View Poll Results: Whst's the best working class beer in Australia?
Tooheys 22 9.69%
Victoria Bitter 29 12.78%
XXXX 25 11.01%
Carlton Draught 33 14.54%
Fosters 4 1.76%
Some other beer that I'm gunna abuse the thread starter for not including 114 50.22%
Voters: 227. You may not vote on this poll

Old 26-04-2007, 07:25 PM   #1
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Default What's a good beer?

Hey I'm a big fan of tooheys beer but I need to find something my missus will drink also.

I bought some barossa valley beestings but apparently they aren't sweet enough.

Any Ideas?

sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 07:27 PM   #2
xdc351
X-Series Club Moderator

Sweet beer? Try going softer instead of sweeter... say a stella or a redback crystal.

Anything but tooheys or CUB really!
xdc351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 07:31 PM   #3
T3man

Best thing to do for your missus is make her a shandy - start at 50% beer 50% lemonade (or lemon squash even). You can buy the cheapest nastiest beer you can find and it will still taste nice and sweet to her. And that way you can keep all the good stuff (XXXX Bitter) to yourself.
T3man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 07:36 PM   #4

XXXX gold. Or a new one I tried, and I think it was on A current Affair last night, is Blue tounge. Bloody beautiful.
Old 26-04-2007, 07:37 PM   #5

Try Beez Neez if it's for the Missus. A lot of girls seem to like Coronas....

Old 26-04-2007, 07:38 PM   #6
'63Deluxe
Irregular Member

I find free beer the best

Other than that I drink XXXX gold or Pure Blond
'63Deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 07:41 PM   #7
jason_85

Bondi Blonde or Hahn Super Dry, both extremely easy to drink and also Low Carb

Would choose them over Pure Blonde any day.

OR maybe she could have an acquired taste for Guiness
jason_85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 07:41 PM   #8
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

XXXX Gold... Good As Gold...
Old 26-04-2007, 07:43 PM   #9
jason_85

Originally Posted by XRated
Try Beez Neez if it's for the Missus. A lot of girls seem to like Coronas....
I think girls only like coronas cause they are expensive hahaha

i still reckon any beer tastes like a corona once you stick a slice of lemon in it! haha
Old 26-04-2007, 07:57 PM   #10
Outbackjack
Central to all beach's

One of the best Australian beers is James Boags. Everything else pales into mediocrity compared to this. But it all comes down to what you like.
Old 26-04-2007, 08:00 PM   #11

Coronas are watered down and flavourless. People only buy them because they are ridiculously overpriced. The whole lemon in the bottle is a stupid gimmick that people fall for. Among beer enthusiasts, it's not regarded highly in general as it is too weak and too expensive. The same goes for Crown Lagers, except in this case, the flavour sucks.

I just want to say that working class beers are generally very poor quality. Laden with yummy chemicals. For not much more, you can get the beers below (except Hoegaarden, which is a little more, but well worth it). I also want to state that "working class beers" is a case of perception/opinion, not fact.
I would rather people know who I am, rather than put on an image.

If you get Stella Artois, DO NOT buy the one brewed under license in Australia. It's crap. The imported Stella Artois is light, bubbly and very, very clean. The Australian brewed one leaves an awful aftertaste behind for too long. It's a dirty beer.

Hoegaarden is a fastastic beer. By memory, it's a wheat beer and it VERY highly regarded amonst beer enthusiasts. It has a slight citrus flavour to me. I've had a few and they're superior to Beez Neez and Redbacks, which are also wheat beers. Beez Neez are very good though.

Grand Ridge Brewery, James Squire and some Cascade ales are also very good.

For a cheaper beer, Coopers make some good stuff too. Far better than CUB, XXXX or Tooheys IMO. Sparkling Ale is nice. Pale ale (mid?) is also ok.

Beer from the mass-produced breweries is generally of a low quality. Coincidentally, most of the ones you listed fall under this category.
Old 26-04-2007, 08:01 PM   #12
Green X

Man’s beer, EMU Export. LOL

Cracking a can of Fosters is a sure way to start a conversation I have found, Along the Lines of “****** you drink that” LOL.
Green X is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:01 PM   #13
FlipXW

hunter draught or bluetounge is pretty good. Favourite has to be carlton premium dry or extra dry
FlipXW is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:01 PM   #14

Originally Posted by Outbackjack
One of the best Australian beers is James Boags. Everything else pales into mediocrity compared to this. But it all comes down to what you like.
Depends if you want Lager or ales.

If you want a full range which includes ales, then James Squire, Cascade and Grand Ridge are superior.

But Boags Premium is probably the best Premium Lager in Australia IMO. Forget the crap on a Crownie, "Australia's Finest." Gold paper and a lie do not make a good beer.
Old 26-04-2007, 08:03 PM   #15
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Thanks, i reckon i will give them a try.

Last time we were at the pub she bought a schooner of pure blonde and i had 2 finish it :togo:
sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:04 PM   #16
XCSEDAN
i'm baaaack....

WHERE'S THE CORONA!!!!
OR THE HANHS SUPER DRY!!!!
geeez man, get your act together! :P
XCSEDAN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:05 PM   #17
Van D

We just had a beer thread didn't we? =/
Van D is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:10 PM   #18
DayTE

Premium Beer James Boag premium
Working class Boags Draught
Light Don't know. Don't drink it enough to give an opinion
Low Carb Pure Blonde I think it's called. Carlton United make it

Other notables. Boags Strongarm, full of flavour and just a touch stronger than some of the other regular beers. It's my favourite beer.
Tooheys Extra Dry isn't bad and the Platinum has quite a kick after half a dozen

Yes, I'm from Tassie so I'm biased, but most people are about beers from their home state. But Beer is made mainly from water and Tassie has some of the purest water in the country so it stands to reason that we have some of the best beers!!
DayTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:12 PM   #19
adrianb

Get her some Kriek - a cherry beer from belgium (bit spendy tho). Yeh, or BeezNeez which I reckon is a crap beer with honey in it but its definitely sweet.

Coopers, James Squires and Gage Roads are awesome aussie beers! Also Redback on tap with some lemon in it on a hot day is the S H I T!

Stella is crap imported or otherwise - in europe its classed as wifebeater stuff.

For a mad range of beers have a look at www.internationalbeershop.com.au in Perth. Used to love living 5 mins from there - if anyone knows of a similar place in Melbourne let me know! Windhoek from Namibia is prolly one of my favourite beers - who'd have thought Namibia knew how to make beer!
Old 26-04-2007, 08:13 PM   #20
5L
[ 5L ]

xtra dry platinums, if you plan on having a fun night. best tasting beer though would have to boags premium,

very un south australian i know but coopers paleys which used to be my favourite i can no longer drink, i think its something to do with to many bad mornings from the night before. i find these give me the worst hangovers.
[ 5L ] 2001 AU series 2 xr8, 220kw, 5speed, leather interior, premium sound, narooma blue, cat back exhaust, k&n filter,willall edit,MSD coil packs, MSD leads, monroe gt gas shocks, superlow kingsprings 187rwkw (mainline)

www.ignitionimages.com
5L is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:16 PM   #21
RIPGMH

Pure Blonde, that way you can tell your mates at work you and the missus had half a dozen blondes last nite.
RIPGMH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:16 PM   #22
jason_85

Originally Posted by AUXR8220
xtra dry platinums, if you plan on having a fun night. best tasting beer though would have to boags premium,

very un south australian i know but coopers paleys which used to be my favourite i can no longer drink, i think its something to do with to many bad mornings from the night before. i find these give me the worst hangovers.

tooooooo many big nights on the platinums!
Old 26-04-2007, 08:18 PM   #23

Originally Posted by adrianb
Get her some Kriek - a cherry beer from belgium (bit spendy tho). Yeh, or BeezNeez which I reckon is a crap beer with honey in it but its definitely sweet.

Coopers, James Squires and Gage Roads are awesome aussie beers! Also Redback on tap with some lemon in it on a hot day is the S H I T!
Kriek is like 8-9 a bottle in Dan Murphy's. Not the kind of beer you drink alone. Best shared I reckon.

Gage Roads make some decent ones. WA brewery. Unheralded in VIC but certainly not crap.

If you want a "working class beer", I reckon Abbotsford Invalid Stout is excellent. It is relatively cheap (1.70-$2) and is an excellent stout. Great coffee/chocolate flavour.
Old 26-04-2007, 08:19 PM   #24
The Mighty Red

Coopers Pale Ale , xxxx Gold
Old 26-04-2007, 08:19 PM   #25
Outbackjack
Central to all beach's

Originally Posted by uranium_death
Depends if you want Lager or ales.

If you want a full range which includes ales, then James Squire, Cascade and Grand Ridge are superior.

But Boags Premium is probably the best Premium Lager in Australia IMO. Forget the crap on a Crownie, "Australia's Finest." Gold paper and a lie do not make a good beer.
You are rite. I should have said Boags premium. When we go fishing up north (king ash bay) we get through heaps of this stuff and never have a hang over. That is another advavtage of a quality beer. As long as you keep your water intake up, no hang over. The odd beroca helps as well.
Old 26-04-2007, 08:20 PM   #26

Originally Posted by XYSEDAN
WHERE'S THE CORONA!!!!
OR THE HANHS SUPER DRY!!!!
geeez man, get your act together! :P
Not worth the price :P
But each to their own!
Old 26-04-2007, 08:22 PM   #27
tickford2001

being the grog ordering bloke at work, i keep a tab on what the chickies are drinking, and at the moment the girls at work are on Bavaria bandwagon. Its not a bad drop, and for imported beer its bloody cheap at $27.99 a slab

the ones that dont drink that are on carlsberg, but frankly i would rather the bavaria...and the price is much nicer ;)

I was drinking holandia for a while, but one day i woke up and decided its crap!

Has anyone been to the St Arnou in Little Collins Melbourne and tried their brews? A couple of them are bloody fantastic.
Old 26-04-2007, 08:22 PM   #28
robjh80

Have a look at this site, might get some ideas from it?

http://www.tastebeer.com.au/

I usually drink Carlton Mid myself although I dont mind most beers except that XXXX rubbish they brew up here in Brisbane, I find it far too "gassy" for my liking.
robjh80 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2007, 08:29 PM   #29

Originally Posted by tickford2001
the ones that dont drink that are on carlsberg, but frankly i would rather the bavaria...and the price is much nicer ;)
Carlsberg is now a terrible lager (I have never had the imported one) because it is brewed under license by Lion-Nathan in Australia. It was very poor and dirty (bad flavour)
Old 26-04-2007, 08:35 PM   #30
FalconXR6

NOTHING beats a Boags Draught.

Crownie, St George, xxxx, etc, etc aint got **** on The Draught.
FalconXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post