Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Fiesta, Festiva and Ka

Old 09-09-2011, 10:48 AM   #1
Omarko

Default Is there any way to get more power from Fiesta WS auto?

hi guys

my missuz has a 2010 Fiesta WS Zetec auto. She absolutely loves it however its lack of power is annoying the crap out of me when I have to ocassionaly drive it (probably because my car is a HSV VE). I think the 1.4l engine is just so seriously underpowered its not funny. I mean come on, 71kW and 151Nm ??!! And to even get that, you have to rev the crap out of it which creates a whirlpool in the tank.

Are there any mods that can be done to the car that would improve this ? If yes, can someone recommend a shop in the Hills area in Sydney ?

What would the mods be and approx cost ?

thanks in advance!

Omarko is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 01:01 PM   #2
Caydus

Default Re: Is there any way to get more power from Fiesta WS auto?

[url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e5lHdZ8gF6E]This video may come in handy...

There really isn't too much u can do with a N/A engine. I guess firstly is to get the engine up to spec, give it a good service, get it back up to factory condition. After that, it’s just helping the engine breathe a bit easier, so a cold air intake and a good free flowing exhaust system.
After that, it’ll get progressively more expensive to the point where you might as well just sell the car and buy a new more powerful one.
Caydus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 01:13 PM   #3
cartaa100
FG POWER

Originally Posted by Omarko
hi guys

my missuz has a 2010 Fiesta WS Zetec auto. She absolutely loves it however its lack of power is annoying the crap out of me when I have to ocassionaly drive it (probably because my car is a HSV VE). I think the 1.4l engine is just so seriously underpowered its not funny. I mean come on, 71kW and 151Nm ??!! And to even get that, you have to rev the crap out of it which creates a whirlpool in the tank.

Are there any mods that can be done to the car that would improve this ? If yes, can someone recommend a shop in the Hills area in Sydney ?

What would the mods be and approx cost ?

thanks in advance!

id say yours best bet is a highflow cat, big CAI, full exhaust, tune and extractors if there available for the fiesta.

I rekon youd be looking at around 2G all up :P
id try castle hill exhaust or probably even better liverpool exhaust for everything but the tune, for that id just have a search around

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11332753  
cartaa100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 01:57 PM   #4
Samtheband
hear my ute purr.......

If your misses is happy with it, why bother?

No mods yet.
Samtheband is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 02:17 PM   #5
trumpy73

At the end of the day it's a 1.4L Auto Fiesta. You can't expect much.

imo there's no point spending $$$ to get not much extra out of it. You'll end up looking like one of those $2000 Hyundai Excels with 15Ks worth of mods (not a good look)

It's a female car so as long as your Mrs is happy leave it as is.
trumpy73 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 02:18 PM   #6

pull the engine out of the HSV and shoe horn it into the fiesta.
Old 09-09-2011, 02:29 PM   #7
wakeboardandy

swap it for a WT
wakeboardandy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 03:01 PM   #8

Originally Posted by trumpy73
At the end of the day it's a 1.4L Auto Fiesta. You can't expect much.

imo there's no point spending $$$ to get not much extra out of it. You'll end up looking like one of those $2000 Hyundai Excels with 15Ks worth of mods (not a good look)

It's a female car so as long as your Mrs is happy leave it as is.
+1..way to much effort and $$$ for little gain
Old 09-09-2011, 03:08 PM   #9
Samtheband
hear my ute purr.......

Originally Posted by burnz
pull the engine out of the HSV and shoe horn it into the fiesta.

+1

No mods yet.
Samtheband is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 03:27 PM   #10
Anchor

There's a reason we were all scared to sell a WS fiesta auto... Lol. Try an exhaust and a cold air intake.. Can't hurt to give it a shot.
67 SS Nova Coupe. Iron AES 398 LS. T56. 2x 72mm T-netics BB. TCI Pro Touring F&R Clip. Streetfighter Project. 1200hp
73 Z28 RS Camaro. 6.0 LS. Coilovers. 18x9 / 18x10.
Anchor is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 03:45 PM   #11
loxxr6
XB in parts...

From my research the cost for the gain doesn't make it worthwhile to do anything with the car. I have a 1.6 and the gains from changing exhaust, intake, manifold, tune etc are pretty poor (versus what it would be to say my previous XR6)...personally, I wouldn't bother.

Daily Driver 2019 Ford Escape...looking for XR6T's.

loxxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 07:32 PM   #12
Omarko

thanks guys ...

anyone know what kind of gain am I looking at gaining though for the $2k? Happy to spend the cash if its sufficient and I'll be able to definitely feel it.
Omarko is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 10:10 PM   #13
In Focus

It sounds facetious, and someone's already said it, but if you traded up to a WT you'd immediately get up to 89kw. Then if you wanted later on, you could boost that up closer to 100kw with the usual mods.

My Mrs was shopping earlier this year and wanted an automatic, and I very quickly steered towards the WT over the WS. Meant the difference between a Zetec WS and an LX WT, but the features in the new LX aren't much behind the older Zetec. And the extra 18kw are certainly worth it.

Hers: 2020 Ford Puma JK: 1.0 Ecoboost 3-cylinder, 7-speed DCT in Frozen White.
In Focus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 10:12 PM   #14
GoesLikeAZetec

Unfortunately the 4 speed auto just kills the 1.4, and a cai and exhaust probably still wont get it up to even the 88kw the 1.6 had.

Keep your 2k I reckon mate. Upsell her to the turbo model when it comes out
GoesLikeAZetec is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 11:12 PM   #15
Fiesta_Man69

Use the money you would have spent on mods to upgrade to a WT. Or spend it and gain no more than 5kW at best. The 1.4 is a basic engine with an old 4 speed: chasing performance will be a waste of $
Fiesta_Man69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 11:57 PM   #16
simonmichael90
LZ Titanium Focus

Drop a diesel donk in it. Not huge power but excellent torque for a light car.
simonmichael90 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post