Old 15-05-2009, 02:59 PM   #1
jphanna

Default slot car sets - own up if you had/got one

For those that are over 30 years old, well before XBox, PS2, WII..etc, the main form of indoor entertainment for me and most of my friends back then was a slot car set. if you were not so rich, you had a 'no name' brand that you could get from most Toy stores etc, and took 4 D cell batteries. If your parents had a bit more cash, you got AFX or scalextric with a transformer (never ending power!). i only gave mine away a few years ago to a neighbor, and i bitterly regret that now. i may ask for it back...

Own up all you X generationers...

FG XR6 (son)
jphanna is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 03:06 PM   #2
Busted

scalextric here. Still have it around my old mans place. He will not let it out of the house.
He picked up from the dump a few years back the whole track from a old shop that closed down. Still reconds he's going to get it going in the shed one day but I don't know where he's going to find the room. Theres about 10 cars in there.
Busted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 03:11 PM   #3
Springfield_Johny

I had one of the no name sets, gave me hours of entertainment tho & made me popular with mates too. Wish I had the room for a half decent set now. They are still really popular if you ever see one of the 8 track ones at a car show.

ahh those were the days, when you had to actually go and play cricket in the street or kick a footy down the oval instead of plugging a game into a game consul

Daily drive 2010 Mitsubishi triton single cab turbo diesel

1968 XT Falcon (project yet to be started)
Springfield_Johny is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 03:12 PM   #4
BIGJB

Scalextric rock. I loved these as a kid.... as an adult.... hey who am
I kidding I still do. : Don't have one now as I have progressed to
nitro rc cars instead but no doubt I will end up with one again in the future.
BIGJB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 03:19 PM   #5
alecrain
'03 BA XT

My father (~50 years old, living in US) just got two tracks :
and built the whole scenery around it, now it can't leave the room as the whole thing assembled won't fit through the door :1syellow1

Beautiful Photography Blog

2003 BA XT
IMPCO SVI - TYPHOON CAI +XR6T snorkel - K&N Panel Filter - DBA Slotties - Tint

1998 Toyota Landcruiser Prado

www.bseries.com.au/alecrain

People that drive slower than ME are BAD DRIVERS,
People that drive faster are IDIOTS
alecrain is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 03:19 PM   #6
DJL351
XR & FPV Owner

Nah - That stuff is too small...... we've got a track like this in WA.

2005 BF GT (6sp manual - Build #183)
2015 SZ MkII Territory Titanium
2016.75 LZ Focus Sport

probably the stupidist post on aff - congrats
There was once a time when every young man in this country was familiar with firearms and many owned them privately along with a stock of ammo and some bush gear.

Now the best we can hope for is to unfriend them on facebook then SMS their commanders with !!!1!!!!!!11!1!! and then finally plank a tank.......
DJL351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 03:35 PM   #7
PimpMyHubcap
You wanna do what??

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Article supplied on BA IRS oil change 

Love them.

Still "help" the kids with theirs :

Mick

Cleaning wheelie bins-
Cats are good too. Fill to about 20cm with water, add soap and cat. Hold lid firmly closed for two minutes. Be sure to stand well clear when releasing cat.

All Whirlpool gold.
PimpMyHubcap is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 03:41 PM   #8
jphanna

you have just hit the holy grail of the slot car world....the mighty internationally acclaimed BLUE KING.

i raced at the REDLINE raceway in Adelaide's Blue King from 1990 to about 1999. 2 Australain Championships in Flexi cars and group 12. I also raced at Penrith (NSW), Tullermarine (Vic) & Sale (Vic)

do those classes still exist? do you race Wing cars or sedans?
FG XR6 (son)
Old 15-05-2009, 04:05 PM   #9
DJL351
XR & FPV Owner

Originally Posted by jphanna
you have just hit the holy grail of the slot car world....the mighty internationally acclaimed BLUE KING.

i raced at the REDLINE raceway in Adelaide's Blue King from 1990 to about 1999. 2 Australain Championships in Flexi cars and group 12. I also raced at Penrith (NSW), Tullermarine (Vic) & Sale (Vic)

do those classes still exist? do you race Wing cars or sedans?
Oh yeah!

The body types change all the time...

Standards
Supers
Box motors
Group 12/15
Vintage stuff too.

State champ for Super and Open Supers for a couple of years.

Only one place left in WA, in a suburb called Maddington.

For those that have not seen these things go..... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JphO7WeYhIU
2005 BF GT (6sp manual - Build #183)
2015 SZ MkII Territory Titanium
2016.75 LZ Focus Sport

probably the stupidist post on aff - congrats
There was once a time when every young man in this country was familiar with firearms and many owned them privately along with a stock of ammo and some bush gear.

Now the best we can hope for is to unfriend them on facebook then SMS their commanders with !!!1!!!!!!11!1!! and then finally plank a tank.......

Last edited by DJL351; 15-05-2009 at 04:11 PM. Reason: Added link
DJL351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 04:08 PM   #10

never had anything big. Just AFX - i had mounds of fun - spraying the straight with deoderant or some sort of lubricant and watching the cars burnout and then fly off into the wall 10ft away hehehe
Old 15-05-2009, 04:12 PM   #11
jphanna

Originally Posted by DJL351
Oh yeah!

The body types change all the time...

Standards
Supers
Box motors
Group 12/15
Vintage stuff too.

State champ for Super and Open Supers for a couple of years.

Only one place left in WA, in a suburb called Maddington.

same in adelaide, a few 'underground wooden' tracks left, and a few 'shopfront' scalextrix tracks on other side of town to me which are too far for me. i miss my scalextric track which i gave away....
FG XR6 (son)
Old 15-05-2009, 04:30 PM   #12
Coyote mk3
Clutch Cable Killer

I got 2 AFX tracks that have ended up in the same box (bathurst and some loop thing) occasionally it will be set up but I haven't used it in a few years.
I am going to set up Bathurst one of these days but normally its just some thing with heaps of turns and a massive straight hehe.
HID projectors, lowered on King SL and Koni Shocks.

Daily - 2002 AUIII SR
Stock as she comes.

Coyote's EL XR6

^^Click Me^^

15.132@ 91.51 MPH

Photos by Me https://www.facebook.com/PhotosByMatthewWylie
Coyote mk3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 04:46 PM   #13
killerjoolz
KillerXR8

AFX Thunderloop Thriller here.....looking at it as I type this,although its not mine so to speak it was our daughters set,but will now be passed onto the grandson....lol

2009 TWEEKD FG XR8 IN SILHOUETTE
all mods done by Walter Markham from Oztek Performance
killerjoolz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 04:49 PM   #14

Yeah I had the plug in one that had 2 loops.

Loved fooling round with them, but setting them up on think pile carpet was always causing issues if I remember correctly haaa.
Old 15-05-2009, 04:51 PM   #15
Mr Brooksy
Youth worker

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Numerous helpful how-to's and sound advice! 

Im not Gen X, Im actualy Gen Y and I have 12m of AFX. Still have it, used to spend countless hours buying new shells and sanding them into a shape of a modern car (AFX were so bad at releasing up to date cars), and painting them. I got pretty good at it too. Then we used to go to the local AFX club and race on 8 lanes of tack approx 20-25m long. All made out of the basic two lane track pieces. Makes that tiny track called blue king look more like a blue speck! Was great fun!

I actually pulled it out a few days ago. Its seen better days!!

2011 SZ Territory

Old Futura thread:
Brooksy's Ex Build
Mr Brooksy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 05:27 PM   #16
Velociraptor82
Eat my Brake Dust

I got an old bathurst scalextric (2 mondeos painted in johnson and phil ward colours) and a newer scalextrix 4x4 wrc kit including a focus and wrx. here are some pics

http://members.westnet.com.au/veloci...?photocatid=24
Small Ford Sunday 2010 - Best Modified Car presented by the EuroFord Club

If I'm going to Hell, I'm going in a Ford

Velociraptor82 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 05:40 PM   #17
EDManual

I have 2 AFX bathurst sets, my old man has a great old set that I have too, and some spare track from some friends. All up must be 15 metres at least. Good fun, its a bit of up keep to keep all the electrics shiny though! And yeah, I like putting old 60s70s age tyres on the newer cars, sideways all the way!!
EDManual is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 06:06 PM   #18

Originally Posted by Mr Brooksy
.... used to spend countless hours buying new shells and sanding them into a shape of a modern car (AFX were so bad at releasing up to date cars), and painting them. I got pretty good at it too.
Sif you needed any other than the Sauber C9 and the Porsche 962!!!

I used to spend hours making new track designs and whatnot. We used to have fun taking the shells off the AFX cars and just racing as the bare chassis too.

Old 15-05-2009, 06:29 PM   #19
Powdered Toast Man
Professional Mouse Jockey

I had AFX because we couldn't afford Scaletrix.

Had the thunderloop thriller track. I remember many hours of pulling apart matchbox cars so that we could put the body shell on the AFX cars.

Long gone now.

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana. Groucho Marx
Powdered Toast Man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 06:42 PM   #20
Kieron

Yeah, got the Bathurst Thunder set with Betta Electrical Falc and Spud's Commodore.

A few of my family have previously got together with tracks and raced a few cars, couple of Slot.IT cars, Jaguar, Porsche, McLaren and i've got an NSR Mosler in gulf colours. All variously modded.

Also the usual Scalextrics Minis, a modded Betta Electrical Falc, Moff's Coke Mustang.
Kieron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 08:18 PM   #21
mcbrain

Ive Still Got All My Cars.use To Build My Own Flexy Wing Cars And Came 4th In The Tassie Northern Totals.i Build Them And My Dad Crashed Then But Me And My Dad Had Some Of Our Greatest Times Together,so I Will Admitt Tat I Loved Them......mick
mcbrain is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 08:20 PM   #22
MGGT RAA
AUII XR8, BA XR8 290 UTE

Afx here, wanna scalectrix one though... my ol man had one think he got rid of it.
Old 15-05-2009, 08:32 PM   #23
homegrown
hotshot

They were the days. When we were little my brother and I used to get all the straight pieces and drag race them down the hall way.
My fav car from then was a Willy's Hot Rod it was black with flames. No idea where they are now.
Old 15-05-2009, 08:37 PM   #24
KPOJ

haha slot cars, i raced 1/24 scale cars up until a year ago, i think ive finally grown up. The cars i was racing weighed 45g and had 1.5hp and had carbon fiber chassis. After 10 years of racing i won 3 national titles. :
KPOJ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 09:22 PM   #25
sneaky

we had dad's old scalextric set, and an afx plus we used to go to the local model shop
(newcastle model autosport) and use their big track with 'flexi' cars..

now i have a 1/8 scale nitro rc truggy.. but maybe my 8 month old son will give me an excuse to get some more slot cars
sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 09:38 PM   #26
KPOJ

Motor 1.5hp

Body made from thin lexan with wings.

Carbon fiber chassis.

I have had a placing in every national class except opens :
KPOJ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 10:32 PM   #27
smally289
growing up is optional

Had a Scalextric 'Rally Cross' as a kid during the mid 70's. My Brother and I spent hours on end racing each other.
smally289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2009, 10:44 PM   #28
XC GXL

When I was a kid I had the matchbox track with the capasitors (spelling) yellow flexible track.

My dad gave it away a few years ago : .

I also used to have the smash up derby cars I thisnk one was an XY Falcon Wagon and the other an EH Holden Sedan can't remember exactly but I have been trying to find one for ages now. Nostalga.

Wayne
XC GXL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2009, 12:39 AM   #29
ZH_302
DJR 17

Originally Posted by Kieron
Yeah, got the Bathurst Thunder set with Betta Electrical Falc and Spud's Commodore.

A few of my family have previously got together with tracks and raced a few cars, couple of Slot.IT cars, Jaguar, Porsche, McLaren and i've got an NSR Mosler in gulf colours. All variously modded.

Also the usual Scalextrics Minis, a modded Betta Electrical Falc, Moff's Coke Mustang.
What about the old Scaley stuff we had as kids, minis, the Datsun and Escort? JPS Lotus, STP March Ford and that 6 wheeler thing!
All set up on the old ping pong table with 'scenery' added (branches pinched off the xmas tree) :1syellow1

'78 ZH Fairlane
'02 AUIII
'04 Mazda 3
ZH_302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2009, 12:47 AM   #30
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by killerjoolz
AFX Thunderloop Thriller here.....looking at it as I type this,although its not mine so to speak it was our daughters set,but will now be passed onto the grandson....lol
I’ve got one of them too. What is it they say about great minds?

I bought it about 15 years ago so my nephews would have something to play with when they came over. I ended up spending more time on it than they did. :hihi: I also bought a few banked curves and extra straight pieces.

I still have it although, it’s packed away at the outlaw’s place. My son is nearly at the age where he’ll be able to play with it, although, it’s more a matter if finding somewhere to put it.
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post