Old 07-11-2014, 04:11 PM   #1

Default A dog's luck

Earlier this year my wife & I adopted a rescue dog. The backstory goes that our pup's parents were presented to a local pound by a local man's scorned wife, as revenge for him allegedly doing the dirty on her. He decided to leave them there to await their fate.

The male was an entire bitsa (he wasn't rescued from the pound & was put down), & the female was heavily pregnant at the time. A dog rescue organisation rescued the mum the day before she was due to be put down, and she gave birth to 10 healthy pups the next day. All 10 pups and the mum have been adopted by new owners.

Last year, our previous dog died after being bitten by a snake. Our yard was in a bit of disrepair with a leaky water tank (snake haven) and a rotting back fence, and in hindsight it was destined to happen eventually. Our last dog died a pretty **** death in the back of the car whilst racing to the vet 40kms from home. Since then, both the tank & fence have been replaced, the ground is now dry and the backyard secure for the new pup. We've since bought a 2nd pup, from an accidental litter (parents/pups WEREN'T sent to the pound), and the two dogs are best mates.

I'm not wholly against euthanasia and it has its place, in fact we "inherited" an aged dog when buying our house. Its owner had passed away and basically the old dog went bonkers. I decided to have it put down the 4th time it escaped the yard & had been clipped by a car on the highway (but was OK), as it was clearly a miserable dog who missed its owner, despite the attention & care I tried to give it...

Anyway it's that time of the year where a lot of people buy pets as gifts for xmas. This, and my experiences with losing our last dog and the sad fact of pound operations throughout Australia, inspired me to write this. It's simplistic & intended to be bush poetry-style, but I hope it gets the message across. Thanks for reading.

The day I came into the world,
And met my tired Mum.
My brothers, sisters, cousins, aunts,
All confined to our own dog run.

Mum always seemed quite sullen,
Her head hung very low,
I realised why this was, upon the day,
When it was time for us to go.

“Off to the pet shop!” my breeders said,
“We'll get good money from you”,
“You'll be sold on to a new family”,
“You'll start your life anew”.

Off to the pet shop we all went,
To be placed in a perspex case.
To sit on shredded newspaper,
To see face, after face, after face.

Of parents, children, and couples,
All peering in to peruse us.
Most were curious and friendly,
But few were here to choose us.

One by one, my siblings all went,
Off to each new home,
One day my turn will come, I dreamt,
As I remained behind, now alone.

Then one day a man came in,
He studied me with intent.
He decided, "I'll take him, how much?",
And to my new home we went.

I was very excited and nervous,
As the man placed me gently in his car,
"Don't worry mate", he assured me,
"We won't drive very far".

The anticipation built up in me,
As we pulled in the drive and stopped,
"I'm about to meet my new family!", I thought,
And out of the car I gingerly hopped.

Inside the house, to my delight,
I met the children and my new Mum,
"Merry Christmas!" Dad said to his kids,
"Our puppy has finally come!"

They showered me with attention,
With treats and many toys,
I was so happy with my new family,
Oh, life was full of joys!

I settled in to my new home,
And I grew from a pup into a dog,
The kids begun to play with me less,
But Mum always took me on her morning jog.

One day mum didn't go for her run,
She'd started a new career,
With long hours, and the kids to juggle,
From then on I'd barely see her.

Dad worked shifts and came home late,
And the kids would stay out in town,
So I'd languish tied up in the back yard,
Feeling bored, and feeling down.

I began to dig from boredom,
I began to bark at the neighbours.
I began to get yelled at by all,
"SHUT UP! YOU'RE NOT DOING YOURSELF ANY FAVOURS"

One week Dad had pulled double shifts,
And Mum had reports to mark.
The kids were away on a school trip,
And so I'd bark, and bark, and bark.

One night Dad let me off my chain,
He put me in the car, in the back,
We travelled long into the night,
And pulled up on a dusty track.

"I'm sorry boy, you've got to go",
My Dad had coarsely croaked,
"We just can't handle you any more",
"We -", he stopped short, and choked.

He turned from me, he faced away,
He opened the driver's door.
He slumped down, deflated, behind the wheel,
His eyes cast to the floor.

I tried to jump back in the car,
Dad clipped me with his hand,
"STAY!" he boomed, and slammed the door.
Dad's final command.

And stay I did, for hours on end,
After watching Dad drive off yonder.
But the night was cold and a storm was building,
My mind began to wander.

The wind had changed, black clouds rolled in,
The raindrops began to spatter,
And with the first clap of thunder,
Dad's command no longer mattered.

The storm was getting bad,
I ran in panic, I ran in fear.
I sprinted up a farm driveway,
The porch light drew me near.

I sheltered from the pouring rain,
Weary, distressed and cold,
The stormfront eventually passed on,
And sleep finally took hold.

The next morning I awoke in sunlight,
Tucked in the corner of the verandah,
A farmer came out the front of his home,
He spotted me, he swore and yelled "MIRANDA!"

"THERE'S A STRAY ON THE PORCH,
CAN YA LOOK UP THE POUND IN THE YELLOW PAGES"
"Come 'ere" he grumbled, and patted my head,
My first caress in ages.

"You can't stay here mate," the farmer said,
"She'll have me guts for garters,
We've got too many dogs as it is,
Miranda'll take ya to the Pound after"

I warmed to them, this old couple,
They treated me with a feed.
They tickled me behind the ears,
They slipped on a collar & lead.

"Come on boy," gesturing at the ute,
"Git up on the tray",
Reluctantly I did as I was told,
And off we drove, away.

The ute rolled up with squeaky brakes,
We stopped in front of a building,
Miranda gently led me inside,
As was given forms to fill in.

"Seeya mate" Miranda waved as she left,
"I hope you find a new home",
I was then taken to a shed full of other dogs,
Barking, crying, sleeping, together. Alone.

My cage was small, the floor was bare,
But I had food, water, and a bed.
The other dogs were deafening,
But at least I had a roof over my head.

Days came and went,
New dogs came in, and others were taken away.
I waited for my new family to pick me up,
Will today be my day?

And finally, the day had come,
I heard footsteps to my compound.
"Come on boy", I heard a man say,
"It's your last day in the pound".

The friendly man in a white coat,
Led me through the clinic door.
This must just be another health check, I thought,
I'd been through this before.

He placed me gently on the table,
"Don't you worry Rover",
He soflty stroked my head and paw,
"This'll soon be over".

The needle flashed in his gloved hand,
It gave a little *****,
I flinched, but settled, as warmth set in,
Followed by chills, I now felt sick.

Nausea built up, this wasn't right,
I tried to lift my head,
But an invisible weight now held me down,
I began to fill with dread.

I wanted to cry out to the vet,
To warn him something's amiss,
But now I found it hard to breathe,
I was nearing an abyss.

Absolute fear consumed me,
Darkness began to cloud my eyes,
My frantic thoughts were breaking down,
My body paralysed.

My bladder and bowels relaxed,
I lost everything within me,
and along with that final life action,
I lost my dignity.

The vet, he grabbed me by my feet,
And dropped me in a black plastic bag,
Along with my fluids and faeces,
He sealed me from the world and signed the tag.

My body was sent to landfill,
Discarded, cast adrift,
My life cut short, forgotten,
Because as a pup I'd been bought as a gift.

Old 07-11-2014, 04:38 PM   #2

Default Re: A dog's luck

nice one mate......well done.

may your day's be filled with smiles, your life be filled with love, may your children know nothing but happiness and joy, cherish the memory of those who strove before us for they cleared the way, spare a thought for those who serve we owe so much to so many, life and the freedom to enjoy it is a special gift that can be taken away far too soon!
Old 07-11-2014, 04:53 PM   #3
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

Very very well done mate, and sadly, so, so true.

It's heartbreaking to know that so many animals kept as pets, end up treated this way...

They have as much right to a long, healthy and happy life as we do.
OffRoadFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2014, 06:32 PM   #4
phat_stak_tipa

Great write up!

That really made me sad, and yeah too many dogs are a novelty, ADOPT DONT SHOP!

We rescued an 8 year old staffy x corgi she is now 10, such a lovely dog is very well trained and behaved and from how she still runs around and goes on daily walks, and pounces her toy like a pup, there is so much life in her, she is definitely part of the family, we work all day but give her plenty of attention, and she occasionally gets to sleep on the bed.

Il be gutted when she goes, but will rescue again.

Last edited by phat_stak_tipa; 07-11-2014 at 06:40 PM.
phat_stak_tipa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2014, 06:40 PM   #5
Tonz

In my business I see the end results, its heart warming to see so many owners where the dog/cat/chook/bird is part of the family, not like the slippy dip or swings outside, ready to be played with when the family is ready.

Well done with that poem its outstanding.
Old 07-11-2014, 07:34 PM   #6
BradEL

What an amazing poem, you really have a talent with having written that, it was unfortunately a very sad and touching thing to read. I hope people really do take something from this, I know it has made me think about things.
BradEL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2014, 09:51 PM   #7

Good on you. Both our dogs are rescue dogs and my wife and I have fostered maybe 100 or so over the past few years. Really ordinary to see how some people treat animals.

My GSD was the runt, made to sleep on concrete, didn't get fed much and was covered in fleas when we got him. He's now turned into the best dog we have ever had and has a fantastic nature, it took a lot of support and encouragement to get him to trust again but it was worth it. The sort of dog I trust around anyone from little kids through to older people. If he barks something is wrong, otherwise he's good as gold and VERY protective of our entire extended family.
Old 08-11-2014, 12:48 AM   #8

We had a pup offered/given to us years ago, a trucky mate was parked in a rest area up the hume hwy when he noticed a green bin bag moving where someone had just dropped/thrown him out the door/window(assoles !), im pretty sure he was chucked because we had to take him up the vet and get him fixed up..... he had a broken leg.

The dog was a german shepard/collie cross, it turned out to be an awesome dog, we had him 14 years before old age got the better of him and i had to get him put down, it sucks to be the man of the house sometimes.

great poem indeed.
Old 08-11-2014, 03:47 PM   #9
LG17

Great poem!

In the last couple of months we have 2 more dogs.
My wife saw a pup being thrown out of a ute so she rescued it.
A couple of weeks ago she rescued one which had obviously fallen out of a car and no-one noticed. Took it to the vet to get checked out and repaired and brought it home to look after while she was mending. We advertised everywhere (so did the vet), no-one came forth so she now has a good home along with the other dogs, horse and chooks.
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2014, 08:05 PM   #10

Thanks all, it wasn't easy to write with the death of our last dog, but as far as duration goes I'd written that over about 3-4 hours, it just came to me.

As for the issue of dogs (& cats, other pets) dumped at pounds, there seems to be a strange increase of both pets ending up at pounds, and people who adopt pound pets. Sadly the former still outpaces the latter.
Old 09-11-2014, 05:35 AM   #11
PG2
#neuteredlyfe

Ghia5L

That would have to be one of the best posts that I have ever read on this forum - great poem.

To put it quite simply, thank you.
PG2 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2014, 12:53 PM   #12
iCat
doof doof doof doof

Well spoken, and obviously from the heart. I wish there were more that showed this basic care and respect for our pets. They are not disposable.