Old 17-06-2012, 10:25 PM   #1

Default Police Blitz starts Monday: Keep Left!

On the radio the Vic police are starting a blitz on those who hog the RH lane under the speed limit or restrict the flow of traffic on mutli lane highways and freeways.

$110.00 on the spot fines and 1 demerit point to be issued.

My absolute most hated problem on the freeways in Melbourne. Especially Eastlink for some reason where 95 is the order of the day. Causes a lot of angst by the motoring public and is more of a problem than anyone travelling 2 k;s over the limit.

Bring it on.

Old 17-06-2012, 10:40 PM   #2
muso
Heinrich tuned 300 rwkws

Default Re: Police Blitz starts Monday: Keep Left!

This is where I should have posted my story about the 4WD in the fast lane 110 zone doing 70 kph on the free way last Monday public holiday, I should copy and paste it (my son got a photo of him)

I heard on the news that the QLD Police are blitzing it as well as tailgaiting which often follows.

Off Topic but I llllove that Landau in your avatar

Last edited by muso; 17-06-2012 at 10:47 PM.
muso is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2012, 10:40 PM   #3

Thank god. Why has it taken so long for them it act, its one of the most irritating things to see out on the road when some self righteous prat thinks its perfectly fine to sit 20 below the speed limit in the right lane so no one can pass.
Old 17-06-2012, 10:41 PM   #4
AndrewR_AUII

With this however needs to be enforcement of blocking people from moving into right lane in order to turn right (look in mirror, plenty of room, put blinker on and car in right lane accelerates to block you from the lane).
This behavior causes people to stay in right lane as a defensive measure and (in my view) is a part of the problem.
AndrewR_AUII is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2012, 10:45 PM   #5

Oh man please please please do this in WA.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 17-06-2012, 10:45 PM   #6
muso
Heinrich tuned 300 rwkws

Originally Posted by AndrewR_AUII
With this however needs to be enforcement of blocking people from moving into right lane in order to turn right (look in mirror, plenty of room, put blinker on and car in right lane accelerates to block you from the lane).
This behavior causes people to stay in right lane as a defensive measure and (in my view) is a part of the problem.

I think it is now officially an offence to accelerate if being overtaken, I think this legislation includes speeding up to prevent a lane change, but I know what you mean but the problem is people hug the right lane because they are turning right 10 km's down the road
Old 17-06-2012, 10:47 PM   #7

Yeah this is good, because everyone knows the quickest lane in VIC is actually the left..LOL
Old 17-06-2012, 10:49 PM   #8
muso
Heinrich tuned 300 rwkws

Yeah this is good, because everyone knows the quickest lane in VIC is actually the left..LOL

Same here in SA it's usually almost empty LOL

failing to keep left $122 and 2 demerit points in QLD on the News tonight!
Old 17-06-2012, 11:05 PM   #9

Not only is failing to keep left discourteous, I firmly believe it causes accidents.

Most notably when you have numerous highway on ramps in close succession. Because people don't yeild to the left you end up with two lanes of traffic bumper to bumper in "packs" rather than spread out evenly on a relatively quiet highway and then when people have to merge there is absolutely no room to go as both lanes are choked, so even drivers who would normally move into the right lane to help those merge have nowhere to do so.

My MOST hated of driving sins.

Often perpetrated by those people who drive ultra conservatively, believing they are doing the speed limit and therefore don't have to obey this road rule and proudly boast "I've never been in an accident"..........how many you caused **** hole?

phew, I feel better now. Thank you Ford Forums
Shonky. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2012, 11:08 PM   #10

Yeap Ive seen many people get very angry and swing out when people dont move over.
Old 17-06-2012, 11:09 PM   #11

Lat week on Eastlink (I use it twice a day) I passed someone doing well under 100 in the RH lane. I had passed them on the inside but the Eastlink van was behind me and put his yellow lights on flashing his headlights to get the twit to move or go faster. The person remained totally oblivious to the situation and then hear the horn blow which made her move. No idea what was going on around her!

Today merging onto the freeway ...... hit the 100k section ready to merge following an EF Falcon ...... he suddenly braked while me up their bum looking over my shoulder I crapped myself while .... in the rear view was a row of cars up my bum ...... hand on the horn and a sudden foot on the brake he moved into the service lane so I could pass. Cars were going everywhere, it was wet and he had no idea what he was doing. Caused about 10 seconds of excitement must say. Some should not be on the road.

Old 17-06-2012, 11:14 PM   #12

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

So, where is AFF's resident Keep left...

Old 17-06-2012, 11:39 PM   #13
washoutbeach

Id say about half of us in Sydney can tell you everything you everything you need to know about the road rules.......being those from the country we came from.

Half of us think "keep left" is a communist plot.

We keep a baseball bat in the boot for self defence when we cut in front of people without blinking, but beyond that we don't have a clue.
washoutbeach is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2012, 11:46 PM   #14

About time!

Old 18-06-2012, 12:00 AM   #15

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

Originally Posted by Auslandau
On the radio the Vic police are starting a blitz on those who hog the RH lane under the speed limit or restrict the flow of traffic on mutli lane highways and freeways.

$110.00 on the spot fines and 1 demerit point to be issued.

My absolute most hated problem on the freeways in Melbourne. Especially Eastlink for some reason where 95 is the order of the day. Causes a lot of angst by the motoring public and is more of a problem than anyone travelling 2 k;s over the limit.

Bring it on.
With regard to those doing 95 kph in the right lane, is that their speedos are probably showing 100 kph due to allowable instrument tolerances, and so they dont want to go any faster because they are afraid they will get pinged by the camera. At least I know with my FG I'm actually doing 100kph when it clearly indicates 100 on the digital speedo. The FG is fantastic in that respect.

The other thing is in the Herald Sun today there has been no mention that its only on roads where the speed limits are greater than 80kph, that you must stay out of the rightmost lane unless overtaking. On 100kph roads where there are more than two lanes, you can legally stay in the secondmost lane from the right.
Silver Ghia is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-06-2012, 01:40 AM   #16
karj
XY Falcon

Originally Posted by AndrewR_AUII
Couldn't agree more. It drives me absolutely nuts.

I always try to keep left because I like sitting on the speed limit and don't like being hassled by people who want to speed. But if I need to turn right... do you think anyone will let me in the right lane? Nope.

In Adelaide, as soon as you indicate that you wish to change lanes and you allow a few seconds for the motorists in that lane to spot your indicator... they deliberately close the gap. Means that you have to get in the right lane miles before you actually want to turn right... and then you get hassled for sitting on the actual speed limit.

The respect has to go both ways: People shouldn't hold up the right lane, but right lane drivers need to realise that at some point, someone in the left may need to change into that lane for a legitimate purpose.
Old 18-06-2012, 01:46 AM   #17

Originally Posted by Silver Ghia
At least I know with my FG I'm actually doing 100kph when it clearly indicates 100 on the digital speedo. The FG is fantastic in that respect.
Really?

My Old G6ET was about 3kmh optimistic per my GPS
gcg2503 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-06-2012, 03:45 AM   #18
wrongwaynorris

Should be a $1,000.00 fine and 6 points . NSW Police take note please .
Old 18-06-2012, 03:49 AM   #19

Originally Posted by wrongwaynorris
Should be a $1,000.00 fine and 6 points . NSW Police take note please .
Except you would have people cutting off other drives just to get back in the other lane. I don't think fines are the answer to everything.
Old 18-06-2012, 06:24 AM   #20
Mackspower

A lot of noise about nothing . . . just take it easy. I've posted before about the facts of speeding. Sometimes you need to pass people at the speed limit in right-hand lane, so it takes a few more seconds. It's all the hot-head and dangerous behaviour where people tailgate others when performing this perfectly legal maneuver. Please just slow down, cool down and arrive alive. Peace.
Mackspower is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-06-2012, 08:43 AM   #21

There needs to be a permanent advertising campain reminding people of road rules. It'll help to remind people their responsibilities on the road and inform them of any changes.
Better education will hopefully mean better drivers.
Old 18-06-2012, 09:48 AM   #22

Where my uncle used to live in mittagong, he'd have to turn right, just after the dual lane started. a lot of people got annoyed that he got in the 'fast lane' and the slowed down (but you have to turn right from the right lane).
Old 18-06-2012, 09:55 AM   #23

Still hasn't sunk in.... Eastlink was shocking this morning
Old 18-06-2012, 10:12 AM   #24
Matty4
Banana

Originally Posted by chevypower
I don't think fines are the answer to everything.
You obviously don't live here............lol
Every State Govt in this great land believes this to be the answer to every problem on the roads...
Old 18-06-2012, 10:26 AM   #25
Reaper8

it shouldnt matter what speed your doin if your not overtakin a car or turning you shouldnt be in the right lane. if im doin 100 in a 100 zone i still only use the right lane to overtake but most time overtake in the left as the slow bogans are in the right
Reaper8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-06-2012, 10:41 AM   #26
mytgxl

Hooray I don`t think the fine is the answer, but it seems it`s the only way people seem to get it through their heads, I hope they start on fog lights next!
Old 18-06-2012, 10:46 AM   #27

Fines perhaps are not the best but what can you do? Apparently "tazering" cars is heavy handed...maybe VIC cops could brush up on their firearms skills (they seem to be ok close range) and go for the tyres?
Old 18-06-2012, 10:46 AM   #28

The police are only blitzing around Cardinia Area. It was on the news last night.
Old 18-06-2012, 10:48 AM   #29

Wheres that? And why do they say where they are going to blitz..seems like a waste of time..unless they bluff.
Old 18-06-2012, 10:54 AM   #30

http://www.cardinia.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx