Old 30-12-2016, 08:46 PM   #1
mr_h._simpson

Default Jag E-type trivia

Hello,

Anyone know why Jag stopped putting the cool perspex headlight covers on E types after the Series One cars?

IMO the later models without those covers don't look as good.

Thanks!
Andrew
mr_h._simpson is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-12-2016, 08:55 PM   #2
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

Default Re: Jag E-type trivia

Realised they wouldn't do 140 mph as stated so didn't bother anymore.

Nizpro equipped and Tuned by the BEST in the west
Xtreme Ford Tuning

479RwKw Fuel limited, more pumps and power too come.

F6#0507 & #0639 Pro racer and Tech expert

NIZPRO modifying falcons like Premcar can only dream of , see VIDEO below.
https://youtu.be/oa4IfguGQ-A
arronm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-12-2016, 09:05 PM   #3
290GTP

Originally Posted by mr_h._simpson View Post
Hello,

Anyone know why Jag stopped putting the cool perspex headlight covers on E types after the Series One cars?

IMO the later models without those covers don't look as good.

Thanks!
Andrew
US safety regs killed the headlights covers along with the winged hub spinners. The smaller indicators were also scapped in favour of the chunkier ones.

In short, everything bad that happened to the E type, you can blame on the yanks.

Mercury Silver 03 BA GT-P Tremec TR3650 Number 534

Herrod 4 into ones, Manta Exhaust, CAI, K&N Filter, Mellings oil pump, 19" FPV alloys, Bilsteins, Kings, tuned by Autotech, 272rwkw

RIP Fish 15/1/73 - 9/2/19
290GTP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-12-2016, 09:16 PM   #4
98TLS

Originally Posted by arronm View Post
Realised they wouldn't do 140 mph as stated so didn't bother anymore.
Still a thing of beauty though,must be an age thing as i would rather sit and look at an E type than bother driving any of there latest offerings,having spent plenty of time around Bevel drive Ducatis they evoke similar feelings.
Old 30-12-2016, 09:17 PM   #5

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

Originally Posted by 290GTP View Post
US safety regs killed the headlights covers along with the winged hub spinners. The smaller indicators were also scapped in favour of the chunkier ones.

In short, everything bad that happened to the E type, you can blame on the yanks.
Which is exactly the same reason why MGB's got that ugly rubber nose and rear bumper, and raised suspension after 1975.
Silver Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-12-2016, 09:19 PM   #6
.:4:.
Kicking back

I'm pretty sure an e type bonnet in good, very good condition is worth a high percentage of what an e type is worth with a damaged bonnet.
.:4:. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-12-2016, 09:34 PM   #7
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

Originally Posted by 98TLS View Post
Still a thing of beauty though,must be an age thing as i would rather sit and look at an E type than bother driving any of there latest offerings,having spent plenty of time around Bevel drive Ducatis they evoke similar feelings.

I like this

Nizpro equipped and Tuned by the BEST in the west
Xtreme Ford Tuning

479RwKw Fuel limited, more pumps and power too come.

F6#0507 & #0639 Pro racer and Tech expert

NIZPRO modifying falcons like Premcar can only dream of , see VIDEO below.
https://youtu.be/oa4IfguGQ-A
arronm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-12-2016, 09:44 PM   #8
98TLS

I like this

So do i....
Old 31-12-2016, 10:34 AM   #9

Mmm, E Type, sex on wheels.
Old 31-12-2016, 10:39 AM   #10
mr_h._simpson

Thanks for the info.

And pics!!
mr_h._simpson is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 11:25 AM   #11
last fairlane

Question Re: Jag E-type trivia

from memory an E type in 1962 cost 6900 pounds just under $14000 more than a 3 bedroom brick house in the suburbs
a very expensive car at the time
last fairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 11:44 AM   #12

One of the iconic shapes. Like a 911, A/C Cobra.....XY GT .....beautiful lines.

Not a fan of Jags but these look great....not sure about the coupes they look a little funny.

NOTE, my reference to the XY was in jest..
Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 12:00 PM   #13
Bill M

The design work of Malcolm Sayer.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malcolm_Sayer
Old 31-12-2016, 12:31 PM   #14
QIKESP

Sourcing nos parts for a Triumph is had enough these days, imagine trying to find them for an E-type !!

Then again, if you can afford one of these beasts, you probably just get parts made !

Ripper of a car, they sure don't make them like that anymore
QIKESP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 01:00 PM   #15
290GTP

My dad had a 69 4.2 4 speed coupe back in the day. Went quite well when it was going. Our 351 XD never stood a chance against it.

I remember being about 12 years old sitting at the lights in "The Jag" (puts on my best Jeremy Clarkson voice), when a Yellow Jensen Interceptor pulled up alongside. Its turtle neck skivvy wearing driver looked across at my old man and it was on. The old E type got the holeshot and continued to put distance on the Interceptor with each gear change until the next set of lights.

This was about 1983 when street racing wasn't dangerous

Mercury Silver 03 BA GT-P Tremec TR3650 Number 534

Herrod 4 into ones, Manta Exhaust, CAI, K&N Filter, Mellings oil pump, 19" FPV alloys, Bilsteins, Kings, tuned by Autotech, 272rwkw

RIP Fish 15/1/73 - 9/2/19
290GTP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 01:47 PM   #16
Tassie f100

My nephew and his father did a bit of a job on an E Type a couple of years ago.They shortened the front by about 1/2 metre and fitted the V12 behind the seats in the extended rear.Used a transaxle out of something and made a hood/ engine cover from a modified hatchback tailgate
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 02:27 PM   #17

I like this

Two very nice examples of the "Eagle Speedster" E-Type Jag......

Wouldn't say no to a "Growler" version either......

Last edited by DJR-351; 31-03-2017 at 09:35 AM.
DJR-351 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 02:52 PM   #18

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
My nephew and his father did a bit of a job on an E Type a couple of years ago.They shortened the front by about 1/2 metre and fitted the V12 behind the seats in the extended rear.Used a transaxle out of something and made a hood/ engine cover from a modified hatchback tailgate
Why ?
Old 31-12-2016, 03:17 PM   #19
mr smith

Originally Posted by Bill M View Post
The design work of Malcolm Sayer.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malcolm_Sayer
C and D types are the pinnacle of car design. Malcolm Sayer designs.

mr smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 03:28 PM   #20
lance
lance

Originally Posted by mr smith View Post

The pinnacle of car design? Really?

1984 XE Esp Fairmont Ghia 6cyl Sold

1984 Xe Fairmont Ghia 6cyl Efi Sold

1966 Xp deluxe sedan Sold

Mk2 escort sedan 1600 Sold

Mk3 cortina 2 litre Sold

1975 Xb Falcon 500 250/ column auto 94000 kms
lance is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 03:56 PM   #21
mr smith

Originally Posted by lance View Post
The pinnacle of car design? Really?
What's better?

Jags of this era had the perfect blend of simplicity and style.

American stuff is a bit to gaudy and the Italian stuff is very good but I think Jag hit the nail on the head.

A few other people agree.

https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&r...42059868,d.dGo
mr smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 04:03 PM   #22
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by GasOLane View Post
Why ?
It was built as a special and something to be used for hill climbs,but it's registered so they can drive to the track.Much better handling and traction than it had with the big heavy engine in the front.Anyway why not?Standard cars are like A.Hs everyone has one.
Old 31-12-2016, 04:07 PM   #23

Anyway why not?Standard cars are like A.Hs everyone has one.
Everyone has an E type ??
Old 31-12-2016, 04:12 PM   #24
Tassie f100

I wasn't referring specifically to E Types.I was referring to stock motor cars.Why not make something better.Or you one of those that Pooh Pooh disc brakes and radial tyres?
Old 31-12-2016, 04:25 PM   #25

I wasn't referring specifically to E Types.I was referring to stock motor cars.Why not make something better.Or you one of those that Pooh Pooh disc brakes and radial tyres?
Hardly, but I don't see any point in destroying an E type, but I'm glad that he thought he could improve on Jaguars design.

I'd like to see photo's, they would be....interesting.
Old 31-12-2016, 04:32 PM   #26
98TLS

Originally Posted by 290GTP View Post
My dad had a 69 4.2 4 speed coupe back in the day. Went quite well when it was going. Our 351 XD never stood a chance against it.

I remember being about 12 years old sitting at the lights in "The Jag" (puts on my best Jeremy Clarkson voice), when a Yellow Jensen Interceptor pulled up alongside. Its turtle neck skivvy wearing driver looked across at my old man and it was on. The old E type got the holeshot and continued to put distance on the Interceptor with each gear change until the next set of lights.

This was about 1983 when street racing wasn't dangerous
Thats a great memory,have no idea why but the Jensen has always appealed as well,dunno about yellow but saw one in BRG and it looked great.
Old 31-12-2016, 05:03 PM   #27
XC50077
Drive'n Cruise'n Live'n

When ENZO FERRARI first saw the E TYPE he said it was the most beautiful car he had ever seen.
An old mate owned a gorgeous white 66 manual 6cyl coupe in the late 60's thru till the mid 80's and can only recall putting in a new clutch otherwise quite reliable. Old friend wouldn't have driven it over 100kmh and basically a garage queen.
XC50077 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-12-2016, 07:32 PM   #28
Bill M

Originally Posted by mr smith View Post

Yes they are beautiful designs, great photo! Not forgetting the XJ13 also by Mr Sayer. http://www.carbuildindex.com/29188/t...ilt-in-period/
Old 31-12-2016, 09:51 PM   #29
Pedro

Bit of a coincidence this thread should pop up. Yesterday I was waiting at lights near Harbour Town and a yellow E Type blank went past on a trailer. When I say blank ... it was a rolling body but had no openings for lights or anything else.
Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-01-2017, 10:03 AM   #30
monzie

Sounds like what the factory did to create the XJ13