You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-07-2005, 12:51 PM   #181

So it's a BA non turbo XR8 AU?

I'm lost :S
Old 11-07-2005, 01:48 PM   #182
Falcon

I was at a party once and I was talking to this bloke and he said his friends dad had a GT HO that was "so powerful it snapped the spoiler in half" when it launched at the drag strip. Thats pretty impresive! :hihi:

FORD EA SERIES 11, 3.9L CFI, DUAL FUEL, 5 SPEED, LSD, WADE CAM, EXTRACTORS, SPORTS EXHAUST - Daily Driver :
Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-07-2005, 02:18 PM   #183

Me, yesterday, Wide Bay cruise. Talking to Nudge about his car. His car is an EA Monty Ghia. I looked at his white boot on bluish body.

"I bet that it's a Falcon with Fairmont gear on it."

Should've seen the look on his face.
Old 21-11-2006, 04:26 AM   #184
DOC

Had to post this comment from an email i received.made me laugh.

I have more ideas, stuff I have not even thought of yet !!
DOC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-11-2006, 09:10 AM   #185
GXL078

Originally Posted by AUII_SE_Ute
Here's another one that this particular mate said in High school... (not car related)

"Hong Kong is in China"....
It is NOW.
GXL078 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-11-2006, 09:26 AM   #186

i had a mate teling me theres a driver in canberra that gos so fast the cops can't catch him or ping him...

he also sdaid he was building up a 450 rwk ef for 5 grand
Old 21-11-2006, 10:59 AM   #187
snortycorty

I had this guy come into work one day with his dad. He told me it was a 94 ford, and I asked if he knew what model. Both guys gave me a confused look and I then asked if it was an ED or an EF and the son pipes up and goes yeah its an ef it has it written on the side (EFI) I asked if the car was outside, was told it was so bolted to the front of the shop to check it out and have a chuckle. It was an ED. Poor guys i give them credit at least they didnt pretend to know what they were on about.

Another guy comes in with a relay from his car, a real F'd up one, weird lookin thing. Anyways told him didnt have one (upon investigation found it was genuine) But he wanted to look at what we had anyways, So i take him to look at them and he rings up his "mechanic" mate and as he's looking at the relays we have he goes hey they must be the ones, they are made in germany, just like my car!
snortycorty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-11-2006, 10:59 AM   #188
Bermo
Was BRT-351 now BRT-393

I heard some guy named Bill Clinton say "I did not have sexual relations with that woman"
Bermo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-11-2006, 10:05 PM   #189
Slow Ute

funny thread.

my cousins mate had a HX with a 253 in it.
tells me he was building a super new motor with a 253 block and some ford crank so that it made 298cu (or something like that).
i say "why dont u just put in a 308".
he says "well if i use the 253 i can keep the 4.2 badges on it."
i had to walk away, it was just too funny. i would have put a big block in it and kept the 4.2 badges....dumb ***

young bloke working for a builder the other day, tells me hes putting a 302 into his VN commy. didnt have the heart to tell him he was probably using 308/304. will have to ask him next time how his 302 is going.
2005 toyota hilux V6 auto 14.9 @89mph SOLD :the_finge
starting new project 2007 (probably 2009) sleep:
Slow Ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 12:27 AM   #190
BlewThunder

A mate of mine has a workshop doing rotary engine conversions on old school mazdas etc, one of his mates has an rx4 coupe, doing some work on it and mike shifts the thermo fan from the motor side of the radiator to the front side, the guy whos car it was goes "you can't do that man, my engine will overheat cos the fan isnt blowing onto the engine no more"

another from the same guy after seeing a guy cut nuts in the wet with his newly painted rx4 coupe "man, when I get my car painted properly I'm never taking it out in the wet, rain makes your car rust"

gotta love the BSA's
BlewThunder is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 12:47 AM   #191

Originally Posted by BlewThunder
....shifts the thermo fan from the motor side of the radiator to the front side, the guy whos car it was goes "you can't do that man, my engine will overheat cos the fan isnt blowing onto the engine no more"
Actually, the joke may be on you. Thermo fans mounted on the engine side of the radiator pull air through the radiator and it's easier/more efficient to get the air going through if the air is traveeling in the same direction in the first place. So if you mounted that same fan on the front of the radiator, it will still pull air through, but the wrong way, and would only be 1/2 as efficient.

Old 22-11-2006, 01:04 AM   #192
eb91xr6
V8 Ute V8 Boat

was at the richmond wreakers the other day asking about an XR6 motor,
Me, looking for an eb or ED xr6 motor,
wreaker, na mate you cant fit it to that car,
Me, why not
Wreaker, you will need the ECU to match
Me, no you dont
Wreaker, done the convertion wont work with out the tickford ecu,
Me, your a tool and walk out start to head to lonsdale,
125 Thumpster 2010
Swag
All set for the weekend
eb91xr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 10:06 AM   #193
GXL078

Originally Posted by Mike Gayner
He also pulled his pistons out and had them hardened (yup, the stock pistons - hardened).
Maybe he got them ceramic coated. That would make them harder wouldn't it?
GXL078 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 01:01 PM   #194
BlewThunder

Originally Posted by JC
Actually, the joke may be on you. Thermo fans mounted on the engine side of the radiator pull air through the radiator and it's easier/more efficient to get the air going through if the air is traveeling in the same direction in the first place. So if you mounted that same fan on the front of the radiator, it will still pull air through, but the wrong way, and would only be 1/2 as efficient.
take a read of the post....does it look like he was implying that moving the fan would mean that it no longer draws air through the radiator?

"you can't do that man, my engine will overheat cos the fan isnt blowing onto the engine no more" i think sums it up pretty well in as much as he thought the fan blowing on the engine cooled it down and the radiator was there to take up space.....

also with a little bit of skill you can actually pull the blades off and turn them over and put them back on so they are then still drawing air from the correct side....so who is the joke on now?
BlewThunder is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 01:09 PM   #195

Originally Posted by BlewThunder
also with a little bit of skill you can actually pull the blades off and turn them over and put them back on so they are then still drawing air from the correct side....so who is the joke on now?
Correct. Joke is still on you though. Laughing at someone for getting something wrong, when in fact they were kind of half right. A little explanation on your part may have increased his knowledge, but we all know it's easier to laugh at people who don't know something isn't it????

Old 22-11-2006, 02:27 PM   #196
deankdx

cool thread,
i cant remember the best ones,
but i used to get a lot of people telling Me i have a 9" diff in My car cos it spins 2 wheels, i say it has a stock LSD borg warner diff and they think 9" = lsd.

a girl i used to see was telling Me of her fathers commodore, it has a 6 cylinder V8 in it

one of my mates telling me to do a handbrake start, thinking it was some sort of hoon trick, i showed him what a hill start was with the handbrake. he couldnt explain what he wanted with the handbrake start? maybe handbrake turn?

people saying there car is faster cos the speedo has a higher reading.
deankdx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 03:02 PM   #197
Living the dream

I used to like it when my mate told me his VN Toyota Lexcen was a better car than my VP Berlina, because the Lexcen was imported direct from Japan by Toyota :
Rob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 03:08 PM   #198

Originally Posted by deankdx
people saying there car is faster cos the speedo has a higher reading.
Oh man, how anoying is that? Looking at cars and bikes My mate "wholly crap, this one will do 320" :
Old 22-11-2006, 03:16 PM   #199
Bucket
XR5 Pilot

A guy I used to go to School with was infamous for his BS...

Old mate comes into school and tells us he just had the biggest weekend. His Dad was cutting up logs with a chainsaw and accidently cut his leg off. The Amblulance came and sewed it back on and they went home...

One weekend old mate apparently went body boarding out into the middle of Lake Macquarie and saw a boat load of gorgeous girls...they asked him to hop in the boat with him but he said no and ran back to shore...

Some time in 2002, I'm at Maccas having Brekky with a mate of mine...
Who should wander in but old mate from school...we get onto talking about computers...We're talking about the new P4's due out soon and what does he spit out? "Im gettin the New Pentium Five Series next week" My friend I just looked at each other and nodded
Old 22-11-2006, 03:21 PM   #200
T3ts50

I friend of mine had a VR Calais 5.0, put in an "HSV clubbie chip in it" and now gives him 215KW at the fly. Mind you this is without any other bolt ons either like CAI or extractors or anything else, just a chip.
T3ts50 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 06:36 PM   #201
bEAn86

my EA if just as fuel efficent at a 4 cyl
My EA is a great car
The new holden sucks
the new holden drives just as well as a BWM
EA's are owned by smart people not bogans
bEAn86 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 06:59 PM   #202

Originally Posted by T3ts50
I friend of mine had a VR Calais 5.0, put in an "HSV clubbie chip in it" and now gives him 215KW at the fly. Mind you this is without any other bolt ons either like CAI or extractors or anything else, just a chip.
Havn't we all heard the "Chip" Story, name just about any car and theres one attached to it.
Old 22-11-2006, 10:07 PM   #203
shane3
FPV GT 0915

A guy that I work with has said that he inherited a XY GT phase 3 from his grandfather, but won’t show us any pics of it, he's said that it's won a few trophies at summernats over the years, and he never drives it around, just on and off the trailer,

He has a collection of over 200 guns from full auto hand guns to sawn off shotties, also claims to have a collectors licence but "keeps it at home".

His younger brother was trying to open a shot gun shell in a vice with a hammer by punching out the ignition (center) cap with a centre punch.

His sister owned a Nissan GTR and sold it for $80,000, she only paid $25,000 for it when she was in Japan and brought it back to Australia.

He can cut through a 4" steel pole with a $200 samurai sword he brought from Aussie disposals.

I get bomb barded with crap like this EVERY day as he works on the other side of the bench.
Bluprint BA GT 2004 Model - Mods: Tinted Windows, Premium Sound, BBS Mags, 245/35R19 fronts, 285/30R19 rears, BMC POD Filter, SS cold air induction, HM tri-y headers, Redback cat back system, Herrod power snorkle, moded Herrod helix spacer, 4" ram air induction, More to come..
shane3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 10:30 PM   #204
EDXR65SPEED

Originally Posted by shane3
A guy that I work with has said that he inherited a XY GT phase 3 from his grandfather, but won’t show us any pics of it, he's said that it's won a few trophies at summernats over the years, and he never drives it around, just on and off the trailer,

He has a collection of over 200 guns from full auto hand guns to sawn off shotties, also claims to have a collectors licence but "keeps it at home".

His younger brother was trying to open a shot gun shell in a vice with a hammer by punching out the ignition (center) cap with a centre punch.

His sister owned a Nissan GTR and sold it for $80,000, she only paid $25,000 for it when she was in Japan and brought it back to Australia.

He can cut through a 4" steel pole with a $200 samurai sword he brought from Aussie disposals.

I get bomb barded with crap like this EVERY day as he works on the other side of the bench.

HAHAHAHAHA

What a ****er, you need to move to another bench!
EDXR65SPEED is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-11-2006, 10:39 PM   #205
BlueRaven
Dual O2 sensors

Yeah, there was a guy a school back in the day who would tell some grade-A bullshit. He claimed to have subwoofa's that were so good, dogs would bark and go deaf within a block radius. He also said that he had a turboed tractor engine in his gemini. Theres so much more, but I've forgotten it all - you get the picture though.

I'll never forget laughing so hard when, on the last day of school, he tried doing circle work on the street next to the high school and flew up the sidewalk instead, narrowly missing a light post before rocketing off down the street and fleeing the scene.
Old 22-11-2006, 11:21 PM   #206
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

I Remember a Few Golden Ones

One Guy that worked at KFC with me years ago reackons his dad let him drive his New XR8AU (when they were new) to work , and His Dad Bought him a Powder Coating Factory , He Now Drives a R31 , and Still works at KFC , Becuase he has someone working for him managing ... lol

Anyone at NoblePark McDonalds knows Chris Maso and His Car is the Quikest VL in the Land , Because he Outruns Cops on Springvale Road ... Stupid Muzzas

And the Last but Funniest , a Dude I Was going to Hire , told me he jumped off the Rialto Tower , just the First Level , Like 200meters Up ! He Did not get Hired

Lol Muzzas

AU2PWR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 01:30 AM   #207
THORNSPAWN
In the Forced 'lane

My EFI supra used to idle like crap, back when I knew little about engines, so I asked a guy at work, who was a qualified diesel mechanic, to look at it. Anyway after staring at it for a while he adjusted the idle air bleed screw until it idled higher and a little bit smoother. He then says "see that's the mixture screw". The same guy said he was a millionaire and only worked on the assembly line for something to do.
THORNSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 02:39 AM   #208
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

I think I have a good one...

this guy claimed that his brothers nissan TR-X could out run a VT clubsport...(mind you it was standard..)

then he got older and he claimed to drifted around a big round about in the dry all the way around it twice in a 92 camry(stock of cause), then he said a cop pulled him over and he said that he lost control and he was just adjusting it(mind you he says "his a race car driver")and thats what he told the cop. Then the cop suposably took off and did a burn out so old mate said he he drove up beside him and pulled him over and tokk his badge number and reported it back at the station and "apparently" the cop lost his job. Then he tells me he was doing burnouts outside the police station in reverese (in the camry) and a cop came out and said "good burnout I couldn't even see you"
then he tells me that he hasn't lost any points on his liscence meanwhile this is while he was waiting for a bus....

NC Fairlane GHIA
Series II
I6.
Mods. 2.5" cat back
Clarion HU
Soundstream speakers amp and subs
Lowered
DL LTD rims
: thats it!
For the moment... :
NC_GHIA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 03:37 AM   #209
VelocityXR6TUte
Off to Never Never Land

When cd's were new

Me : Mum taking cd's back around to cousins
Mum : Make sure you rewind them first

Brother stops to help mum change flat on roadside
Mum : love can you take it back off and put it back on with hubcap logo the right way up
Brother : to busy doubled up laughing to reply

We still laugh about it today
Old 23-11-2006, 08:22 AM   #210

My Mates Gf: "My dad is buying me a skyline for when I get my learners, but I'm going to have to get a 4cylinder because dad won't let me get a V6 Skyline"