You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 09-02-2008, 05:53 PM   #61
SVTVNM
Guzzler

Tony - "technology cost money, money we don't got'

Mike - "have"

Tony - "that's what I said"
SVTVNM is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-02-2008, 06:08 PM   #62
killerjoolz
KillerXR8

All my daughters (3 of them) have Holden loving boyfriends and I have made them all sit down and watch this classic movie,I absolutely love it....and so do they now...lol
"P!ss Off,What Kinda names that,P1ss Off's a Polish name"....lol...love that line use it all the time....

2009 TWEEKD FG XR8 IN SILHOUETTE
all mods done by Walter Markham from Oztek Performance
killerjoolz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-02-2008, 06:30 PM   #63
Donny
Tickford 220kw Windsor...

Well like most aussie movies it has crap acting and dodgy dialect, but who cares, its all in good fun, its great to watch and pick the sh!t out of, and as you follow the movie that poorly made replica gets bashed into, burnt, rolled, wrecked and then rebodied, then gets hammered into a convertable. Lucky no genuine gt's were used in this film, only a few very poorly made replicas.

Strewth Jacko ya dum bugga, you wrecked the bl00dy car!!!!

Donny is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-02-2008, 06:32 PM   #64
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 

I can virtually narrate this movie word for word...

The star, Terry Serio, lives in Bunbury and rides a Guzzi.
Old 09-02-2008, 08:17 PM   #65
XR6WGN

Originally Posted by Jayden
I thought the dialog and acting was amazingly bad.
I think that's two reasons why it has become such a classic

My Gallery Photos Here
XR6WGN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2008, 05:59 PM   #66
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

How tidy was the XB cop car!

The '57 is a sweet ride though............

Ed
XD 351 Ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2008, 06:23 PM   #67
Blue Oval Mopar Man
Has Blue Blood

Originally Posted by Quasi
"Jacko...he does the wheel work mostly.....need a seein' eye dog to find his own a**e"

Lost count of how many times I've seen this, but leterally wore out the VHS I had 15 to 20 years ago....thank God for DVD.

That guy was such a twat....and to prove it 25 years later he was in Mitsubishi 380 ads with his garage walls covered in articles about them.

Ya forgot the "Man, that cats the least" between mostly and need in the jacko line .

And the guy that is a twat, is Gerard Sont. I remember he was an afternoon kids show host in Queensland in the late 70's whan I was a kid.

And here is a little known fact about this movie, In the USA , it was nkown as "Fast Lane Fever" !

I'm not arrogent , Just superior
Blue Oval Mopar Man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2008, 06:43 PM   #68
Blue Oval Mopar Man
Has Blue Blood

Originally Posted by SVTVNM
Tony - "technology cost money, money we don't got'

Mike - "have"

Tony - "that's what I said"
Tony's second line wasnt "Thats what I said" , It was " I told you " :

Yes yes, I know , I have prbly seem this movie too many times! When i was a young bloke in Melb sharing a house with 3 other rev heads there was ALWAYS some car movie playing in the VCR ! The number of people that would come around and say "Not this again" never got old to us

some of the movies we used to play constantly ,
Running on empty
Mad Max
Mad Max 2
Midnight spares
Hot Rod (USA Movie)
The Wraith
Smokey and the Bandit
Smokey and the Bandit 2
Cannonball Run
The Van
American Graffiti
The original gone in 60 seconds
Stone
Heart like a wheel
Vanishing Point
Death race 2000
The cars that ate paris
and a few more , including taped episodes of the dukes of hazard and Knight rider
and a few others like Havoc and racing doco's we used to have .

Damn I miss those days!!!!!!! What a party house. We used to have a dirt bike track around the property and if you were quick enough and didnt stack or get held up, the short cut thru the house was always an option!

I'm not arrogent , Just superior
Blue Oval Mopar Man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2008, 07:47 PM   #69

mmmm brings back memories

i just might have to go get myself a new copy of it now

(my last one was taken a few yrs back when my unit got done over )

a little like how i feel now

jason

Old 10-02-2008, 09:22 PM   #70
1970galaxie
Fat 460

Originally Posted by BJ
That's right mate just my opinion. If you have the need to attack people feel free. It's good to see that non judgemental people live in perth. But then again i guess Running on empty is still being shown in the cinema.
Yeah why don't you come over and watch it. It might change your mind.
2003 BA XR8 Ute. Blood Orange. 5.4/5 speed.
2006 Territory Turbo. Silhouette. 4.0/6 speed auto.
1970galaxie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2008, 09:58 PM   #71
coledog

dont burn the snatch kev.
this movie had it all.
coledog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2008, 12:55 PM   #72
xr8edute
Thats right baby X-rated

Originally Posted by blackwood
Nah mate, Midnite Spares was made around the same time as R.O.E.
Features Bruce Spence and Max Cullen (The blind fella from R.O.E.).
Has a car chase at the end with a XA GT Hardtop and a P76.

The Challenger from ROE still gets around in it's full movie spec.
It is a genuine R/T 440 6-pack. I believe it now lives in QLD and of course the
No. plates read "FOX 1".

"It's Victor! V-I-C-T-O-R. You tell Mike Victor was here and he's got wheels
that are ready to run."
The Chalanger is actually in WA now. Still nearly the same as it was in the movie. Just bigger back tires and something to do with side pipes or something. Plates say Fox 1 now.

To my knowledge the Chev is still alive. The owner of Fox was originally going to buy the Chev but the owner wnated too much coin or something, then Fox came up so he bought that.

The Fox car is still in really good nick and is prob worth more as a genuine 440 six pack chanllenger than a movie car i reckon.

RIP The Gentleman, Peter Brock 1945-2006
I cant believe they demolished that fatefull tree!!!
xr8edute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2008, 01:24 PM   #73
EXECJIM

Talking

Originally Posted by 1970galaxie
Yeah why don't you come over and watch it. It might change your mind.

He doesnt have to, He was either

In the Movie

Director

Producer

Financed the movie

Was the stunt driver

Built the cars and tuned them

Built the 600 horse power motor'

And owned all those cars 1 time or another
Old 11-02-2008, 01:33 PM   #74
protd
TUFF FORDS

when did the car go to western australia?? as far as i was aware it was in brisbane, i spoke to the owner when he had the car in cairns for a local show 3 years ago, (anyone from cairns that went to wild on wheels will remember this car parked in the ally beside the bar, with a black 57 beside it)
protd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2008, 01:55 PM   #75
Grasshoppr
GTI ist ehrfürchtig

Originally Posted by randel
Maybe BJs not an art lover like us......
From the many posts Ive seen, he is an artist...

Like most classics - they are not always remembered for the acting in the film

Our Events cater for all types of people.
Grasshoppr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2008, 05:42 PM   #76

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by xr8edute
The Chalanger is actually in WA now. Still nearly the same as it was in the movie. Just bigger back tires and something to do with side pipes or something. Plates say Fox 1 now.
It got a full on restoration years ago, and for rego the side pipes were disconnected and the bonnet scoop was changed for road use...

Old 11-02-2008, 06:38 PM   #77
xrfalcon
On The Limiter

I have seen the GTH-351 rego plates in Sydney on a nissan patrol but that was a few years ago.

Great aussie movie.
xrfalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2008, 09:19 PM   #78
xr8edute
Thats right baby X-rated

It got a full on restoration years ago, and for rego the side pipes were disconnected and the bonnet scoop was changed for road use...
Bonnet still has large scoop on it. Now has couple of guages mounted in the back of it. Current owner has only maintained it.

Car came to WA about three or four years ago at a guess. Maybe only three then if you reckon you saw it at a show in QLD. ha ha.
Definately here now.

Cheers all.

RIP The Gentleman, Peter Brock 1945-2006
I cant believe they demolished that fatefull tree!!!
xr8edute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2008, 09:54 PM   #79
kremmen

I taped running on empty on foxtel, got home all excited to watch it, and it turned out to be some seppo crap movie of the same name with river pheonix instead. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! :
Old 11-02-2008, 10:02 PM   #80

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by xr8edute
Bonnet still has large scoop on it. Now has couple of guages mounted in the back of it. Current owner has only maintained it.

Car came to WA about three or four years ago at a guess. Maybe only three then if you reckon you saw it at a show in QLD. ha ha.
Definately here now.

Cheers all.
'Twas more then 3-4 years ago when i seen the artical in Street Machine (about the restoration of it. The owner did keep the original bonnet scoop, but drove around with a smaller one. WA must have some softer rules...

Old 11-02-2008, 10:08 PM   #81
protd
TUFF FORDS

the challenger was definitely restored by the owner from brissy, the scoop was definitely changed..

Last edited by protd; 11-02-2008 at 10:22 PM.
protd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2008, 10:37 PM   #82
V.S

Dl runnign on epaty night b4 last watched it last night must ssay is a bloody great movie loved it :
that charger was nice aswell
V.S is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2014, 11:02 AM   #83

Default Re: Running on Empty

THREADMINE ALERT!

Has anyone ever found the genuine XY GT that was used in the movie???

I know the whereabouts of the 57 Chev, the Fox, the Rammer, and the Shake Rattle & Roll, but the XY seems to be a bit of a mystery???

Given this is a FORD forum, I thought collectively we might have had the answer??
Anyone???
Old 12-02-2014, 04:38 PM   #84
ford71V8

Many many years ago I swear I was looking at the XY used in the scene where the blokes set fire to the car and go at it with a pick axe, it was sitting in a caryard in Adelaide with a big hole in the roof. Could never confirm it at the time.

Was a genuine GT used at any point in that film? I wouldn't have thought so
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2014, 05:01 PM   #85
290GTP

The start of the drag race between the Challenger & the Chev was filmed at Wyhalla Rd Miranda in Sydney back in 82.

We used to bolt out of school as soon as the bell went to catch the last half hour or so of filming. I was lucky enough to see the cars doing burnouts & the Chevy doing the doughnut, albiet at a safe distance dictated by the film crew. When they weren't filming we could walk right up to the cars for a looksee. Even at the tender age of 10 i could tell that the Chevy was rammed not blown & the Challenger wasnt anything too special either.

Fun to watch though.

Mercury Silver 03 BA GT-P Tremec TR3650 Number 534

Herrod 4 into ones, Manta Exhaust, CAI, K&N Filter, Mellings oil pump, 19" FPV alloys, Bilsteins, Kings, tuned by Autotech, 272rwkw

RIP Fish 15/1/73 - 9/2/19
290GTP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2014, 11:41 AM   #86

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
Many many years ago I swear I was looking at the XY used in the scene where the blokes set fire to the car and go at it with a pick axe, it was sitting in a caryard in Adelaide with a big hole in the roof. Could never confirm it at the time.

Was a genuine GT used at any point in that film? I wouldn't have thought so
I can tell you 100% that a genuine GT was used in the movie - I'm still trying to find out whether it was a genuine HO or *just* a GT...

But 100% it was the real deal.
Old 13-02-2014, 09:32 PM   #87

thread needs this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tAM5tc1hag

once upon a time PB was packing da NOS
Old 14-02-2014, 12:35 PM   #88
ford71V8

I named a band "Green Is Nice" once upon a time.
Most would've thought it was about the ganja I imagine.

Its been awhile since I watched this classic, will have to pull the DVD out again

"You cats hungry? Joannie will have the pan on"
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post