Old 12-09-2012, 10:18 AM   #1
MallyKat

Default Ford Prefect 100e - Anyone know about them?

So I attended the WMAC show and shine on Saturday 9/9/12...and this little guy was there!

Bestill me beating heart! So cute! Does anyone know much about Ford Prefects? I believe this one to be a 100e (please correct me if i'm wrong). I found this link with SOME info...http://www.fordprefect.co.uk/ But any you guys have to offer would be appreciated . So far i've heard that they're "powerless rust buckets" or something to that extent...aren't most 60 year old cars a little rough? :P Anyway, thoughts please!

MallyKat is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2012, 11:14 AM   #2
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

Default Re: Ford Prefect 100e - Anyone know about them?

I used to own one in the exact same colour scheme. But it was in very bad condition. They have a flat head 4 cylinder motor.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2012, 02:33 PM   #3

Ive got one behind the chook shed at mum and dads, we got it as as part of a 2 car package we purchased for parts for a customers car, the 2nd car was sold to the customer who sold it on to his nephew and this one is just slowly returning to the earth.

I like them, but in there standard guise there hard work, little side valve 4 cylinder with non syncro trans, isnt overly enjoyable to drive, infact my wifes bog stock 38 ford is nicer to drive

Old 12-09-2012, 02:40 PM   #4
MallyKat

Originally Posted by The Yeti
Ive got one behind the chook shed at mum and dads, we got it as as part of a 2 car package we purchased for parts for a customers car, the 2nd car was sold to the customer who sold it on to his nephew and this one is just slowly returning to the earth.

I like them, but in there standard guise there hard work, little side valve 4 cylinder with non syncro trans, isnt overly enjoyable to drive, infact my wifes bog stock 38 ford is nicer to drive
That's a shame that it's just sitting! :( Is the one behind the parentals shed the one you've driven? Or have you driven another somewhere along the line?
MallyKat is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2012, 02:44 PM   #5
KIWI-1

UK 1953-59. Sold as a Prefect with 4 doors, Anglia with 2 doors. A lot of parts carried over to the 105E (Harry Potter). 1200cc side valve, dropped back to 99cc OHV on 105E.
Old 12-09-2012, 07:52 PM   #6

They're only "underpowered rustbuckets" until you stick some wider steel wheels on them (with trad chrome trim rings of course), fat tyres, a disc brake front end, and a two liter Escort engine in it with a bit of work done to it...
Old 12-09-2012, 08:32 PM   #7
kevino

Had a 59 100e Anglia (2 door prefect) as my first car.
3 speed manual, 72 mph flat out down a good hill (Bombays south of Auckland)
Motor had to rebuilt at 70000 miles and needed valve grinds.
It was a nice underpowered car to learn how to drive.
kevino is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2012, 08:43 PM   #8
Flat Top
lid man

i lost my virginity in One??? ha !!
Flat Top is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2012, 08:45 PM   #9

Bombay in the old days .. A lot different now !!!
Side valve 3 speed 1180cc or there abouts..
I think the latter models came with 998 ohc Kent engine ??

Last edited by ebxr8240; 12-09-2012 at 08:51 PM.
Old 12-09-2012, 11:11 PM   #10
Moby Vic
Cynical Idealist

The only Ford Prefect with which I'm familiar:

I didn't know it was a car until about a decade after I read the books!
Old 13-09-2012, 10:03 AM   #11

That little Ford reminds me of Droopy Dog. i can't work out why....
Old 13-09-2012, 10:09 AM   #12
Sprint

Ive been after one for ages to rat rod it.

they actually look insane dumped.

escort 2.0 goes in easy or maybe a nice rb25det?
Sprint is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-09-2012, 10:34 AM   #13
barra240t

There is one for sale on carsales in good condition

Also, who cares what others think, if you are keen on an old car go for it, I personally think it looks cool, old cars are always popular in any make so I don't see you having trouble selling it once you've had enough of it.

Last edited by barra240t; 13-09-2012 at 10:39 AM.
barra240t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-09-2012, 02:10 PM   #14

Originally Posted by MallyKat
That's a shame that it's just sitting! :( Is the one behind the parentals shed the one you've driven? Or have you driven another somewhere along the line?
No the one behind the chook shed was purchased as a parts car for a customer we used to have, its never been a driver as long as we have had it.

it came as a 2 car deal the 2nd car was a driver and was sold to the owner of the first car the 3rd just provided parts for the first 2

it was really only good for a parts car when we got it, shortly the front 3" will be removed and hung in my BBQ area and the rest of the shell will go to sims, I will keep any thing thats still salvageble before it goes though so if you get one and need bits PM me and we will see what we can do

Old cars are what you make of them, no they wernt as powerful or fast as a new car, no they wernt as nice on the road, BUT, they are way cooler and I would rather have my **** in an early 50's pommy car than an 2012 one

Last edited by The Yeti; 13-09-2012 at 02:16 PM.
Old 13-09-2012, 02:18 PM   #15

Originally Posted by Sprint
Ive been after one for ages to rat rod it.

they actually look insane dumped.

escort 2.0 goes in easy or maybe a nice rb25det?
2L ford motor is a good conversion on these,

Old 13-09-2012, 03:48 PM   #16
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

An aunty and uncle of mine had one wayy back in the 60s, a Prefect ute.
Don't know what happend to it.
OffRoadFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-09-2012, 08:49 PM   #17
brett7777

I prefer the 105E Anglia
Nissan Skyline 370GT Coupe
FPV BF F6 Typhoon #202
BF XR6 Rebel

Founder of BA & BF FORD FALCON FACEBOOK GROUP
brett7777 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-09-2012, 09:10 PM   #18
Bearr
Typhute Designer & Owner

Back in the day they used to be called "The Ford Defect" for good reason!!!! they don't go around corners well at all. If you have time PM me for the sordid details of The '59 Defect UTE I did up up with the 2ltr RS Escort motor & running gear, God I'm lucky to still be alive & to think I WAS going to put a little 289 in it!!! AND FOR ALL YOU GUYS WANTING TO RAT ROD ONE!!!!!! DO NOT!!! I REPEAT DO NOT!!!! ATTEMPT CORNERING @ ANYTHING OVER WALKING PACE!!!! AN INSTANT 2 WHEEL STUNT CAR!!!
Bearr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-09-2012, 09:15 PM   #19
Bearr
Typhute Designer & Owner

Oh & just in case you think I might of BUILT it wrong!! It was Channeled Length wise to add 2 inches to the Wheel track (THE WHOLE UTE), Also the Wheel Arches were also channeled 2 inches each side to give greater wheel track & IT STILL WANTED TO TIP OVER # ANYTHING NEAR 20 MPH But by God it could do a genuine 110 MPH back in'76 & that was Bloomin FAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 13-09-2012, 09:22 PM   #20
KIWI-1

Originally Posted by ebxr8240
Bombay in the old days .. A lot different now !!!
As is the Wainui-o-mata Hill Rd and the Ngauranga Gorge.
Many many trips over those two roads in our 105E Anglias, MkI & MkII Cortinas and MkI Escorts.
Originally Posted by ebxr8240
Side valve 3 speed 1180cc or there abouts..
I think the latter models came with 998 ohc Kent engine ??
The 100E was 1172cc, the 107E had a Kent 997cc OHV, as did the 105E (just spotted my earlier 99cc typo), then they finished with the 123E (Anglia only) at 1198cc.
Old 13-09-2012, 09:30 PM   #21
Bearr
Typhute Designer & Owner

Oops my bad the defect I had was a '49 model the e4503 still they all handled pretty much the same!! till the Anglia NOW THAT'S A SWEET LITTLE CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 13-09-2012, 11:15 PM   #22

Now there's an idea...lower it a bit, fat steel wheels with trad chrome trim rings, and go mad underneath...modified suspension (probably the best source of info would be English clubs) and whack in something like an SR20 (with or without a turbo) and a five speed with a suitable diff.

The damn thing would be hard to catch and would look a hell of a lot better than some Hyundai with big feet and wings all over it...
Old 13-09-2012, 11:35 PM   #23

Originally Posted by Bearr
Oops my bad the defect I had was a '49 model the e4503 still they all handled pretty much the same!! till the Anglia NOW THAT'S A SWEET LITTLE CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yes there was a earlier taller one, sheesh !!.. It didn't handle.. Narrow and high...
Old 14-09-2012, 08:31 AM   #24
red_hotxr6

And dont forget no synchro in first..lol
red_hotxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-09-2012, 11:13 AM   #25
Bearr
Typhute Designer & Owner

Don't get me wrong these cars look MAD done up Especially the early model UTES, fatties, lowered, widened ETC ETC!!! They just don't turn corners that's it end of story!!! Something in the geometry is way out the only thing I didn't change on mine was the wheel base IE: Length, I'm not a big fan of cutting cars in half crosswise, Although I did Cut it in half length wise added 2 inches to the whole car then also cut the guards length wise and added 2 inches to both sides widening the track by 6inches overall (That's 50mm & 300mm to the metrically challenged) to accommodate the uprated Escort running gear & I still couldn't get the car to turn with any kind of stability!! I painted it straight White tinter,old school Centerlines (new skool back then)It looked sweet as. some guy in Mt Druitt (NSW) bought it of me in the late '80's. I hope it's still around!!!(& the owner, geez that car was deadly!!) I did even take him for a test drive showing it doing it's 2 wheel thing & he still bought it!!! AH! Sweet memories hahahah!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 14-09-2012, 08:11 PM   #26
Sprint

you would be moving to roll this one.

Last edited by Sprint; 14-09-2012 at 08:24 PM.
Sprint is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2021, 09:39 PM   #27
SJPKennedy

I have a Ford 100E (out of a Prefect) in my race car. It sounds awesome with the side pipe and gets along really well.
File Type: jpeg 02807C95-1D0E-44ED-9020-3943C6689D10.jpeg (136.5 KB, 132 views)
SJPKennedy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2021, 10:10 PM   #28

This thread is so old it remembers when MTV played music videos
Old 24-08-2021, 08:54 AM   #29
PooDog

Originally Posted by kevino View Post
Had a 59 100e Anglia (2 door prefect) as my first car.
3 speed manual, 72 mph flat out down a good hill (Bombays south of Auckland)
Motor had to rebuilt at 70000 miles and needed valve grinds.
It was a nice underpowered car to learn how to drive.
Snap was my first car too and yer mine did 72mph down hill with a tailwind also 1172cc motor 3 speed box 1st gear a crawler gear you could take off in 2nd rev the snot out of it in 2nd drop it in 3rd and it went burrrr , it would struggle to pull away(huge gap between 2nd and 3rd) they sounded quite good with a hotdog on the back and one of those square extensions like on the GT falcons use to pop and bang on decceleration.....as a 16year old me and my mates use to hoon up and down mainstreet of town on a friday night ....arms out the window, poor little 100E screaming and vibrating....what a joke , but it actually started a lifetime love of Fords

Au11 fairmont Ghia ported gt40p heads ,comp springs and locks
Xe 264 cam,custom intake,pacemaker tri y headers
524nm torque

19 Triton GSXR manual
PooDog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-08-2021, 09:17 AM   #30

Originally Posted by SJPKennedy View Post
I have a Ford 100E (out of a Prefect) in my race car. It sounds awesome with the side pipe and gets along really well.
Beautiful looking race car, is the Mini yours as well?