers day, your nose will get burnt whilst your chin will not. If you tilt your head back you will get more sun on your chin than your nose (unless of course you are Jay Leno, and looking down quick means your chin will hit you in the balls). Now imagine in this experiment that your mouth was the equator. Applied to the globe, our country being south of the equator means we receive less sun when the chin is pointing down during the winter months and ergo tend to have cooler temperatures, whilst in the summer we receive more sun due to the higher axis/looking upwards. Also, what's more relevent here is the fact that different levels of sunlight mean different temperature currents from around the world thusly affecting rainfall. El Nino ostensibly places warmer currents off the east coast resulting in a lesser diurnal temperature range and plenty of high pressure systems which fail to promote evaporation and ergo condensation (rain). Don't make the mistake of linking El Nino and la nina with Global warming, as many others have conveniently done to try and quantify their argument. As for Kyoto, it is nothing more than the anagram lovers Tokyo. CO2 poisoning the planet is all rubbish, if we get rid of CO2 then the planet would die as plants need it, we need it. Furthermore, even though the higher altitude temperatures have not changed at all since the global wealthier urm warming thing, CO2 has effectively acted as a blanket and we thusly have a lower degree of warming than Mars. 1500 years ago the north pole was navigated by the chinese and there was no ice, greenland was also settled by the vikings as pastoral land due to the perfect conditions for grazing cattle - now it's a block of ice. Personally, I refuse to believe the new world order which is the Global ****ing brigade for the simple fact that those who espouse it have done so well financially out of it. It to my mind is no better than the tele evangelical douche bags you see in the USA; farting preacher included. 30 years ago it was an ice age, I too believe that in the next few years we will find out it's all a bunch of crap. Finally, as a world we do need to reign in nations such as china and india who are going through an industrial boom with little consideration for the environment. What I mean is that they are polluting their air and water with dangerous elements such as lead and will therefore require others to supply them, this is the lunacy that should be quashed yet keffa annan isn't interested. Oh, and Krudd has said that he supports hybrids which means they won't support Holden or Ford. For that reason, I think he is an ear gobby eating muppet who has all of the charisma of John Denver right after he died.
Last edited by ltd; 07-12-2007 at 01:16 AM. |
07-12-2007, 01:52 AM | #176 | |||
07-12-2007, 02:01 AM | #177 | |||
07-12-2007, 02:38 AM | #178 | |||
Zoom Zoom
07-12-2007, 03:28 AM | #179 | |||
07-12-2007, 07:50 AM | #180 | |||
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia
I know Kyoto is a load of crock, cars make up a tiny miniscule amount of global emissions and Rudd is of questionable sexuality driving a Prius. I still don't like the idea that everyone is putting their hands over their eyes and pretending everything is going to be okay. Theoretical global warming is only a small part of our problem of LACK OF SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT. I don't know if you WA blokes know but your wheat belt is DISAPPEARING. 1/3 of WA's wheat belt will be lost by 2030 unless salinity problems are managed. So far the solution is to dig a deep drainage trench to your neighbours property and watch their crops die. Where I live in Western New South Wales we have watched the topsoil pack it's back and ask for a divorce. This isn't natural causes it's unsustainable practice on our part. For the past two centuries we have been farming marginal land, used up our entire bore water reserves and cleared our forests. Meanwhile the best land in Sydney and the coast we have dropped Mcmansions on it. I know Australia is a Daihatsu Charade in the global scale and the V8 big block straight through exhausts of the world are not doing anything but I would like to at least pretend we are doing something. I wasn't that worried about "climate change" until the global insurance companies started getting nervous. Then you know something is not good. I find it hard to believe that if every Chinese family wants a car and a big TV it wont have the least effect on our atmosphere. I don't understand your analogy on C02?? We are in a closed system. All the Carbon has to go somewhere. A lot of it used to be fixed in the ground and in plants then we decided we want to put it in the atmosphere instead. Since when did the Chinese navigate the North Pole??? And the Viking settling in a ice free Greenland??? It was named Greenland to attract settlers to a piece of land and that is fact. Either way I'm gunna see how cheap I can get a block of land in Antarctica : Last edited by sleekism; 07-12-2007 at 07:56 AM. |