You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-01-2022, 12:51 PM   #1
marty351
Shenanigans..............

Default Products or things you don't see or hear much of anymore...

This has probably been done before, but thought I'd start a new thread anyway.

So, Maxell batteries. Used to be everywhere a few years ago in shops. They're still around according to their website but seem to be more industrial focused.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 02:07 PM   #2
roddy1960

Default Re: Products or things you don't see or hear much of anymore...

There's so many Marty....OMG. This could be a fun thread .. Immediately jumps to mind especially in a car sense is carby fed engines and that's been quite a while already . Other than small engine machines aka mowers , chain saws , brush cutters and a few other fossil fuel items the carby is extremely rare on a driving vehicle ..Maybe somewhere but I don't know of any . Also do any car manufacturers fit manual window winders to cars even on the cheaper models ? Love to know if they do..

When I was a kid my favourite ice cream was a Peters Two in One . Geez I loved them .. Can't remember when I last saw them for sale .

Wind up alarm clocks .. They might still be sold as a novelty perhaps but I guess phones have seriously curtailed them..

Re Maxell batteries I do remember them and maybe they still do watch batteries but in general use I also can't recall seeing them on the supermarket battery displays for a while . I tried Camelion ...waste of money and even the alkaline ones aren't that great for a throw away battery.. Gone back to Ever Ready for that purpose but now also use a lot more rechargeable AA's and AAA's..

Fun thread...Expecting heaps of replies ..

Last edited by roddy1960; 11-01-2022 at 02:16 PM.
roddy1960 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 02:30 PM   #3
1970XW351
Angry Dub Driver

Solvol in proper cake form, for actual work stained hands. Can only get it in the softwash variety for pretend work types now. Nothing gets the grease out like scrubbing off three layers of skin with a proper bar of soap. (well maybe leaded petrol, but YOU CAN'T GET THAT ANYMORE EITHER!!!)
Cheers, Tony
1970XW351 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 02:45 PM   #4

Good old door type bread toaster.
You know the ones that actually don't take hours to toast your crumpets.

Old 11-01-2022, 03:30 PM   #5
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Originally Posted by roddy1960 View Post
When I was a kid my favourite ice cream was a Peters Two in One . Geez I loved them .. Can't remember when I last saw them for sale .
I lived in Wagga Wagga back in 1982. My mate's dad was a driver/distributor for Streets. My favourite ice cream at the time was this gem:

Even if my mate didn't have any in the freezer in the shed, I loved them so much I'd buy one out of my own money on a Thursday night down the street with the olds

Couldn't get them in Sale either before or after being in Wagga Not sure if it was a NSW thing?

Originally Posted by 1970XW351
Solvol in proper cake form, for actual work stained hands. Can only get it in the softwash variety for pretend work types now. Nothing gets the grease out like scrubbing off three layers of skin with a proper bar of soap. (well maybe leaded petrol, but YOU CAN'T GET THAT ANYMORE EITHER!!!)
Cheers, Tony
You can still get solvol bars. we have them at work. Here's one such place you can get them:

https://www.alphacleaningsupplies.co...dustrial-soap/

Ok scratch that, a bit more research shows that manufacture ceased around March last year.

But there is an alternative available which might suit:

https://www.envirofluid.com/articles...itmitts-is-it/

Aussie made to boot

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor

Last edited by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0; 11-01-2022 at 03:41 PM.
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 03:35 PM   #6

Chrome platers.......are a little thin on the ground these days.

Old 11-01-2022, 03:40 PM   #7
Tonz

bit outta the way for you but AClass metal finishers Lonsdale South Oz

someone else on here has some stuff going to them, been around since year dot, only second owners.
Old 11-01-2022, 03:45 PM   #8

Originally Posted by roddy1960 View Post
There's so many Marty....OMG. This could be a fun thread .. Immediately jumps to mind especially in a car sense is carby fed engines and that's been quite a while already . Other than small engine machines aka mowers , chain saws , brush cutters and a few other fossil fuel items the carby is extremely rare on a driving vehicle ..Maybe somewhere but I don't know of any . Also do any car manufacturers fit manual window winders to cars even on the cheaper models ? Love to know if they do..

Wind up alarm clocks .. They might still be sold as a novelty perhaps but I guess phones have seriously curtailed them..

Re Maxell batteries I do remember them and maybe they still do watch batteries but in general use I also can't recall seeing them on the supermarket battery displays for a while . I tried Camelion ...waste of money and even the alkaline ones aren't that great for a throw away battery.. Gone back to Ever Ready for that purpose but now also use a lot more rechargeable AA's and AAA's..

Fun thread...Expecting heaps of replies ..
Try find a carburettor shop or business, all the well known ones in Melbourne are long gone.
Itsme is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 03:52 PM   #9

Seagull soap, you could tub in the surf using it, or a brackish bore on the Barkly.

Burnout is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 03:52 PM   #10

Originally Posted by Itsme View Post
Try find a carburettor shop or business, all the well known ones in Melbourne are long gone.
Great one Burwood, Sydney. Had my XF's Weber rebuilt by him though the kit did come from Melbourne.

Tonz, lucky to have Albury electro platers just up the road.

Old 11-01-2022, 04:40 PM   #11
leesa

arnott's golliwog biscuits, they were delicious :/
Old 11-01-2022, 05:02 PM   #12
ford71V8

Originally Posted by leesa View Post

And golliwogs.

Saw one laying on a shelf in a smalltown 2nd hand op shop during the Xmas break
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 07:17 PM   #13
marty351
Shenanigans..............

Heinz baked beans in 420g cans. Now you get to buy 300g cans for around the same price.

Now its SPC for a decent sized meal of beans on toast.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 08:15 PM   #14
PHANTMXR6
It's not an FG MKI.......

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willing to help out with useful advice in the technical areas of the forum. 
Smile Re: Products or things you don't see or hear much of anymore...

Coon cheese….

Want to know how to do an A Service for an FG XR6T?

Look in this http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11339404

Thinking of oil sampling your engine?

Have a look at this trend http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....ght=oil+sample
PHANTMXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 08:53 PM   #15
73 4V XB
Frankenford pilot

Originally Posted by PHANTMXR6 View Post
Coon cheese….
Racist.
Originally Posted by leesa
Racist.
Originally Posted by ford71V8
And golliwogs.

Saw one laying on a shelf in a smalltown 2nd hand op shop during the Xmas break
Racist.

Don’t blame me, blame society

Years ago we used to use Mr Muscle, the oven cleaner, to remove pin stripes in the auto industry. Now days it’s useless for cleaning ovens and removing pin striping

73 XB GT
Last of the Big Ports
73 4V XB is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 09:09 PM   #16
PHANTMXR6

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willing to help out with useful advice in the technical areas of the forum. 

Chicos…

Label me a racist and I’ll label you a sook.

Old 11-01-2022, 09:12 PM   #17
PHANTMXR6

Driveway service in a petrol station.

Some were really good back in the day, and good for a chinwag whilst the older slow pumps churned away.

Old 11-01-2022, 09:13 PM   #18
73 4V XB
Frankenford pilot

Originally Posted by PHANTMXR6 View Post
Chicos…

Label me a racist and I’ll label you a sook.
Let’s not forget fags
The little white stick lollie with a red tip

73 XB GT
Last of the Big Ports
Old 11-01-2022, 09:18 PM   #19
Mulva

Fruita (softdrink by Kirks). Says they still make it but have not seen it in years and have been looking.

Was a soft-drink company that used to deliver crates to your house in Adelaide - was Loys or Lloys or Lloyds...they had the best Sarsaparilla, but think soda-stream put them out of business.

Further to the earlier chats re icecream, Bi-Lo supermarkets used to have a 3 flavour citrus icecream that came in a yellow bucket - don't know the name but it had orange, lemon and lime flavours and was freakin' awesome, but haven't seen it since early 90s.

Originally Posted by 73 4V XB View Post
Let’s not forget fags
The little white stick lollie with a red tip
They're still around, albeit in a PC fashion (no red (lit) end and now called Fads)
Mulva is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 09:31 PM   #20

Originally Posted by 73 4V XB View Post
Let’s not forget fags
Homophobic..........
Old 11-01-2022, 09:31 PM   #21

Honest politicians...................
Old 11-01-2022, 09:50 PM   #22
MDS69

Originally Posted by 1970XW351 View Post
Cheers, Tony
This come up on another forum a day or so ago. Someone replied they got some bars from Bunnings recently. Can’t remember what state or town but might be worth a shot to stock up.
Failing that the wife’s laundry powder.
MDS69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 10:16 PM   #23
Mulva

Cheers, Tony
Wash your hands Geoffrey...
Old 11-01-2022, 10:20 PM   #24
Mulva

Originally Posted by Itsme View Post
Yep, can't find anyone that knows how to download the data from the carbies
Old 11-01-2022, 10:22 PM   #25
slowsnake

Cheers, Tony
Bought a block a few weeks ago in IGA or Woolies here in Perth and Bunnings stock it too, used mine yesterday!......
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 10:24 PM   #26
73 4V XB
Frankenford pilot

Originally Posted by buggerlugs View Post
Homophobic..........

73 XB GT
Last of the Big Ports
Old 11-01-2022, 10:24 PM   #27
JasonACT
Away on leave

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Outstanding work on the FG ICC issues. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The insane amount of work he has put into the Falcon FG ICC is unbelievable. He has shared everything he has done and made a great deal of it available to us all. He has definitely helped a great deal of us with no personal gains to himself. 

JasonACT is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 10:36 PM   #28
slowsnake

Car windscreen REGO STICKERS!........I hate not having a Rego sticker, not sure why though?......

( we have 3 month Rego in WA ) too easy to miss the end date.

Last edited by slowsnake; 11-01-2022 at 10:38 PM. Reason: Add bit
Old 11-01-2022, 10:39 PM   #29
mad2
Regular...with metamusal

Cheers, Tony
i use dishwashing liquid & have for a few years now as it works a treat.

Originally Posted by roKWiz
Good old door type bread toaster.
You know the ones that actually don't take hours to toast your crumpets.

have one here ........................ somewhere ... ohh maybe it's in the camping cupboard

Originally Posted by JasonACT View Post

for some reason a 'few' years ago we bought a fax/printer ....... never used the fax side of it - ever
mad2 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-01-2022, 10:41 PM   #30
slowsnake

And real 70's Desert Boots, not the ridged sole, but proper desert wellies, ankle high and fluffy white lining, I miss em too, very comfy to wear!.......