17-05-2012, 09:54 PM | #151 | ||
I think it has been established that a lot of truckies have little or no respect for other road users and speed at will, limiters or not. Limiters do not stop the truck going well over 100kph esp downhill. From comments from ff members and other car forums, a number of car drivers have the same lack of consideration for other road users as well as themselves. Speed, fatigue and simple lack of care are costing lives on our roads. And, sadly, that lack of care seems to be seeping into the general population. Just IMO but what else can you take away from the carnage on our roads. Which is what this thread started out talking about.
17-05-2012, 10:00 PM | #152 | ||
Let's keep it civil & on topic please.
17-05-2012, 10:17 PM | #153 | |||
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan
17-05-2012, 10:23 PM | #154 | ||||||
17-05-2012, 10:32 PM | #155 | |||
18-05-2012, 10:36 AM | #156 | |||
850 km, 9 hours 12 mins National Highway M31 and Hume Hwy/National Highway 31 |
18-05-2012, 10:44 AM | #157 | |||
Yes the media blow things up but they dont make the stories & if what Mr Lennon has stated was true the media would have released a story saying the same thing. I remember seeing the reports at the time & they even showed these wheel/ cog things that were used to allow the trucks to go faster than 100. I could be wrong & am willing to accept that if you show me the proof & not from the guy that owns the company lol |
18-05-2012, 10:47 AM | #158 | |||
they blow things out of proportion, they make up the stories and they also claim that facts are forgeries i have no idea in this actual case, but the media can be total scum |
18-05-2012, 10:53 AM | #159 | |||
18-05-2012, 10:56 AM | #160 | ||||
18-05-2012, 11:50 AM | #161 | ||
Aussie blue, I did say I had read MOST of the posts in this thread. As Pinkbits said, keep it civil please.
18-05-2012, 05:45 PM | #162 | ||||
Some people amaze me with stupid remarks like this. Have you ever thought as to why the freight is on trucks and not rail? It is because rail cannot compete with road transport for timeline as road will always be there quicker, even on speed limited trucks. Then there are people that just have to have everything overnight, good luck doing that on rail. Quote:
Last edited by The G6ET Spot; 18-05-2012 at 05:56 PM. |
18-05-2012, 06:14 PM | #163 | |||||||
no offence to trivers. Quote:
keep in mind this is hanging meat from beaudesert qld to kigsfordsmith syd. 4:30~5:30 arvo to 5:00 AM the next morning. Quote:
maybe a QLD driver can answer that. Quote:
18-05-2012, 06:16 PM | #164 | ||||
These days our Trucks do Syd-Melb in 11 hrs with their 1/2 hour break. And yes ours are speed limited with satellite tracking and if we go over 110 we get a 'please explain' letter from management.
18-05-2012, 06:58 PM | #165 | |||
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan
18-05-2012, 07:20 PM | #166 | |||
18-05-2012, 07:40 PM | #167 | |||
18-05-2012, 07:40 PM | #168 | ||
Cars kill more people than trucks do. Get rid of evil cars...
Whilst this is a tragic story and RIP to the family involved, let's not blame the entire trucking industry for it. "Without Trucks Australia Stops" could not be any more true.
19-05-2012, 05:40 AM | #169 | |||
Ok so in the Lennons case the media hired actors to pretend they were police & rms employees, told them what to say, provided props in the form of the speed altering wheels/ cogs, hired more actors to pretend they were drugged truck drivers, planted drugs in the trucks & then told those drivers to abandon their trucks & run away, hired another actor & told him not to stop for the police even if he notices a helicopter chasing him etc etc.... The Media did not make any of these things happen but simply reported it. Yes they blow stories up & make them sound often much more than they are as in adding some drama but they dont make them from nowhere. So come on show me some proof of what your saying & not from an owner of a company who can say whatever he wants to make himself look better. |
19-05-2012, 06:11 AM | #170 | |||
all i'm saying is i will always believe his word over what i read in the media. do you know what they do when they tamper with speed limiting devices?? wheels/cogs??? please. if trucks were found to have been tampered with, which is illegal, why have no charges been made? i don't need proof, because as far as i'm concerned, there is no proof to the contrary of what mr lennons letter states. police and RMS etc give certain facts to the media. they don't write the stories and they don't control how those 'facts' get presented. do you seriously give the media that much credit when they report on things? |
19-05-2012, 07:44 AM | #171 | |||
you missed my point by a long way, old mate, and calling my comment stupid is quite insulting as i have an opinion based on where i live and the rail network that exists here. you're comment is quite naive and unconstructive to my comment. overnight in this neck of the woods is airfreight |
19-05-2012, 09:16 AM | #172 | |||
19-05-2012, 09:31 AM | #173 | |||
But we're comparing apples and oranges here. The trucking industry is heavily subsidised, and doesnt come close to paying its way (eg. truck rego costs should be far higher compared to cars on basis of kms travelled and damage done). I'd rather see a system where the taxpayer isnt silently footing the bill. At least this way, rail might have a fair chance of establishing itself as a viable alternative to long range freight. |
19-05-2012, 09:39 AM | #174 | ||
higher rego for trucks? yeah ok.
who do you think would end up footing the bill for extra costs?? the consumer! |
19-05-2012, 09:46 AM | #175 | |||
Taxes no longer being spent on trucks could then go toward more rail infratsructure. Win! |
19-05-2012, 09:50 AM | #176 | |||
19-05-2012, 09:58 AM | #177 | |||
i dont have any issues paying more when I see a benefit. that said, i wouldnt trust the current idiots to spend the money properly ... it would probably once again end up in the hands of all the deadbeats we're currently supporting. |
19-05-2012, 10:04 AM | #178 | ||
what makes you think trucks don't pay enough in rego?
19-05-2012, 10:10 AM | #179 | |||
Then you have taxes on fuel (at about 50l/100km) Tyres etc. Which is the part that is subsidised? I'm sure Toll and others would love to know We all know that Rego, fuel, and tyre tax's for ALL vehicles go into general revenue, and not to into the road system.
19-05-2012, 10:37 AM | #180 | |||
truck rego is nowhere near 9600x higher than car rego. |