Old 13-02-2014, 03:55 AM   #1
SPArKy_Dave
Too many Fords........ :)

Default Sinkhole opens under Corvette Museum

Can't say I saw that one coming.

http://www.theverge.com/2014/2/12/54...orvette-museum

97 EL V8 wagon - cool cruiser, or street bruiser? CLICKY
93 XG panel van - at your door in 60 secs, or the first hr is FREE........ yep, that's the goal.
95 XG ute - awaiting a head gasket...... grrrrr.

74 XB GS pano..... factory optioned with all the good stuff..... not much there now. ........long term resto.
XB Coupe and Van TV Ad
you know........ there's a little bit of Bathurst in every Ford Falcon.... think about it
SPArKy_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 08:20 AM   #2
CoupeKing

Default Re: Sinkhole opens under Corvette Museum

Thats gonna 'Sting'
CoupeKing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 08:39 AM   #3

Must have happened in sympathy with the news of a Holden shut down.

Burnout is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 11:49 AM   #4

I don't know that i would be getting that close to the hole, or even the building for that matter, it may not be over yet ?
hopefully they can extricate and resurrect the vettes to their former glory.
Old 13-02-2014, 01:46 PM   #5
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

I'd be moving all the corvette's out of there

Very interesting video footage

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 02:03 PM   #6
290GTP

I'd be moving more Corvettes in there. Horrible cars.

Mercury Silver 03 BA GT-P Tremec TR3650 Number 534

Herrod 4 into ones, Manta Exhaust, CAI, K&N Filter, Mellings oil pump, 19" FPV alloys, Bilsteins, Kings, tuned by Autotech, 272rwkw

RIP Fish 15/1/73 - 9/2/19
290GTP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 03:39 PM   #7
BLU-220
FG XR50 TURBO

Originally Posted by 290GTP View Post
that's gold
BLU-220 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 06:22 PM   #8

IT will buff out with a good cut and polish....
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 06:30 PM   #9
GASWAGON

Holey Mohley.........Get it......Holey!

Not good for any classic car/bike etc or anything else for that mattter.
GASWAGON is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 06:53 PM   #10
lilmattie

I can land my RC helicopter smoother than that..

Why does the article say vintage? most are within 10 - 30 years old?
lilmattie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 07:11 PM   #11

The footage from the rc chopper makes it all look fake, they just look like models
Old 13-02-2014, 08:10 PM   #12
jpblue1000

Originally Posted by zilo View Post
IT will buff out with a good cut and polish....
yeah but what about the cars!
jpblue1000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 09:31 PM   #13

Why couldn't it happen to Ford Aus instead... not like its needed anymore.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 09:53 PM   #14
GCRXR6

Originally Posted by AU2GHIA View Post
that's gold
That's where they belong.
Old 13-02-2014, 11:29 PM   #15
Spurious

GM= no great loss!
Spurious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 11:39 PM   #16
40RDT

Holy **** at least the blue ZR1 doesn't look too damaged, those things are beasts
Old 13-02-2014, 11:48 PM   #17
66FAIRLANE

Just Satan doing a recall.
66FAIRLANE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2014, 12:41 AM   #18
Spurious

I was just thinking this sink hole would have served a better purpose opening up under a Prius dealership!
Spurious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2014, 07:40 PM   #19
buickman
buickman

Bloody hell I visited the Museum in 2003 and walked around it including the dome area were an Aussie right hand drive converted car was on display.
Old 14-02-2014, 11:36 PM   #20
CyberWasp

Proof God Exists
CyberWasp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2014, 12:26 AM   #21
neptune blue

Oh yeah horrible cars .. Like I'd much rather be driving a B series falcon than a corvette
neptune blue is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2014, 12:51 AM   #22

Originally Posted by neptune blue View Post
Oh yeah horrible cars .. Like I'd much rather be driving a B series falcon than a corvette
I think the point he was trying to make implies that he would.

I agree. Do not like or want Corvettes. Don't care how vintage they are, I feel nothing for the loss of these cars. Thankfully it happened when no one was at risk of injury or death. That's what matters most.
Old 15-02-2014, 09:08 AM   #23
290GTP

Ah yeah, I would rather be driving my B series GT-P than one of those plastic heaps of ****.

Dont like Corvette's, never have, never will.

Mercury Silver 03 BA GT-P Tremec TR3650 Number 534

Herrod 4 into ones, Manta Exhaust, CAI, K&N Filter, Mellings oil pump, 19" FPV alloys, Bilsteins, Kings, tuned by Autotech, 272rwkw

RIP Fish 15/1/73 - 9/2/19

Last edited by 290GTP; 15-02-2014 at 09:17 AM.
290GTP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2014, 09:37 AM   #24
Motorbreath310

Jesus why all the hate toward Vettes? Okay: so they're made of plastic and have leaf springs (GS ute anyone?) but they go hard, look awesome, and sound pretty tittytastic.

They're simple, low maintenance, and still do an awesome job. What's not to like?
Motorbreath310 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2014, 09:41 AM   #25
BLU-220
FG XR50 TURBO

Originally Posted by Motorbreath310 View Post
What's not to like?
wrong badge for starters
BLU-220 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-02-2014, 10:31 AM   #26

wouldnt say no to a big block, 4 speed, Vette
Old 15-02-2014, 10:48 AM   #27

Yep, I wouldn't kick one out of my garage. My uncle imports them into NZ, and has done for years. Such awesome cars. Don't care about the badge, the car makes up for it.
Old 15-02-2014, 02:15 PM   #28
neptune blue

Ah yeah, I would rather be driving my B series GT-P than one of those plastic heaps of ****.

Dont like Corvette's, never have, never will.
:;/-&$. Xcgy bv8764. 336780. )./- sorry having trouble typing cos I'm laughing so hard

Last time a checked BA falcons were kind of plastic too

You're right I'd rather be driving a plastic / metal BA falcon than a car that has a 50 year blood line, racing pedigee and its catch cry is the "heart beat of america"

the heart beat of broadmeadows just doesnt have the same ring to it

Oh and it wont stop being produced in 2016

No one is telling you to like them but you are way out of line calling them ****

I'd like to line you up with one that was built in the same year as your car so you can see want they look like from behind .... Then perhaps a serving of humble pie after that
Old 15-02-2014, 02:24 PM   #29
neptune blue

Originally Posted by nstg8a View Post
Yep, I wouldn't kick one out of my garage. My uncle imports them into NZ, and has done for years. Such awesome cars. Don't care about the badge, the car makes up for it.
I agree with you totally
Forget badges it's all about the car
Doesn't matter who makes them
Well said

People hang **** on cars simply because of the manufacturer are as short sighted as they are stupid
Camaro's, mustangs, firebirds, corvettes Lamborghini Ferrari challengers chargers etc love them all, some series more than others of course
Old 15-02-2014, 02:34 PM   #30

:;/-&$. Xcgy bv8764. 336780. )./- sorry having trouble typing cos I'm laughing so hard

Last time a checked BA falcons were kind of plastic too

You're right I'd rather be driving a plastic / metal BA falcon than a car that has a 50 year blood line, racing pedigee and its catch cry is the "heart beat of america"

the heart beat of broadmeadows just doesnt have the same ring to it

Oh and it wont stop being produced in 2016

No one is telling you to like them but you are way out of line calling them ****

I'd like to line you up with one that was built in the same year as your car so you can see want they look like from behind .... Then perhaps a serving of humble pie after that
Every body panel on them is fibreglass, at least the BA has steel panels.