Old 04-01-2013, 06:54 PM   #1
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

Default VCT 4.0 I6 vs. Windsor 5.0 V8

G'day everyone.

Some of you know I'm now in the market for a AUII/III Fairlane sedan as my first car.

Being in WA, I have no powerplant restrictions on P plates.

Since many AU Fairlanes came with the V8, I asked in another thread of mine whether I should be limiting my options to the I6 for reliability and economy reasons. Those who posted in my thread rated the V8 as not much different in either respect to the I6.

The majority of my driving is on rural/country/tourist roads, cruising at between 60 and 110, many of these roads have only small hills or none at all. Town is just 10 minutes away, with very little stop start driving.

From what I can tell from the responses I got before, I should be just fine with either engine.
But still, I'd like to know as much as I can about the V8 vs I6 and just about the Windsor 5.0 itself.

Give me your opinions!

Chris

OffRoadFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 06:59 PM   #2

Default Re: VCT 4.0 I6 vs. Windsor 5.0 V8

For me, I go the V8 Fairlane and stick LPG in th boot, it's big enough to take it,
that way you can use gas cause it's cheap to run and keep petrol as back up.
jpd80 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 07:06 PM   #3
I ♥ EDM

This is no contest. The Windsor wins hands down. In economy, power & reliability. Especially in the driving conditions you describe.
SSD-85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 07:20 PM   #4
Adamz Ghia

Nothing wrong with either engine, both are winners.
But there is just something about the 5.0 and the way it pulls the car along that makes it feel just that little bit more special. More relaxed.
Adamz Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 07:45 PM   #5
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

LPG tanks in the boot are useful.

Until you wanna put stuff in yhere
Old 04-01-2013, 07:56 PM   #6
SLO247

I have a VCT. Get the 5.0. Better in every way, more economical too.
SLO247 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 08:02 PM   #7
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

Originally Posted by jpd80 View Post
For me, I go the V8 Fairlane and stick LPG in th boot, it's big enough to take it,
that way you can use gas cause it's cheap to run and keep petrol as back up.
That's what I don't really want. A great big gas tank in the boot. I'll want the space the tank takes up and the ability to put longer objects through to the cabin.

Originally Posted by Eagleheart
This is no contest. The Windsor wins hands down. In economy, power & reliability. Especially in the driving conditions you describe.
Well that's certainly interesting! I knew it had more power but wasn't aware 'til recently that economy and reliability could also be better.

Originally Posted by Adamz Ghia
Nothing wrong with either engine, both are winners.
But there is just something about the 5.0 and the way it pulls the car along that makes it feel just that little bit more special. More relaxed.
That's what I've liked about the Windsor as well. Just something about a V8 cruiser... An aunty and cousin of mine have had Windsors, an auto NC Fairlane, and a manual EB XR8 sedan. The EB I remember was getting 8.0L per 100 around here, with the occasional brisk take off or acceloration. Don't remember what the Fairlane got.
Originally Posted by xrghiawagon
LPG tanks in the boot are useful.

Until you wanna put stuff in yhere
That's it, which I will.
Old 04-01-2013, 08:02 PM   #8

I'm not a fan of the wheezer in the E series, but its got more balls in the AU series.

Go the wheezer while you can still enjoy it, P player laws will come for you, just when.
Old 04-01-2013, 08:04 PM   #9
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

Originally Posted by SLO247 View Post
I have a VCT. Get the 5.0. Better in every way, more economical too.
I really am surprised the V8 is more economical! Wow...

Never thought I'd be looking to get a V8 one! Always loved the sound while cruising in them, and the start-up!
Old 04-01-2013, 08:05 PM   #10
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

That's the thing though, the 5L has a load more torque, so it isn't working as hard as the 4L has to, to pull nearly 1.8t around.
Old 04-01-2013, 08:09 PM   #11
I ♥ EDM

I own an AU1 Fairlane V8.

Expect around 8L/100km on Highway driving. Along with a FAAAARRR greater driving experience.
Old 04-01-2013, 08:14 PM   #12
irish2

The windsor has been around since 1962. Besides roller cams and fuel injection everything else is near on identical. They are probably one of the most reliable engines ever produced. Nobody would keep a motor in production that long if they kept failing.

When driven on highway runs they are very economical too.
irish2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 08:41 PM   #13

Originally Posted by Eagleheart View Post
I say go with the Windsor but I have the question the statement above, Windsor wins hands down on reliability? the AU 6 is an extremely reliable engine and proved this as one of the most favoured taxi engines. there isn't much around that even comes close to the AU 6 for reliability

Old 04-01-2013, 08:52 PM   #14

For a heavy fairlane maybe its different but when i bought the AU ute the six for me wins hands down
Cheaper rego,cheaper insurance,cheap enuf to run (some say the 5 L are cheaper to run,find that amazing in its self)
You have to look past the power difference,its the overall costs per year difference
Is the V8 at somewhat 30 KW more than the six worth the costs
Old 04-01-2013, 09:39 PM   #15

Originally Posted by 302 XC View Post
(some say the 5 L are cheaper to run,find that amazing in its self)
The VCT 6 is extremely thirsty and many find a V8 driven normally can return better consumption figures. if you constantly put the boot in it might be different but with normal daily driving the 5.0L will win ( particularly on the highway )

Old 04-01-2013, 09:43 PM   #16
I ♥ EDM

Originally Posted by au3xr6 View Post
I say go with the Windsor but I have the question the statement above, Windsor wins hands down on reliability? the AU 6 is an extremely reliable engine and proved this as one of the most favoured taxi engines. there isn't much around that even comes close to the AU 6 for reliability
We are talking about the VCT model here. The Wheezer beats the VCT by a mile.
Ill admit the standard I6 AU is the ultimate for reliability though.
Old 04-01-2013, 10:19 PM   #17
ebzery

the 6 had troubles with the power steering leaking on the alternator causing them to fail.
my xr8 is better then my v6 commodore on a long run ,better towing and smooth lighter on the fuel.
in a lighter car vct engine all the way . eg the ute.
ebzery is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 10:20 PM   #18
falconnut

i6 all the way.

non vct still has plenty of go and doesnt use a much fuel
falconnut is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2013, 10:22 PM   #19

Originally Posted by Mr. Grinzy View Post
Give me your opinions!
Ok - my opinion is that this has been done to death and there's enough info on it in the AU section for you to make an opinion.
Old 04-01-2013, 10:50 PM   #20

Originally Posted by au3xr6
Windsor matches I6 for reliability no problem. They are near bulletproof.

Originally Posted by 302 XC
For a heavy fairlane maybe its different but when i bought the AU ute the six for me wins hands down
Cheaper rego,cheaper insurance,cheap enuf to run (some say the 5 L are cheaper to run,find that amazing in its self)
You have to look past the power difference,its the overall costs per year difference
Is the V8 at somewhat 30 KW more than the six worth the costs
Absolutely. Rego costs difference only applies in a few states and being a Fairlane insurance costs stuff all anyway. Mines less than $500 a year.
Old 05-01-2013, 12:45 AM   #21
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

Thanks for all the replies everyone! Very helpful to read!

I think I may aim for a V8 now, since I hear so many good things about them, and I'd enjoy the V8 sound. Always loved the sound while cruising in my Aunty's NC Fairlane...mmmmmmm.

If anyone else wants to share their thoughts, please do!

Cheers everyone!
Old 05-01-2013, 01:44 AM   #22
smoo

I've had a few I6 AUs, I've found they vary in fuel consumption for each car. The best I got, consistently in the non VCT low spec was 7.6/100km in a Futura to consistently 10l in my Fairmont wagon. My last two VCTs was a Fairlane with 565k on the clock good for 9l/100km and XR6 ute which just ticked over 660k returned 8.5/100km. Both engines untouched, cant beat the Aussie 6. To say the VCTs are extremely thirsty is an exaggeration, the Fairlanes are a good 200kg heavier and shorter geared than the non VCT low spec. Fwiw my BA Fairlane 5.4 gets 9/100km but has torque the 4.0 and wheezer could only dream of.
smoo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2013, 03:01 AM   #23
Drizz06
XR50th

Originally Posted by Mr. Grinzy View Post
Thanks for all the replies everyone! Very helpful to read!

I think I may aim for a V8 now, since I hear so many good things about them, and I'd enjoy the V8 sound. Always loved the sound while cruising in my Aunty's NC Fairlane...mmmmmmm.

If anyone else wants to share their thoughts, please do!

Cheers everyone!
It's worth it just for the feel and sound of a 8!
And for the record I had no problem getting 600+ kays out of a tank on highway.
And my Windsor had cam done plus injectors larger throttle body etc.. and tuned.
Runabout- 1997 XH longreach in white.
Project- 1976 ZH fairlane 500
Drizz06 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2013, 02:42 PM   #24
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

Originally Posted by smoo View Post
I've had a few I6 AUs, I've found they vary in fuel consumption for each car. The best I got, consistently in the non VCT low spec was 7.6/100km in a Futura to consistently 10l in my Fairmont wagon. My last two VCTs was a Fairlane with 565k on the clock good for 9l/100km and XR6 ute which just ticked over 660k returned 8.5/100km. Both engines untouched, cant beat the Aussie 6. To say the VCTs are extremely thirsty is an exaggeration, the Fairlanes are a good 200kg heavier and shorter geared than the non VCT low spec. Fwiw my BA Fairlane 5.4 gets 9/100km but has torque the 4.0 and wheezer could only dream of.
We very regularly get mid 7L/100kms in our AUII Futura wagon while cruising at 90-ish. Definitely a great engine the Intech! Never had a complaint.

Originally Posted by Drizz06
It's worth it just for the feel and sound of a 8!
And for the record I had no problem getting 600+ kays out of a tank on highway.
And my Windsor had cam done plus injectors larger throttle body etc.. and tuned.
Definitely, I'd certainly enjoy the V8! By the sounds of it the extra costs will be very minimal as well!
Old 05-01-2013, 03:44 PM   #25

no such thing as a non VCT Fairlane in the AU
Originally Posted by falconnut View Post
i6 all the way.

non vct still has plenty of go and doesnt use a much fuel

Old 05-01-2013, 03:45 PM   #26
Tim9

Not a fan of LPG tanks in the boot either.
Tim9 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2013, 05:41 PM   #27
cupic
Nikon

The brother in law has a 2002 AU sportsman 5l and he/ I love it .Open road sees 8l/100 regularly V8 hands down

cheers
cupic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2013, 06:15 PM   #28

My thoughts...i wish people would refer to them by their proper title.
They are NU Fairlanes!!!
The LTD's, DU.

Id go the 5.0 option.
Old 05-01-2013, 06:43 PM   #29
Paull
P6 LTD

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For all the hard work performed around paint, trim, engine codes in the Classics section. General all round knwoledge and willingness to impart on others 

I have the DU LTD 5.0 litre and it gets 11.5L/100kays. I have a mixture of 80/100 kay zones and city driving and the fuel consumption never really changes. I travel about 600 kays per week and the engine is simply faultless, it is such a sweet little engine.

If engine choice is no real concern, then I would remove it from the equation and go for the best quality car at the best price: remember, what you save on initial price, you will pay 5 fold on repair bills.

Personally, I would not even look at the 6 cylinder but that's just me.
Paull is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2013, 06:46 PM   #30
FordFan86
meow

Personally I think you should go for the windsor route...
Infact I have a beauty of an AU V8 for sale ;)
FordFan86 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post