Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
27-01-2006, 12:20 AM | #1 | ||
Firstly, I did a search on this subject, but came up empty handed.
Sorry if it's a re-post. OK. I guess it's safe to say that 99% of us here are die-hard Ford heads, but... personally, I don't write Holden's (or any other brand, for that matter) off just because off the badge it wears. As the owner of a rare Japanese brand from the 60's, which I have 3 different variants of, I can appreciate the passion involved one has for particular brand, and if someone doesn't care for them in the future, then that brand will eventually disapear forvever. Anyway, I was thinking today, "If I was to buy a Holden, just what would it be??", and was wondering what everyone would saying to the same Q. BTW, I didn't put a poll on this, coz the list of models would fill the page!! My fav's are: VC Brock Commodore, in white. 1973 GTR XU-1 'Bathurst' model. How 'bout yours?? |
27-01-2006, 12:22 AM | #2 | ||
I didn't mind the old Statesman DeVilles, the old square shaped looking things, but if I had to buy one, GTS Coupe.
27-01-2006, 12:23 AM | #3 | ||
Zoom Zoom
New Vauxhall Astra VXR... technically an HSV...
If it had to be a holden, a Series One Monaro, in Delft Blue - CV6. It handled better, powerslides better (through experience on a skidpan) and has much better get-up-and-go that the CV8 which was a downright dog of a thing.
27-01-2006, 12:27 AM | #4 | ||
SSuper SSpy
Brock VK in blue, xu1 and sandman panel van for older holdens
But i like the new Monaros, particularly devil yellow. GTS's are always nice too. Yep a coupe 4 will do me I have the feeling this thread is gonna break out in wars or will have the popularity of being trapped in an elevator with someone who has gastro. But i hope im proven wrong. |
27-01-2006, 12:28 AM | #5 | |||
SSuper SSpy
27-01-2006, 12:30 AM | #6 | |||
Zoom Zoom
27-01-2006, 12:31 AM | #7 | ||
cross breeder
Blue meanie vk brock,or an sv88(?) vl (stock looking calais with walkie running gear),there was only something like 90 made.
27-01-2006, 12:31 AM | #8 | ||
If I had the money right now, I would buy a VY/VZ SS Wagon. If not that, then a 5.7 or 6.0 Berlina wagon (if they still do that option) with FE2 and 18s. Of course, I would trade the current AU2 XR-style wagon in on that, as it would be the family car, and keep the XR8 for everyday driving duties.
All time favourite though - A9X, but I wouldn't buy one - just like them.
The Hammer: FG GTE | 376rwkw | 1/4 mile 11.793 @ 119.75mph 1.733 60' (4408lb) 1 of 60 FG MK1 335 GTEs (1 of 118 FG Mk 1 & 2 335 GTEs). Mods: Tune, HSD/ShockWorks, black GT335 19” staggered replicas with 245 & 275/35/19 Michelin Pilot sport 5s Daily: BF2 Fairmont Ghia I6 ZF, machine face GT335 19” staggered Replicas with 245s and 275s, Bilsteins & Kings FPV 335 build stats: <click here> Ford Performance Club ACT |
27-01-2006, 12:41 AM | #9 | |||
Just what I was thinking when I started it!! Anyway, I hope that common sense prevails too. I know I've been guilty of 'Holden bashing' too, as I'm sure most of us have, just like most Holden guys 'Ford bash' as well, but I try to go about things in a humourous way, not an over-bearing and stupid way. I guess having a harmless laugh or 2 is all part of the fun. I remember Larry Perkins saying on the Dick Johnson True Blue video that.. 'They are the 2 'sides' of the Australian car scene, and without 1, the other suffers', and I think he's spot on. Holden pushes Ford with it's decisions, and vice versa, so they really need each other to improve themselves. Sorry, highjacking my own thread. LOL!!!! |
27-01-2006, 12:48 AM | #10 | ||
One of the older Monaros, VX SS 6-speed (or VY SS wagon), maybe a 1997 Stato in white over grey.
I wouldn't own one, but they're my "favourites."
27-01-2006, 12:50 AM | #11 | |||
Those SS wagons look tough!! Wouldn't mind 1 myself, but there's something about post VK Commodores that I don't like. Just not my thing. Ford is missing out a big market to the SS wagons. Just think how good a XR6T or XR8 wagon would be, and how much quicker the misses would get the shopping done!! Come on Ford, how 'bout it?? For God's sake, how bout a V8 Falcon XT or Futura wagon at least?? You don't even build a Fairmont wagon any more. What's going on?? I'd trade the ute for an XR8 wagon tomorrow... |
27-01-2006, 01:00 AM | #12 | ||
So many good ones to pick from.
HT monaro coupe HK monaro coupe HJ LE Monaroe coupe SLR 5000 XU1 |
27-01-2006, 01:13 AM | #13 | ||
I've always been a fan of torries, I used to want an LJ as my 1st car
FX, FJ, EH, HZ's they were all great shapes and great cars, most older Holdens are. We've still got a HT that the old ladies had since new, without many major dramas The newer cars arent bad either, although I prefer my fords there's really nothing wrong with the generals |
27-01-2006, 01:17 AM | #14 | ||
Id have the Monaro CV8Z in that burnt Metallic orange colour. Like the one in the ad. Beautiful.
Other than that, We used to have a one of 60 built 5th anniversary VP Clubbie that came out with 5 spoke colour coded 17"s and a 200kW Upgraded 5.0 V8 in 5 speed Manual. It was coloured that original faded walky metallic green as a commemoration to the original that started it all.It had leather and cloth buckets that was colour coded with 5th anniversary logos on them and everything. My god that was one beautiful car in its time. Probably not much to look at now though (Although that is the worst photography I've ever seen in that pic!!). And I doubt there'd be 60 of them still left now that they're in reach of most bogans and ethnic Chapel St cruisers who'd cut the springs, and rid them of their colour coded special edition rims and put 19" ROH fury's on before running them into gutters. |
27-01-2006, 01:18 AM | #15 | |||
Sierra & GTR killer 1990
I'm lucky enough to own my favourite Holden (walkinshaw #001), but if I were to change, I reckon it'd be a GTS 300 coupe or VN SS Group A. Those that like the SS wagon may even like to consider the HSV Senator Wagon in the VT range too. |
27-01-2006, 01:19 AM | #16 | ||
I liked the VL's, not the riced up VX bodykit ones, the ones that came from Holden, that looked pleasant :
But other than that, i dont think they got any better than the VX SS & R8
27-01-2006, 01:26 AM | #17 | ||
Love the VT's and VX's especially Clubby's , shame about the later models !!
27-01-2006, 01:26 AM | #18 | |||
We are all car enthusiasts ..
for me .... HJ Monaro, A9X and SLR5000 Yummmmm
27-01-2006, 01:35 AM | #19 | |||
Want some classic?
The yard I bought my XR8 from had a Walkinshaw for only five grand more. Insurance was a killer and I wanted an XR but I'd hate to think how much it would be worth now.
Other than a walkie I'd take a HK/HT Monaro GTS (327 or 350 of course) or an L34/A9X Torana.
27-01-2006, 01:42 AM | #20 | ||
miss tik4d
yep yep the walky for sure, damn sexy... :newangel: other than that the new 6lt gts.. would keep me very happy :
27-01-2006, 02:32 AM | #21 | ||
VS Senators, VT/VX LS1 anything, WH Statesman International.
Dont mind the VS GTS-R either.
2016 FGX XR8 Sprint, 6speed manual, Kinetic Blue #170 2004 BA wagon RTV project. 1998 EL XR8, Auto, Hot Chilli Red 1993 ED XR6, 5speed, Polynesian Green. 1 of 329. Retired 1968 XT Falcon 500 wagon, 3 on the tree, 3.6L. Patina project. |
27-01-2006, 05:21 AM | #22 | ||
hunting 300kw's
VT series 2 R8 clubsport (again..... damn that thing had some go)
27-01-2006, 05:28 AM | #23 | ||
Road Runner
A9X for shure :nutsycuck
27-01-2006, 06:04 AM | #24 | ||
they call me Tibbo
A9X or HT GTS 350
27-01-2006, 06:30 AM | #25 | ||
Theres so many to choose from. Much prefer the old holdens
HX Sandman, Statesman, LS Monaro, SLR5000, A9X, Brougham, HQ SS If I had to choose 1 in particular, then it's gotta be the HX Sandman. I had one. Still miss it, wish I had never sold it |
27-01-2006, 06:31 AM | #26 | ||
351 cubes of power
old school street machine...eh runnin a 186 with triple webbers...matt black paint and baby moon hubcaps
27-01-2006, 06:58 AM | #27 | ||
I guess any Holden with a rear window heater would be fine......
Just so when I would have to push it for breaking down as per normal, the heater would keep my hands warm in winter. |
27-01-2006, 07:04 AM | #28 | ||
1967 XR Falcon
A red EH or EJ
27-01-2006, 07:20 AM | #29 | ||
Here's a pic of an eh i owned for a while, it was white with deep blue crushed velvet inside / low and yep the triple carbs etc. At the time it used to whip my V8 monaro to shreads it was one tough car ( for back then )
27-01-2006, 07:37 AM | #30 | ||
1967 XR Falcon
Did i use beer in my breakfast this morning or is that pic just blurry??