You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 12-02-2022, 07:47 PM   #1
FairmontGS
WT GT

Default Labor announces $80 million for new Adelaide Aquatic Centre, while Liberal government funds drag strip

Labor announces $80 million for new Adelaide Aquatic Centre, while Liberal government funds drag strip

The South Australian opposition says it will rebuild the Adelaide Aquatic Centre if it wins next month's state election.

Premier Steven Marshall this morning announced the state government would contribute $2.5 million towards a $30 million drag racing strip at The Bend Motorsport Park in Tailem Bend.
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/austr...edgdhp&pc=U531

FairmontGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2022, 07:52 PM   #2
Beastie
The Terrain Tamer

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Catering services for a bunch of layabouts and for being an all-round good guy whose sense of community goes above and beyond. 
Default Re: Labor announces $80 million for new Adelaide Aquatic Centre, while Liberal government funds drag stri

Must be an election coming up...
Old 12-02-2022, 11:10 PM   #3
Tonz

Default Re: Labor announces $80 million for new Adelaide Aquatic Centre, while Liberal government funds drag stri

O F F S do we have to go through all this trumpet farting hoo harr again.

Would hate to think Marshall just nailed his coffin with donation to F**kwits Shahins or whatever they call themselves.
Old 12-02-2022, 11:16 PM   #4
slowsnake

Not a big deal, no one gives a toss about SA.....
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2022, 11:33 AM   #5

Originally Posted by grep View Post
Must be an election coming up...
But where's the high speed rail link promises ??

Old 13-02-2022, 11:41 AM   #6

How's the hospitals and law and order going?
Old 13-02-2022, 11:51 AM   #7

Props up old mate Shahin - lets go racing baby!!

Its been a long time since any racing in radelaide and plenty of peeps could find the love again with a facility for dropping skids and a bit of wheels up.

Bring on Top Fuel
Old 13-02-2022, 04:18 PM   #8

Smart play from the Liberal Premier that urged his supporters to vote Labor during his initial failed campaign.
He'll reel that pittance back in relatively quickly with a few strategically placed speed cameras on the SE Freeway post meets.
Until the novelty wears off and people get sick of the 2+ hour round trip for the handful of runs between track clean ups.
Old 13-02-2022, 05:17 PM   #9

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post
O F F S do we have to go through all this trumpet farting hoo harr again.

Would hate to think Marshall just nailed his coffin with donation to F**kwits Shahins or whatever they call themselves.

Originally Posted by slowsnake
Not a big deal, no one gives a toss about SA.....
Originally Posted by BENT_8
Smart play from the Liberal Premier that urged his supporters to vote Labor during his initial failed campaign.
He'll reel that pittance back in relatively quickly with a few strategically placed speed cameras on the SE Freeway post meets.
Until the novelty wears off and people get sick of the 2+ hour round trip for the handful of runs between track clean ups.
tardfecta is complete
Old 13-02-2022, 08:54 PM   #10

Originally Posted by pottery beige View Post
tardfecta is complete
Quiet in the cheap seats sweetheart, your vote will be lost amongst a sea of labor voting meth heads in the unemployed seat of bogan.
Im all for a drag racing scene in SA, too long overdue, but Im also a realist and the trip out there will become a hurdle as it has for the Supercar followers.
Get onboard Labors Adelaide 500 bid like your neighbours will.
Old 13-02-2022, 08:58 PM   #11
slowsnake

Originally Posted by BENT_8 View Post
Quiet in the cheap seats sweetheart, your vote will be lost amongst a sea of labor voting meth heads in the unemployed seat of bogan.
Im all for a drag racing scene in SA, too long overdue, but Im also a realist and the trip out there will become a hurdle as it has for the Supercar followers.
He's one of the 4 T's, what you expect.......
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2022, 09:05 PM   #12

Shouldn't be much of a hurdle. Winton is about 2 1/2 hrs from Melb, also all freeway, and is usually packed.
Old 13-02-2022, 09:33 PM   #13

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
Shouldn't be much of a hurdle. Winton is about 2 1/2 hrs from Melb, also all freeway, and is usually packed.
Bigger population thats always had the community, ours has been non existant by comparison for years.
The novelty will draw a crowd but as they saw with SC, interest will soon fall away.
Its a dry, dusty ****hole with zero shade outside of the stands.
Wont happen anyway, Marshall is gone.
Old 13-02-2022, 09:40 PM   #14
T3rminator

Lots of funding coming SA's way!!!...here is what the PM had to say about their contribution. A fraudulent slip?

Rides (past and present)
Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual
Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m)

AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button.
T3rminator is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2022, 11:28 PM   #15
ford71V8

Just for perspective.... a visit to AIR when you live down south takes the same amount of time as visiting the Bend, and it's a nicer drive
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2022, 11:32 PM   #16
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Both political parties are shyte. UAP for me!

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2022, 12:23 AM   #17

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
Just for perspective.... a visit to AIR when you live down south takes the same amount of time as visiting the Bend, and it's a nicer drive
Lol, not even close, using Noarlunga as the starting point in the south due to being the major central hub and using Google Maps its 45 minutes to Virginia and 1hr20 to Tailem Bend.
A starting point any closer to Adelaide shortens both trips, and further lengthens both.
Going the back way to Mt Barker does not shorten the time taken by 35mins, not even close.

I do these trips multiple times every week.
Old 14-02-2022, 07:51 AM   #18

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
Usually packed with locals.

Old 14-02-2022, 03:18 PM   #19
FERG_51

Originally Posted by T3rminator View Post
Lots of funding coming SA's way!!!...here is what the PM had to say about their contribution. A fraudulent slip?

Should take a drive on all SA roads outside of Adelaide, if he wants to see real sh#tty roads.
FERG_51 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2022, 05:57 PM   #20

thnx for confirming multi
Old 14-02-2022, 08:56 PM   #21
danzvtil

Oh, look, here’s a politics menu, item 1 is a turd sandwich, and item 2 is a turd burger, how to decide. I’m thinking of even voting for dumb dumb Clive just to show my rage. I saw a pic of Pauline Hanson yesterday and DIDNT feel revulsion, I think I need help!

2019 LDV G10
2009 Mitsubishi Express-GONE
2011 Honda Jazz
Old 14-02-2022, 10:36 PM   #22
Tonz

just imagine if we all got as peeved off of the major teams and voted clive what a shambolic cockup we would all be in.
But I understand your feelings.
If I ever get elected.....
2 week election session
No belittling the opposition
no TV or media posturing or advertising.
voluntary voting

Once I get in there will be more
1st will be address as Mr President
you will from now on keep your tax, I will take the rest.
Old 18-02-2022, 09:12 PM   #23
lumen8

A few people for years now (decades?) have wanted to build one closer to Adelaide (eg Gillman) ... but it kept being knocked back.

Certainly labor at least had an agenda to stamp out that culture... a former lab transport minister as much said it out his own mouth on TV, and this guy is 2 degs of seperation from me.

Makes more sense to have one near the city but seems that wont happen easily.

As for wont happen at the bend... well seems theyre doing it now, the dozers and earthmovers are doing the soil work to build the track, and peregrine dont mess around when they decide to build something. I was there a couple of days ago, its running parallel to the princess highway for the most part.
lumen8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-02-2022, 12:26 AM   #24

Originally Posted by lumen8 View Post
As for wont happen at the bend... well seems theyre doing it now, the dozers and earthmovers are doing the soil work to build the track, and peregrine dont mess around when they decide to build something. I was there a couple of days ago, its running parallel to the princess highway for the most part.
Never said it wouldn't happen, but they built a circuit that hardly anyone goes to as well so building it doesn't mean they will come long term.

And if they're already building it anyway, might as well cast your vote to Labor and get the 500 back too..
Old 19-02-2022, 12:57 AM   #25
lumen8

Its a bit of a trek for most pulling a trailer through the adelaide hills but i think it would do ok in terms of racers.. its the spectators that probably wont come in numbers.

The guys behind the push for a gilman track years ago knew that, they knew if it was close theyd get crowds, just common sense. Then its more viable, more money from the gate, food, etc etc.

The Bends owners are on the rich list for those who dont know (most in SA do) , worth over 1 billion if i remember right, it was definitely 1 something, and yes with a B, not an M.

So if anyone can make it stay open long term i guess they can.
lumen8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-02-2022, 11:48 AM   #26

Never said it wouldn't happen, but they built a circuit that hardly anyone goes to as well so building it doesn't mean they will come long term.

And if they're already building it anyway, might as well cast your vote to Labor and get the 500 back too..

Originally Posted by BENT_8
Bigger population thats always had the community, ours has been non existant by comparison for years.
The novelty will draw a crowd but as they saw with SC, interest will soon fall away.
Its a dry, dusty ****hole with zero shade outside of the stands.
Wont happen anyway, Marshall is gone.
clap clap for handicap
Old 19-02-2022, 03:02 PM   #27

Originally Posted by pottery beige View Post
clap clap for handicap
You arent the brightest are you.

The second quote is in regard to the Liberals contribution, if they dont win the election, Marshall will be gone from the Premiers office so the spend cant happen can it..
That doesnt mean the strip wont happen as the Shahin's will do it anyway, just like the current facility.
Sorry, I should have spelt it out just for people like you.

Perhaps stick to your tiresome 3 word cryptic sentences and leave the discussion to the adults.
Old 19-02-2022, 03:16 PM   #28
wodahs

i thought Scott Morrison slammed construction , not as drag strip but a Manchurian landing strip

rebuilding the zh fairlane with a clevo 400m 4v heads injected whipple blown with aode 4 speed trans to a 9" ....... we'll get there eventually

just remember don't be afraid to try something new.
Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!

I have taken up meditation... at least it's better than sitting around doing nothing !!
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-02-2022, 06:05 PM   #29

You arent the brightest are you.

The second quote is in regard to the Liberals contribution, if they dont win the election, Marshall will be gone from the Premiers office so the spend cant happen can it..
That doesnt mean the strip wont happen as the Shahin's will do it anyway, just like the current facility.
Sorry, I should have spelt it out just for people like you.

Perhaps stick to your tiresome 3 word cryptic sentences and leave the discussion to the adults.
a life of under achieving has left you with a rather bitter outlook

im torn at the moment

3v 185, std stroke, non matching number - cant run std bonnet

matching number - LLBP
Old 19-02-2022, 07:42 PM   #30
FairmontGS
WT GT

Default Labor announces $80 million for new Adelaide Aquatic Centre, while Liberal government funds drag strip

LLBP all day. Zorst, 780 and 4:11s and you’ll be fine.
FairmontGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post