Old 10-08-2011, 11:31 PM   #1
newi

Default Car for Motorkhana?

Hey guys,

I am keen to get involved in some Motorkhana/Autocross type events at my local car club and am interested to hear your thoughts as to what sorta cars you reckon would be a good proposition - as I don't feel like flogging my XR50T around (as fun as it could be).

I have seen all types of vehicles, FWD/RWD/AWD, OLD and NEW being used in these events.

I don't want to spent heaps ($3-4k or less?) and am keen to hear from those that know what works well and what doesnt.

It all looks like lots of fun!

ALSO - Car doesn't have to be a Ford - open to any suggestions!

Cheers!

Last edited by newi; 10-08-2011 at 11:44 PM.
newi is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2011, 11:58 PM   #2
Neale

Default Re: Car for Motorkhana?

Originally Posted by newi
Hey guys,

I am keen to get involved in some Motorkhana/Autocross type events at my local car club and am interested to hear your thoughts as to what sorta cars you reckon would be a good proposition - as I don't feel like flogging my XR50T around (as fun as it could be).

I have seen all types of vehicles, FWD/RWD/AWD, OLD and NEW being used in these events.

I don't want to spent heaps ($3-4k or less?) and am keen to hear from those that know what works well and what doesnt.

It all looks like lots of fun!

ALSO - Car doesn't have to be a Ford - open to any suggestions!

Cheers!
Motorkhana is great fun. I popped my motorkhana cherry recently & im hooked. Essentially its more about the driver than the car.

RWD looks more fun, but the general concensus was anything small & FWD, like a suzuki swift, laser, etc was the quickest.

But keep in mind if you join a club that does motorsport & has historic rego you could buy a car thats over 30 years old, so anything older than 1981 & get cheap rego to take it to events if you dont have a car trailer.

Also what club are you part of????
Neale is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2011, 01:57 AM   #3

there`s an engineer on you tube with an old fiat , he posts footage of his little fiat, it looks like great fun, i don`t think he`s spent a lot of dough on it just time http://www.youtube.com/user/fiatnutz#p/u/5/e9QJZiHhFR4
or for something more serious
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TshF...eature=related
is this along the lines you wish to participate in?
Old 11-08-2011, 10:33 AM   #4
Bad Bird
Watts a panhard.

Some of the fastest motorkhana cars I've seen have been homemade "specials". And by special I mean things like FWD Corollas with extreme weight reduction via panel removal. That said, you will probably be moved to a class where you'll be up against Caterhams and other tiny cars.
Old 11-08-2011, 10:38 AM   #5
Andy777

there is a few options in taht 3-4k bracket

mk2 escort 2lt
ae71 corollas

the late 80's early 90s corolla sx (twin cam 100kw version)
swift GTi's
Andy777 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2011, 12:37 PM   #6
El Venom
normality is boring

I would say go with an AE82 Toyota corrola from the late eighties with the twin cam motor. They are light, parts a usually easy to find and apparently they are a very good handling FWD car

Factory v8 with turbonetics 67mm turbo, haltech ecu, aeromotive and raceworks fuel system, cobra intake and a few custom bits thrown in
El Venom is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2011, 12:40 PM   #7
brenx

My friends and I have purchased a Datsun 1600 with an fj20 engine in it to use for the same purpose. It's got a little work to go but at the moment few of us have the $ to complete it at this stage.

Tuned by Hallam Performance
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2011, 01:11 PM   #8
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 

Anything not too large, and manual.

I did some WA Motokahan events in a standard E49 Charger on skinny rubber and used to beat half the WRX boys :-)
Old 11-08-2011, 01:54 PM   #9
EF Hoon
Sideways in my 33!

Skyline R32 turbo manual.

maybe wont be the fastest but heaps of fun!
EF Hoon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2011, 02:09 PM   #10
XYGTHO
FORD FREAK

Yep could always build a special. My uncle has been racing longer than I can remember. Its just a tube chassis car with sheet metal sides (looks like he is sitting in a bath tub lol) with a VW engine in the back. Its forward and revesre only I think or might be 2sp. It costs him nothing now and he is very competitive. Its basically a gocart but bigger.
Old 11-08-2011, 02:51 PM   #11
Grippy
Racing improves the breed

Keep an eye out at www.my105.com.au, plenty of bargains pop up with lots of the good gear you will need.

Grippy

1964 Mini Cooper S Historic Group Nb Touring car

Victorian Hill Climb Championship
Grippy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2011, 04:23 PM   #12

Mini Moke!

Old 11-08-2011, 09:33 PM   #13
XRtowcar
Mustang GT mmmmmm......

Any car with an LSD.
Old 12-08-2011, 08:43 AM   #14
Jimmyd

RWD is more fun - cheap way in would be a R31 Skyline manual
Jimmyd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2011, 08:49 AM   #15
michael_ozzie
Consistently Dusty

I just recently bought an 86 Nissan Pintara for my local Autocross racing, and although everyone ridicules it, it is old enough for club rego, insurance, and purchase for under $1000 (which will also include CAMS licence and Club membership). Cheap racing!

HD Tow Bar, Rear Airbags, Reversing Camera & Trans Cooler
michael_ozzie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2011, 03:54 PM   #16

Small 4cyl cars are good, you don't need top speed just 'chuckability

In your price range an early Escort or Datsun 1600 were amongst the best balanced small cars...that's why they were so popular as Rally cars.
Old 12-08-2011, 05:01 PM   #17
sneaky

it hurts me to say, but what about a MX5? small, rear wheel drive, light, cheap?

just had a look at carpoint.com.au and they start at $5k... so it won't work for your $3-$4k budget

Last edited by sneaky; 12-08-2011 at 05:06 PM. Reason: adding more
sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2011, 07:34 PM   #18
fatcorty

Escort all the way
fatcorty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2011, 08:01 PM   #19
XRtowcar
Mustang GT mmmmmm......

Got it.
325 Bmw.
Fit an LSD and you have a winner.
Old 13-08-2011, 03:16 PM   #20
mash again

probably got most things ya need, vw golf tarmac rally special under 4k. http://www.vwwatercooled.org.au/foru...car-58855.html $3100, in ipswitch qld

Last edited by mash again; 13-08-2011 at 03:17 PM. Reason: found price
mash again is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2011, 04:42 PM   #21

Ford Festiva, the 1.5L manual ones.

Spend the extra $2K left on suspension/bushes/swaybar because they handle like a cruise ship in factory guise, floats and body rolls.

They weigh under 1000kg in standard form, plenty light enough. I think its 965kg or something I remember reading in the manual.
Old 13-08-2011, 05:24 PM   #22

What about a FWD TX3 hatchback Laser? Can be had relatively cheap, BPT turbo engine fits in easy if you can find one, they're light and parts are cheap and plentiful!
Old 13-08-2011, 05:27 PM   #23

Just found this which would be great for it

http://www.my105.com/ListingDetails/...3/Default.aspx
Old 13-08-2011, 06:50 PM   #24
XRtowcar
Mustang GT mmmmmm......

Ehh front wheel drive.
Ever motorkhaned a FWD.
Yeah they're quicker usually, but not as much fun.
Much rather drift around cones.
My RX7 turbo was a great Khana car.
Independant rear suspension, LSD, bags of power.
Won class championship.
Bit over your budget though.
Old 13-08-2011, 07:42 PM   #25
Neale

Originally Posted by XRtowcar
Ehh front wheel drive.
Ever motorkhaned a FWD.
Yeah they're quicker usually, but not as much fun.
Much rather drift around cones.
My RX7 turbo was a great Khana car.
Independant rear suspension, LSD, bags of power.
Won class championship.
Bit over your budget though.

Sure have in my focus, did pretty well aswell. There are ways of geting the tail out on FWD.

At the end of the day though its more about driver skill than the car type
Neale is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2011, 12:52 AM   #26
v8falconsrule
Blue ~oval~ Blooded!!!

i always thought an ea-ed would make a pretty decent 'khana car. relatively light, cheap to buy, easy to work on, can fit newer motors in (if class rules allow) and plentiful parts supply. also if you throw it into a wall, no ones gonna leave a horses head in your bed at night..

50th Anniv G6E Turbo in Sensation
Cobalt blue 94 ED XR8 Sprint- resto/ project
v8falconsrule is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post