You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-02-2014, 05:28 PM   #1
Bridgette01
Happy Wife = Happy Life

Default Saw a group of school kids today.....

They were sitting on the school oval, in a circle and NONE of them were playing on their phones. Poor kids, surly there is something wrong with them

G6ET 2010 Seduce. Tax return = GTX upgrade DONE
Bridgette01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2014, 05:48 PM   #2
Outbackjack
Central to all beach's

Default Re: Saw a group of school kids today.....

Originally Posted by Bridgette01 View Post
They were sitting on the school oval, in a circle and NONE of them were playing on their phones. Poor kids, surly there is something wrong with them

You should have taken a photo with your phone...
Old 02-02-2014, 06:05 PM   #3
superyob

This is indeed strange...
superyob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2014, 06:48 PM   #4

School turned off the WiFi...

Old 02-02-2014, 08:04 PM   #5
ford71V8

Clearly they're up to something bad
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2014, 08:08 PM   #6
uniacidz

bad reception perhaps?
VX SS (R.I.P)
VE Berlina
uniacidz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2014, 08:46 PM   #7
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

Were they smoking?
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2014, 08:55 PM   #8
Mont5.0

school on a sunday?
Old 02-02-2014, 09:10 PM   #9
LG17

Weekend detention!
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2014, 09:18 PM   #10
AndyXR6T

Could of been some Bretherend kids?
AndyXR6T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2014, 09:35 PM   #11

Who buys the the phones for them ?...
Old 02-02-2014, 09:58 PM   #12
fordfreak

what clothes were they wearing??? Don't usually go to school on sunday.....unless its sunday school.

erm, i think u'll find out the 3/4 brethrened kids have phones.
fordfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2014, 03:03 PM   #13
dannyxm
was danny888

I didn't think traveling back in time was possible?
Old 03-02-2014, 03:08 PM   #14
AndyXR6T

Originally Posted by fordfreak View Post
what clothes were they wearing??? Don't usually go to school on sunday.....unless its sunday school.

erm, i think u'll find out the 3/4 brethrened kids have phones.
Really? I thought they were limited to technology to avoid social media mainly?
AndyXR6T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2014, 03:17 PM   #15

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 

Sad how smart phones have crept into our lives.
Stand in a taxi rank and look at how many have their phones out.
Even out at dinner in a restaurant people are always looking at emails etc
Old 03-02-2014, 03:31 PM   #16

Originally Posted by Chopped View Post
Who buys the the phones for them ?...
Not me! Ive already told the wife that our kids (eldest is 5) will not get their own phone. Actually they are cheap enough now that they can buy one themselves when they get a job.

It sad to see some of the ages kids get phones these days../old man stereotype
Old 03-02-2014, 04:05 PM   #17
supershifty
Missing a sock...

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Dave has been a long time active member on the forums and in particular has been a busy volunteer whenever there are cruises and toys runs etc held in South East Qld. He actively gives up his time and ensures that the events are provided for, be it commun 

Originally Posted by cs123 View Post
Sad how smart phones have crept into our lives.
Stand in a taxi rank and look at how many have their phones out.
Even out at dinner in a restaurant people are always looking at emails etc
Whenever I go see my daughters (19+17) I ban the use of mobiles except for answering calls. Fair dinkum, you virtually need a scalpel to remove them from kids hands these days.

Cheers!

Real friends + great times = sheer bliss!

Considering becoming an organ donor? Click here

QLD Events, Cruises and Get Togethers: Click here

Gain success instantly - lower your standards.

It's not government funded - it's taxpayer funded.
supershifty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2014, 09:21 PM   #18
Bridgette01
Happy Wife = Happy Life

Well, in fact this occurred on the Friday. The said kids appeared to be talking to each other. Seemed very odd because the VAST majority of school kids I saw that afternoon all had their noses glued to their phones. Even other groups on the same oval were all doing the phone thing. Its amazing what can be observed when stuck at a set of lights

G6ET 2010 Seduce. Tax return = GTX upgrade DONE
Bridgette01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2014, 12:01 AM   #19
BHDOGS

just like with some adults some kids dont actually like facebook and other said sites not all kids are the same
BHDOGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2014, 11:13 AM   #20
Angeldust

the internet was wonderfull, until everyone else started using it.

Z series Clubsport HRT edition..
e46 320ci 2.2ltr Stocko
Angeldust is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2014, 05:07 PM   #21
Matty4
Banana

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
Not me! Ive already told the wife that our kids (eldest is 5) will not get their own phone. Actually they are cheap enough now that they can buy one themselves when they get a job.

It sad to see some of the ages kids get phones these days../old man stereotype
I bet if you revisit this quote in 7 years time you'll have changed your tune...

I too said this but even now my oldest 2 (15 & 12) have one each, just for piece of mind when travelling to and from school.

Just yesterday I was waiting at the bus stop for them when my 15yo daughter rang to tell me that the bus was running really late and hadn't even left school yet. So I told her to wait with the other 2 and I'll be down to pick them up (we had an appointment to get to, and the bus delay meant we would have missed it). They are a necessary evil thesedays.

Just wait for the peer group pressure placed on your kids if they conform with the majority.............
Old 08-02-2014, 05:24 PM   #22
XB GS 351 Coupe

Originally Posted by Outbackjack
You should have taken a photo with your phone...
That would not be weird at all, taking photos of school kids from your car, pretty sure you would end up arrested and facing Court on some sort of child predator charges.

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
Not me! Ive already told the wife that our kids (eldest is 5) will not get their own phone.
Haha good one, good luck with that……I bet you the price of a new iPhone that both your kids will have one before they hit 15, there is no way you could put up with the nagging and whinging , mine is only ten and they been nagging since they are 8 to get one, I am guessing by the time they hit high school it's mandatory to have one or they will be an outcast.

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

XB GS 351 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2014, 08:10 PM   #23
irish2

At parties and things it is pretty sad the level of rudeness with people using phones when a conversation is going on. I still use this.

Going on 10 years old now. Battery still lasts 2 days which most modern phones can't even dream of achieving with mild usage.
irish2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2014, 10:30 PM   #24
Falcman0o7

Sorry mate but they must have been statues as that is simply not possible in 2014
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2014, 10:31 PM   #25
xc_gs_wagon91

Lies and slander
xc_gs_wagon91 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2014, 10:41 PM   #26

Stop Go man was playing on his phone today. I had to toot him so he'd turn his sign around to "SLOW" to let us go..............