Old 27-01-2010, 09:35 PM   #1
John Thomson
AUssie2ooo

Question Fuel tank capacity

I have just returned home with caravan in tow, from a week away in Coffs Harbour, and needed fuel at Tweed Heads. The fuel low light came on, so assumed I had about 5 - 10 litres left. I easily managed to pump in 68 litres. I understood the fuel tank capacity was 65 litres. Just wondering if I have a larger tank. Any ideas anyone? I only bought the car in October 09, so am somewhat new to this car. It is 2000 AU 2 wagon.

Old 27-01-2010, 09:53 PM   #2
FTe342

You must have the Bathurst Special with the 36 gallon tank! lol

Don't know about wagons but the sedans are 68L and utes are 82L

What's your owners handbook say?
T3 TL50 #147 Silhouette Auto ESS - Brembos - Last of 3 in T3 spec, only AUIII TL50 ever built -14.2 sec @ 98mph bog stock. Only customer ordered T3 TL50 built, only LWB sedan plated AUIII and the last performance enhanced LWB sedan built by Ford Aust.

AUII Fairlane Ghia Sportsman 5.0L in Blue Pearl

OWN THE ROAD
FTe342 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2010, 10:01 PM   #3
frd906

na mate, my au fills to about the same when im really empty

Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors
frd906 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-01-2010, 10:17 PM   #4
John Thomson
AUssie2ooo

Just had a look at the handbook and the capacity is 68 litres, not 65. Even so, I stopped for fuel within 150 - 200 metres from when the fuel light came on, so I guess the fuel gauge is not reliable. Just another thing to get fixed. Bugger.
Old 27-01-2010, 10:25 PM   #5
FTe342

If you fill it right up the filler neck its not hard to get 68 in so you would have had a few litres left
Either that or the pump was not accurate?
T3 TL50 #147 Silhouette Auto ESS - Brembos - Last of 3 in T3 spec, only AUIII TL50 ever built -14.2 sec @ 98mph bog stock. Only customer ordered T3 TL50 built, only LWB sedan plated AUIII and the last performance enhanced LWB sedan built by Ford Aust.

OWN THE ROAD
Old 28-01-2010, 06:39 AM   #6

Ive got 72 in mine before, disputed it with the servo, they just said they dont care. I still had 7km DTE as well, lol.
Old 28-01-2010, 03:16 PM   #7
greenguzzler
V8 AU Fairlane

I'm sure i've read the wagon has 72L tank. Anyone correct me if im wrong!
greenguzzler is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-01-2010, 09:52 PM   #8
blownv8au
Pro Street Au Ute

my au workshop book says sedan and wagon are both 68L.
blownv8au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-01-2010, 11:47 PM   #9
John Thomson
AUssie2ooo

I can agree with Monty. My previous vehicle, diesel Jackaroo, had an 85 litre tank and I have managed to pump in 92 litres. The handbook said the total capacity of the fuel system including filters and injector pump was 89 litres. It was not showing empty and when I challenged the servo operator, he just laughed and said, "so sue me". What can you do except not go back there. The DTE on the Falcon said 17km so I expect that I was ripped off again. GRRRRRRr.
Old 29-01-2010, 12:08 AM   #10
FTe342

You can report it to the Dept of Weights & Measures or whatever they call themselves these days. Heavy fines for intentionally ripping customers off. Fair Trading would be able to steer you in the right direction

OWN THE ROAD
Old 29-01-2010, 12:09 AM   #11
greenguzzler
V8 AU Fairlane

Sorry, my bad, sedan and wagon 68L, ute 82L. Found it in Max Ellery's workshop manual.
greenguzzler is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-01-2010, 03:23 PM   #12

Originally Posted by The Monty
Ive got 72 in mine before, disputed it with the servo, they just said they dont care. I still had 7km DTE as well, lol.
ditto ive squeezed about 72 in mine as well, i just thought it was funny.

had 11km left on the DTE!
Old 29-01-2010, 04:11 PM   #13

I've squeezed 70 litres in our old wagon (with DTE of 40 showing). I've also squeezed 72 litres in a 68 litre usable LPG tank!