You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 14-07-2015, 12:57 PM   #1891
MAGPIE

Default Re: New to cycling

Struggling with the cold myself now after 15 consecutive days of sub zero lows and single figure highs.

Hard enough to get out for a run but the extra windchill of the riding is just a killer.

Hate winter
MAGPIE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2015, 06:48 PM   #1892

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Originally Posted by sunnycoast_ba View Post
So then if you spin more and not push a harder gear you can cycle longer and be less fatigued. Time in saddle is what makes you fitter, stronger and burn more fat.

Must talk to my coach that he has had it wrong for years

I can see Rob's point. Not al people are the same.

Some can comfortably spin at 100 rpm and be very efficient doing it, some go at a bit lower rate. My comfort rate is about 85-95 on tempo rides and on climbs I drop down to about 70-80 where some will stick up to about 90-100.

It is about finding what range suits your physiology.
Old 17-07-2015, 10:31 AM   #1893

http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au...ences/2707760/
Old 17-07-2015, 11:02 AM   #1894

I have no problem with having a specific bike licence / rego. As I've said a million times before, if that is the ONLY reason ppl get agro at me, then sign me up!!!!

Oh, that does mean that I will now use the whole lane, rather than staying on the left like I do, because I now have a licence / rego as people wished for...
Old 17-07-2015, 12:36 PM   #1895

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Using the wording of the article this is a waste of time. I already have a license, I have one for a car, heavy rigid and motorcycle which costs me the same rate no matter how nay classes of vehicle I am licensed for.

Therefore I am buggered if I am going to pay more to ride a bike. Registration is a different matter altogether

Personally I think any discussion regarding rego for bikes should have its own thread as it will screw this thread up.
Old 17-07-2015, 12:42 PM   #1896
GTpilot
FG GT 5.4 w/ additions!

If it's about carrying ID. I already do this. I case of accident it's pretty handy for the emergency services to actually know how I am and who to contact. I'm sure the missus and kids would like to know.
GTpilot is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2015, 12:50 PM   #1897

^ Same.
Old 17-07-2015, 12:51 PM   #1898

But how does that increase rider safety? I carry my ID, credit card and cash in my tool kit. I also have a ICE contact on my phone which can be accessed from the lock screen.

In 30 years of riding I have never been asked for ID, how is it going to make a lick of difference to rider safety? Better infrastructure is the only way to improve rider safety and rider/motorist harmony. Just 30cm extra road width would make a world of difference in many areas of our road network.
Old 17-07-2015, 01:02 PM   #1899

It wont make a skerric of difference, but it will make the drivers happier know you can be identified in case they want to dob you in. That said, I doubt it will change the attitude of riders with an ID number pinned to them. Like DBourne says, it will just ensue a bigger case of self entitlement if riders have ID/rego numbers and/or paying rego.

I don't think ignorant drivers actually realize what they are asking for.

I say bring on the ID and rego and see what happens to road rage then.

Old 17-07-2015, 01:14 PM   #1900

Car drivers have rego plates and they still break the road laws, try to dob them in and the police are not interested, bikes will be just the same.

Sure I am happy to pay rego on my bike if it will have a positive change to rider safety but the simple fact is the revenue raised from bike registration will be swallowed up in the administrative costs of that registration. So the end result will be no improvement to rider safety.
Old 17-07-2015, 01:46 PM   #1901

This thread has been going well for some time so please don't ruin it with posts regarding Bike Rego, Numberplates, licences etc.

As mentioned above, if you want to argue these things start a separate thread.
Old 17-07-2015, 05:33 PM   #1902
GTpilot
FG GT 5.4 w/ additions!

to change the tone a little..

So, Where do you think Richie Porte is going next year.. yeah, yeah everyone says BMC, but will he want to be in the same team as Tejay?

My quiet money would be on Etixx ( they really need a GC rider) or Tinkoff-saxo (Bertie says next year is his last)

What do you think?
Old 17-07-2015, 06:20 PM   #1903
Batmobile

Talking Re: New to cycling

Originally Posted by GTpilot View Post

So, Where do you think Richie Porte is going next year.. yeah, yeah everyone says BMC, but will he want to be in the same team as Tejay?

My quiet money would be on Etixx ( they really need a GC rider) or Tinkoff-saxo (Bertie says next year is his last)

What do you think?
I can't see BMC removing Tejay as 'leader'.. If i was a betting man, i would put my money on Trek Factory Racing
Batmobile is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2015, 06:30 PM   #1904

I'm more than happy to attach an appropriate sized form of identification to my bike. I really don't care. I wouldn't change the way I ride as I don't make a habit of breaking the law.
I do roll through the odd red light depending on time of day but only when a bike path crosses a road , not if I'm on the roadway. I also speed from time to time mainly on downhills.
I don't know too many people that didn't ride a bike as a child so not sure why they get so anti once reaching adulthood. Or perhaps that's the problem, they are yet to grow grow up.
I'm also the first to admit the are many many cyclists who give us all a bad reputation . Just like most people lump all car enthusiasts in to the hoon group. There are bad eggs in every group.

Getting back to the article , I wouldn't go as far as banning the use of some roads but I do question why some cyclists do ride on busy roads when the are multiple other options on much quieter b roads .
Old 17-07-2015, 06:41 PM   #1905

Jumped on the bike for a quick ride yesterday no trails just road, was good even though it was only a short ride. I need to do it more often i just dont get the time :(
DJM83 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2015, 07:58 PM   #1906

What do you think?
I know many are saying BMC but I think that would be a mistake as he will have to compete for lead ride with Tejay.

Etixx could be a good option but the question is will they have the strength to support a GC contender? Also it is often difficult for a team to support a GC rider and a sprinter such as Mark Cavendish. Could result in a case of split priorities.
Old 18-07-2015, 01:14 PM   #1907

I think BMC is a mistake. Reckon it's going to a big money team. Garmin, Etixx etc. Would love to see him go to Orica but I dont think they have the team to back him up with.

Old 18-07-2015, 02:50 PM   #1908

Originally Posted by blueoval View Post
I think BMC is a mistake. Reckon it's going to a big money team. Garmin, Etixx etc. Would love to see him go to Orica but I dont think they have the team to back him up with.
I agree, Orica would be nice to see a Aussie GC contender in an Aussie team but really they don't have the team to support a GC rider. It would be nice to see him go there and have Orica build a team to support him but then the question is do they have the funds to do so?
Old 18-07-2015, 04:57 PM   #1909
GTpilot
FG GT 5.4 w/ additions!

Orica have some awesome talent they are nurturing.
Yates brothers
Caleb Ewan
Estaban Chaves
Jack Haig (as of next year)
Bling is only 25, so plenty to come from him
Durbo is still young and will only get better

They will all do big things in the coming years. Let's hope OGE can retain them and revel in the success they will bring.
I don't think think they need Richie.
Old 20-07-2015, 04:51 PM   #1910

Managed to get out on the bike today and hit some trails, was good fun after the bit of rain we have had but i seemed to struggle a little today not sure why. Also purchased myself a 2L camelbak today aswell, so much better my bike is a pain as there isnt much room between the top tube and the down tube to the point i had to almost stop to get my bottle out.
DJM83 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-07-2015, 05:25 PM   #1911

Im struggling to get out. It's been 3 weeks since in the saddle last. Work has been stupid. The mornings have been 4 degrees above zero and my motivation to get out of bed is o.oooo1% I need to take a tea spoon of concrete. *sigh*

Old 20-07-2015, 06:31 PM   #1912
GTpilot
FG GT 5.4 w/ additions!

Im struggling to get out. It's been 3 weeks since in the saddle last. Work has been stupid. The mornings have been 4 degrees above zero and my motivation to get out of bed is o.oooo1% I need to take a tea spoon of concrete. *sigh*
I hear ya brother.
Old 20-07-2015, 08:09 PM   #1913
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Dusted off the cobwebs ( on me , not the bike ) and went out this evening for a good 22klm warm up. Beautiful evening in Melbourne so went for a spin.
Jase, bike is working beautifully ! Ultegra gear FTW !
Those new Michelin PRO Race 4 service course roll nice and quick.

New RIDE
2018 AMG Mercedes A45
Angry AWD assassin
Whitey-AMG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-07-2015, 08:54 PM   #1914
GTpilot
FG GT 5.4 w/ additions!

Originally Posted by Bluey-GT View Post
Dusted off the cobwebs ( on me , not the bike ) and went out this evening for a good 22klm warm up. Beautiful evening in Melbourne so went for a spin.
Jase, bike is working beautifully ! Ultegra gear FTW !
Those new Michelin PRO Race 4 service course roll nice and quick.

Good to hear mate. Gutted I couldn't join you. :-(
How's the brakes?
Old 20-07-2015, 08:59 PM   #1915
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Good to hear mate. Gutted I couldn't join you. :-(
How's the brakes?
Brakes are OK. Progressive but still need to give them a real hard grab to pull up quickly. Will revert to the swisstops or koolstops to inspire more confidence in them. Luvin the bike again.....

New RIDE
2018 AMG Mercedes A45
Angry AWD assassin
Whitey-AMG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-07-2015, 11:12 PM   #1916
Captain Stubing
Looking for clues...

I've been struggling with the dreaded man flu.. though with the 'arctic vortex' we've had the last week, there would have been no motivation to get out anyway!

2016 Ford Falcon FG/X XR6 Turbo you beaut ute
1985 XR4Ti Sierra - Build Thread
1971 Fairlane 500
and... a collection of Jeep Towpigs
and... two collections of rust and some new plastic bits roughly shaped like an F-Truck
and.... some spare metal bits with holes in them
Captain Stubing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-07-2015, 10:42 AM   #1917

Originally Posted by swanny View Post
I've been struggling with the dreaded man flu.. though with the 'arctic vortex' we've had the last week, there would have been no motivation to get out anyway!
I had the manflu for the first week and it knocked me for 6. Been good for the past week or so but motivation is waning. I've just signed up to ride with the local club this saturday to blow out some cobwebs so hoping that will spur me on.

Old 21-07-2015, 11:03 AM   #1918
GTpilot
FG GT 5.4 w/ additions!

Anyone watch the TdF last night?
That final decent was mad. Sagan.. very entertaining, awesome bike handler.
Good to see Geraint Thomas finish too, I did not like what I saw when he went crashed.
Old 21-07-2015, 11:25 AM   #1919

Anyone watch the TdF last night?
That final decent was mad. Sagan.. very entertaining, awesome bike handler.
Good to see Geraint Thomas finish too, I did not like what I saw when he went crashed.
Yeah I watched it. That section of the stage has been used a lot of the tours gone by and its always entertaining watching them try and smash it down there. Sagan is ain a league of his own, but I think his timing to get the break or hammer to the line to get the win is off. That's 9 times he has come 2nd in his career I believe. He has pretty much sealed the Points jersey for thsi tour bar a DNF.

Seeing Geraint Thomas hit that pole was sickening. But you could tell it was Barguil's fault. Funny enough Barguil blamed TJ for the knock effect. But they were trying to pull up from doing 70kph to 15kph in a matter of metres.

it doesnt matter how often I see that descent into Gap, there is always an incident in the last 10km of that run in. Truly entertaining for me as I am a descender too.

Old 26-07-2015, 08:12 PM   #1920
Batmobile

Talking Re: New to cycling

I tilt my hat at Froome . Certainly, the best GC rider in this 101 edition of the TDF .. Although I applaud his cycling ability , I can't say the same for his position on the bike and the manner in which he guides his steer ..
It surprises me he hasn't run in the back of his team, or been clipped by a wayward spectator ?? I am sure he doesn't give a rats , about what I think .
Never mind , his the champion elect, and so, my long and loudest applause goes out to Froome for his strength, courage and dedication . Bravo Froome ..
Batmobile is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post