You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 08-10-2016, 05:20 PM   #241
dcm
Ridding the world of oil

Default Re: Countdown to the Falcons emotional end, share your feelings here

1975 Falcon XB GT (moneypit)
dcm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2016, 06:02 PM   #242
ScotchanDry
Family XR8s in Grey

Originally Posted by Ghia5L View Post
Whilst the scope of some jobs may have been narrow, most of them would have been highly specialised.

Whenever people bring up workers' pay & conditions as the nail in the coffin, they need to realise that it's just a drop in the ocean when it comes to the true costs of the industry: materials & SALES. Perhaps look at the abysmal sales figures, here's a graph showing 1980-2012:

Could the workers have taken a pay cut in the dying days? Possibly, but what for, to extend the production until November?

Meanwhile check out Ford's global Q2 2016 report:

https://corporate.ford.com/content/d...ws-Release.pdf

The yanks don't give a **** about us.
Facts dont lie and you got evidence.
My best mate ran a small second hand dealership you know old one rolls in fix it up new alloys and tyres flog it off, good solid commodores and fords.. Then came the nineteen nine ninety drive away cheap half price imports.. Then the trade in on your nineteen nine ninety... Squealing 4 grand.. and unable to move them. The start of disposable cars and the end of the line for local manufacturing in my opinion as well as all the other factors already mentioned, you will always see fords local made old and shiny and reborn for a long time here in Australia . Cheers
ScotchanDry is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-10-2016, 12:11 PM   #243
Ford17

Drive article featuring Dick Johnson driving an XR6 Sprint around Bathurst, reflecting on his thoughts, and his Bathurst career.

http://www.drive.com.au/motor-featur...27-grpf26.html

Although not Falcon-related, this quote was good:

"Once going to Bathurst in the Sierra I got pinged for doing 240 kays. But it's amazing what a free t-shirt can do. [The police officer] got a t-shirt and a couple of posters and said 'you better take it easy'.
Ford17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-10-2016, 05:01 PM   #244
PridenJoy

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his contributions to the forum, especially showcased with his highly detailed AU build threads. He is a fountain of AU knowledge. 

Friday (7/10/16) was a very emotional day for me, and i wouldn't call myself an emotional person, felt quite empty all day and as if something was bothering me and couldn't put my finger on it.

I had planned the night before to drive past the factory on the way to work in the morning, so i washed the ute in preparation in case i took any pics

Drove past around 8.30-9 AM and found a small group of fanatics parked on the grass next to one of the Ford signs and also few news crews. Needless to say i drove the ute onto the grass to join the others and take a few pics before going to work. Drove with headlights on the whole day to mourn this sad day.

This day will never be forgotten, the day the last Falcon was made. RIP old mate, they may not be making anymore of them, but people like us on this forum will keep the existing ones living forever.

Here are some pics

PridenJoy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-10-2016, 10:00 PM   #245
Eaturbo
BUILT FORD TUFF

^^^^^^^ Top post and photos mate. Straight from the heart and its great you shared it with us.
Old 11-10-2016, 10:22 PM   #246
Eaturbo
BUILT FORD TUFF

I wonder how all the Factory workers are doing this week. Waking up Monday morning and realising that it's not a holiday and that there is no Ford factory waiting for them to turn up and start work.

On another note it must be a sad place at the Factory for those that have stayed on to decommission the plant. Imagine pulling apart a factory were you could still imagine the sounds and picture the cars rolling down the line. Piece by piece you pull apart what has been your job for years. Would be very difficult
Old 12-10-2016, 07:19 AM   #247
champ

Originally Posted by Eaturbo View Post
I wonder how all the Factory workers are doing this week. Waking up Monday morning and realising that it's not a holiday and that there is no Ford factory waiting for them to turn up and start work.

On another note it must be a sad place at the Factory for those that have stayed on to decommission the plant. Imagine pulling apart a factory were you could still imagine the sounds and picture the cars rolling down the line. Piece by piece you pull apart what has been your job for years. Would be very difficult
You are absoloutely right and you know, I was thinking the exact same thing, poor buggers. Pulling apart the factory would be like pulling apart their whole not just work life, but their feeling of purpose especially if they don't have a job lined up for afterwards. I rekon it must be a really sad & depressing atmosphere with only the "skeleton" staff left behind to do this.
champ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2016, 10:52 AM   #248
Eaturbo
BUILT FORD TUFF

Everyone needs to watch this video, bloody awesome and very sad and emotional
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KmC5NUvMovI
Old 12-10-2016, 11:02 AM   #249
Eaturbo
BUILT FORD TUFF

And another bloody ripper
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=SWq1SypRUAU
Old 12-10-2016, 11:10 AM   #250
Eaturbo
BUILT FORD TUFF

And another https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=unVUsxWhKm8
Old 08-11-2016, 02:28 AM   #251
CQB-241
Car tragic

From the All Ford Day Cruise, York WA, Nov 6 2016.
Almost a month after Broadmeadows went silent.
The last and the first.

CQB-241 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post