You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 19-09-2021, 12:02 PM   #3631
98TLS

Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Dont often buy a lotto but with impending Birthday made my donation,mrs got back from supermarket with this nice wee win.
Old 19-09-2021, 02:02 PM   #3632
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

I recently showed the mrs the sportshift button on her car.
Unexpectedly she selected it this morning and punched it down the freeway on ramp.
'I like this, the little revvy thing goes all the way to the red now' she said.
I'm proud, very proud
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-09-2021, 07:14 PM   #3633
.:4:.
Kicking back

I did something which sounds stupid, and potentially could have been stupid. So ordering from my local Italian joint, i did what most normal people dont. I didnt order what i know i like, i ordered what sounds like the worst thing on the menu. And that was the potato pie pizza. So pizza base, gravy instead of pizza sauce, mash potato on that, then meats and cheese.
Maybe i set my expectations extremely low for that. Maybe it was properly good. But i liked it.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-09-2021, 11:01 PM   #3634

Packing my bags, off to Broome in the morning to see my daughter, do some fishing (barra and muddys) and a trip out to the horizontal falls.
Old 19-09-2021, 11:33 PM   #3635
slowsnake

Enjoy your trip jaydee, and have a great time, haven't fished for barra since 1980, at Cahills Crossing Arnhem Land, got photos somewhere but maybe in Sydney!

Have a good time, and put pics up for everyone in lockdown, give em something to dream about in the future Australia!

Cheers Billy
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-09-2021, 09:46 AM   #3636
HIPO
Al

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
Enjoy your trip jaydee, and have a great time, haven't fished for barra since 1980, at Cahills Crossing Arnhem Land, got photos somewhere but maybe in Sydney!

Have a good time, and put pics up for everyone in lockdown, give em something to dream about in the future Australia!

Cheers Billy
Have been across there in the late 80's.... few dumb ***** fishing on foot on the actual crossing...
HIPO is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-09-2021, 11:42 AM   #3637
slowsnake

Originally Posted by HIPO View Post
Have been across there in the late 80's.... few dumb ***** fishing on foot on the actual crossing...
Them dumb*****fishing on the actual crossing were the burley!.
We fished from the Gagadu side not the Arnhem land side, being a tidal river the crossing could be 3 feet above the water, level with it or under it!
At level tide you could catch mud crabs 12 inches across the shell, they would scurry across by the dozen!...

We fished on the crossing from a company Landcruiser, on foot we would have a cockatoo!.
It was good fun, but I have seen the crossing in the news and it's different now to 40 years ago, then it was very basic!

PS:- They dident put a bridge in, its to stop tourists going into Arnhem Land, there is a border store on the other side, but you must get a permit to cross, so if anyone goes there, get ya permits in order!......

Cheers Billy

Last edited by slowsnake; 20-09-2021 at 11:51 AM. Reason: Add PS
Old 20-09-2021, 04:46 PM   #3638
HIPO
Al

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
Them dumb*****fishing on the actual crossing were the burley!.
We fished from the Gagadu side not the Arnhem land side, being a tidal river the crossing could be 3 feet above the water, level with it or under it!
At level tide you could catch mud crabs 12 inches across the shell, they would scurry across by the dozen!...

We fished on the crossing from a company Landcruiser, on foot we would have a cockatoo!.
It was good fun, but I have seen the crossing in the news and it's different now to 40 years ago, then it was very basic!

PS:- They dident put a bridge in, its to stop tourists going into Arnhem Land, there is a border store on the other side, but you must get a permit to cross, so if anyone goes there, get ya permits in order!......

Cheers Billy
I crossed & came straight back, just to say i've been there ....only about 18" of slow water. Mmmm, mudcrabs.
Old 20-09-2021, 08:21 PM   #3639
slowsnake

I crossed & came straight back, just to say i've been there ....only about 18" of slow water. Mmmm, mudcrabs.
Biggest I'd ever seen, I was shocked first time, just dident expect it!
You should of kept going, the Border store was a few hundred metres in, sell grog, T-shirts and nick nacks, stubby holders, all the touristy stuff!

Cheers Billy,
Old 22-09-2021, 11:26 AM   #3640
HIPO
Al

My rescue Magpie "Betty" has survived almost a month since release. Has started getting very white on the back of head - nape... Betty may be a boy! Has been joined by an outcast female for the past 2wks.... not sure if they were having a playful wrestle the other day or something else thought "she" would be dead by now. Lots of cunning attacks from the locals, but is holding its own & fighting back. Very interesting taking in the various strategies of the enemy... shock & awe with multiple staggered dive bombing, to sneaky pre dawn point men coming in. She actually rode one into the ground, after a quick dog-fight the other day, just like they did with her on the 1st failed release.
Well Betty Boy & friend have been suffering less attacks, thanks to some of my own shock & awe tactics.... & now have a 3rd member join us misfits. A larger male. Funny listening to them dissing the opposition this morning. Should relieve me of my watch a little now, as i've already spent untold hours on Betty. The next raid should be interesting........
Old 22-09-2021, 12:03 PM   #3641
slowsnake

Woke up late, 7:15am, felt good all over, thought my right shoulder would be screwed up after "de-mossing" the joints in the back patio pavers, I used a 3" scraper, on my hands and knees for 2 days, pacing myself, reckoned I removed approx 100 metres of moss!.....yep, the pavers are 6x6 inches, or 150x150 mm, the patio is 4 metres x 7 metres, and I feel really good for a cripple!......

I'm happy, and seemingly pain free, the calm before the storm maybe, and have no idea where the cat is, lol, had breakfast and off, but it is spring and the animals do what animals do in spring, lucky for me he only shoots blanks!.......

Cheers Billy

Last edited by slowsnake; 22-09-2021 at 12:05 PM. Reason: Auto spell
Old 23-09-2021, 09:22 AM   #3642

Up early, going out on a deep sea fishing charter out of Broome with my daughter.
Her partner works on the boat, so some local knowledge will help.
Old 23-09-2021, 09:33 AM   #3643
slowsnake

Well Betty Boy & friend have been suffering less attacks, thanks to some of my own shock & awe tactics.... & now have a 3rd member join us misfits. A larger male. Funny listening to them dissing the opposition this morning. Should relieve me of my watch a little now, as i've already spent untold hours on Betty. The next raid should be interesting........
Can you get any pics of this bird family that adopted you?
Sounds pretty cool to me.....

Cheers Billy
Old 23-09-2021, 09:35 AM   #3644
slowsnake

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
Up early, going out on a deep sea fishing charter out of Broome with my daughter.
Her partner works on the boat, so some local knowledge will help.
Have a good day mate, and let us know what's biting, few pics maybe!

Cheers Billy
Old 23-09-2021, 09:37 AM   #3645
slowsnake

What made me feel good today??

Well in all honesty reading the last two posts, yeh that made me happy for sure.......

Cheers Billy
Old 23-09-2021, 10:56 AM   #3646
slowsnake

Can't believe my luck, just went to buy the morning paper at local BP, and the flat Black Thunderbird was fuelling up, walked over to have a chat, its a 1964 Coupe, bit rough, but wow what a different car to the usual concourse stuff, he's working on it slowly, asked him if he had heard of AFF and I told him about us here, I told him to have a look in as there are members here who may be able to help out if he gets stuck with anything, and I dident have my bloody phone to get a photo, which he agreed I could if I want, he was filling gas tank when I got there, we talked for 5 minutes and he was still filling it when I left!......

Cheers Ecstatic Billy
Old 23-09-2021, 11:59 AM   #3647

Beautiful spring is in the air....
The Dragon Ladys BDay ! and exactely 5yrs ago to this day I picked up my XR8 manual Sprint so HBDay baby the 23rd 2016 never to be forgotten - oh I mean Dragon Lady
and my 16yr old daughter gets her 2nd jab this arvo, thankfully its a jab I condone happily not what I'll have to accept another time :(
Old 23-09-2021, 12:05 PM   #3648

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

HBD to Mrs FTE!
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2021, 01:19 PM   #3649

cheers CB, 31yrs of BDays - good ol model, you hang onto those
Old 23-09-2021, 01:25 PM   #3650

I'm on leave tomorrow and next week, did realize the Monday I was due back is a PH..w00t.
Polyal is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-09-2021, 02:10 PM   #3651
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Despite talking to my daughter about her work experience this week and any impacts the public holiday here would have on her, I've just realised that, with my Special Day Off on Monday (we don't just have a run-of-the-mill RDO here ), I have a 4 day weekend

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-09-2021, 05:15 AM   #3652

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Finding a strut top bushing listed in a dealer’s closeout lines, marked down.
Clicking to buy it, then discovering there’s a further 20% off “flash sale”.
Being quoted a sensible price on postage.
Going through checkout and watching the VAT be removed.

Good start to Friday, not a huge overall saving but definitely will be under trade price here. And it will probably arrive ex-UK before the Sparesbox order I placed on September 3rd.
Old 24-09-2021, 09:49 AM   #3653
slowsnake

Nothing!

Regards Billy.
Old 24-09-2021, 03:01 PM   #3654

Sorry to hear that Slowsnake.
Trying to put up some shots from my fishing trip yesterday, only working off my phone so not sure if I can get the images transferred, give it a go.
Old 24-09-2021, 03:02 PM   #3655

Old 24-09-2021, 03:04 PM   #3656

Yahoo, it worked.
Me hooked up to a big Spanish Mackerel, but when he saw the gaff he was outta there, busted me off.
Me and my daughter, with some of our catch, she out fished me big time, caught a huge 10 kilo trevally amongst others.
Old 24-09-2021, 03:20 PM   #3657

Should have pulled rank and made her swap fish with you for the photo.

Any progress on the airbag?
Old 24-09-2021, 03:29 PM   #3658
.:4:.
Kicking back

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
Yahoo, it worked.
Me hooked up to a big Spanish Mackerel, but when he saw the gaff he was outta there, busted me off.
Me and my daughter, with some of our catch, she out fished me big time, caught a huge 10 kilo trevally amongst others.
Spanish makerals put up a good fight. Ive landed a couple of smaller ones, and by couple i mean 2, off the south coast of nsw in my own small boat. So one was maybe 40cm, the other was maybe 60cm. And that was on light gear. I dont own heavy gear. On a charter boat in darwin I reeled in a what i think was a red emperor, it wasnt a big unit. The charter boat staff took that, swapped my rod out for something more towards game fishing overhead rod, and that fish was now live bate. So after 2 or so minutes with the live bait, that turned into a 40 minute battle of screaming drag and then not giving it slack. Landed a 1.5m spanish mackerel. Now the charter company had the option to catch and keep. I personally do not eat seafood so i opted for release. Fishing is relaxing, catching can be more of a sport.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-09-2021, 03:32 PM   #3659

No, air bag issue still going on, only this morning I was at the dealership trying to help sort it.
Licensing have extended the deadline thankfully after interjection by Consumer Protection.
Nissan say they have delivered the part, this mob keep saying parts not in, and really, I got the feeling they don't give a flying duck.
Stuck between a rock and a hard place.
Old 24-09-2021, 03:55 PM   #3660

alright jaydee great stuff and you lucky bugga spending the time like that with the daughter !
Really happy for you very cool.
Can't wait to get of this lockdown and do similar with either of my 3.