You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 01-09-2020, 05:08 PM   #2371

Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Beautiful first day of Spring.

8 users like this post:
Old 02-09-2020, 02:35 PM   #2372
.:4:.
Kicking back

Had a meeting to go to today. Parked on the street. It was funny. It was a case of 1 of these cars is not like the others. Every other car in the street (bar the one even more out of place) was some form of sub class that car makers tell you you need, suvs, crossovers, crossover suv coupe hatchback thingys, other weird abominations. Then there was my fairmont. And my car was one of very few parallel parked straight and centred in the spot. The other out of place car was a vs commodore with its airfilter protruding proudly out of the bonnet. So i found that funny. But whatever happened to there just being small cars, medium sedans/wagons, large sedans/wagons, 4wds and utes. The only sub class being 4wd utes?
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2020, 10:10 PM   #2373
XR.1967
XR 1967

Hearing that one of the blokes I work with has found another job..
I'm sure he is happy he found another job as well..
Just not as happy as I am..
XR.1967 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2020, 10:14 PM   #2374
TICKFORD220
2009 Fg xr6 turbo

Just waking up and being alive was enough for me,my awesome family also.
TICKFORD220 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2020, 10:15 PM   #2375
TICKFORD220
2009 Fg xr6 turbo

Originally Posted by XR.1967 View Post
I wish my boss would find another job too....
TICKFORD220 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2020, 10:22 PM   #2376

Originally Posted by XR.1967 View Post
There is one bloke at my work by all logic should have been out the door without issue but nope still sticking around. Some ****s always find a way

I hope to one day feel the same joy but for now just have to be grateful I have a job to turn up to as plenty can't say the same.
Old 03-09-2020, 06:46 PM   #2377
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post
There is one bloke at my work by all logic should have been out the door without issue but nope still sticking around. Some ****s always find a way

I hope to one day feel the same joy but for now just have to be grateful I have a job to turn up to as plenty can't say the same.
Yes, good time to take a check on what we all have.
I was laid off at the end of March but didn't qualify for the Job Keeper bs.
Been employed consistently for as long as I can remember, first time in my life on Job Seeker
Mr_G6ET is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2020, 07:09 PM   #2378
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Spotted, well actually heard then spotted, a manual FPV GT-F being given a good workout this afternoon. She sounded angry, popping and banging on rev-matched down shifts. Made me grin like from ear to ear.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2020, 07:20 PM   #2379
Work Horse
Budget Racer

I am replacing 70 year old concrete with "new" brick paving in my driveway. It’s a little project to keep me busy during "lock down".

I started at the street and laid back toward the house, I pulled a line down the side of the house to square off.

I bricked across the driveway today and it fits perfectly without a cut on either side.

WIN!
Old 03-09-2020, 07:26 PM   #2380

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

That’s the exact same Westmix barrow as I have.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2020, 05:07 PM   #2381
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Needed a NEW manifold as some ham fisted mechanic had broken mine previous, so i rang Merc to get one.
$1300 including GST Righto .

How about i just do it myself...4hrs later all fixed !

I also did a trans service including the bung on the convertor for $350 in parts compared to $820 Merc qouted

And the fuel filter $15 compared to $625 Merc qouted including an A service as i needed the computer to bleed the pump??!

LOL air filters cost me $54 Merc wanted $185 and 2hr's to fit them @ $250hr !!

Do not trust what is stamped in the owners service manual !!

These filters have travelled 67000kms in 5yr's.

I'm gonna enjoy owning this car ...

Last edited by TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys; 04-09-2020 at 05:20 PM.
Old 04-09-2020, 05:14 PM   #2382
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Have a Great Weekend
Old 04-09-2020, 11:02 PM   #2383

Took the day off today so that's always good. Ended up going down to Bunnings to get a star wheel edge manual trimmer, lawn aerator and some weed and feed.

****ing a bit of work since I have pavers in my lawn down to the clothesline and were quite overgrown.

I put holes all through it which took longer than I expected and then put down the weed and feed so hopefully gets it going.

And I might have finally figured out which edging I'm going to do literally 3 years later and after all the nagging from mum saying you got to get it done to keep the runners out. I have that couch grass that gets all through the garden

They have a concrete lawn edge paver that you can run the mower wheel over which seems like it could be a winner. I have a weird as **** backyard but would only need a few angle cuts to get it sorted.
Old 05-09-2020, 02:50 PM   #2384
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

some home made peri peri and marinated a small chicken halved overnight.
The Hibachi with heat beads is ready, meat is in the oven for a short cook then the magic happens over the beads
Cant beat wagyu on this thing, sliced thin, a few min's and viola.

Ours is nearly dead but this is what it used to look like.
Old 06-09-2020, 07:21 PM   #2385

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Getting this far... I knew my “embrayage” was finished!
Furthermore, dismantling revealed my informed guess had indeed collected the right set of service parts. Clutch kit, fork shaft and fork, fork shaft bushings, rear main seal, input shaft support/seal and new pair of drive/driven speedometer gears.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-09-2020, 07:29 PM   #2386
FairmontGS
WT GT

Catching up on Zoom just now with Mum and Dad and sibs and nieces and nephews who are all locked down in Victoria. Excellent Fathers Day thing to do.

Fingers crossed we can get there for Christmas at least
FairmontGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2020, 11:59 AM   #2387
Kicking back

After months of every fortnight filling my garden waste bin, i finally have got rid of all the tree trimmings from the turning circle on my driveway. Id forgotten how nice it is to be able to front up the driveway, park 90° then front back down. Not that reversing is at all difficult, but its a long driveway and the parking sensors pick up the fence so constantly beep. Now that i only have 1 car i can easily turn around at the top of the driveway, couldn't do that when i had 3 cars, however i could park 3 cars at the top of the driveway and get each one out without having to move another car which was convenient, saved the walk to the street and i hate street parking at your own house, especially since i cannot even see the street from my house.
Old 08-09-2020, 04:20 PM   #2388

Finished this little freestanding gate wall off today. Looks like there will be more walls to build here in a few months.

9 users like this post:
Old 08-09-2020, 04:35 PM   #2389

Love your work mate !
Can't beat sandstone for retaining walls/wall fencing or even feature walls when cut.
Must be doing ok despite covid.
We grew up when sandstone was free and plentiful haha, if only we knew what it would cost in the future, like all things.
I have heaps of sandstone retaining walls/split levels around our block.
We bought it as such, pieces with mud in between with age moisture and depending how good the job was done in the first place I have some good cracks now.
I'll have to take some pics and send them to you for some advise to either repair or knock down rebuild :( if you don't mind.
Old 08-09-2020, 04:37 PM   #2390

in theme of the thread, loving it spring is in the air ! best time of the year tbh.
Old 08-09-2020, 04:43 PM   #2391

Originally Posted by FTE217 View Post
Love your work mate !
Can't beat sandstone for retaining walls/wall fencing or even feature walls when cut.
Must be doing ok despite covid.
We grew up when sandstone was free and plentiful haha, if only we knew what it would cost in the future, like all things.
I have heaps of sandstone retaining walls/split levels around our block.
We bought it as such, pieces with mud in between with age moisture and depending how good the job was done in the first place I have some good cracks now.
I'll have to take some pics and send them to you for some advise to either repair or knock down rebuild :( if you don't mind.
FTE. These are granite. North East Victoria is granite country with a couple of little pockets of glacial sandstone here and there.

Old 08-09-2020, 04:45 PM   #2392
Kicking back

in theme of the thread, loving it spring is in the air ! best time of the year tbh.
Hmmmmm, i hate this time of year. My neighbor, she feeds the magpies so they dont swoop her when she walks down to check the letterbox. The magpies dont like me. I dont like them either, but its just annoying.
Old 08-09-2020, 04:54 PM   #2393

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
Hmmmmm, i hate this time of year. My neighbor, she feeds the magpies so they dont swoop her when she walks down to check the letterbox. The magpies dont like me. I dont like them either, but its just annoying.
Try making friends with them by taking some mince with you next time and feed them. If you cant beat them, join them
Old 08-09-2020, 04:54 PM   #2394

Karma, mate.

Old 08-09-2020, 04:57 PM   #2395

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
Try making friends with them by taking some mince with you next time and feed them. If you cant beat them, join them
Did that mountain biking a few times, they drop down take the food, then come back and hunt you down.

Old 08-09-2020, 05:00 PM   #2396
Kicking back

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
I do not bow down to terrorism.
Old 08-09-2020, 05:13 PM   #2397

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
FTE. These are granite. North East Victoria is granite country with a couple of little pockets of glacial sandstone here and there.
ah, looked sandstone to me but ok granite, luv it anyway.

magpies just protecting their turf, I know its not a nice feeling being bombarded but not a third world problem.
Wear your cable tied bike helmut out
Old 08-09-2020, 06:52 PM   #2398
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Autumn and Spring are my two favorite seasons. I just love the smell in the air that autumn and spring bring. Working outdoors means I get the full experience of the changing of the seasons.

Summer on the hand, HATE IT!! I always say, you can always put another jumper on in the cold of winter, you can only take so many layers off before it gets inappropriate in summer.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2020, 07:29 PM   #2399
Mr_G6ET
Ford G6ET FG MkII

.... Wear your cable tied bike helmut out
I was thinking a brimmed hat after I thought tennis racket cos that's wrong.
Scary buggers.
Old 08-09-2020, 08:18 PM   #2400
Tonz

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-08-...viral/12606942