View Poll Results: GT replicas/clones?
Yes, brilliant things. 41 22.91%
No, too many around. 53 29.61%
Indifferent, as long as someones in a ford. 44 24.58%
Ok if a proper clone..ie no fancy pants paint, billits and flash interior. 41 22.91%
Voters: 179. You may not vote on this poll

Old 22-12-2011, 09:29 PM   #1

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 
Default X-Series GT Replicas/Clones.

So, what are people thoughts?

These days there is a big market for this type of stuff, with shops offering drive-in, drive-out GT's. Now, everyone loves a GT (and lets face it, there would be a few less GT wedding cars with out the fakers lol), but, is it coming at a cost?

People are getting such models as GS's or fairmonts and ripping lovely vinyl roofs off and chucking GT stripes on them...waste i think.

As an interesting point, some BA-BF falcon owners cop flack for putting GT stuff on their non-GT's...

Note: No offence intended to owners of GT replicas :-)

Old 22-12-2011, 09:36 PM   #2

Default Re: X-Series GT Replicas/Clones.

I like them only when done properly ie very close to original

Would I build one? No
gcg2503 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 09:40 PM   #3
raptorv8

I think they are a waste, if you are going to the trouble of building a car might as well make it your own instead of something it will never be.

The cash it would cost to build a decent replica you could build a car that handles, looks, go's and stops better and it would be different.

Thats just my opinion though and if you or anyone else wants to build a clone go for it.
raptorv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 09:50 PM   #4
EF ECTIV

I reckon theyre ace.... my favourite XY is a replica.... with a BBF, NOS
and a powerglide.... would buy it in a hard beat....

Many of those GTs dont ever leave their owners garage/shed/workshop
so its good to have fakers around.... Cant ever see enough of them I
reckon....

1998 EL XR8 S2, Oxford, Manual, tickford kit
Project

2013 G6ET

Stock daily

2022 Patrol TiL
Stock daily
EF ECTIV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 09:54 PM   #5
raptorv8

Originally Posted by EF ECTIV
I reckon theyre ace.... my favourite XY is a replica.... with a BBF, NOS
and a powerglide.... would buy it in a hard beat....

Many of those GTs dont ever leave their owners garage/shed/workshop
so its good to have fakers around.... Cant ever see enough of them I
reckon....
Is it a replica if its got a big block, Nos and a GM gearbox?
Old 22-12-2011, 10:09 PM   #6
FlipXW

Made an XY replica and in the process of doing an XW replica. Dont have the money to buy an original and probably never will, however can spend half the price and create something that goes, stops and steers better than an original GT and 99% of people wouldnt be able to tell that it isn't. Its the closest ill get to owning one. Would never try to claim it as an original GT when people ask though. Simple fact is most people are not going to comment how nice your falcon 500 is, unless like us they are ford diehards.
A body kit or a set of stripes doesnt cut it though, its all aspects or none.
FlipXW is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 10:21 PM   #7

Im not really a fan of replicas.

Its like cloning something, exact every way possible, but doesnt have the soul or "feeling" of the original.

Id rather see the "donor" car being restored to its factory glory, or turned into a monster unique to itself. Not to try & copy its brother on the assembly line.
SSD-85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 10:24 PM   #8

Too many replicas and too many are so poorly done (ie they give it the external look of a GT but then have fat tyres, big brakes, big engines, too much chrome, leather interior etc.... ) How can it be a clone then if it doesnt look like it came from the factory?

Old 22-12-2011, 10:25 PM   #9

I don't have an issue with it. If someone likes the look of a GT and can't afford to buy the real deal....why not create a replica! I say go for it.

I do like seeing replica X series race cars being done though. I never was a big fan of stickers....but the race ones have grown on me
Old 22-12-2011, 10:36 PM   #10
AllCoupedUp
Garage Dreaming...

Location: In the garage - waiting for the car to build itself!!

Originally Posted by Scotty85
Im not really a fan of replicas.

Its like cloning something, exact every way possible, but doesnt have the soul or "feeling" of the original.

Id rather see the "donor" car being restored to its factory glory, or turned into a monster unique to itself. Not to try & copy its brother on the assembly line.
I agree with this sentiment. I can appreciate the effort that goes into building one and that it might be the only way for the owners to have a piece of the GT history. But the looks and admiration can also be gleamed from a well sorted and built custom car too that is a direct reflection of the owner.

Thus I like them, but too much of a good thing can erode the "aaahhh yeah, check the GT" moments to a "is that the real deal" moment...

Bit like having a cardboard cut out of Megan Gale - she looks good, makes you hard thinkin about her, but you know that you'll never be able to really have her.

My 2c.
AllCoupedUp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 11:28 PM   #11
Cabbage

This might be a bit off topic but I love gt's and especially xy gt's. I think xy gt's are a bit over exposed for want of a better expression. My natural reaction now when I see write ups on xy gt's or xy gt replica's in street fords or other muscle car mags is "not another one" and I look through the mag for something different. As much as I love the xy gt's I find other fords more interesting to read about, superbird's, cobras, AMS, ESP's, coupe's of course. I guess xy's are so well documented and written about. Having said that I find the xy fairmont gt's very interesting with all the different trim options and colours. When I see someone keeping a bog stock falcon as original even if it only has a six cylinder that does command a bit of respect and its something different. No offence meant to any xy gt owners as I would love to have one.
Cabbage is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 11:51 PM   #12
Apollo66
My toy

Location: South Ozz on the only leg Australia has to stand on

We're losing to many nice Fairmont's, falcon 500's etc to mock ups, I don't have a problem with fitting up options to a model that may not have been available on that model from factory, but we have a lot of history been retaged.
Apollo66 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-12-2011, 11:53 PM   #13

Seeing as how genuine X-series GT's are "untouchable" because of value, but people still want the styling of a GT but don't want to modify a $300,000 car, then replicas are perfectly OK.
I do wonder about the nut and bolt and badge perfect "standard" replicas...although then again, it comes down to costs. People want to drive a GT Falcon, or something that at least looks like a GT, but can't afford the real thing...why not make yourself a replica?
Old 23-12-2011, 12:52 AM   #14
EF ECTIV

Originally Posted by raptorv8
Is it a replica if its got a big block, Nos and a GM gearbox?
from the exterior it is...

(this isnt directed at you raptorv8)

Im sorry but I dont get why everyone gets into such a hissy fit about the
whole replica/genuine discussion.... Both have their good and bad points...

1998 EL XR8 S2, Oxford, Manual, tickford kit
Project

2013 G6ET

Stock daily

2022 Patrol TiL
Stock daily
EF ECTIV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 01:19 AM   #15
XAGSV8
Member 178

Originally Posted by gcg2503
I like them only when done properly ie very close to original

Would I build one? No
What he said.

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
XAGSV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 01:39 AM   #16
Donny
Tickford 220kw Windsor...

I dont mind replicas at all, as long as their done right and not all fitted out with mostly repo junk.

Disco Dave's XY GT Rep in Electric Blue is an example of a damm good replica. Lots of genuine parts, and a super stout stock looking stroker donk.

Theres a few people/places doing made to order type replicas for big bucks, their virtually like a new old car. Most look close enough for the average punter..

Donny is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 04:50 AM   #17
timbell

Where's the option for ImsosickofseeingeveryXW/XYdoneuplikeaGT?

I'm all for building the car that makes you happy. But why does it have to be the same as every other GT replica out there.
timbell is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 08:23 AM   #18

personally i cant stand the replica's and don't get me started on the owners..

I refer to mine as a faker and don't really care what others think... I built it because it was a child hood dream of mine.. Would I sell it? Nope not a hope in hell and I can prove it! (Got offered an obscene amount of money for it in 07 and knocked it back)

Would love to get myself a wagon, ute and panel van and match them all... I don't think I would be married if I even hinted that to the Mrs

At the end of the day, it's what a person wants and not what people who don't own them think....
Old 23-12-2011, 10:23 AM   #19
MAD
Petro-sexual

I don't mind people taking the look/styling of the real deal then modifying the bejesus out of it.

I don't like cars that try to be something they will never be, why bother spending the money on all the super dooper rare 'GT' parts when it will never be one.
Old 23-12-2011, 10:31 AM   #20
thefargo
black xb

For arguments sake, I can't afford a genuine IBM either, so I use a replica a clone. Its toshiba, or acer etc. does what it should. most people dont know the difference. or am I hypercritical if I say only go genuine?
thefargo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 10:35 AM   #21
trippytaka

What ever floats your boat... I can't say I understand the decision to spend big $ building a replica. I would prefer to spend the same money building a fully custom streeter out of a base model of something.
trippytaka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 10:36 AM   #22
XBROO
Obsessed with wheels

I don't like the full on ones that try and be as close as possible to a standard GT. I like the paint schemes and the interiors but the motors should be worked with heaps of bling. As I don't see the point of spending that amount of money just to putt around. If it's genuine then yes keep it original but a faker, should look good and go good as well. In the end if it's a ford and is nicely done I'll stop and look.

Last edited by XBROO; 23-12-2011 at 10:58 AM.
XBROO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 10:41 AM   #23
Tony xa
Streetrides panel & paint

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Tonys qualified advice on paint and panel is always very good 

I couldn't care less either way .If its your car you do what you want .I have all the time in the world for any car that is built well weather its a rep or gen car custom or stock car a well built car is a well built car .

Now if you asked the question do you prefer clone owners compared to gt owners that would be a whole new thing .
Tony xa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 10:57 AM   #24

Do what you want with your car - you're the one tipping money into it and enjoying it... Bit like people demanding what you wear, or how to build your house... you're the one that has to deal with it...

But - when you've got a replica... you'll always get that question "Is it Original?" generally asked by people who have no idea...
ALSO - when you've got a genuine car... you'll always get that question "Is it Original?" generally asked by the same people who have no idea...

So - as long as you're happy with morons coming over to talk to you, take photos, and tell you the story about their uncles neighbours cousins godfather had a HO... then enjoy having the stripes and blackouts...

Otherwise, get a 351 fairlane... enjoy the extra space and comfort... and much less attention...
Old 23-12-2011, 11:03 AM   #25
raptorv8

Originally Posted by loftie

But - when you've got a replica... you'll always get that question "Is it Original?" generally asked by people who have no idea...
ALSO - when you've got a genuine car... you'll always get that question "Is it Original?" generally asked by the same people who have no idea...

But some of the clones/replicas/tributes or whatever they are called this week are so spot on how would 99% of people know if they are real or not?
Old 23-12-2011, 11:13 AM   #26

People are only making Replicas because they can't afford/find the real thing (ridiculous money). You can't beat the real thing IMO.

Then again, I'd rather see GT replica's than rusting shells in a paddock.
Old 23-12-2011, 11:16 AM   #27

But some of the clones/replicas/tributes or whatever they are called this week are so spot on how would 99% of people know if they are real or not?
you can smell a real one...

funny how i can accept and appreciate an old skool replica...

tho late model stuff with wannabe GT stripes on six cyl pos's really give me the irrits....
Old 23-12-2011, 11:37 AM   #28
XBROO
Obsessed with wheels

VIN Numbers.
XBROO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2011, 11:45 AM   #29

Originally Posted by XBROO
VIN Numbers.
Are they on those little silver things that disappear off wrecks to be transplanted onto a fake and strangely appeared to increase in numbers and be sold under the table in Melbourne a few years ago?
Old 23-12-2011, 12:14 PM   #30

Are they on those little silver things that disappear off wrecks to be transplanted onto a fake and strangely appeared to increase in numbers and be sold under the table in Melbourne a few years ago?
That is why you always get a GT checked out by a professional prior to purchase

gcg2503 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post