Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Escort, Cortina, Sierra and Capri

Old 27-02-2009, 12:54 AM   #1
oysta
Escort MkII 1977 2.0L

Default Identifying high vs low compression pinto

Gday,

Does anyone know how I can identify whether my pinto is high or low compression based on the engine number?

I remember going to a sight that explained all the codes and what they meant including paint, engine, etc etc. Does anyone know the site Im talking of?

Many thanks!

(MK2 Esky by the way)

oysta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2009, 12:26 PM   #2
JamesR

besides doing a compression test, i dont think there is any real way of know.

actually, it its the original motor, if the car was an auto, it would be low compression, manual = high compression.

this is the site you're probably thinking of.
http://www.rsmotorsport.com.au/ford_...scortmkii.html

my photo blog;
http://www.jamesruff.net
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2009, 01:09 PM   #3
oysta
Escort MkII 1977 2.0L

Thats the one I was after mate. Cheers.

Yeah Im doing compression test at the moment but if all the values are low then it could be either a low compression or a high compression with problems. Either way Im fairly confident its a high comp.

Thanks again for the link
Old 27-02-2009, 01:10 PM   #4
oysta
Escort MkII 1977 2.0L

Another similar site

http://www.uniquecarsandparts.com.au...tification.htm
Old 27-02-2009, 05:24 PM   #5
JamesR

Originally Posted by oysta
Thats the one I was after mate. Cheers.

Yeah Im doing compression test at the moment but if all the values are low then it could be either a low compression or a high compression with problems. Either way Im fairly confident its a high comp.

Thanks again for the link
yeah thats a good point.
but if theres something wrong, you'd be unlucky that all 4 cyls were all over the place.
if it has the original rocker cover, unofficially, blue rocker covers are LC, and black covers are HC.
but i dunno how right that is.

my photo blog;
http://www.jamesruff.net
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-02-2009, 03:22 PM   #6
R0BD0G

Originally Posted by JamesR
yeah thats a good point.
but if theres something wrong, you'd be unlucky that all 4 cyls were all over the place.
if it has the original rocker cover, unofficially, blue rocker covers are LC, and black covers are HC.
but i dunno how right that is.
thats what i found when i was lookin at our 7. so yeah i think thats right

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....4&page=1&pp=25
R0BD0G is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post