You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 10-11-2010, 10:57 PM   #1831

Cool

Originally Posted by Pedro
Yeah DAZ, that's the one. He showed it off at Hi-Torque just after he'd fitted it.
Kent offered to put that package in mine for $6000 with a turbo400, LoL i could never open my bonnet again !!!!
But that LS1 sure sounded tuff at full flight, never knew Chris tuned chev's as well as Ford until he let it slip while dynoing your rig
Old 10-11-2010, 11:30 PM   #1832

I agree with everyone else. The Chevy badges are ridiculous. I saw a police car with a Chevy badge not long ago.

Someone with a real Chevy should but a slogan on their back window having a go at Commodore drivers with Chevy badges.
Old 10-11-2010, 11:57 PM   #1833
MexicanBatman

What's a real chevy, they haven't made them in years, barinas are sold overseas badged as chevys..
Old 11-11-2010, 12:37 AM   #1834

Real imported Old chevys.
Suburbans, corvettes, blazers, Cameros, etc. These are all real ones to my knowledge.
Old 11-11-2010, 03:17 AM   #1835
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by Sizey
Notice the SA plate. Typical!!

man, people like this lower the IQ even more in this state.....
Old 11-11-2010, 04:52 AM   #1836
Nate_Dog

I never could figure out the appeal of putting chev badges on holdens, seeing as given the choice,
every single executive at GM would trade their own mothers to replicate Holdens sales success with even one of their other marks.
I think there was a period of something like 8 months at the height of the GFC when holden was the only car company affiliated with GM that was actually profitable.
Old 11-11-2010, 06:20 AM   #1837
wrongwaynorris

Endemic here in NSW too , will post a link to the ultimate ****** with Chev badges on a V6 Buick powered Commode as well as my mates SS at Bathurst this year . I'm actually thinking of putting Mercury Badges on the FG and EF .
Old 11-11-2010, 09:47 AM   #1838

It's not just commodores, I saw an Astra with a Chevy Badge. What a fun day that was lol
Old 11-11-2010, 09:58 AM   #1839

i dont see anything wrong with them putting the chev badges on their cars if it actually has a chev in it... but its a definite fail if its not a chev.
Old 11-11-2010, 10:24 AM   #1840
TC200six

Originally Posted by nstg8a
i dont see anything wrong with them putting the chev badges on their cars if it actually has a chev in it... but its a definite fail if its not a chev.
Like the VX I mentioned before is a definite fail because it's only a V6 and has a Chev badge on it.
Old 11-11-2010, 10:42 AM   #1841
outside
off in outer space

i have seen a captiva running around town with the chev bow-tie on it
Old 11-11-2010, 11:01 AM   #1842
Fled74
The Thread Killa

Saw a VE SS ute with the lot: Chev badges, Southern Cross stickers and a "F- off, we're full" decal.

If you ask me, sticking American badges on your Holden completely defeats the purpose of driving an "Aussie" car.

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." - Aristotle
Old 11-11-2010, 11:05 AM   #1843

I know nothing about Holden engines, Is teh Current 6.2 V8 a Chev engine?
What about the 6.0?
3.6?
3.0?

It doesn't matter what engine they have, they all have Chevy badges.
Is it like a factory option when buying the car or something?
Old 11-11-2010, 01:46 PM   #1844

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by outside
i have seen a captiva running around town with the chev bow-tie on it
Should have changed it to a Daewoo badge??
Old 11-11-2010, 01:49 PM   #1845
Paxton
Cobblers!

Originally Posted by Nate_Dog
I think there was a period of something like 8 months at the height of the GFC when holden was the only car company affiliated with GM that was actually profitable.
Nope.

Holden haven't been profitable in years. The GFC didn't change that.
Roses are red. Violets are blue. OS X rocks. Homage to you.
Old 11-11-2010, 02:03 PM   #1846
04redxr8

I guess a lot of people here really dont know where the whole Chev badge thing originated. (I don't agree with it, but the ignorance is also becoming tiresome).

Mid 80's to probably mid 90's, alot of people drove older cars. At that time Ford had it allover Holden for engine choice and size. 302 Windsor and Clevo, or 351 Windsor and Clevo's vs 253 or 308. Post 1975 vehicles had to retain factory year model engines to retain ADR27a compliance. If you wanted to have more capacity in your Holden, the best way was to run a Chev. Easy to do in a pre '75 car, but requiring a gas conversion to run in a post 75 car.

The Chev badge was fitted alot of the time to inform Ford drivers that it was not a stock Holden they were going against. It was a sure fire way to inform every one that your car had balls. Remember that this was a time before injection was the norm.

Current Holdens V8's are sourced direct from the States in the way of crate motors. Thank the Australian Government for that one. They dropped import tarrifs for Holden, making it cheaper to import a motor, than manufacture their own. Ford also had the same benefit. Where do you think the BOSS and Coyote came from?

If you want to get technical, our domestic Fords carry the same Blue Oval Ford emblem us the US models. Does that mean Ford Australia failed?

Yeah we get it that Chev badges don't really belong on Holdens as such. But the trend goes back to a time before alot of members here were even born. Can we just get over it and move on?
Old 11-11-2010, 02:50 PM   #1847
Linkachu

Just saw a Suzuki 4wd with the number plate "sk1ds"

I couldnt get a pick =(
Old 11-11-2010, 03:52 PM   #1848

Originally Posted by Linkachu
I would have laughed too, if it not for one night i was down in an industrial area and there was a beatup old vitara doing some very, very good circlework, stuff that'd put some garden-variety falcon owners to shame...

And we've done the bloody chev badge topic to death, in my family was a 1927 Chev with the plates 'Body by Holden' and that had Chev badges on it.

IMO i reckon it's really good, because maybe it'll show the luddites how little aussie content there is in holdens.

ENOUGH WITH THE CHEV BADGES TOPIC!!@#$!
Old 11-11-2010, 04:05 PM   #1849
SLO-04L
It Never Ends

not sure if i posted this already but
no chevy badges!

identity crisis???
Old 11-11-2010, 04:18 PM   #1850
BigAL_250
and that's how it is

So, it's a Holden Commodore Clubsport SS Equipe?
That's got to be one great special edition!
2012 Ford FG MkII G6E 2014 -
Old 11-11-2010, 04:25 PM   #1851

Originally Posted by SLO-04L
not sure if i posted this already but
no chevy badges!
No chev badges but its pretty much got every other badge you can get in those models.

Old 11-11-2010, 04:59 PM   #1852

Originally Posted by bigal_250
So, it's a Holden Commodore Clubsport SS Equipe?
That's got to be one great special edition!
You forgot series 2!!! (the little one under equipe)
Old 11-11-2010, 05:30 PM   #1853
Andy777

Originally Posted by Linkachu

I couldnt get a pick =(
my mate just sold his vitara, had a vn v6 motor in it, and this thing use smoke em like snoop dog
Old 11-11-2010, 05:36 PM   #1854

Originally Posted by Andy777
my mate just sold his vitara, had a vn v6 motor in it, and this thing use smoke em like snoop dog
Does that mean that the car would begin smoking wildly, and then fall over on its side??
Old 11-11-2010, 05:46 PM   #1855
S.D.M.F

The 'CHEV' badge epidemic is explained well here:

http://thingsboganslike.com/2009/11/18/28-holdens/
Old 11-11-2010, 09:14 PM   #1856
zdcol71
zdcol71

Saw this at a track day at Lakeside a while ago. Don't want to offend anyone but it just doesn't work for me. Others may see it as "Epic win"

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 11-11-2010, 09:24 PM   #1857
04redxr8

^^^

Ok, what was it, and what is it now trying to be?
Old 11-11-2010, 09:31 PM   #1858
zdcol71
zdcol71

Originally Posted by 04redxr8
^^^

Ok, what was it, and what is it now trying to be?
Don't know, and don't know.
My guess was it was a purpose built kit, but like I say, I hope its not some sort of exotic desirable that I'm completely ignorant of. (Though it's been a long time since I've seen what Purvis were doing!! )
Old 11-11-2010, 09:40 PM   #1859
XR_6falcon

Originally Posted by zdcol71
Saw this at a track day at Lakeside a while ago. Don't want to offend anyone but it just doesn't work for me. Others may see it as "Epic win"

[IMG][/IMG]

sorta looks like a morgan and tvr hybrid?

Smoke tyres, not drugs
Old 11-11-2010, 09:48 PM   #1860
huggiebear
Mr. Multiple Projects

lol at the 'no step' stickers lol
2004 Forester Turbo
2006 Corolla Wagon BLAAAAAAACK