You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 13-03-2012, 11:58 PM   #1
EDManual

Cool Sad scene today. Poor old bloke...

You hear about people getting too old to drive, and maybe we see the odd real slow oldie getting around, or our grandma giving up after some prodding.

Today I went down to the boat ramp in Geelong, just watching a few boats coming in and chatting to the owners about boats and fish, when this old bloke (maybe 80) straight out of the 60's comes in in his brown speed machine. Looked mighty cool I must say! All in perfect nick, nice clothes on himself too.

Anyway he goes to get his matching XW ute in original condition to pick up the classic boat. Man they went together great! And the brown trailer (with registration sticker from 1972 still stuck to the side!

I Dont think the boat has been in the water since 1972! I bet the ute and boat were bought new!

Anyway he tried and tried and tried to back the trailer down. A fair few blokes offered advice on how to do it, he wanted to do it himself. I and others offered to do it for him. Nope, he was adament. He was aiming the trailer down the pontoon, jackknifing. Finally he let another fella hop in and back it down after at least 20 minutes. I heard him saying I used to be able to do it etc etc. Sad day for him as a bloke, you could see his frustration and I guess embarassment. Was VERY hard for him to take help.

We all think that we can drive forever, I guess we cant :-(

EDManual is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:06 AM   #2

Default Re: Sad scene today. Poor old bloke...

Awww..that made me feel a little sad for him. :(

I find it hard now, not being able to do some of the things I could once do when I was younger.

Growing old happens to us all....if we are lucky enough.
Old 14-03-2012, 12:09 AM   #3

must be a bugger getting old.

i hope that it has broken his spirit and he can keep up his boat trips.
Old 14-03-2012, 12:16 AM   #4
GTpilot
FG GT 5.4 w/ additions!

wow, just wow, think of al the memories he must hav taking the kids/ gran kids out skiing and fishing in that rig.
boat and car are both perfect, both just awesome.
GTpilot is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:17 AM   #5

Thank God, as I was reading I was waiting for "...and then it all slid into the water".
And how cool is that little boat.
Old 14-03-2012, 12:24 AM   #6

Now have a think how he got the boat in the water in the first place............
Old 14-03-2012, 12:38 AM   #7
FPVF6X201
Formerly FPVwannabe

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Slotted front rotors for the TTG write-up and pics. 

I reckon quite a few people would have difficulty in a single lane ramp like that. Good on him for giving it a go, and for accepting help when he couldnt.

Borla ATAK axle back exhaust.
Hawk ceramic brake pads.
CLStech Ribbon DRL mod.
X Lume illuminated grille badge.
Injen CAI.
FPVF6X201 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:39 AM   #8
JG65TE

That's the stuff. Hope he don't use the interweb. I personally would have at least removed his rego. Reckon he feels bad enough without people comin up n sayin seen you on the web, ya can't back a trailer for love nor money.
JG65TE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:40 AM   #9
stevz

Originally Posted by jaydee
Thank God, as I was reading I was waiting for "...and then it all slid into the water".
And how cool is that little boat.
That's exactly what I was thinking!
stevz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:46 AM   #10

So glad it wasnt ditched into salt water!

PS: Looks like an XT
gcg2503 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 01:04 AM   #11

I am a nurse and what I have seen, makes me wonder what life is all about.
Couple reach their eighties one gets dementia the other doesn't. Its so sad.
What you saw today, the old guy probably has taken his boat out hundreds of times, with the wife and kids. Probably wanted to do it for one last time, but couldn't, life's cruel. Stories like that make me sad....hope he did get to go out in his boat.....
Old 14-03-2012, 01:11 AM   #12

What a sweet old XR ute. Very well looked after and good to see him out and about enjoying life at his age

Old 14-03-2012, 01:15 AM   #13
XB GS 351 Coupe

Old men were young once as well, soon that might be us, time goes so fast unfortunatly....

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

XB GS 351 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 01:37 AM   #14
Spammy

Cool how the gold trim on the boat sort of matches the colour of his ute.

Great retro set - looks like a Matchbox toy car & boat set from the 60s.
Spammy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 02:15 AM   #15

it is sad to see people get to that stage when it gets hard to do the things we take for granted, the guy was probably an old school very skilled tradey in earlier years, it`s funny we go to school learning stuff but there`s just no training for getting old, it starts to hit home your getting up there when you start burying relatives :(.
Old 14-03-2012, 04:43 AM   #16
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

Good nick that ute.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 07:51 AM   #17
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

Good old guy, good old ute. Nice to see cars like this in the streets of my town.
nuthin' fancy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 10:13 AM   #18

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Love his ute!!
Old 14-03-2012, 10:25 AM   #19
Cam
Stroking it...

Pretty sad story, would be a tough thing for someone that age (and from that era) to accept that they can are no longer capable of doing something seemingly simple like putting his boat in the water. Hope it hasn't deterred him, because i reakon good on him for giving it a go, and not just sitting in a nursing home waiting for the inevitable..
Now: Busted assed EB Wagon - 5sp and Dual Fuel.
Cam is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 10:26 AM   #20
jcxr
Tribal Elder

The cheapest source of entertainment, is to go to a boat ramp and watch people endeavoring to reverse their trailers into the water, age has not much to do with the complete lack of ability in most instances.
jcxr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 11:14 AM   #21

good on him . sometimes the mind can be the same as when your 30 , but your body is 80 . remember though that at that age how many people on the planet born in his year are still on it . and how many can attempt that . i'm impressed with the guy . feeling embarrassed suggests he is a little pompas !!! . some people have to start giving things up at 1/2 his age and accept things and get on with it . very pleased for this guy and anyone like him .
Old 14-03-2012, 12:07 PM   #22
big_landau

nice xr,love the pic
big_landau is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:27 PM   #23
EDManual

yes good on him! Hope he tries again, even if he does take someone with him to help.

Yep, looks like a retro matchbox set!
EDManual is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:31 PM   #24
TMC
SY TS AWD LPG TEZZA

My XF ute doesn't look a patch on that XR. I hope he enjoyed his outing on the water.
4th car 90 XF ute (work car)
5th car 06 SY TS AWD Territory Orbital LPi
6th car 95 XG ute
7th car 2014 SZ Territory TX Petrol
Fords all my life.
TMC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 12:58 PM   #25

I guess when he had the boat on the trailer he could see which way it was going but when it is off he has no sight of the trailer. Good on him anyway I hope he had a good day out.
Old 14-03-2012, 01:07 PM   #26

That is very cool, and good that people helped out. I can understand how it would be frustrating to "loose" the skill...if you dont do it often its tricky.

Great ute and boat combo though.
Old 14-03-2012, 01:27 PM   #27

Originally Posted by dave351cid
must be a bugger getting old.
It is, especially when you see all these bikini clad girls and.....
Old 14-03-2012, 01:30 PM   #28
macman

It's an XR Falcon 500 ute.

Nice old boat too. I'm on the hunt for a timber inboard ski/speed boat too.
macman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-03-2012, 02:08 PM   #29

We will all be in the same boat (no pun intended) one day and need to realise that loosing your licence because your too old to drive will mean a huge hit to self esteem and independance.

My old man drove until he passed away (88yrs old) though the last few yrs his driving was suffering (reactions a bit slow) and i was torn about his independance and telling him not to drive anymore.

Old 14-03-2012, 02:33 PM   #30
kaniSS
BIG MEMBER ;)

Holy **** Evinrude 140 on that little thing. This old bloke must be a speed machine.