You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-10-2023, 11:19 AM   #1801
smoo

Default Re: Cars you don't see many of anymore

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
Yes and used in the XC90 which is always tempting when looking...apparently have decent issues with some coolant leaks around the heads/valley which is super costly but otherwise VERY tempting.
Also the XC70 and V70 T6 which are good value for money.
Although I’ve read the 6 cylinder petrols can be hit and miss with reliability, 5 cyl diesels appear to go the distance.
One of only a handful of decent and interesting wagons over the last 15 years in a market that has unnecessarily abandoned them for **** SUVs/crossovers.
smoo is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-10-2023, 08:51 PM   #1802
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Theres one of those here, see it quite often.
I like it
From memory, the S80 was based on the Ford CD345 platform that underpinned the gen-3 Mondeo, among others.

"The new S80 is based on the Volvo P3 platform, also used for vehicles including the Ford S-Max, third generation Ford Mondeo, and Ford Galaxy large MPVs."

They had a lovely interior as well, complete with the floating control panel.

I bet most of them were made in boring black though.............

Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2023, 10:01 AM   #1803

Spotted a lovely Ford Customline in Violet Town yesterday.
Looked like an older resto complete with pearl white paint and a blue flame job.
Flathead sounded great on departure leading a few earlier Commodore Statesman's and a WB Statesman, obviously a car club.

Old 12-10-2023, 01:52 PM   #1804
123Cat

I saw one being pushed in Brookvale near Manly footy club and got scared,,,, there was a lot of body roll , there , like the old Bathurst Races

I don't suppose they had a roll bar
Old 12-10-2023, 02:29 PM   #1805
xkxlxm

XF (or was it an XG?) red falcon ute, SVO badged. Nice.
xkxlxm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2023, 03:04 PM   #1806
ford71V8

2 door 180B.
White and rust.
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2023, 04:53 PM   #1807

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Were there two versions of that - one being much more a “fastback” styling?
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2023, 05:02 PM   #1808

180B SSS coupe

Old 12-10-2023, 09:38 PM   #1809

BF MK2.5 XR6

I've seen this colour in MK2.5 about twice

Also check out how ugly that Nissan Juke thing is next to it.
Old 12-10-2023, 10:48 PM   #1810
ford71V8

What a shame, looks good in that green.
I dont think I have ever seen one.

And yeah thats some weird *** ugliness, who signs off on these things?
Old 13-10-2023, 01:24 AM   #1811

Arh, don't park so far over the gutter...
Front tyre looks a bit flat too.

Old 13-10-2023, 10:04 AM   #1812
Toiler

Originally Posted by XR Martin View Post
Arh, don't park so far over the gutter...
Yes.
There is a simple fix that appears to work.
From the drivers seat look under the drivers side mirror as you approach the curb. When you see the curb under the mirror stop. Get out of the car, you should be just clear of the curb. Seems to work in many types of cars. Worth checking on yours.

. .sheesh I sound like a you tube ad . .
Old 13-10-2023, 11:32 AM   #1813
ford71V8

I just re-read this post. Initially read incorrectly, asking if there were two DOOR versions.

Not that I am aware of...only the 180B SSS coupe as posted by RW.

I saw it again this morning.
If I have time on the way to work, and its parked in the same spot next week, I will snap a photo.
Old 13-10-2023, 03:14 PM   #1814

BA G220 in acid rush.
Audi RS2 coupe circa 1994.
Old 13-10-2023, 10:42 PM   #1815
Trendseeker

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
I just re-read this post. Initially read incorrectly, asking if there were two DOOR versions.

Not that I am aware of...only the 180B SSS coupe as posted by RW.

I saw it again this morning.
If I have time on the way to work, and its parked in the same spot next week, I will snap a photo.
Yes, the only two door version was the 180B SSS coupe. I had a 1973 model, 3-speed auto, white; bought it secondhand in 1977 with only 15,000 km on the odo. Kept it for 6 years and sold it at 172,000km. It was a good car; spent most of its time very close to the coast and I had to get some rust cut out of the B pillar to pass rego one year. My mate’s 4-speed manual 1600 Capri could outrun it though when we put them to the test on the F6 freeway.
Old 14-10-2023, 09:58 AM   #1816

Spose some could get the 120Y coupe mixed up with the 180B SSS.

Comparing Datsun's 2 knockabout coupe's at the time.
120Y did look slightly more sleeker but I reckon the SSS was easier on the eye.

Speaking of Datsun, haven't seen any 280Z's in a long time. (US pic)

I recall all three, being 2 doors were super hard to insure as a young driver, along with a Monaro LE i tried to buy..

Last edited by roKWiz; 14-10-2023 at 10:04 AM.
Old 14-10-2023, 10:45 AM   #1817
ford71V8

I had a white 4 door 180B.
Black vinyl roof, splats and yokies, never did like the red interior
Old 14-10-2023, 10:57 AM   #1818

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
I had a white 4 door 180B.
Black vinyl roof, splats and yokies, never did like the red interior
Brother had a Orange 4 door. He hated the colour and got a mate of a mate apprentice to spray paint it .......Chocolate brown !!! with a white roof.

The funny bit was the young apprentice bloke was a hoon, who while he had it in his possession chalked up several speeding and dangerous driving offences which horrified my stiff public servant brother when the cops came knocking due to none payment of fines.

Old 15-10-2023, 05:27 PM   #1819
xkxlxm

Blue XY GT (real?) sounding healthy. Also an early Mazda Astina, red, original green/white number plates starting with an 'E'. (Weren't all those plates supposed to have been handed in long ago?)
Old 15-10-2023, 06:25 PM   #1820

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Spose some could get the 120Y coupe mixed up with the 180B SSS.

Comparing Datsun's 2 knockabout coupe's at the time.
120Y did look slightly more sleeker but I reckon the SSS was easier on the eye.

Speaking of Datsun, haven't seen any 280Z's in a long time. (US pic)

I recall all three, being 2 doors were super hard to insure as a young driver, along with a Monaro LE i tried to buy..
Unfortunately 120Ys and 180Bs never looked that back in the day.
They were always blowing smoke, rusty and banged around.

Old 15-10-2023, 06:31 PM   #1821
ford71V8

Can confirm, dark stain on chrome and white paint directly above exhaust...was a great first car to be honest, with an hour plus each way travelling for my apprentice days I couldnt run what I really wanted, had to wait couple of years
Old 19-10-2023, 12:25 PM   #1822

Followed a cruise ship today.

Old 19-10-2023, 12:32 PM   #1823
123Cat

Looks like what Eric Burdon had
Old 19-10-2023, 12:42 PM   #1824
Tassie f100

1978 Ford Lincoln
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-10-2023, 12:44 PM   #1825

Originally Posted by 123Cat View Post
Looks like what Eric Burdon had
Did he have a Panama hat ?

Old 19-10-2023, 06:27 PM   #1826
Mulva

Looking out the windscreen of this guy test driving a 1975 Gemini, it's a who's who of Don't See Many of Them Anymore.

Can't get it to start at 6:15 in the embedded video, but link below goes straight to it.

https://youtu.be/X5tGnL5Rllo?si=LizEGqdz675xpXr-&t=375

Mulva is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2023, 07:20 AM   #1827
xkxlxm

Two days ago a first/early generation Magna SE and a Taurus. Yesterday another Taurus - might have been a Ghia - and a 323 wagon, late 70's/early 80's. I think these were all on full reg.
Old 20-10-2023, 07:57 AM   #1828

Originally Posted by Mulva View Post
Looking out the windscreen of this guy test driving a 1975 Gemini, it's a who's who of Don't See Many of Them Anymore.

Can't get it to start at 6:15 in the embedded video, but link below goes straight to it.

https://youtu.be/X5tGnL5Rllo?si=LizEGqdz675xpXr-&t=375

Enjoyed recognizing some of NW $ydney.
Some bush tracks around Sandstone Sales quarry on Halcrows rd Glenorie, then the fabulous Amaroo Park, the overhead taken from footbridge at Epping station. Looks like a Carlingford to Epping Harris Park bus lines sitting at the stop on Beecroft rd.
Later driving the inner city burbs.

Old 20-10-2023, 01:28 PM   #1829

Trip upto Yarrawonga this morning. Spotted a few classics getting around.
Another Lincoln only a 2 door coupe parked in the main street and this full NSW reg EH wagon.

and another tin grilled WB ute back in Wang.

Old 21-10-2023, 10:34 PM   #1830

FGII FPV GS ute
Manual with brembo option.