You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 03-07-2006, 10:15 PM   #181
XR6Gal
Just Super Happy now :)

there's a thread here on age groups: http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=53896

PhantomBA XR6 (Sold), now a VW owner (don't hold it against me )

& also a CM Valiant Wagon, gotta love the old Val's
see her progress here
NOW SOLD :( but now have a
Honda CBR250 Motorbike
Old 03-07-2006, 10:16 PM   #182
FordFan86
meow

20, act/feel anywhere from 16-30 at times.
Old 03-07-2006, 10:16 PM   #183
BlueXr8

18/m/south east of vic
Old 03-07-2006, 10:17 PM   #184

Originally Posted by Ghia5L
I'm 13/F/frankston :newangel:
Ha ha.

You don't look it!
Old 03-07-2006, 10:18 PM   #185
Van D

18, and male the last time I checked.
Old 03-07-2006, 10:18 PM   #186
crannersEL

That picture is soo true FordFan86 hahaha
Old 03-07-2006, 10:19 PM   #187

Originally Posted by EFFalcon
Frankston... rofl
so you're local Ghia5L ;)
Be gentle! (this line proves I'm not from frankston)
Old 03-07-2006, 10:21 PM   #188
XRchic
Hello

Originally Posted by EF_Frmnt
hahaha seems popinfresh an i have the same father somehow.. he does that regularly an constantly tells anyone who will listen the 'stream of gorgeous girls' in an out of our house. he claims total responsibility.

And to XRchic... chic is actually spelt with a k at the end of it ;) i know i know chics dont like smartasses.... :P
Chick = baby chicken.

Chic = slang term for female, girl etc....

Common mistake.

Hehehehe!

: Cobra :
Old 03-07-2006, 10:22 PM   #189
XR8MAD
Venom XR8

Originally Posted by FordFan86

20, act/feel anywhere from 16-30 at times.

good pic fordfan!!! :hihi:

Hey whats wrong with ol Franga!!!!! LOL

Just because my house has automatic defences at the front and 24 hour security!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
XE Fairmont 250 16.57et
XB 500 351 14.00et
XB GS 351 13.12et
Current ride:
AUII XR8 ??.??et
Old 03-07-2006, 10:28 PM   #190

Originally Posted by XR8MAD
Hey whats wrong with ol Franga!!!!! LOL

Just because my house has automatic defences at the front and 24 hour security!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
is that due to a 13yo co-tenant?
Old 03-07-2006, 10:28 PM   #191
EF_Frmnt

Originally Posted by XRchic
Chick = baby chicken.

Chic = slang term for female, girl etc....

Common mistake.

Hehehehe!
Exactly. Slang term ;) chic in its proper meaning is in relation to fashions or style etc. It is commonly used as a description for a girl but then who says that the correct way is without a k...? it is after all a slang term.
Old 03-07-2006, 10:29 PM   #192
SVR73
Mr Polish

33 but look early 20's
Old 03-07-2006, 10:34 PM   #193
XR8MAD
Venom XR8

Originally Posted by Ghia5L
is that due to a 13yo co-tenant?

yer U got me dude!!!! LOL
XE Fairmont 250 16.57et
XB 500 351 14.00et
XB GS 351 13.12et
Current ride:
AUII XR8 ??.??et
Old 03-07-2006, 10:43 PM   #194
Bucket
XR5 Pilot

22 and In Perth..and male..almost forgot that bit :-P
Old 03-07-2006, 10:43 PM   #195
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Originally Posted by BlueXr8
yer but i bet it looks trick now...

Fabio how flatering lol jokes i wish
Na still rusty, yeah just a little joke
Old 03-07-2006, 10:54 PM   #196
XRchic
Hello

Originally Posted by EF_Frmnt
Exactly. Slang term ;) chic in its proper meaning is in relation to fashions or style etc. It is commonly used as a description for a girl but then who says that the correct way is without a k...? it is after all a slang term.
I think you may have missed my point... the use of slang (correctly spelled) or terminology or any correct use of language does not imply that the writer is a moron or lazy... as opposed to people who use net/sms language, exceptionally bad grammar, spelling and punctuation on the forums.... its just a really bad thing for the image when these days, blokes claim that girls dont want them and blame a lot of things. With all the competition out there, for the nice girls, why risk it by coming across as a moron because you are lazy? Impress the girls with clothes, sure? But impress them with other things such as personality, sense of humour, strength of character, confidence and intelligence!

The way you write says a lot about yourself, as much as any clothes will. And it is a lot cheaper to write well, than to dress expensively.

: Cobra :
Old 03-07-2006, 11:09 PM   #197
Group C

poison ivy... this might sound a bit silly, but in MY experiences, the harder you look for something, the harder it is to find.
by this, i mean, we all know that when you are trying to find something, like the TV remote, you know you put it down 5 minutes ago and now you can't remember where you put it, and you won't find it when you set out too. you always find it when you aren't looking for it, and then the words "Ohh, thats where it is!!" come out.
i've found that my love-life was the same (i'm now a VERY happily married man of nearly 8 years, to the BEST girl ever!!)(suk, suk...). i was MADLY chasing a girl for 18 months before i'd even met my now-wife. the 'old girl' would lead me on when it suited her, then forget me when it suited also. i did EVERYTHING she ever wanted, and got used because of it.
this put me off the 'dating scene' for a while.
then i met my wife, Nicole.
i WASN'T looking for anyone at the time, and nor was she, but we hit it off straight away, as friends. our relationship developed over about 6 months till we went out together, and the rest is history.

anyway, the point of my rambling is that (and PLEASE don't take this personally. it's just my view...) you might be simply trying too hard to find a guy.
maybe you should take a step back for a while, and let love find you.
it worked for us, and a number of our friends too have had the same experiences too.

and it works when we all can't find the TV remote!!

BTW, i think you sound very nice, and i'd make the effort if i was still available.

GOOD LUCK SWEETHEART!!
Brett
Old 03-07-2006, 11:17 PM   #198
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Originally Posted by Group C
poison ivy... this might sound a bit silly, but in MY experiences, the harder you look for something, the harder it is to find.
by this, i mean, we all know that when you are trying to find something, like the TV remote, you know you put it down 5 minutes ago and now you can't remember where you put it, and you won't find it when you set out too. you always find it when you aren't looking for it, and then the words "Ohh, thats where it is!!" come out.
i've found that my love-life was the same (i'm now a VERY happily married man of nearly 8 years, to the BEST girl ever!!)(suk, suk...). i was MADLY chasing a girl for 18 months before i'd even met my now-wife. the 'old girl' would lead me on when it suited her, then forget me when it suited also. i did EVERYTHING she ever wanted, and got used because of it.
this put me off the 'dating scene' for a while.
then i met my wife, Nicole.
i WASN'T looking for anyone at the time, and nor was she, but we hit it off straight away, as friends. our relationship developed over about 6 months till we went out together, and the rest is history.

anyway, the point of my rambling is that (and PLEASE don't take this personally. it's just my view...) you might be simply trying too hard to find a guy.
maybe you should take a step back for a while, and let love find you.
it worked for us, and a number of our friends too have had the same experiences too.

and it works when we all can't find the TV remote!!

BTW, i think you sound very nice, and i'd make the effort if i was still available.

GOOD LUCK SWEETHEART!!
Brett
Spot on,exactly the same for me.
I found an angel when I least expected it, and at the time I was very happy being single.
Best advice so far,just take it easy,and it will find you if it's meant to happen,and from where you least expect it usually.
Old 03-07-2006, 11:18 PM   #199
ziggee

Originally Posted by XRchic
Most chics dont like blokes who cannot spell and use punctuation and grammar properly as it is an INDICATION of below average intelligence.... regardless of what clothes he wears or what club he goes to.... Its an overall package thing!
Whilst over emphazing people that for what ever reason are unable to to this to a higher level, shows disrespect and snobbiness... ;)

I take your point though (as you pointed out to me recently) I am hopeless at all of what you have made mention and agree 100% with your statements in so far as a little effort does indeed go a long way (hence I have spell checker enabled DOH!)

but I have met people that can do this perfectly, and frankly sure book smart, but brain dead in allot of other areas.

I have yet to meet a tradie that is great with these things, but Jesus how they build a house or fix a car amazes me..

Do people think that because you can't spell or use grammar, but know how to apply the words and better yet UNDERSTAND the concept of there meaning are really less intelligent? I am not so sure. I'd love to be perfect I wish I was better at all that no real excuses for me.

Wanted: Single female with bad spelling and grammar!

dam thread of the century!!! Poison Ivy you rule! GREAT question, great responses great AFF debate. and not a poll insight!! ;)

Old 03-07-2006, 11:24 PM   #200

I was going out with someone till a year ago. Looking back on it she wasn't worth the effort. She wanted a pet that she could train to do what she wanted, not a boyfriend. I usually spent an afternoon & evening every week with her, but sometimes she would get pi**ed off and I was made to feel guilty for not wanting to spend my whole weekend with her. My work sees me finish at 8pm or later during the week, with a late start, so I pretty much don't have much of a social life after work during the week and it has been that way for more than 10 years. So that leaves my weekend - part of which I spend doing chores, cleaning the car or exercise. So there goes a good part of one day of the weekend. Combined with her living 60kms away on the other side of Melbourne and she had no car or licence, that limited the time we spent together. I went through at least a quarter of a tank a week just driving around picking her up, driving her home or going out somewhere. On top of that while we shared costs, I'd pay more than my share most of the time, didn't have a problem with it and she called me cheap when we split! Good thing we split before the petrol prices skyrocketed!

It might just be me, but sometimes I don't want to spend my spare time with anyone - girlfriend or mates. So for now I'm content being single. Now I'm working a second job to get ahead in life to buy a house and my spare time is now even more valuable - I can't see myself looking for another girlfriend unless I stumble across a real keeper. I'm just gonna look after myself and work towards some personal goals. It's much easier.

I've previously read somewhere about the nice guys only getting to be "friends" with girls - where the nice guy gets stuck as a friend and nothing more. She says he'd make a great boyfriend, but never wants to take him on, but whinges about all the dropkicks that mess her around to him.

The person wrote that basically it's like going for a job, being told that you're perfect in every way, but we're not going to hire you. We'll keep your resume on file as a benchmark against other applicants, present and future. Then we'll hire some guy who is wrong for the position and when he stuffs up, we'll ring you up and complain how bad he is, but still won't give you the job.
Old 03-07-2006, 11:49 PM   #201
Group C

Originally Posted by pauljh74
It might just be me, but sometimes I don't want to spend my spare time with anyone - girlfriend or mates.
it's not just you mate.
i think everyone is the same on this 1.

as i wrote before, i'm very happy, but i still need time to myself, without Nicole, our fantastic little 5yo daughter, other family, friends, whatever.
and Nicole is the same. we have our things we do all together, as a couple : , and alone.
you need some time to get done what YOU want done, and the time alone can also help clear your mind of all the other stuff going on around you.

also, the old saying of 'abscene makes the heart grow fonder' is VERY true when we are apart.
i know i appreciate her and junior MUCH MUCH more when i see them after being away for a few days with work, so some time alone is sometimes a good thing.

just my opinion anyway.

ohh, thanks nugget!! most of the stuff i write is dribble, but sometimes (be it VERY rarely), i make some sense to someone!!
Old 03-07-2006, 11:54 PM   #202
Barry_v
rocknrolla

I drive 50km across town to see my gf, takes me over an hour. and because of poor apprentice pay I cant afford to drive my V8, so I borrow my dads lpg econovan.

is there any sacrifice greater to a V8 lover than to drive a LPG I4. I think not. AND WHERES MY FRIGGIN MEDAL.
Old 04-07-2006, 12:10 AM   #203
BAUTE
formerly known as AUUTE

well I read most of this thread (skipped a few pages in the middle), and have to admit I find the whole thing amusing. now the BA ute and I currently reside in canberra, now canberra has a lot of things going for it but I have come to the conclusion that the single girl population isn't one of those things. The few times I have been bothered to start a conversation with someone new the first two questions seem to be what do you drive and how much do you earn. now if the first question is because they are genuinely interested in cars then all well and good but it seems to be connected to the 2nd question more often than not.

so what did I decide to do? I gave up, I have a great group of friends (males and females) and we go out, have a blast, play pool, trivia or whatever. life is easier, has much lower stress (currently building a house so plenty of stress).

but will leave you with a few thoughts, chivallry isn't dead, but few women seem to appriciate it. and without a doubt women are generally getting shallower, its not about the guy, its about the car, the money, the clothes. guys are not fully self supporting handbags
Old 04-07-2006, 12:33 AM   #204
ziggee

Read about this on another forum and general consensus was it was Canberra related, but seems it's almost across the board. (aust wide) from this forum if you want to read the ENTIRE thread on other forum let me know IT goes on for about 45pages I think. the same question asked but more females answered on the other forum.. good read. backs up what you have said. I have NFI.. maybe is a male/female shared experince.

Can all the decent males and females step to the left, creeps and b1tches to the right!

Old 04-07-2006, 12:49 AM   #205
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

Meh, the entire race is complicated.

Im happy single and have been so for 2yrs now. Got sick of rejection after rejection, and whilst im not a super good looking guy, i have plenty of confidence and am always myself, women these days just dont know what they want.
***Coming Soon: Clear Side Repeaters***
Originally Posted by The-ShowStoPPa
...dont get me wrong this 3.8v6 is pretty special, it does come with the popular shake rattle and roll option and the auto compliments this with the ever popular snap crackle and pop feature
Old 04-07-2006, 01:00 AM   #206

poison ivy you sound like a really decent girl, the kind I wish was around when I was actively dating.
Am still single now but at 32 I have allowed work and other commitments to consume my time. The whole casual fling thing is really immature, I have a couple of mates who are doing that now and I can honestly say it disgusts me to think that these blokes are lying their asses off to get some girl into bed. Childish in the extreme to the point where they tell lies about who they are and what they do.

Anyhow, I don't believe chivalry is dead; or old fashioned values.
There are decent people out there I'm sure but I have yet to find any. My biggest problem was the parents of the girl always liked me and I guess that scared them off. Still bump into alot of the parents to this day. Talk about awkward.