You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 28-01-2023, 10:10 PM   #2101
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 
Default Re: Mowing ..

I see an ultrasonic cleaner in your future, Mr B.
Good on ya, now I have something else to buy.................
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-01-2023, 05:13 PM   #2102
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

The Stihl MS 881 Magnum is apparently the most powerful chainsaw in the world; 121.6cc running bars from 25-inch to 36-inch bars in Australia, using a 60-inch bar in the video below.

https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...num%C2%AE.aspx

Just don't fit the chain backwards!

Interesting that despite the power, using such a long bar will slow the saw down.

Do I want one, hmmm, not sure. With a shorter bar, this thing would be a nasty weapon!
Mustang GT

Old 30-01-2023, 05:20 AM   #2103

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Scary, I didn’t feel either of the fellows was really up to safely making those cuts. Especially the first couple where the saw was angled quite high. Some of the imagery was a bit crass.

Did like the comment about backwards chain being no problem, just cut from the other side.
Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6
Do I want one, hmmm, not sure. With a shorter bar, this thing would be a nasty weapon!
I reckon it would be hard on your back due to weight/bulk of the power unit. Having the control of a lighter saw you could probably make neat cuts from both sides that gave 90% of the same result when they met in the middle.
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2023, 07:52 PM   #2104
Tonz

The other day I was mowing the front lawn, a woman asked what I charged for mowing a lawn.
I replied, "The lady of the house lets me sleep with her!!"
Old 31-01-2023, 08:03 PM   #2105
DFB FGXR6

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post
The other day I was mowing the front lawn, a woman asked what I charged for mowing a lawn.
I replied, "The lady of the house lets me sleep with her!!"
And how did that go down with the enquirer?
Mustang GT

Old 05-02-2023, 05:54 PM   #2106
DFB FGXR6

One of my clients decided to order a pole saw for use on his property...........ie he bought it for me to use. The customer is sort of like me in that he tends to buy higher end tools and equipment, so I was sort of surprised he ordered something cheap from Catch, a "Giantz" for $300. For the number of times per year it would be used, it will be fine I suppose.

When he told me it was a 4-stroke I was a little surprised, so when I got home, I went and found it online to look at the specs -

https://www.catch.com.au/product/gia...SABEgJG6vD_BwE

I sort of got a touch confused when reading the product description -

Giantz 4 Stroke Pole Chainsaw Petrol Chain Saw Brush Cutter Brushcutter Tree

When cutting needs to be done at height, the GIANTZ 4-stroke 40cc Long Reach Chainsaw is definitely cut out for the task.

Featuring a powerful 4-stroke 40cc petrol engine with a super responsive direct air injection carburetor, the Chainsaw cuts through branches like a hot knife to butter. The 12" sprocket nose bar with low kickback saw chain makes the task effortless while the built-in anti-vibration mechanism provides smooth handling at all times. Other great features include adjustable chain oil feed, auto oil lubricator and an easy start system.

The three extension poles are all made of 26mm superior anodized alloy and when connected fully with the reliable quick spring connect, can reach up to a height of 5.6m. In practical terms, it�s best to have an extra hand dealing with the increased weight beyond 3m. Not least, the GIANTZ Long Pole Chainsaw comes loaded with a bonus accessory kit, featuring gloves, earmuffs, mini toolkit and fuel mixer.

To cut a long story short, get your GIANTZ 4-stroke 40cc Long Pole Chainsaw today and experience the wonders yourself. You�ll be amazed with the far-reaching results.

Features
Giantz latest 40cc pro-series
Powerful 40CC 4-stroke engine
Inbuilt anti-vibration mechanism
Anti-slip padding for easy operation
Super responsive direct air injection carburetor
3x reinforce extension poles with 2mm thickness
12" sprocket nose bar w/ a low-kickback saw chain
Easy starting pulling system
Auto chain lubricator, adjustable chain oil feed
Superior 26mm anodized alloy poles
Easy access to all controlling switched
Shoulder strap included
Bonus tool kit and safety set
Note: As weight increases with each extension, an assistant may be required beyond 3m.

Specifications:
GIANTZ 40CC PRO-SERIES
Brand: Giantz
Engine Type: Petrol- 4 Stroke Commercial

Dual Weighted Crank / Double Ringed Piston

Displacement / Maximum Power: 40CC /1.05hp
Idle Speed: 3300RPM

Max. Engine Speed: 11,000 RPM w/Centrifugal clutch

Reach: 5.6 Metres (when held at hip height)
Fuel Tank Capacity: 1250ml

Fuel Mix: 25:1

Fuel Type: Regular Unleaded 95 +RON

Power Source: Petrol

CHAINSAW ATTACHMENT
Bar Length / Type: 12" Sprocket Nose

Bar Oil Capacity / Type: 150mL SAE#10W-30 or Similar

Chain Type: Low Kickback Premium semi-Chisel

Chain Spec: 12", Pitch 3/8", Gauge 0.05, Links 44

EXTENSION SHAFTS
Pole Coupling type: Quick Spring Connect

Shafts: Commercial Alloy 7mm Multi Tines Spline
External Diameter: 26mm

Length: 85cm

Package Content
(1) 4-stroke 40CC Pole Chainsaw x1
(2) Extension Poles x3
(3) Fuel Mix Tank x1
(4) Shoulder Strap x1
(5) Tool Kit x1
(6) User Manual x1
(7) Glove x1 pair
(8) Glasses x1
(9) Earmuff x1

So, multiple references to the machine being a 4-stroke, 6 of them in fact. But somehow that 4-stoke needs 25:1 fuel mix? I'm also not impressed by the recommendation of 10W-30 motor oil used as the chain lubricant.

And guess what was delivered? Yep, a 2-stroke engine. Looking at the machine today, it's obviously not a 4-stroke, lacking a valve cover and is plastered with 2-stoke mix recommendations. In fact, they recommend 25:1 for the first 3 months, then 40:1 after that.

I wonder how many of these "Giantz" pole saws have been bought and then used as a 4-stoke, only for the thing to lock up by the user running it straight fuel.
Mustang GT

Old 05-02-2023, 06:09 PM   #2107
.:4:.
Kicking back

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
One of my clients decided to order a pole saw for use on his property...........ie he bought it for me to use. The customer is sort of like me in that he tends to buy higher end tools and equipment, so I was sort of surprised he ordered something cheap from Catch, a "Giantz" for $300. For the number of times per year it would be used, it will be fine I suppose.

When he told me it was a 4-stroke I was a little surprised, so when I got home, I went and found it online to look at the specs -

https://www.catch.com.au/product/gia...SABEgJG6vD_BwE

I sort of got a touch confused when reading the product description -

Giantz 4 Stroke Pole Chainsaw Petrol Chain Saw Brush Cutter Brushcutter Tree

When cutting needs to be done at height, the GIANTZ 4-stroke 40cc Long Reach Chainsaw is definitely cut out for the task.

Featuring a powerful 4-stroke 40cc petrol engine with a super responsive direct air injection carburetor, the Chainsaw cuts through branches like a hot knife to butter. The 12" sprocket nose bar with low kickback saw chain makes the task effortless while the built-in anti-vibration mechanism provides smooth handling at all times. Other great features include adjustable chain oil feed, auto oil lubricator and an easy start system.

The three extension poles are all made of 26mm superior anodized alloy and when connected fully with the reliable quick spring connect, can reach up to a height of 5.6m. In practical terms, it�s best to have an extra hand dealing with the increased weight beyond 3m. Not least, the GIANTZ Long Pole Chainsaw comes loaded with a bonus accessory kit, featuring gloves, earmuffs, mini toolkit and fuel mixer.

To cut a long story short, get your GIANTZ 4-stroke 40cc Long Pole Chainsaw today and experience the wonders yourself. You�ll be amazed with the far-reaching results.

Features
Giantz latest 40cc pro-series
Powerful 40CC 4-stroke engine
Inbuilt anti-vibration mechanism
Anti-slip padding for easy operation
Super responsive direct air injection carburetor
3x reinforce extension poles with 2mm thickness
12" sprocket nose bar w/ a low-kickback saw chain
Easy starting pulling system
Auto chain lubricator, adjustable chain oil feed
Superior 26mm anodized alloy poles
Easy access to all controlling switched
Shoulder strap included
Bonus tool kit and safety set
Note: As weight increases with each extension, an assistant may be required beyond 3m.

Specifications:
GIANTZ 40CC PRO-SERIES
Brand: Giantz
Engine Type: Petrol- 4 Stroke Commercial

Dual Weighted Crank / Double Ringed Piston

Displacement / Maximum Power: 40CC /1.05hp
Idle Speed: 3300RPM

Max. Engine Speed: 11,000 RPM w/Centrifugal clutch

Reach: 5.6 Metres (when held at hip height)
Fuel Tank Capacity: 1250ml

Fuel Mix: 25:1

Fuel Type: Regular Unleaded 95 +RON

Power Source: Petrol

CHAINSAW ATTACHMENT
Bar Length / Type: 12" Sprocket Nose

Bar Oil Capacity / Type: 150mL SAE#10W-30 or Similar

Chain Type: Low Kickback Premium semi-Chisel

Chain Spec: 12", Pitch 3/8", Gauge 0.05, Links 44

EXTENSION SHAFTS
Pole Coupling type: Quick Spring Connect

Shafts: Commercial Alloy 7mm Multi Tines Spline
External Diameter: 26mm

Length: 85cm

Package Content
(1) 4-stroke 40CC Pole Chainsaw x1
(2) Extension Poles x3
(3) Fuel Mix Tank x1
(4) Shoulder Strap x1
(5) Tool Kit x1
(6) User Manual x1
(7) Glove x1 pair
(8) Glasses x1
(9) Earmuff x1

So, multiple references to the machine being a 4-stroke, 6 of them in fact. But somehow that 4-stoke needs 25:1 fuel mix? I'm also not impressed by the recommendation of 10W-30 motor oil used as the chain lubricant.

And guess what was delivered? Yep, a 2-stroke engine. Looking at the machine today, it's obviously not a 4-stroke, lacking a valve cover and is plastered with 2-stoke mix recommendations. In fact, they recommend 25:1 for the first 3 months, then 40:1 after that.

I wonder how many of these "Giantz" pole saws have been bought and then used as a 4-stoke, only for the thing to lock up by the user running it straight fuel.
So im guessing there is no service interval for the oil?
All jokes aside, if its a 2 stroke, how does it start and run? Or have you not got that far yet? Only reason is yeah, its clients equipment, but by the sounds of things, they bought what the ad sold and probably dont know the difference between a 2 stroke and a 4 stroke so left to their own devices will blow it up just slapping in e10. So you might have to give a 2 minute course on what it needs to run before they blow it up and you cop the half hour of complaining that it blew up when they took it on themselves to run it and it died.
.:4:. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2023, 06:20 PM   #2108
DFB FGXR6

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
So im guessing there is no service interval for the oil?
All jokes aside, if its a 2 stroke, how does it start and run? Or have you not got that far yet? Only reason is yeah, its clients equipment, but by the sounds of things, they bought what the ad sold and probably dont know the difference between a 2 stroke and a 4 stroke so left to their own devices will blow it up just slapping in e10. So you might have to give a 2 minute course on what it needs to run before they blow it up and you cop the half hour of complaining that it blew up when they took it on themselves to run it and it died.
It's getting used tomorrow. Customer definitely knows the difference between 2 & 4-stroke, he actually wanted the 4-stroke but I think he may have accidentally ordered a 2-stroke one in error. There are actually a number of different versions of those Giantz pole saws, I'm pretty sure the one he had delivered is the 65cc 2-stroke version.

https://www.amazon.com.au/Giantz-Cha...57477107&psc=1

I'm not looking forward to using it, with the chainsaw attachment and extension poles added, the thing will be extremely heavy.
Mustang GT

Old 05-02-2023, 06:36 PM   #2109
Trendseeker

I’ve been looking at battery powered pole saws recently to replace a Ryobi 240v that I’ve had for several years. The Ryobi still goes reasonably well but I don’t want the hassle of the long power lead and I’d like something with a bit more power, longer bar length. Longer extension of the pole would be good too - the Ryobi goes to 2700mm.

I only need it occasionally for pruning the Callistemon, Melaleuca and Banksia in my yard, but it’s cheaper to buy the gear than pay the tree loppers to do it.

I’ve looked at the Giantz but crossed them off my list. I lump them in with brands like Baumr. I bought one of their cement mixers once and found out they are junk.

I notice the Giantz specs don’t mention the weight. With an extension of 5.6 metres, it won’t be light and you will need a good harness to control it at that height for any length of time without getting too fatigued. It’s not a tool you could use for hours.

I’ve looked at the Ryobi, Makita, Stihl, Husqvarna and others. They’re all good but the batteries push the price up. The Husqvarna seems best suited for my need: it offers the best balance of height extension, bar length, chain speed, operation and price. But I’ve been holding off until they get batteries in stock. None of the dealers have batteries due to Covid reducing output from the factory apparently.
Old 05-02-2023, 07:02 PM   #2110
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

Originally Posted by Trendseeker View Post
I’ve been looking at battery powered pole saws recently to replace a Ryobi 240v that I’ve had for several years. The Ryobi still goes reasonably well but I don’t want the hassle of the long power lead and I’d like something with a bit more power, longer bar length. Longer extension of the pole would be good too - the Ryobi goes to 2700mm.

We only need it occasionally for pruning the Callistemon, Melaleuca and Banksia in my yard, but it’s cheaper to buy the gear than pay the tree loppers to do it.

I’ve looked at the Giantz but crossed them off my list. I lump them in with brands like Baumr. I bought one of their cement mixers once and found out they are junk.

I notice the Giantz specs don’t mention the weight. With an extension of 5.6 metres, it won’t be light and you will need a good harness to control it at that height for any length of time without getting too fatigued. It’s not a tool you could use for hours.

I’ve looked at the Ryobi, Makita, Stihl, Husqvarna and others. They’re all good but the batteries push the price up. The Husqvarna seems best suited for my need: it offers the best balance of height extension, bar length, chain speed, operation and price. But I’ve been holding off until they get batteries in stock. None of the dealers have batteries due to Covid reducing output from the factory apparently.
I had a demo of the Husky and loved it not sure what model you're looking at but reckon it'd be worth waiting for.
The thing I liked, with the one I had, was that the battery was one end and the power head at the other unlike the usual shaft drive with everything at the rear of the saw. Whilst not a light machine the balance was perfect which made all the difference after a couple of hours use
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2023, 07:35 PM   #2111
DFB FGXR6

Originally Posted by Trendseeker View Post

I only need it occasionally for pruning the Callistemon, Melaleuca and Banksia in my yard, but it’s cheaper to buy the gear than pay the tree loppers to do it.

One of the Chinese Giantz was quoted at 9.5kg, not sure if that was the total weight or not. For context, a mid-spec line trimmer starts at about 4.5kg.

As a comparison, the Stihl HT 56 C-E dedicated pole saw starts at 6.4 kg (without fuel, bar & chain).
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...HT-56-C-E.aspx

The Combi system, with the KM 56 RC-E engine and a chainsaw attachment weighs in at 6.1 kg.
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...M-56-RC-E.aspx
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...le-Pruner.aspx

I already have the KM 56 RC-E engine, which I was using with the edger, line trimmer and hedge trimmer attachments, I do really need to add the chainsaw as well.

Stihl don't offer a pole saw in their mid-spec battery system, only starting with the HTA66 and pro-level battery system. They also don't offer a total tool weight, forcing you to look up weights for battery separately........so annoying they do that.
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...Skin-Only.aspx

The Husqvarna 120 iTK4-P looks good value, includes the battery system.
https://www.husqvarna.com/au/pole-sa...y-and-charger/

One more I would urge you to consider is EGO, their battery system is the best available -

Kit -
https://www.totaltools.com.au/power-...-kit-mps1001ex

Powerhead & Battery System + Attachment -
https://www.totaltools.com.au/not-fo...-kit-ph1404e-p
https://www.totaltools.com.au/outdoo...chment-psa1000

Out of the two EGO options, I would buy the powerhead kit & attachment for an extra $49 as this comes with a larger 5.0ah battery compared to the specific pole saw kit which only comes with a 2.5ah battery. From observation, a chainsaw uses more power than other battery tools, so having the bigger capacity would be desirable.
Mustang GT

Old 06-02-2023, 12:21 PM   #2112

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

I’m forced to acknowledge one positive about hot weather. Traditional garden hoses coil up beautifully.
Old 06-02-2023, 12:40 PM   #2113

hahah yes very true !
FTE217 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-02-2023, 12:51 PM   #2114

I’m forced to acknowledge one positive about hot weather. Traditional garden hoses coil up beautifully.
Get a Gardena non traditional Black hose, coils up beautifully winter or summer and less than half the weight
Old 06-02-2023, 02:26 PM   #2115
Kicking back

One of the Chinese Giantz was quoted at 9.5kg, not sure if that was the total weight or not. For context, a mid-spec line trimmer starts at about 4.5kg.

As a comparison, the Stihl HT 56 C-E dedicated pole saw starts at 6.4 kg (without fuel, bar & chain).
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...HT-56-C-E.aspx

The Combi system, with the KM 56 RC-E engine and a chainsaw attachment weighs in at 6.1 kg.
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...M-56-RC-E.aspx
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...le-Pruner.aspx

I already have the KM 56 RC-E engine, which I was using with the edger, line trimmer and hedge trimmer attachments, I do really need to add the chainsaw as well.

Stihl don't offer a pole saw in their mid-spec battery system, only starting with the HTA66 and pro-level battery system. They also don't offer a total tool weight, forcing you to look up weights for battery separately........so annoying they do that.
https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Produ...Skin-Only.aspx

The Husqvarna 120 iTK4-P looks good value, includes the battery system.
https://www.husqvarna.com/au/pole-sa...y-and-charger/

One more I would urge you to consider is EGO, their battery system is the best available -

Kit -
https://www.totaltools.com.au/power-...-kit-mps1001ex

Powerhead & Battery System + Attachment -
https://www.totaltools.com.au/not-fo...-kit-ph1404e-p
https://www.totaltools.com.au/outdoo...chment-psa1000

Out of the two EGO options, I would buy the powerhead kit & attachment for an extra $49 as this comes with a larger 5.0ah battery compared to the specific pole saw kit which only comes with a 2.5ah battery. From observation, a chainsaw uses more power than other battery tools, so having the bigger capacity would be desirable.
So im talking a little different to commercial use. So the polesaw attachment and extention that came with my ozito pmt-004 ive used maybe twice. Lent it out once. The thing is heavy, but for 1 or 2 limbs you get past the weight. Doing it every day multiple times, thats a big yeah nah. For a $170 ozito, the 10 inch Oregon bar and chain is probably ¼ of the overall value of the complete kit. Whipper snipping or using the edger (i bought the edger bit separately) the weight of the 51cc 2 stroke isnt too bad for a quick run around just my grass every fortnight, but add an extention and polesaw attachment, more then 1 or 2 small branches is a bit much. A ladder and a regular chainsaw is easier for more then just light work with a heavy polesaw.
Old 06-02-2023, 02:39 PM   #2116
Poetic Justice
NOT A TOYOTA :/

So I've mowed my lawn, using the highest height setting my mower goes at but my grass is looking like I'm killing it after I mow. Turning a bit yellow, looks dying etc.

Once it starts to grow back it starts to look a bit better - but it's kind of annoying me!

It's buffalo btw.

Any thoughts?

A mate suggested I might need to get my mower blades sharpened.
Old 06-02-2023, 03:58 PM   #2117
Kicking back

Originally Posted by Poetic Justice View Post
So I've mowed my lawn, using the highest height setting my mower goes at but my grass is looking like I'm killing it after I mow. Turning a bit yellow, looks dying etc.

Once it starts to grow back it starts to look a bit better - but it's kind of annoying me!

It's buffalo btw.

Any thoughts?

This is a bit of a double barrelled question, but do you mow semi regularly, or leave it till its super long?
Only asking as with my grass, when i was working 6 days a week it would only get done every other month when it was stupid long and would be crap looking. Took the grass a while of attention for it to come back to being a lawn when i had the extra free time.
What i did, and the end result took months, was ran low and scalped it. It looked absolutely terrible. Gave it 2 weeks to start to recover then mowed it at a medium height. Kept on it with the mower at the same height every week and a half/ fortnight and it came back good after a few months.
There is probably better ways of doing it, but thats just what worked for me.
Old 06-02-2023, 03:59 PM   #2118
DFB FGXR6

It's buffalo btw.

Any thoughts?

A couple of things are happening here.

If lawn has been left to grow for too long or is generally cut very high, when it's cut lower than the "green part" it will cause what is remaining to be vulnerable to the sun, looking yellow or burnt in the process. This most common on Kikuyu lawns when its been left to grow tall and lanky.

Buffalo also has a tendency to "thatch", a buildup of dead material caught up in the matting of the growth. Typically, this is treated by "cutting the sh.t out of it" as a colleague tells me. The lawn will look like crap for a while, and you need to be careful when you do this so as to not burn the crap out of it in the process, which will hamper it's recovery. I have never done this personally so I would need to ask for the greater brains trust to advise on that.

What you could do is a slightly heavier cut than normal, lightly feed and water well. This will encourage new, fresher growth and remove some of thatch.

Your mower blades could need sharpening; however this is something I NEVER bother doing. For most part, buffalo is extremely coarse so its need for a sharp blade is less important than say rye grass.

You may also have some sort of fungal problem, although that tends to be in localized patches. If in doubt, take some images and samples to your local nursery (not Bunning's lol) and ask for their advice.
Mustang GT

Old 06-02-2023, 04:11 PM   #2119
Poetic Justice

Ok yeah it does appear perhaps I'm leaving it too long.

First cut I observed this was 2 weeks after previous mow, second time was about 9 days.

I need to get in to at 7 days I reckon!

It's only been laid just prior to Christmas so I would hope no issues like fungus etc.
Old 06-02-2023, 04:13 PM   #2120
whitelion65

DFB is on the money here.
You are going below the actively photosynthetic part of the plant. You'll see a similar effect if you leave a drum on the grass for 4 or five days.
Plants economise with their metabolism, and if a part is in the shade, its no good for photosynthesis, so they withdraw the chlorophyl, and use it elsewhere.

re dethatching; mowing the sh*** out of it works well for couch, but I wouldn't risk it on a buffalo lawn.
Moondust silver
2016 Focus Trend, 1.5ecoboost, 6sp manual.
Frozen white

Previous
2004 Berlina Wagon (LS1) Vespers Blue
1995 Camry 2.2, white
1971 Ford Fairmont wagon 302w, C4 Polar white
1971 TC Cortina, 2L 4sp, Ermine white
whitelion65 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-02-2023, 04:16 PM   #2121
Poetic Justice

So presumably then if you mow it more often, that 'photosynthetic' part of the plant will lower therefore not look as obvious when I mow?
Old 06-02-2023, 04:17 PM   #2122
DFB FGXR6

We used the Giantz today to trim this Gleditsia away from the clients veggie garden.

Things didn't go well to begin with. Filled with 25:1 fuel, the unit would not start. I could smell fuel, so pulled the plug to clear the combustion chamber, which again posed an issue because the rubber boot separated from the metal socket. Anyway, even though the ignition switch was in the run position, apparently it wasn't sufficiently in the run position, a FIRM press of the switch and big 65cc engine fired up. Another little issue was the choke lever and ignition switch were located in positions easily bumped during operation, either bogging the engine down or simply killing it. Frustrating.

There is a reason why the engine is so big in capacity, running the chainsaw attachment with all three extensions fitted really takes a bit of grunt to achieve. It was also difficult to keep the machine steady with such length wobbling above your head.

But..................it got the job done!

For anyone familiar with established Gleditsia, this will all return in short order, meaning the pole saw will easily justify it's existence. The customer was quoted $700 to do this job by a tree lopper, and getting the contractor to commit to the job was the sticking point. For $300, plus a couple of hours of my labour, the job was done for half the asking price.

Would I buy this saw? No, not really. I like to buy tools that have no excuses, the niggly little issues with the choke and ignition switch were frustrating, as was the imprecise connect/disconnect of the extension poles. For occasional use, that would be tolerable. For professional use, it would get old real quick.
Mustang GT

Old 06-02-2023, 04:20 PM   #2123
Poetic Justice

If you weren't flush with cash right now and had to buy a mower and a line trimmer, what would you buy?

I used a Ryobi electric line trimmer recently and was really happy with it - after not wanting to deal with a petrol equivalent.

I also have ryobi drills etc in the house and believe the batteries are interchangable which is obviously a good idea.

But the mower, I have no idea really..
Old 06-02-2023, 04:21 PM   #2124
DFB FGXR6

So presumably then if you mow it more often, that 'photosynthetic' part of the plant will lower therefore not look as obvious when I mow?
Most Aussie males don't want to hear this, but you are going to need to mow it more often.
Mustang GT

Old 06-02-2023, 04:22 PM   #2125
DFB FGXR6

If you weren't flush with cash right now and had to buy a mower and a line trimmer, what would you buy?

I used a Ryobi electric line trimmer recently and was really happy with it - after not wanting to deal with a petrol equivalent.

I also have ryobi drills etc in the house and believe the batteries are interchangable which is obviously a good idea.

But the mower, I have no idea really..
Give me a few minutes and I'll get something up for you.

Just keep in mind, you are dealing with Buffalo, which needs a bit more grunt than say, Fescue.
Mustang GT

Old 06-02-2023, 04:28 PM   #2126
DFB FGXR6

Just to further explain what is happening with you grass -

Buffallo is a grows by Stolons -

Stolons (aboveground stems) –

When we talk about our lawn’s spreading or establishing, we tend to talk about the runners or stolons that run above the surface. Stolons are stems, that produce nodes from which new plants form. Stolons will help to spread into bare spots and thicken a lawn.

So when you leave it grow too tall or cut too much, or both, then you are cutting into those growth points.

As mentioned, the grass will recover from this, but it does take some time depending on the time of the year, heat, water, fertiliser.............
Mustang GT

Old 06-02-2023, 04:32 PM   #2127

PoJu, is it Prestige Buffalo?

That’s what they planted next door to me on a poorly prepared base. It’s taken forever to root solidly below the layer it was laid at, and only now it’s “toes are in the water” does it not react to a hard cut in the manner you describe.
Old 06-02-2023, 04:33 PM   #2128
Poetic Justice

Thanks for all that.

It generally repairs alright after say, nearly a week (at this time of year).

Yeah, mowing it once a week sounds like the plan which is a bitch given I generally work 6 days.

And I didn't even think it was that big a patch of grass, but at 88sqm when I didn't cut it early enough, it took more time than I was expecting and filled up my entire green bin lol.

Having said all that, I'm enjoying it and definitely seem to have grown the Proud Dad and his Lawn vibe
Old 06-02-2023, 04:33 PM   #2129

Most Aussie males don't want to hear this, but you are going to need to mow it more often.
PJ, I have buffalo, over summers its weekly easily mowing with the aggressive amount of growth and the rains we've had.
IF I left it fortnightly I'd be in horror how long it would be and time added to cut it down and yes would look terrible ( yellow and looking half dead) cutting at the usual height I cut.
How much area is your lawn for trimming and cutting whilst DFB is lookign up options for you
I notice those battery trimmers have pretty thin wire like 2mm, that would last 5mins for eg in my yard.
FTE217 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-02-2023, 04:34 PM   #2130
Poetic Justice

The invoice just says sir walter, so not sure..