01-12-2014, 05:07 PM | #211 | ||
N/A all the way
A Full tilt at the Australian GT Production Championship with a GT350 Mustang that we can buy off the showroom floor will interest me way more than Mark Skaife's car of yesterday with old pushrod Nascar motors in them anyday.
Hoping that is what they have planned, and not to rely on 21 year old girls being impressed by Sync
01-12-2014, 05:08 PM | #212 | ||
Totally agree, no ROI. If fanboys were the directors of marketing, they would be spending more than their gross revenue, just to have market share.
This user likes this post: |
01-12-2014, 05:09 PM | #213 | |||
Booooooooooooooooo!!!!!!
01-12-2014, 05:10 PM | #214 | |||
If they dont then what do Ford run? A car that won't exist? I think their options were limited by the series. Open your eyes and have a look around the world and you can see where these cars are raced.
01-12-2014, 05:10 PM | #215 | ||
Racing improves the breed
I guess that makes me a Neanderthal. I would have thought with the new Mustang becoming the muscle car flagship for Ford in Australia, it would have been the perfect way to launch the new model if V8SC allow 2 doors competing.
01-12-2014, 05:16 PM | #216 | ||
WT GT
I gave up earlier this year when watching one of the V8 races and skaiffe said about a repaired car "amazing that they managed to get this car back on the track - they actually used a chassis from another team. 24 hours ago this was a Falcon and now it's a Commodore!!" Said it like there was something to be proud about...FFS.. I just reached for the bucket and turned off the TV.
4 users like this post: |
01-12-2014, 05:17 PM | #217 | ||
With Ford no longer offering a V8 sedan in their local range by 2016, this is just simply logic & common sense. It shouldn't be of any surprise to anyone once we all knew the Falcon was canned. Why sponsor in a race you don't make a car for?
There is no doubt Ford would resume sponsorship if any of the criteria changed. Ie: V8SC no longer limited to V8 sedans, or Ford create a vehicle to suit the category. |
01-12-2014, 05:20 PM | #218 | ||
the average bloke
I'd second that neanderthal label . Got the hairy chest and face to match .
For me anyway it's the nostalgia of Holden v Ford.......FFS what am I going to argue about with my best mate every bathurst run. lacking the name in races will mean it becomes very hard to indoctrinate the children into the love of the blue oval...just saying. |
01-12-2014, 05:23 PM | #219 | ||
True Blue
Meh!! I think its a lot to do with the V8 Supercar brand as well. I mean the last 10 years or more the brand has changed dramatically,..... not for the better in my view. With the change to a lot of street circuits (which I think are as exciting as watching paint dry) and the overseas bids to go to other tracks not within Australia (which they strangely don't do anymore??? hehehe) then the COTF!! Well to me its no longer a brand based motor race of which is the better car. Now next year its going to be even harder for the average punter as they are only going to televise a certain number of races on free TV and the rest on foxtel.
So the way I see it, if I want to watch a Ford (that's really not a Ford) around a track (that's not really a race track) on TV (that's not really free) I'll give it a miss thanks!! I think Ford shares the same view, so I don't really blame them. What's the point of flogging a dead horse when there is no real gain where fans are dropping like flies and V8 Supercars are committing commercial suicide?? |
6 users like this post: |
01-12-2014, 05:30 PM | #220 | ||
FPR are the homologation team. Since they will not get any factory support, I can't see them absorbing the cost entirely to bring in another Ford model.
The implication of this could be no Fords at all. |
01-12-2014, 05:34 PM | #221 | ||
Blue blooded Ford guy!
Transitioning, moving forward....Yay.:(
09 FG G6E Turbo Ego grey, Cashmere leather, factory 19" wheels, Monroe GT/King SSLs, stock Barra, still goes hard... 94 EF Fairmont Ghia 5.0- XR8 in a tuxedo... Bordeaux purple, Tickford kit, 2.5+ inch drop, EL Ghia chrome, leather, Pioneer sound, C&C, electric everything, 18" BA XR8's, ABS, LSD, GT40P's, Crane cam, ChipTorque ECU, XR8 snorkel, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights. |
01-12-2014, 05:36 PM | #222 | ||
Dunnydore Destroyer
Whatever!! I'll still be driving my Ford and I'll just watch something else that goes round and round
01-12-2014, 05:40 PM | #223 | |||
There's nothing to stop ford using mondeo. I reckon good on ford for getting out, they should have done it years ago, when it became obvious it was the commodore cup instead of a true parity formula. |
01-12-2014, 05:44 PM | #224 | ||
What did you guys honestly expect Ford have been drip feeding the Australian withdrawal for how long now?
01-12-2014, 05:49 PM | #225 | ||
Very disappointed in Ford
Can't understand when you are in a transitioning from a local manufacturer to full importer why wouldn't you use the V8 Supercars to promote the Mustang and Mondeo. V8 supercar is an effective advertising platform for the Ford brand and leads to life long supporters that buy the brand not just the model that are racing. I my self have not bought a new Falcon for a few years now but I have bought a new Territory and a new Ranger since then and I was keen on a new XR8. Just because fans are not buying Falcons in numbers anymore doesn't mean we are not still loyal to the brand. I know I can't control where Ford spend there money but I can control where I spend mine. Can't bring myself to buy another brand of car at the moment, this is how much the Ford brand is in my DNA but see how I feel next year. |
01-12-2014, 05:51 PM | #226 | ||
GFR
01-12-2014, 05:53 PM | #227 | ||
Next upgraded Mk1 Leopard
I am so old I can remember when the Bathurst 500 ran with a range of categories in the same race. Now yes it was true that 'slow' cars did impact in the front runners, and did impact on the final result (ie a fast car pranging into a slow car or Vice versa). But it did make interesting ( I was there when Dick hit the rock, the Bluebird blew tis turbo at the top of the mountain) Ford Capris, Mazda RX3's/7's, Mini coopers, all trying to win their class. In those days the trick was to pick 4 winners, not 1. Open it up so Ford can race the Mustangs or what ever and same with Holden. V8's don't guarantee a good Bathurst race, good drivers and a well structured class system can go a long way.
Just my thoughts. UK OH and no alcohol restrictions, Eric Banner was right when he said on top gear its a bad limit ...
Plastic Surgery 1 AUII Monsoon Blue How 2's: Change rear view mirror, Install backfire valve, Change foam front seats, Install auto transmission cooler, Replace Trans Shift Globe, Remove front door Trim, Paint AU headlights, install door spears, Premium Rear Parcel Shelf, go here...
Last edited by Uncle_Ken; 01-12-2014 at 05:55 PM. Reason: spelling |
2 users like this post: |
01-12-2014, 06:03 PM | #228 | ||
With no more Falcon what's the point? Are they going to run a Mustang body? Ford won't need help from V8SC selling Mustangs and I don't think V8SC promotes the kind of brand image (read: bogan) they want to push in the future anyway. Was bound to happen.
01-12-2014, 06:06 PM | #229 | ||
Next upgraded Mk1 Leopard
Fair point so it asks the question "What is a Ford"? Does it have to be called Falcon?
UK
Plastic Surgery 1 AUII Monsoon Blue How 2's: Change rear view mirror, Install backfire valve, Change foam front seats, Install auto transmission cooler, Replace Trans Shift Globe, Remove front door Trim, Paint AU headlights, install door spears, Premium Rear Parcel Shelf, go here...
01-12-2014, 06:06 PM | #230 | ||
I might be hopeful and reading into it too much, however between Edwards and bob, there was NO mention of FORD not providing sponsorship in the 2016 supercars championship.
They did however announce Ford Australia is not sponsoring the FALCON after 2015.
01-12-2014, 06:08 PM | #231 | ||
It's not a great decision in light of the legacy that Ford Australia has in racing our home-grown tin-tops but it is also fair to say that despite the popularity of the series, it has become less and less relevant to the average punter.
We are different as we are predominantly enthusiasts of the brand and the reality is that as long as Ford provide a product that roughly fits our selection criteria at the time, then we will buy it regardless of whether something similar looking runs around in circles on a track or not. It is, ironically, of more value to Volvo as it helps lift both brand awareness and brand image (hat wearing old man's car for example) despite the fact that you can't buy a V8 Volvo. The intrinsic value is enough and that's why they are in it. The Ford product mix ahead will have some exciting cars but none of them a Falcon and on that basis the current V8 series is of no value to the brand. Potentially the production series might be and I'd not be surprised to see some dollars heading that way if that series can actually manage to get itself a decent TV deal and develop a real presence. The racing is inherently close, the cars largely unmolested and the budgets required are considerably smaller. It's a bit like the ATCC of the 70's. The reality is that performance models are a small percentage of the volumes that are needed for a vehicle line / model to be successful and the performance variants (like Focus ST) exist to both fill that niche market and to impart a halo effect on the lesser models or represent an aspirational choice. They probably make up less than 5% of any model sales which is where the (recent years) Falcon has been something of an aberration as those percentages have been a bit higher than normal. Performance leaders like Mustang (another aspirational / hero car) are a different case but their volumes will never be sufficient to justify the investment in a series lice the V8's (or whatever they brand themselves as post 2016). I have an appreciation for the history left behind but this racing series outgrew itself well before COTF which was really just the final nail and I really think it's the right time to get out. All we can hope is that the FG-X look-alike gets a decent season (or two) send off. Cheers Russ
11 users like this post: |
01-12-2014, 06:23 PM | #232 | ||
Mercedes doesn't sponsor Erebus (it's a private team), so why should Ford being in or out matter? It shouldn't. At the end of the day as long as the body shell can be sourced, a team can use it. It it's a Ford one, then so be it, if not, use a different one. There's actually nothing in the rules that says you couldn't have a Holden body with a Ford engine - in fact the rules allow it.....so once Ford pulls out, perhaps Nissan could fix their fuel economy woes by using the Ford powerplant....
The Hammer: FG GTE | 376rwkw | 1/4 mile 11.793 @ 119.75mph 1.733 60' (4408lb) 1 of 60 FG MK1 335 GTEs (1 of 118 FG Mk 1 & 2 335 GTEs). Mods: Tune, HSD/ShockWorks, black GT335 19” staggered replicas with 245 & 275/35/19 Michelin Pilot sport 5s Daily: BF2 Fairmont Ghia I6 ZF, machine face GT335 19” staggered Replicas with 245s and 275s, Bilsteins & Kings FPV 335 build stats: <click here> Ford Performance Club ACT |
01-12-2014, 06:31 PM | #233 | ||
Race the Mustang in it. If they change the regulations and allows non V8's, race the Mondeo , God knows that badge needs all the help it can get. It's about keeping people emotionally connected with the brand. V8's as a series is growing. If Volvo and Nissan (I'm assuming Holden are continuing) can see a business case for it how can't Ford? I've heard Mercedes are investigating giving financial support to Erebus, did anything come of that...?
I don't buy the argument that it no longer fits in with their brand strategy. 10 years of declining market share suggests to me they don't even have a strategy. I choked on my Froot Loops when I read that Graziano wasn't interested in market leadership, and it's that attitude that has Ford in it's current state. The goal of every single car company should be to sell as many cars as it can. Look at Toyota, they're selling more than double what Ford is and they don't seem broke. While this wasnt unexpected, sometimes Ford make it really hard to be a fan... |
01-12-2014, 06:32 PM | #234 | ||
FG XR6T trayback
Holden in the same boat.
Ford just happened to make the announcement now. Holden will follow, just like announcing their production closure after Ford did. |
4 users like this post: |
01-12-2014, 06:33 PM | #235 | ||
Such as shame, but hardly unexpected.
What I cant understand though, Ford cant justify sponsorship for a race team as a form of advertising, but spend millions on pathetic ads for the Focus and Fiesta. Because they have worked so well haven't they........
01-12-2014, 06:38 PM | #236 | ||
The transition is already happening, the Falcon isn't keeping doors open, the Ranger and Focus is.
01-12-2014, 06:40 PM | #237 | |||
I think it all depends on what will happen with the category in the future...
01-12-2014, 06:42 PM | #238 | ||
70 Mercury Eliminator
I think the timing by Ford is crazy considering the successes of late in the V8s! Even if there will be no more Falcons i think they forget the dumb decisions of the past like " lets stop making the v8 in Australia". That brain snap already created a whole extra generation of Holden lovers who happened to actually like "v8's"! And buy them btw.
It really makes you wonder what the hell they are thinking and i only hope they have some grand plan for some kind of Motorsport synergy with the Mustang? Im not in the mood for rushing out and buying one thats for sure! It seems Fords hot / cold relationship with supporting Motorsport here (despite its success against the odds) has reared its ugly head again just when things were looking really positive. If they think v8 fans aren't buyers we are, and i was actually thinking about a new Falcon next year. Now I'm not so sure, they don't deserve my money. Ill stick to driving my XA GT and just enjoy it for what it is and what it represents.. the good times.
01-12-2014, 06:44 PM | #239 | |||
You can't just go out and become market leaders, you need to build the brand base, and unfortunately the local race series appears not to be part of it. Perhaps the might feel the Mustang might be better racing as a GT3 car? Perhaps they didn't think that a Mondeo will attract sales in the V8's...
01-12-2014, 06:57 PM | #240 | |||
AWD Assassin
Focus didn't even make top 10 for August , September , October or November. Some dealerships are closing down and some are co existing with other branded dealerships. They have stepped out of Motorsport now as well. So clearly , yes they are transitioning......into a half assed version of their former self. In fact they have gone from being the falcon car company to the ranger car company. Oh well...we move on. |