You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 08-11-2020, 10:43 PM   #121
wodahs

Default Re: New Tow Tug ,What to Buy?

the terri is awd is a similar dog
and when i had mine i had it in some places further than expected but wouldnt like to try soft dry beach sand with it as the fronts dont lock unless the rears are slipping and well that can be all over with soft dry sand situations esp with a heavy vehicle

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2020, 10:59 PM   #122

Angry Re: New Tow Tug ,What to Buy?

Originally Posted by 351LTD View Post
That 6x6 conversion in the ad said pricing starts at $50k and that did not include the tray or anything else a bit rich for me ,hopefully can get away from work sometime and go and check out a awd isuzu,spoke to the dealer who got me a bit worried about the awd apparently only works when the rear wheels lose traction so not sure how that would work in sand,getting some pricing on a 4x4 option as well and the cost to get them to ride ok as well(super singles etc ) but gets up there real quick.The other option I am looking at is the pre 06 7.3l f250 but mostly high Kms and $s to match but at least it's got 8 cylinders and a ford badge .The Certain ltd is going to be parted out if it does sell shortly .
Be careful with 7.3L Powerstroke F250, has that HEUI injection system that uses engine oil to fire the fuel injectors, it's hard on engine oil and you will have fuel injector problems with the solenoids sticking if the service intervals go out too often, this is an issue with buying these things that are 15+ years old now.

The injector driver module is also in the wheel arch, it will get soaked if you take it through a creek.

If considering F250 could you go with the 5.4L 3V? They have their problems but at least the engine was common with BA/BF Falcon and it's probably easier to work on in that massive engine bay

There's a povvo spec 4.2L I6 TD but it's Thailand special numbers at 132KW/500NM except it's rare on the ground, MWM Sprint engine that was made for developing nations.

Supposed to be tolerant of crappy diesel and it's still mechanically injected.

Would also avoid unless you happen to be fluent in Portuguese

Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 08-11-2020 at 11:24 PM.
Old 09-11-2020, 03:50 AM   #123

Originally Posted by Franco Cozzo View Post
If considering F250 could you go with the 5.4L 3V? They have their problems but at least the engine was common with BA/BF Falcon and it's probably easier to work on in that massive engine bay
It was a different motor. The F250 had a two valve setup, and didn’t have the VCT. No need to worry about cam phasers. Not sure about the spark plug issue, but the 5.4 Triton 2V should be more reliable overall. I think Australia got the 3 valve VCT version In the Falcon before the US implemented it in the 2005 F-series. But the Aussie spec F250 didn’t get that motor.
Old 09-11-2020, 10:06 AM   #124
hayseed

Be careful with 7.3L Powerstroke F250, has that HEUI injection system that uses engine oil to fire the fuel injectors, it's hard on engine oil and you will have fuel injector problems with the solenoids sticking if the service intervals go out too often, this is an issue with buying these things that are 15+ years old now.
Too true, It was Caterpillar Technology used under License. Very problematic.
hayseed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-11-2020, 02:05 PM   #125
351LTD

have thought of the 5.4s f250 cheaper as well,not sure on fuel usage ,i had a ba 260 manual xr8 years ago and that had 180ks on the clock when i sold it including track time and it still went hard .Not sure on towing capacity of f150 with 5.4 either ?
351LTD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-11-2020, 02:14 PM   #126
Tassie f100

have thought of the 5.4s f250 cheaper as well,not sure on fuel usage ,i had a ba 260 manual xr8 years ago and that had 180ks on the clock when i sold it including track time and it still went hard .Not sure on towing capacity of f150 with 5.4 either ?
I know a felow that bought one new,he reckoned it cost a fortune to keep filling the tank.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-11-2020, 02:16 PM   #127
351LTD

double post

Last edited by 351LTD; 09-11-2020 at 02:22 PM.
Old 09-11-2020, 02:20 PM   #128
351LTD

Wodahs hows the Jeep ,figure you have the diesil,looked at both the petrol and diesil but the reiablity stories frightened me off .
Old 09-11-2020, 02:25 PM   #129
janddbone
B1 - J & D Services

They were all 3500kg in Aus.
2000 Ford Falcon Wagon Egas
1999 Subaru Imprezza Sportwagon
1998 Holden Suburban 2500
1995 Land Rover Discovery TDI
1994 XG XR6 Longreach
1983 Holden Rodeo
1982 ZK Fairlane 302 six seater
1975 Datsun 120Y wagon
1970 MG Midget
1967 Rover 2000TC
Soon: Model T.
janddbone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-11-2020, 02:36 PM   #130
wodahs

Wodahs hows the Jeep ,figure you have the diesil,looked at both the petrol and diesil but the reiablity stories frightened me off .
i am more than happy with it 2 years on
yes its the diesel and it performs well for one
was surprised at the features it came with too and size wise its not much different to the terri
when im drivind sencable i can get it down below 9.5l per and when im not its around 10.5
if your interested in checkin mine out drop me a pm and we can organise a meet up

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!
Old 09-11-2020, 08:00 PM   #131

Join the GC Facebook page and see real stories from real owners. Not some random who had a friend's, cousin's, neighbour's, uncle that had a 15 year old one that had issues.

There seems to be a handful of common problems on 6 year old plus vehicles. Issues on vehicles 5 years old or newer are not as common as you would believe based on the publicity.

A lot of stories on the page lately of Jeep fixing alternators and fuel pumps for free on vehicles well out of warranty.
Alternators are probably the most common problem based on that page.

My Jeep is now officially more reliable than my PX Ranger. The Ranger was fine, it just needed more minor warranty things compared to the Jeep in the same time period. Jeep has been used off road more than the Ranger too.
Old 10-11-2020, 12:23 AM   #132

I reckon the OP has come out of this more confused and unsure then when he went in with all the suggestions and warnings flying about

I think if you read into this thread too much you'll decide to buy a Kia Picanto GT for the daily and a $10,000 80 series Cruiser for the sand, then spend $120,000 on hotel accommodation and flights

What hasn't been suggested and knocked in this thread?
Old 10-11-2020, 02:33 AM   #133
janddbone
B1 - J & D Services

Correct, the answer is get a smaller trailer or get a hotel! Ha ha.
2000 Ford Falcon Wagon Egas
1999 Subaru Imprezza Sportwagon
1998 Holden Suburban 2500
1995 Land Rover Discovery TDI
1994 XG XR6 Longreach
1983 Holden Rodeo
1982 ZK Fairlane 302 six seater
1975 Datsun 120Y wagon
1970 MG Midget
1967 Rover 2000TC
Soon: Model T.
janddbone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2020, 02:44 PM   #134

Perhaps this would be better posed in the 'Ask Franco' thread..
Old 10-11-2020, 04:51 PM   #135

I reckon the OP has come out of this more confused and unsure then when he went in with all the suggestions and warnings flying about

I think if you read into this thread too much you'll decide to buy a Kia Picanto GT for the daily and a $10,000 80 series Cruiser for the sand, then spend $120,000 on hotel accommodation and flights

Did I mention the Prevost coach and just simply tow the car.

Old 11-11-2020, 10:56 PM   #136
351LTD

Iveco Daily van, go up from 2t in the back and still tow 3.5t ,205hp option with 8 speed zf ,worth a look ,about the same size as a transit van i once owned and loved,store a quad in the back for the beach and still have heaps of room for stuff.
Old 12-11-2020, 10:11 AM   #137
Pis-ton broke

or transit tray back?
http://www.usedvansales.com.au/ford-...ock-89994.html

Last edited by Pis-ton broke; 12-11-2020 at 10:22 AM.
Pis-ton broke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2020, 10:16 AM   #138
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke View Post
i don,t know why ford didn,t make a transit flat top/ tray back or even cab chassis. i would have thought that its a good market to get into. i seen iveco's with fifth wheel trailers.
Thought Ford do sell Transit C&C
Old 12-11-2020, 10:18 AM   #139

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke View Post
i don,t know why ford didn,t make a transit flat top/ tray back or even cab chassis. i would have thought that its a good market to get into. i seen iveco's with fifth wheel trailers.

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/det...HRM-AD-6128368
Old 12-11-2020, 11:16 AM   #140
351LTD

never gave the transit a thought ,not sure the tow rate is very high,will check !!
Old 12-11-2020, 11:23 AM   #141
Tassie f100

never gave the transit a thought ,not sure the tow rate is very high,will check !!
About 2.5t with tray.Towing 3.5t GCM 7t
Old 12-11-2020, 11:23 AM   #142
ford_17
go djr

or dont tow at all! just get this... https://www.ford.co.uk/vans-and-pick...-custom/nugget
ford_17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2020, 11:47 AM   #143
anobserver
Oppressive patriarch

I find the best humour is funny because it's based on reality. Some years ago the father-in-law talked briefly about buying a caravan and something to tow it with. He's not really that into cars .... much to my horror, he used to wash his laser with laundry detergent......

Over time and after some conversations in which we discussed the merits of 4wd, awd, towing and so on, he ended up somewhat confused about his options. He suddenly wanted to go off road as well .... leading to visions of him and the MIL stuck in deep sand in their soft roader, calling RACQ for assistance .... anyhoo...

After some time, he (thankfully?) decided it was all too hard and they went on many coach tours instead. The end.

BA RTV.

Last edited by anobserver; 12-11-2020 at 11:51 AM. Reason: Spelling
anobserver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2020, 02:17 PM   #144
351LTD

7000kgs GCM for the Transit is Not a winner!!
Old 12-11-2020, 06:55 PM   #145
wodahs

spotted something on the way to work this morn in maddington

how much are bolt cutters these days

Old 12-11-2020, 09:18 PM   #146

Originally Posted by wodahs View Post
spotted something on the way to work this morn in maddington
how much are bolt cutters these days
Looks like a lot of rear overhang on a single axle, enough room for you to stack it full of heavy **** and create a monster on the highway
Old 12-11-2020, 10:12 PM   #147
wodahs

Looks like a lot of rear overhang on a single axle, enough room for you to stack it full of heavy **** and create a monster on the highway
thats ok wasnt a serious comment as it wasnt for sale hence where it is (an auto detailers) and why i suggested the bolt cutters
that place had been empty every morn i go past ant that was in there this morn and i go past around 5am or just before usually
also its not always what you have but how its loaded too
that thing could be mid heavy due to the tanks n main living area and the bed up the back with a front mount engine

Old 12-11-2020, 10:16 PM   #148

thats ok wasnt a serious comment as it wasnt for sale hence where it is (an auto detailers) and why i suggested the bolt cutters
that place had been empty every morn i go past ant that was in there this morn and i go past around 5am or just before usually
that thing could be mid heavy due to the tanks n main living area and the bed up the back with a front mount engine
Trailer for sale or rent, rooms to let, 50 cents, no phone, no pool, no pets, I aint got no cigarettes?
Old 12-11-2020, 10:35 PM   #149
Tassie f100

Have friends who have something like that,with bed in one rear corner and shower and toilet in the other corner,so when travelling hardly any weight behind the rear axle.
Old 14-11-2020, 12:50 PM   #150

Looks like overhang is less than 60% than wheelbase perfectly legal and on a dual rear axle.
Water, tanks, house batteries, galley and storage is usually built midships in those.