You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 25-09-2021, 09:36 AM   #31
Metdevil

Default Re: 1971 xy phase 3 auction

Originally Posted by Dr Smith View Post
I won't call you skeptical because of fairly good sourced rumours that these buyers and sellers are often very well known to each other or through the selling agents. One conspiracy theory is the more expensive cars of late have been "traded" between a group to keep interest high and valuations higher.

If I have 1-1.5Mill to burn I'd be getting flying lessons and a very light jet or a DA62 at least
This is exactly what I'm getting at, it's what caused the Collectible Coin bubble in the 80's and it's what's causing the vintage games bubble now. The buyers are just a group amongst themselves selling back and forth in order to drum up a media response.
It also doesn't help their case that Lloyds are the only classic car auction house in Australia who do not disclose their purchase history. Can't carry out your due diligence if there's no purchase history to confirm the legitimacy of the purchases they're basing the valuations on. Legitimate buyers have no choice but to trust the media reports that Lloyds are pushing out to journalists.
Metdevil is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-09-2021, 09:58 PM   #32
Falcon SXR8

1.3 mil
AU Fairmont
BA MK2 XR6 Turbo
Now
XDUB
Falcon SXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-09-2021, 10:14 PM   #33
Rob 351

Originally Posted by Falcon SXR8 View Post
1.3 mil
Still the big daddy of collectable Australian muscle.
Old 25-09-2021, 11:45 PM   #34
Big_Daz

In the same auction:

Maloo W1 Ute got to $1.15 million before the bidding went offline. Still no idea where it ended up selling
W1 Sedan went for $600k
VS GTSR number 1 went for an even $1 million

https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/xu3...auction-lloyds

Hers: 2020 (MY21) Kia Sorento GT-Line in Mineral Blue
Hers on Order: MY24 Ford Everest Platinum in Equinox Bronze
His Weekender: 2017 Commodore SSV Redline manual in Light My Fire Orange
His Daily: 2023 Hyundai Tuscon Elite N-Line in Crimson Red
Big_Daz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 06:51 AM   #35
Metdevil

Originally Posted by Rob 351 View Post
Still the big daddy of collectable Australian muscle.
Meanwhile, a gif of the same car sold for $51k. The grand daddy of digital imagery.

Last night's auction in a nutshell...

Old 26-09-2021, 09:45 AM   #36
au2000
AKA "the other bloke"

Lol yep.. i cant get my head around this.. buying a digital image of a car ???
His: 2012 FG II GS, Vanish
His: 2003 BA GT-P, Lightening Strike
Jnr: 2002 AU III Falcon XR6 ST, 5 speed Blueprint & 1978 XC Fairmont Neptune Blue

1976 HX 50th Anniversary Kingswood
2014 FGX G6E Turbo
1980 XD Falcon GL
2003 BA Falcon XR6
1991 EB Falcon S
1989 EA Fairmont
1982 XE Fairmont
1968 XT Falcon
au2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 10:00 AM   #37

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Every mega-dollar XY brings us one step closer to full reproduction bodies, including the lobbying required to get them over the line legislatively.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 01:17 PM   #38
ford71V8

As long as they also do coupes too
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 01:35 PM   #39
.:4:.
Kicking back

Every mega-dollar XY brings us one step closer to full reproduction bodies, including the lobbying required to get them over the line legislatively.
I remember years back i read a statement reffering to the quality of all the repro gt parts rare spares sold. Although it did say a fake gt with all those parts was easyish to tell because the repro stuff was better quality then even a well kept genuine gt.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 07:33 PM   #40
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
I remember years back i read a statement reffering to the quality of all the repro gt parts rare spares sold. Although it did say a fake gt with all those parts was easyish to tell because the repro stuff was better quality then even a well kept genuine gt.
I will B.S on that statement about repro parts quality.most of it is crap at top quality pricing
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 07:45 PM   #41
mondeomatureguy

Hi Guy's
I was just watching the news now and the GTHO sold for 1.3 million ( good to have money).
I also really don't understand this Digital thing? Somebody paid $51,000 for a digital car.

A that price you can buy a real car, not a GTHO but you could buy a good XR8 Falcon.
mondeomatureguy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 08:12 PM   #42
CyberWasp

Digital NFT's are real and collectable.
In this case I don't see the value as it is not certified by Ford.
I am also not sure of the scale. It does not appear to be 1:1
If Ford wakes up they will authorise 1:1 Scale NFT's of all their classic cars, which would make these ones worthless.
I know of a 1:1 Scale NFT of the DeLoreon from back to the Future.
You can Augment them into the real world via your smart phone.
Door ect open and you can go inside.
Early days yet but get used to it. They are coming.

CyberWasp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-09-2021, 09:19 PM   #43
Falcon SXR8

Funny thing is they paid 50g for a phase 3 pic with 350 on the side stripe they were so busy trying to part a fool from his money they couldn't even get that right.
AU Fairmont
BA MK2 XR6 Turbo
Now
XDUB
Falcon SXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-09-2021, 07:00 AM   #44
xkxlxm

If someone actually paid for it, I guess they didn't need to get it right. Like Metdevil says, it could be all smoke and mirrors.

I said in a previous post that I wouldn't pay 5c for it; I found 5c several days ago and I wouldn't pay for it with that.
xkxlxm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-11-2021, 04:56 PM   #45
vbomber

Looks like its back up for auction https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotD...=0&lid=3227421
vbomber is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-11-2021, 05:13 PM   #46

Originally Posted by vbomber View Post
Better get in quick, it's already at $505k with only 43 days 20 hours and 50 minutes to go....

I'll see you back here mid December....

Old 05-11-2021, 06:51 AM   #47
Metdevil

Originally Posted by vbomber View Post
The listing says that it's being re-offered due to non-settlement. So much for bidders being pre-approved.

Again, it doesn't help that Lloyd's don't share buyer information. The previous auction is indistinguishable from a shill bid not reaching its target. Potential buyers have nothing to base the valuation on except the press releases that Lloyd's puts out. Now I wonder if the coming press releases mention the previous sale price of 1.3 million, or if they continue pushing their 1.5 million upper limit.

Or maybe I'm just too skeptical/cynical...
Old 05-11-2021, 09:49 AM   #48
zoesgift

Angry Re: 1971 xy phase 3 auction

people even the most ill informed millionaire wouldnt pay that much money for a non matching numbers phase 3 gtho without log books and other provenance. its a good car but much better cars out there if you are looking to show someone how big your appendage is
zoesgift is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-11-2021, 12:12 PM   #49
wodahs

Originally Posted by zoesgift View Post
people even the most ill informed millionaire wouldnt pay that much money for a non matching numbers phase 3 gtho without log books and other provenance. its a good car but much better cars out there if you are looking to show someone how big your appendage is

Chassis No: JG33LS88417K
Eng .... No: JG33LS88417K

maybe i missed something but they look matching to me , i dont know tho as ive only been out of eye surgery for a week

tho some times i dont see the warranted value in some things , but they may just be that theyve been placed out of my reach even tho as a younger version of me ive owned things of similar and let them go
tho if i still had i suppose it would leave me torn as to keep something i like or sell and get rich

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-11-2021, 12:39 PM   #50
Tassie f100

Bit hard to know what the real numbers are.Write up says same numbers,but further up the page it says period correct engine,not original.Would the auction place actually check engine and chassis numbers or is it taken off some paperwork but not verified.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-11-2021, 03:28 PM   #51
zoesgift

Wink Re: 1971 xy phase 3 auction

the car is well known in GT circles as not having its original block etc.....i guess if people wish to believe its matching nos now well its easy to re stamp a block i guess if youre that way inclined.... but id be having a look at the casting date of the block etc. as ive said its a good car maybe the original motor turned up in a marine application somewhere......................
Old 05-11-2021, 03:32 PM   #52
zoesgift

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Bit hard to know what the real numbers are.Write up says same numbers,but further up the page it says period correct engine,not original.Would the auction place actually check engine and chassis numbers or is it taken off some paperwork but not verified.
given the history of this mob in GT land they wouldnt do much other than mislead and thats being polite....lets be honest if you were an auction house that had GENUINELY sold a phase 3 GTHO for a record sum in a public auction wouldnt you be coming out and spruiking your company, your staff, your marketing campaign effectiveness etc....real estate agents having been doing it since Jesus was a boy
Old 05-11-2021, 04:57 PM   #53

Originally Posted by zoesgift View Post
the car is well known in GT circles as not having its original block etc.....i guess if people wish to believe its matching nos now well its easy to re stamp a block i guess if youre that way inclined.... but id be having a look at the casting date of the block etc. as ive said its a good car maybe the original motor turned up in a marine application somewhere......................
They do keep hammering and making a point of stating "Period Correct" instead of the less confusing "All Original Matching Numbers" for this car......

I think a good going over with a fine tooth comb and a pile of very detailed Stat Decs would be in order before i handed over a sizable amount of $$$.....

Old 05-11-2021, 06:05 PM   #54
stevefreestyle

Originally Posted by rare ss View Post
interesting to see what the taxi's go for too
Most amusing, of course they are both Ford Falcons, so there is obviously no difference! Thanks for enlightening me. (LOL)
Old 05-11-2021, 06:15 PM   #55
stevefreestyle

Originally Posted by DJR-351 View Post
They do keep hammering and making a point of stating "Period Correct" instead of the less confusing "All Original Matching Numbers" for this car......

I think a good going over with a fine tooth comb and a pile of very detailed Stat Decs would be in order before i handed over a sizable amount of $$$.....

I suspect the term "Period Correct" means it is not original, yet reflects the period options. I could be wrong, but whilst the Vinyl Roof option applied to XY Fairmonts and Futuras, I strongly suspect There was no Vinyl Roof Option on GTHOs, and NO GTHOs were built with the hideous Vinyl Roof
Old 05-11-2021, 06:21 PM   #56
rare ss

Originally Posted by stevefreestyle View Post
Most amusing, of course they are both Ford Falcons, so there is obviously no difference! Thanks for enlightening me. (LOL)
It was a dry mention of the VS GTS/R's.. common rumor was they were part was a cancelled taxi order
FGII FPV F6 #406
BFII FPV F6 Typhoon R Spec #118
VK HDT Group A/Group 3 #3249
rare ss is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-11-2021, 06:33 PM   #57
stevefreestyle

I actually had a "close & personal" experience of a NEW GTHO Phase III, when I was a kid my older cousin bought one, and took me for a run in it - that was the transformational experience (religious epiphany), from a 16 yr old diehard Holden supporter !

Unfortunately he had to sell it two years later as it kept chewing out dual clutches when he pulled his racing boat out of the water (Challenger II or III?).
Old 05-11-2021, 07:49 PM   #58
slowsnake

Originally Posted by stevefreestyle View Post
I suspect the term "Period Correct" means it is not original, yet reflects the period options. I could be wrong, but whilst the Vinyl Roof option applied to XY Fairmonts and Futuras, I strongly suspect There was no Vinyl Roof Option on GTHOs, and NO GTHOs were built with the hideous Vinyl Roof
I started an apprenticeship with a Ford dealer in Sydney, in reality you could order anything that would fit any Ford of that model, so if you ordered a XW GTHO, and a Vinyl Roof was an option on that body shape, let's say a Nice XW Fairmont, then you could have that as an option!

We had a dude who used to take the dealers name and the clear plastic Superoo sticker off the rear window, every service we were told to put em back on, next time it was missing, put new one on and next service missing again, a nice Violet one it was, I had a box of about a hundred superoo stickers, my little brother stuck em all over the windows of mum and dads house, little ****, he could never figure out why people put them on their windows backward, lol, kids are so funny, but there were a few left and I showed him that they had to stick to the outside of the window, he had a grin only a 9 yr old could have, too cool, they would be worth a bob or two now I suppose!

Last edited by slowsnake; 05-11-2021 at 07:51 PM. Reason: Autospell
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-11-2021, 10:55 PM   #59

Another one up for auction at the end of the month.
https://www.facebook.com/SEVEN82MOTO...309422/?type=3
Old 08-11-2021, 12:15 PM   #60
rare ss

Another one, it's raining HO's

https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions...2586TCFTF7H85/
FGII FPV F6 #406
BFII FPV F6 Typhoon R Spec #118
VK HDT Group A/Group 3 #3249
rare ss is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post