Old 01-12-2016, 08:38 PM   #241

Default Re: NSW Cyclists Fined $1.33m in 2016.

Originally Posted by noflac52 View Post
This is a motoring enthusiasts forum
for many, its also a community, where many topics are discussed.

there is a broad range of people all with different lifestyles and interests and for the most part, everyone is pretty tolerant.

cycling is one of those topics where some people forget that they are communicating with other human beings.

cyclists are nearly always tarnished by the few who do the wrong thing, yet ironically, many car 'enthusiasts' get all up in arms when they are all labelled hoons after some backwards hat wearing, VL driving clown does a burnout outside a cop shop and gets caught.

responsible enthusiasts also get annoyed when other 'clubs' act irresponsibly, because it reflects on the whole community.

see a pattern.
prydey is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-12-2016, 10:13 PM   #242
ronwest
All Bran = Regular Member

Originally Posted by prydey View Post

there is a broad range of people all with different lifestyles and interests and for the most part, everyone is pretty tolerant.
There are also groups of cyclists who go above and beyond with charity rides etc.

There's a few fellas who come through work do those incredibly long charity rides. One a year or two ago was Goondiwindi to wherever to wherever. Long, hot, hard ride.
Another guy competed in a 7 day charity event.

Hats off to them...

ronwest is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-12-2016, 11:35 PM   #243
Jock
Service Optimist wannabe

Originally Posted by ronwest View Post
There are also groups of cyclists who go above and beyond with charity rides etc.

There's a few fellas who come through work do those incredibly long charity rides. One a year or two ago was Goondiwindi to wherever to wherever. Long, hot, hard ride.
Another guy competed in a 7 day charity event.

Hats off to them...
Check this one: https://www.facebook.com/Ocean-to-Ou...SEARCH&fref=nf
and then there is the 'Gong ride for MS each year.. lots more people get out there for the benefit of others...
Jock is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 12:49 AM   #244
Dave1966

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Wow, i can drive a car, ride my bike where i want and i can even spell. Thats 3 up on you i'd say!
Haha, remember the old saying budd. you can teach a monkey to ride a bike but ya can't teach him to change a tyre. here's a bit of light reading hope the words aren't too big
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Groupthink
http://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/b...e-201209145290
Dave1966 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 08:59 AM   #245

Originally Posted by mcnews View Post
Pedestrians should have a number plate too....

Seriously where does it stop...

I can't believe people want our suffocatingly nanny state to become even more nanny and have rules for everything. People like you will want people to have a licence to walk to the shops, a licence to breathe...
Pedestrians are not road vehicles, so why would they need plates?

Every sort of vehicle that travels in public places has some form of identification. Cars, trucks, trains, planes, ships, ect.
Old 02-12-2016, 09:23 AM   #246

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

Skateboards? roller blades? Segways?

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 09:55 AM   #247
LG17

Originally Posted by Ben73 View Post
Pedestrians are not road vehicles, so why would they need plates?

Every sort of vehicle that travels in public places has some form of identification. Cars, trucks, trains, planes, ships, ect.
Strange how they all have engines of some kind...
LG17 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 10:07 AM   #248
Junkyard-Dog
*barks incessantly

Australia, where cyclists are social pariahs...

Meanwhile, obesity rates continue to rise - with 63% of Australians overweight or obese (according to the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare).

Maybe it's time to make a change?
Junkyard-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 10:13 AM   #249
FairmontGS
WT GT

Originally Posted by Junkyard-Dog View Post
Australia, where cyclists are social pariahs...

Meanwhile, obesity rates continue to rise - with 63% of Australians overweight or obese (according to the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare).
Maybe it's time to make a change?
Quoted for truth. I wonder how many of the haters here have weight problems as well?
FairmontGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 10:26 AM   #250
Dave1966

Australia, where cyclists are social pariahs
Like outlaw gangs , reckon you need some 1% badges too boyz. some group think society member badges would suit you fellas too.weights a big prob everywhere these days, don't need a bike just legs and motivation
Old 02-12-2016, 10:28 AM   #251
Junkyard-Dog
*barks incessantly

Originally Posted by Dave1966 View Post
weights a big prob everywhere these days
Not so much in Ethiopia...
Old 02-12-2016, 10:32 AM   #252
Dave1966

Not so much in Ethiopia...
Classic reply for a one sided view shown with you fellas argument. I'd say many over there have a real weigh prob, lack of it
You gotta look at both sides budd.
amazing hey, they are skinny and don't have cars or drop 10k on push bikes. how do they do it

Last edited by Dave1966; 02-12-2016 at 10:40 AM.
Old 02-12-2016, 11:03 AM   #253
Junkyard-Dog
*barks incessantly

Classic reply for a one sided view shown with you fellas argument. I'd say many over there have a real weigh prob, lack of it
You gotta look at both sides budd.
amazing hey, they are skinny and don't have cars or drop 10k on push bikes. how do they do it
My bike cost $80 from Kmart.

Nice one sided view shown with you fellas argument.
Old 02-12-2016, 11:11 AM   #254
Dave1966

My bike cost $80 from Kmart.

Nice one sided view shown with you fellas argument.
That's a top buy budd was it this one
http://www.kmart.com.au/product/40cm...FQ1xvAodvSsEwg
ain't what you got its how ya use it hey. seats prob betta for the bloke gear hey. True
Old 02-12-2016, 11:14 AM   #255
Junkyard-Dog
*barks incessantly

Jacques Cousteau rose from the grave to tell me that the ocean wants all it's salt back.
Old 02-12-2016, 11:22 AM   #256
71cop

Jeez, I'm sorry mate.

I meant to write about lycra clad pricesses or boofheads in cars.

Thanks...
I'm not your mate, what is a lycra clad pricesses ?
71cop is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 11:47 AM   #257
noflac52

Originally Posted by prydey View Post

cycling is one of those topics where some people forget that they are communicating with other human beings.

cyclists are nearly always tarnished by the few who do the wrong thing, yet ironically, many car 'enthusiasts' get all up in arms when they are all labelled hoons after some backwards hat wearing, VL driving clown does a burnout outside a cop shop and gets caught.

responsible enthusiasts also get annoyed when other 'clubs' act irresponsibly, because it reflects on the whole community.

see a pattern.
You have so many life lessons for people that they don't need! None of that changes the fact that if you went to a cycling forum with your views you would get a different perspective on the subject.

The trouble with cycling, in the past it has been more than a few and that is reflected in the amount of debate about the subject.
noflac52 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 12:05 PM   #258
Grunter
Not of the Sooty variety!

The Toy: 2002 AUIII TS50
The Daily and Tow Vehicle: 2016 VW Amarok
Grunter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 12:14 PM   #259
Dave1966

Jacques Cousteau rose from the grave to tell me that the ocean wants all it's salt back.
people reckon they hear Elvis too but he's dead hey just like old jaquie boy. don't listen to them budd. the ex got into all sorts of strife listening to the voices. don't worry budd all good I thought I saw Elvis at the shops once but it was just a dood that lost his bike true ay

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/e...at_elvis-1.jpg
Old 02-12-2016, 12:19 PM   #260
ronwest

Originally Posted by 71cop View Post
I'm not your mate, what is a lycra clad pricesses ?
No, you're not my mate but you're not my mother either...

"lycra clad pricesses"??

That's a typo that very ordinary people who consider themselves authority figures would latch onto for a comeback.

Well played sir!

Old 02-12-2016, 12:42 PM   #261
Dave1966

No, you're not my mate but you're not my mother either...

"lycra clad pricesses"??

That's a typo that very ordinary people who consider themselves authority figures would latch onto for a comeback.

Well played sir!
Yeah they hit me up for my grammar too. like ya say just very ordinary folks who reckon they are authority figures. sounds like my ex and a few of these push bike fellas. well played budd
Old 02-12-2016, 12:48 PM   #262
ronwest

Yeah they hit me up for my grammar too. like ya say just very ordinary folks who reckon they are authority figures. sounds like my ex and a few of these push bike fellas. well played budd
C'mon Dave, it's just the internet.

It does get a bit competitive at times but all in all it's a good bit of fun and good-natured banter.

Don't take it too seriously

Old 02-12-2016, 01:56 PM   #263
ronwest

Jeez, I dunno that prydey will want to hang off your clothes line, lol.

What I do know is that if you look back through people's posts (those who have been here a while at least) you'll find that 99% have a history of contributing, not just with opinions but with actual assistance based on experience.

By and large, they're good people.

If those same contributors have a different opinion to me on issues then I figure they are entitled to it.

I don't have to agree but I'm sure as hell not going to get upset about it either.

Hang around Dave. It's a pretty good neck of the woods.

Old 02-12-2016, 02:02 PM   #264

NSW law for fining cyclists without ID has been scrapped. However, cyclists are encouraged to have a form of ID on their person at all times, which I am sure 99% of riders do. If they are underage, they need to get a 5yr NSW photo card at a cost of $51. Thank Duncan Gay for this.

http://www.sbs.com.au/cyclingcentral...hat-about-rest

Old 02-12-2016, 02:56 PM   #265
Junkyard-Dog
*barks incessantly

I am really amazed that this thread has managed to live on as long as it has. I think tolerance would go a long way. Cyclists don't bother me one little bit when I'm driving and they never have, despite the fact that I am a car enthusiast through and through. I just can't understand the issues some people are having. Maybe this is due to the fact I don't spend much time driving in major cities.

Either way, I think a bit of tolerance and acknowledgement that the cyclists are in fact human beings would go a long way.
Old 02-12-2016, 03:04 PM   #266
commodorenutt

Apple news article this morning noted a cycling association of some sort had done a survey & believed 93% already carried ID - enough to be considered the vast majority.

They were also spruiking that the number of deaths/injuries to cyclists in Sydney had dropped since the March 1 fine increase - as if to say the increased fines were a deterrent to dangerous behavior from all parties on the road, but then when pressed admitted that the number of cyclists riding in Sydney had dropped by a similar percentage.

While some may criticise the crap out of him, Duncan Gay has actually done some decent things during his term - in addition to kicking into gear the numerous critical infrastructure projects that are long overdue, he also introduced the 60 day logbook trial for historic rego, and from December 19 the classic vehicle scheme is launching, that will allow cars over 30 years with mods that (should) prevent them qualifying for historic, to still be eligible for a club rego scheme.
commodorenutt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 06:28 PM   #267
Dave1966

See my post was deleted by gasolane .no probs but the "reefer" I was talking about is well known industry talk for a refrig container after it was suggested I hand in my rego and ride a bike to save $$$ . pretty hard to transport them with a pushie. not referring to drugs, never would. just wanted to clear that up
Old 02-12-2016, 06:35 PM   #268
XB GS 351 Coupe

Maybe this is due to the fact I don't spend much time driving in major cities.
This.

Living in rural areas cyclists don't bother me either, as there are no traffic lights and no traffic to speak of, often I can travel 50-100km without seeing another vehicle, or cyclist.

I did spend a lot of time living in Sydney and travelling during peak hour, and cyclists cause major traffic havoc, are a danger to themselves and others and flaunt road rules, running reds, lane splitting even damaging vehicles stopped at the lights as they ride past scratching duco and side mirrors as they zip past, then disappearing in the traffic, with no identifying markers.

At least if a car or motorbike does similar you have a chance of grabbing a number plate.

Then there is the issues they cause pedestrians as they zoom across and along footpaths in an effort to circumvent red lights and other traffic control measures.

Anyone that says otherwise really has their head in the sand, as I used to witness all this daily, since moving from the big smoke to a rural setting none of these things are an issue. So it really depends where you are as it may not be a problem in all places.

There may be a number of cyclists who do not do this but I am willing to bet that 90% will do any one of these things each time they head out onto the road for a commute or ride, be honest with yourselves

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

XB GS 351 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 06:42 PM   #269
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

See my post was deleted by gasolane .no probs but the "reefer" I was talking about is well known industry talk for a refrig container after it was suggested I hand in my rego and ride a bike to save $$$ . pretty hard to transport them with a pushie. not referring to drugs, never would. just wanted to clear that up
We call them fridgies in OZ.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2016, 06:43 PM   #270

Come fine me up here. Ill obey the laws mostly but up here no one cares really. And just to annoy the anti cyclist movement.