You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 24-05-2005, 12:03 PM   #1

Default HOTDBZ-soon to be legal!!

After months of phonecalls and messing around, I have finally gotten to the last stages of getting the AU engineered. :

With the help of AU2forte, I have managed to book an emission test at the Penrith RTA centre on the 14th of June and the next day if I pass the test it will be going to the engineer for compliancing. :

The next few weeks will involve tuning the car to emission specs similar to that of a stock car so It can hopefully pass the official test when I head up to NSW.

So with a bit of luck in 4 weeks I will be able to legally drive the AU and go cruising without worry of being defected!! : : :thebirds:

Anyways I just thought I would share my excitement with you all. I cant wait!
Old 24-05-2005, 12:15 PM   #2

Good to hear Dan. Best of luck, I suppose.
Old 24-05-2005, 12:38 PM   #3
Twisted

Good stuff Dan, cant wait to see that beast on the street again!

SHOW YOUR SUPPORT
FordForums.com.au
Hats, Stickers & Patches are now available!
Twisted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 12:49 PM   #4
neb
hibernating

great best of luck hope everything goes well!
neb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 01:54 PM   #5
au-steve
fully *** turboooo

cant wait to see your face when i beat you dan.
Full comp insurance :nutsycuck
au-steve is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 02:17 PM   #6

Great stuff Dan.

Can I askt hough, why is you have to do all this? Is it a requirement of rego every year or something that you have to pass emissions testing on top of the usual RWC etc? Sorry Im just a bit lost on all of it and curious as to how it works.
Old 24-05-2005, 02:31 PM   #7
AUII_Forte

The mods done to the car haven't been approved by an engineer as yet, but to get an engineer to look at it, the car needs an emissions test to make sure it's within legal spec. At the moment Dan is wide open to defects etc, once it has the ok from the engineer it'll be all hunky dory.

Pacemaker 4490 Extractors
2.5" Exhaust
High Flow Cat
SS Inductions "Growler" CAI
Underdrive Pulley
Mal Wood H/D Clutch
Custom Tune
18" XHP Sabre's
12" Kicker Sub
169.2 rwkw
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 02:43 PM   #8

sound good but why NSW?

Also another random question, is the rego hotdbz and hence why you refer to it as that?
Old 24-05-2005, 02:43 PM   #9
Tornado
AKA MYTE8

I'm sure you will be fine.
Mal didn't cut any corners when building the car and the guys that did the work know what their doing.
Tornado is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 02:44 PM   #10

Originally Posted by AUII_Forte
The mods done to the car haven't been approved by an engineer as yet, but to get an engineer to look at it, the car needs an emissions test to make sure it's within legal spec. At the moment Dan is wide open to defects etc, once it has the ok from the engineer it'll be all hunky dory.

Exactly, as it stands the car is unroadworthy, as with any other car that has been turbocharged in the aftermarket world.

It needs to be engineered to keep the police happy, the engineer will sign off on the mods saying that it is all within the correct ADR regulations.
I need to have the emission test to prove that the car meets ADR 37 00 and 01 which is the pollution regulation for the year the car was built. The engineer cant do this in house and it needs to be an official test approved by the EPA.
In Victoria the only way to do this test is to take the car to a laboratory which costs heaps as they only places that do it here are private companies that can charge the earth. In NSW they have free tests which are similar but good enough for the engineer to sign off on.

Engineers in Victoria only accept the official test done in Victoria $$$, i can do it 5 times over in NSW including travel and accomodation and still come out in front.
Old 24-05-2005, 02:44 PM   #11

Well done mate

Thats great news and hope everything goes smother than an 18yo.... well you know what!
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 02:45 PM   #12

sound good but why NSW?

Also another random question, is the rego hotdbz and hence why you refer to it as that?

refer last post.

The plates are not HOTDBZ but it was called this on the old forums, not sure if it did have those plates in the past though.

Tornado-Hopefully it passes, everything is done really well, the only thing that concerns me is the emission test at the moment. Ill be stressing on that day. :
Old 24-05-2005, 02:46 PM   #13
Tornado
AKA MYTE8

sound good but why NSW?

HOTDBZ is the forum name of the previous owner who has posted heaps on here about the car during the build, so lots of people on here know the car as HOTDBZ (Mals car)
Tornado is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 02:47 PM   #14

Originally Posted by Laminge
Well done mate

Thats great news and hope everything goes smother than an 18yo.... well you know what!

Thanks mate, its such a hassle to do I hope it all works out.

It got really hard when every engineer in Victoria said they would accept nothing less than an ADR test which costs more than I earn in 2 months.
Old 24-05-2005, 02:50 PM   #15

I bloody agree

Will have to catch up over a beer and see what you did, maybe an option for me
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 03:03 PM   #16

Originally Posted by Tornado
HOTDBZ is the forum name of the previous owner who has posted heaps on here about the car during the build, so lots of people on here know the car as HOTDBZ (Mals car)
I knew that, but I dont think the car should be referred to as that because obviously it has a new owner. Everyone knows what car it is and whats done to it. Anyway, as long as Dan is fine with it then I guess thats ok, I would get shitty after a while though.

Ive heard engineers certs are buggers here, but didn't realise that its cheaper to go interstate and get it done..lol thats a joke.
Old 24-05-2005, 03:11 PM   #17

Originally Posted by Laminge
I bloody agree

Will have to catch up over a beer and see what you did, maybe an option for me
Yeah for sure, it would be great to see the mingenator cruising the streets. If mine passes it wouldnt be too hard to do again, it was just all the organising and finding out what to do next that was a drainer.
Old 24-05-2005, 03:22 PM   #18
Sundeep

Good to see you persisted and went the legal route Dan.

Can't wait to go out cruising with you again after this is done, hopefully we can get pulled over and stick it up the TMU!! We'll let them write up the defect, and then go "Oh, I forgot to mention, this car is fully engineered and complies to all Australian Design Rules, along with emissions regulations. Here's your **** on a plate."

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 05:02 PM   #19
LG

Originally Posted by Sundeep
Can't wait to go out cruising with you again after this is done, hopefully we can get pulled over and stick it up the TMU!! We'll let them write up the defect, and then go "Oh, I forgot to mention, this car is fully engineered and complies to all Australian Design Rules, along with emissions regulations. Here's your **** on a plate."
Classic! Goodluck with it dan.
Old 24-05-2005, 05:46 PM   #20
SWOOP
XRSVO

good luck dan ,having it all legal will be awsome

whats the biggest factors ,with both your car dan and laminge?
is it
emissions- because of boost and eng management
power increase- is braking system and chassis sufficient to cope with extra loads

nothing else would reqiure cert correct? as big brakes are stock and all the mods are just engine/gearbox/ecu

cheers Joel
SWOOP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 10:26 PM   #21
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Good stuff Dan, I still remember that thread on the old forum about that car being turboed, it was one of the things that got me interested in the site enough to come back, and it just grew from there.

Hope it all goes according to plan!
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 11:04 PM   #22
GK
Walking with God

I certainly hope your test goes great. You've had more than your fair share of hassles. I can't believe the red tape and expense involved. You did very well to persist and get to this final stage. Well done, all the very best.
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post