You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 13-10-2021, 11:25 PM   #1

Default How many times has he been asked...

Do you want to sell it mate?
No, I'm going to do it up one day.

Now look at the poor thing, beyond saving.

https://www.slatteryauctions.com.au/...n-find-auction

Last edited by Raptor; 14-10-2021 at 01:51 PM. Reason: insert image into opening post
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-10-2021, 11:37 PM   #2
Falcon SXR8

Default Re: How many times has he been asked...

"Barn find" was it found in america? We have sheds here mate, probably would be in better nick if it was kept in one
AU Fairmont
BA MK2 XR6 Turbo
Now
XDUB
Falcon SXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 02:05 AM   #3
xb74_black

Less than 200k on the speedo, should fetch top dollar.
xb74_black is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 04:31 AM   #4
oldel

That wasn't in no barn, garage or shed. Left outdoors, but then again my old cars ended up ruined just the same in a carport under car covers.
My point is cars in a garage/barn/shed don't end up looking like that.

At least the description is 'poor' not 'with patina'. Going with the term barn find shouldn't be fought against to be honest, we all know what that means and the lexicon is fine IMO. Just as long as we don't follow the 'with patina 'and charge extra for it!
I'm starting to like the look of weathered cars, just not as a selling point and charging more for it.
oldel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 06:31 AM   #5
xxx000

I know of an old H series Monaro that suffered the same fate. It sat in a blokes backyard for decades and there's not much left now worth saving
xxx000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 07:49 AM   #6

Just does my head in how such a car gets left in such a state.
Old 14-10-2021, 08:04 AM   #7
XRtowcar
Mustang GT mmmmmm......

You would need a Tetanus shot to inspect it.
Old 14-10-2021, 08:04 AM   #8

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
Just does my head in how such a car gets left in such a state.
For a long time they were worth nothing, and only reason they are sort after now was because so many were trashed.
It's a bit of a catch 22, if every coupe was preserved they wouldn't be worth anything.

Old 14-10-2021, 08:28 AM   #9
FPV414

Originally Posted by XR Martin View Post
For a long time they were worth nothing, and only reason they are sort after now was because so many were trashed.
It's a bit of a catch 22, if every coupe was preserved they wouldn't be worth anything.
Hit the nail on the head.
FPV414 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 08:36 AM   #10

Perfect opportunity for someone like a panel beater/ spray painter to do the work and cash in big time
Old 14-10-2021, 08:54 AM   #11
ozpacman

Originally Posted by jpd80 View Post
Perfect opportunity for someone like a panel beater/ spray painter to do the work and cash in big time
I think someone like a magician more so than a mere mortal tradie. That thing actually looks like it's been stored under a mango tree behind the barn on a Tully banana farm...
ozpacman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 09:05 AM   #12

True but its not like it was a bog stock XC, being a couple and one with some options you would think most normal people would have a bit more sympathy for any asset.
Old 14-10-2021, 09:09 AM   #13
GT450

What a waste, yes a magician would be needed to fix that. How you could possibly be expected to restore that in todays world at todays prices for parts , never mind the rarity of them, and make a profit is beyond comprehension.
GT450 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 09:14 AM   #14
ozpacman

I love to see the body after it had been media blasted. I'd reckon you should end up with nearly enough metal to make a pedal car.
ozpacman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 10:16 AM   #15
Vesper Martini

Still looks bad ***, like something out of a mad max movie.

such a shame though, as above if is was a "barn find" it would still fetch good $$
Seadoo Challenger 210SE 310HP
Vesper Martini is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 10:45 AM   #16
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

Looks like the roll over hoop is the only thing holding it together.
Reminds me of this one close too me, we've been watching it slowly rot for decades now.

FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 11:21 AM   #17
Vesper Martini

People are funny, nicely kept lawn, solar on the roof. Monaro lawn ornament
Old 14-10-2021, 11:23 AM   #18

Originally Posted by Rallye Sport View Post
Looks like the roll over hoop is the only thing holding it together.
Reminds me of this one close too me, we've been watching it slowly rot for decades now.

Yeah I don't get it...don't mean to stereotype but why let it rot when the owner probably doesn't have the resources to fix it, surely better off selling and letting it have a new life.
Old 14-10-2021, 11:45 AM   #19
.:4:.
Kicking back

When i bought my place in 2012 over the fence in a neighboring yard on bricks, the old bloke has a hk gts monaro. Its 'only' a 186s but in 2012 the paint was still on it with rust bubbles in the usual spots. So saveable. At the local, the old bloke had multiple offers to buy it but wouldnt budge. 9 years later, old bloke deceased, house sold, monaro still in the yard well past any state of repair. Soccer ball sized rust holes everywhere, a tree growing through the rust hole in the bonnet. Way futher gone then that xc. Even a pretty average 186s fetches reasonable coin these days, had that thing been rescued before it was too far gone and had a few rust repairs it would probably be on the road still.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2021, 12:16 PM   #20
Vesper Martini

Yeah I don't get it...don't mean to stereotype but why let it rot when the owner probably doesn't have the resources to fix it, surely better off selling and letting it have a new life.
and unlike newer cars and newer labor rates, these cars were always fixable
Old 14-10-2021, 05:32 PM   #21
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

We've known of this one since the late 80's/ early nineties when my friends older brothers were trying to get a hold of it. The guy is quite abrasive and will 'see you off' the property.

Yes terrible shame but there must be more too the story.

People are funny, I know of a couple of others.

Theres this Mk1 Zephyr convertible, apparently a trophy from a bitter divorce I have been told directly from the owner "It'll go to the crusher when I die"

Then there was an XY GT that a friend secured a while back. The guy had been renting a room and did a runner back to Singapore. It sat in the peoples garage for 20 years. They wanted to move it on but had to jump through hoops to transfer and prove ownership in they're name so it could legally be sold. If it hadn't have been the car it was they would have just sent it to scrap.

Always than meets the eye in these situations.
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-10-2021, 08:40 AM   #22

Originally Posted by ozpacman View Post
I think someone like a magician ..
A magician like Tex Scrotum, here on the Fords forum you mean.

Old 15-10-2021, 10:01 AM   #23
slowsnake

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
Do you want to sell it mate?
No, I'm going to do it up one day.

Now look at the poor thing, beyond saving.

https://www.slatteryauctions.com.au/...n-find-auction

Question- How much car has to be left to still be called an original vehicle?
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-10-2021, 12:16 PM   #24
bangm001
Mopar! But Own F6's..

I have been asked a few times already when im parking my FG2 GT at places whether i would consider selling it.. I thought it was pretty cool at first as its not even an old muscle car but most of the guys are just idiot low ballers trying to make a buck so im over it already. I guess i could only imagine how many people have door knocked these guys houses asking if they would sell their cars. I would tell everyone to bugger off too.
Old 15-10-2021, 06:51 PM   #25
zoesgift

agreed i have a sedan and coupe in xa. ask me which one id prefer to drive its the sedan.....flame suit on both are unrestored gt falcons
zoesgift is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-10-2021, 07:08 PM   #26

Looks like I could poke my poke my finger through it.

How the **** do you even fix that? Do you just replace almost everything and keep the build plates? Not familiar with this
MITCHAY is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-10-2021, 08:15 PM   #27
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

There is an orange XB Falcon sedan a few blocks from me that has been sitting in a carport on jack stands for what seems like 20 years or more. Let it go would be my comments to the owner, as it sits there it's just getting worse and worse, and therefore worth less and less. I think these people just hang onto them with the delusion they are sitting on a gold mine, even when they are rusting through and get no use.
Mustang GT

T3 TS50 - gone but not forgotten
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-10-2021, 08:19 PM   #28

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post

How the **** do you even fix that? Do you just replace almost everything and keep the build plates? Not familiar with this
have a flick through here

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100032283476395
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-10-2021, 12:09 AM   #29
oldel

Originally Posted by MITCHAY View Post

Have you not heard of Kev Barlas? About 10 years ago he decided to weld up a Ford thames campervan and welded and stitched in every piece of sheet metal.

There's people out there that can weld anything. Kev Barlas was a supremo, but even Scott at cold war motors bashes sheet metal up and welds stuff like it's no big deal.

E: Damn, I looked up Kev Barlas but all images were hosted on tinypic and is now gone, there's only a couple of YT vids with him putting the bare frame on some sort of frame to roll over.

Anyway, that guy was magic with the welder, same as scott cutting and shutting sedans into coupes, or rebuilding a rusty rover.

I'm sure there's heaps of collision repair masters in eastern europe too that others could mention. For the right guy rust repairs and major works is nothing. But they will want the car for next to nothing too I bet.
It's one of the skills that cost too much so we're losing it in Australia I think.
No one want to pay 40k for a pro to do it, no one wants to do it as a job because it won't pay enough to pay for a 700k house or 500pw rent. This country is screwed because banks and landlords get all the money and people need to chase dreary unrewarding jobs or whatever pays the most so they can afford a roof over their head. Young people here can't afford to get skilled in this area.

Last edited by oldel; 16-10-2021 at 12:15 AM.
Old 16-10-2021, 02:42 AM   #30
oldel

I should add that welding isn't the hard part, those guys I mentioned are metal fabricators, that's the trade we need more in to bend, fold, stretch, shrink and dolly metal into the right shapes for panel replacement.
Of course it's a dying skill and it's all gone offshore for cheap stamped parts for what ever car is deemed worthy, otherwise up the creek if it's not popular enough for a taiwanese factory to do a run of.