You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 23-11-2010, 04:41 PM   #1
Blue_XR

Default Holden Camarodore?

Something else to add to the chevy badges....

A new custom conversion kit allows Commodore owners to Camaro-ise their car.

Love it or hate it, the modern day interpretation of the classic Chevrolet Camaro is a head-turner – and it’s a face Aussies could be seeing a lot more of.

Victorian engineer Luke Bromidge has developed a new US-flavoured conversion kit for Australia’s best sellingcar, the Holden Commodore.

The 24-year-old spent three months developing the Chevrolet Camaro-inspired front-end, which he has now fitted to his own car, a Holden SS Ute.
Advertisement: Story continues below

The kit uses genuine General Motors parts, as the Camaro is based on the same underpinnings as Holden’s locally built Commodore range.

Though he’s only finished one vehicle so far, Bromidge says the kit will cost about $9000 for a drive in/drive out service, which will include the fitment and painting of the parts.

The kit can be fitted to all VE Commodores (2006-present), and Bromidge says that standing out from the Commodore crowd will be a big incentive for customers.

“I’ve had a few calls on the kits already,” he says. “Two guys that own SS VE Sportwagons have called me, and they’re interested in it.

"I haven’t even advertised the kit yet, but I’ve seen it on the internet in a few different places. I haven’t even marketed it under a business name yet!”
“The kits will go on any VE Commodore, be it wagon, sedan or ute,” he says.

“Most of the parts are factory GM parts – the bumper bar, the bonnet, the grille, the headlights everything like that,” says Bromidge. “We’ve just developed the guards and the mounting brackets.”

Whether General Motors or Holden will appreciate Bromidge’s offering is not yet known, but he says he’s done nothing wrong in offering Holden enthusiasts the chance to indulge in a bit of Chevy love.

“I haven’t advertised it as a new Commodore kit, or a new Chevrolet kit. I’ve just called it a custom front kit. It’s just using factory parts, so I can’t see [that Holden or GM] would have a problem with it.”

Holden spokesman Jonathan Rose says although Bromidge’s imaginative interpretation is impressive, the company warns modifiers of the potential downsides to giving their car’s a unique look.

“It's a really creative job but of course we can't vouch for the parts, workmanship or structural integrity of the modification as it's non-genuine,” says Rose.

“It's also likely that customers who modified their car this way would encounter warranty issues,” he says. “The modification is non-genuine and parts would not be validated for that particular body style. They are genuine Camaro parts, not designed to accompany another vehicle.

“While we certainly appreciate the enthusiasm for GM products that has gone into this modification, it's fair to say that a Camaro-themed ute won't be coming off our production line,” says Rose.
http://smh.drive.com.au/motor-news/h...123-184zd.html :

YouTube channel: Modaufy Garage
https://www.youtube.com/c/ModaufyGarage
Blue_XR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 04:54 PM   #2
psychoticgroove
SRT

No No NO NO NO NO NO NO...... and NO

His- 2014 Jeep GC SRT
Her- 2012 Territory TS TDCI
psychoticgroove is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 05:04 PM   #3

you watch every hero with a base spec VE ute will go out and get this kit and plaster it with chev badges.

Old 23-11-2010, 05:06 PM   #4
Poetic Justice
NOT A TOYOTA :/

Heh I saw this car out on the street the other day and wondered wtf. Was surprised to see it on autoblog too!

Car is located somewhere in Lilydale, Melbourne
Old 23-11-2010, 05:13 PM   #5
glavas

i love my commodores but i hate chev badges and i hate this new kit. its all made by GM for gods sake may as well put a gm badge on it. whats wrong with the bloody lion anyway????? i love it. australian pride!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the bowtie is good when its on a real chev car. rebadging is the devil.

SHUT THIS THREAD DOWN PLEASE ITS GUNNA GET UGLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and 9 grand????? dear god id rather use that towards are blower or cam...
glavas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 05:21 PM   #6
stang65
FPRJET

I don`t think it looks bad, credit for having a go.
stang65 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 05:26 PM   #7
Mark351
Built Ford Tough

What happened to the guy that was grafting the Mustang front end to a Falcon?
Mark351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 05:31 PM   #8
Ryan

The kit can be fitted to all VE Commodores (2006-present), and Bromidge says that standing out from the Commodore crowd will be a big incentive for customers.
The problem with that is once it catches on you'll see them everywhere. That's why I hate when people that say with Chevs badges on their Commodores they do it to be "unique". In actual fact it's less common to find a modified late model Commodore still with its Holden badges.

The conversion looks good, but stuff paying 9K for it. I would rather buy a factory 5L VL Calais for that much.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 05:33 PM   #9
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

Looks great, but I'd hate to rely on the airbags or warranty repair after it

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
GreenMachine is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 05:33 PM   #10

9k??? Can't see too many Holden boys forking over that much dough for a front end cosmetic change...
Old 23-11-2010, 06:10 PM   #11

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by Mark351
What happened to the guy that was grafting the Mustang front end to a Falcon?
Well people like it...

...turns out doing the same thing to a holden is a "fail"

Looks good, just needs a rear end kit for sedans, its a shame that they couldn't work a HK style grill or something similar.

Old 23-11-2010, 06:12 PM   #12

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Originally Posted by GreenMachine
but I'd hate to rely on the airbags
Airbags should be fine as the mods don't effect the chassis rails and airbag sensor points, it would be no worse then aftermarket bumpers, or a bull bar.

Old 23-11-2010, 06:25 PM   #13
ThaFlash
Trusted Seller

i reckon that's awsome, not only do i get to spank a ve ss but a camaro aswell wooohooo
ThaFlash is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 06:27 PM   #14

F yeah! That looks awesome. Credit to who ever made that.
Old 23-11-2010, 06:35 PM   #15
Fireblade
Wizard Member

I love it, looks like a well made kit, kudos to the maker Certainly puts a refreshing look to the VE.
Old 23-11-2010, 06:36 PM   #16
BAFalconXT
Sold...

It looks different and uses factory made parts. I think the special edition SS Commodore that looked like the Pontiac was $5000 more than the SS-V which is $5000 more than SS. It makes $9000 look cheap.
Old 23-11-2010, 06:44 PM   #17
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

Needs to be supplied with a set of El Camino badges...

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
GreenMachine is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 06:50 PM   #18
rjk74

I wonder if he got inspiration from the 70s when they tacked Trans-Am fronts onto HQs.
rjk74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 06:56 PM   #19

that looks sick!....way better than the VE's.... id have one!
job well done IMO
Old 23-11-2010, 07:14 PM   #20
Giant Cranium
PURSUIT 250

looks great but id like to see it in one colour.
Giant Cranium is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 07:31 PM   #21

I love it.

Old 23-11-2010, 07:37 PM   #22
mash again

mustang front on a BA! like to see that
mash again is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 07:38 PM   #23

I think it is a perfect depiction of holden nirvana and should be standard on all commodores.

And Epicas

And Captivas

And Barinas

And............
Old 23-11-2010, 07:47 PM   #24
cheek

I reckon it looks awesome, looks a heck of alot better then the pontiac front end.
cheek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 07:53 PM   #25
Raptor
^^^^^^^^

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For quietly going about moderating in a fair and even manner. 

Originally Posted by mash again
mustang front on a BA! like to see that
How about an AU => Mustang Front On My Ute
Old 23-11-2010, 08:07 PM   #26

It certaintly is different, I don't know if I like it or not, can't decide.
Old 23-11-2010, 08:10 PM   #27
WAR40T
EL GHIA LIFE

I love it, looks great. Would love to see it all one colour tho, maybe yellow or black with big brakes and camaro 20s

HERITAGE GREEN EL GHIA, ROH MODENA WHEELS, /////ALPINE AUDIO, PEDDERS XA COILOVER'S
WAR40T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 08:11 PM   #28
Bundy
All Ford Club Life Member

Well I like it, heaps better effort then the bogans at HSV with the rice they out with , gay audi wannabe lookin things

Worked AU XR8 Ute - Toy

Std FG XR6T Ute - Daily

Supercharged BA 6 Ute - Wife's daily

351W F150 93 XLT 4x4 Supercab
Bundy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2010, 08:24 PM   #29
Elks

Originally Posted by stang65
I don`t think it looks bad, credit for having a go.
Agreed.

Its not my thing but i reckon its cool, and the 2 tone paint works a treat.
Old 23-11-2010, 10:47 PM   #30
Mark351
Built Ford Tough

Well people like it...

...turns out doing the same thing to a holden is a "fail"

Looks good, just needs a rear end kit for sedans, its a shame that they couldn't work a HK style grill or something similar.
Yeah, cos the 'Mustang' ute was full of win. I don't mind the Camaro ute at all.
Mark351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post