Old 07-08-2010, 10:54 AM   #1
XCwillo
Had Rep of GT-HO. Legit.

Default Times you've been told a price and thought "Lemme' just get my wallet :|"

Came back to me car in the parking lot the other day to find a note saying if i needed any parts for me XC ute, such as GS bonnet, tailgate, glove box, window chromes ect ect to call the number. So i called the number after i bit of talking to the fella, managed to seal the deal for the whole lot, for a measly $500!!!

I was pretty bloody stoked and i go to pick all the gear up next week, i only need the tailgate, so, just thought id let everyone know that if you need anything for a cheap as chips price, i'll list em all up in here when i pick em up and the condition they are in.

But this also had me thinking, when have yyou guys ever been offered an almost too good to be true bargain??

Old 07-08-2010, 11:41 AM   #2

About 4 years ago bought a 1940 ford chassis
Been umming and arring about it for a coupla years
Went back to buy the chassis
The chassis was at the sons place ,the son said you slip up the old mans and pay him
When i went to pay the old man
Old man said "You interested in some 1940 ford front panels"???
Bought 2 near mint front guards (with headlights)
1 extra left guard,3 grills (1 near mint)
2 rear guards
All for $50 !!!
Had flames comin of my arms getting me wallet out
Old 07-08-2010, 11:42 AM   #3

had a dude at a swapmeet want to buy XB rear bumper off me.... $30 but you better take the front one, those four doors and that boot lid while your at it....... out of my life and into his...
Old 07-08-2010, 02:32 PM   #4

Many years ago in Brisbane saw an add for some XB bits and rocked up.
Was the only person to actually show he told me.
He had a NOS GT grill for $200! and NOS (not replica) front indicator lens for $10 each.
He had other bargins but I had no way of carrying it to Townsville.

A few years after that while I went to the local "dump" shop I couldnt believe me eyes.
On the ground right next to where I parked was a pristine GT grill. No cracks...
$5 later!

More recently I came across a Suprefringe radio with metal faceplate in perfect working order too. $5.. Even later still I found a pair of XC driving lights with brackets... $5 again...

Sometimes it pays to looks closely at the "junk"

Old 07-08-2010, 02:44 PM   #5

Swapmeet mint XA GT grille $40.....
Old 07-08-2010, 03:10 PM   #6

ok many years ago when i was in my teens I found a GENUINE ARTICLE XY GTHO complete car panel wise but had no motor or interior pretty much, I found the woodgrain GT steer wheel in the boot of the car, the guy who owned it said he wanted $200 for it it had the compliance plates on it and imho the body was repairable it had some rust in the front guards and in the rear quarters thats all I could see, I went to get $200 bux and as car was a loooooong way from anything it took me 4 hours to get the cash and a trailer to haul it, when I got back twas gone also had the shaker in the boot and the GT grille mounted inplace but no lights

oh well I didnt leave a deposit and was young and dumb thought that back of bumtown would have an ATM/servo nearby how wrong I was...

mrbaxr6t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2010, 03:13 PM   #7
Fordman

Got a Fram air filter for 15 bux when it was about 70-90 bux everywhere else
Fordman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2010, 03:34 PM   #8
agro5066

20 years ago had a farmer come in to re-con his "truck" engine, jg33 clevo, asked were he got motor, said imotor and box came out of his xw, truck more important, offered his xw gt roller to me for $300,been sitting for 5 years, 6weeks later had time to get up to his farm, sold 1 week before to a friend of his sons
moto. he who hesitates has lost
agro5066 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2010, 06:16 PM   #9
disco

Bought a couple of Superfringe radio's once for $40 for the pair, that was okay. But if you want to hear a ripper, this isn't a story I heard, this was right in front of me!

At a car show / swap meet once in Brizzy (about 2006) where it was mainly all Ford stuff, this bloke had turned up and was selling GT stuff off the back of his truck.

I walked up just as a deal was being done.

This is what he had....get ready for it.....

- genuine JG33 'D' block motor out of his wrecked XY GT
- genuine GT dash same car
- genuine shaker - complete
- genuine set of 5 slots
- front seats (black)
- toploader
- 9" diff
- a front spoiler (genuine 2 pce spare he had)
- genuine spotties
- various other bits and pieces off the same car (woodgrains, mirrors, wings)

All genuine FOMOCO stuff.

One bloke who got to him first bought the whole lot..........for how much you say?????

get ready.......

......$3,500.00!!!!

The seller just wanted to get rid of everything and was happy to do it all in one go! He could now head off for the rest of the day!!!! Silly old coot!! Before anyone thinks it was hot (I even thought at the time) the old dude even wrote the buyer up a receipt for all of it!

As they say, you snooze - you lose!

cheers,
Dave.
disco is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2010, 07:31 PM   #10
LukeGT
Melbourne, Victoria

Toploader from pick-a-part Campbellfield on the 1st day they were open $60. Told them it was a 4cyl 3 speed box because that was the cheapest and I didn't want t o pay the full price ($120!!)

XB GT Restoration - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11281881

LukeGT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2010, 07:40 PM   #11
xpvanman

20 Years ago i restored an XRGT.

I went to a swapmeet looking for some bits, A guy had -

1) A genuine XRGT grille with the black outs etc - NOS

2) 2 complete XR tail light assemblies - NOS

3) 2 kickpanels in the correct grey - NOS

...................$160 for the lot!

4) 2 front & 2 rear XR-XT GT or XW-XY GS wheel trims still in the bags - NOS

....................$150 for the 4!

I couldn't get the wallet out quick enough! I wouldn't like to guess how much those parts would be worth today....
xpvanman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2010, 07:43 PM   #12

In 2001 I went to Orange to have a look at a XW Fairmont, had a 302 clevo,C4 and a 9".10 months rego.

Drove it home that day for the princely sum of $1800.
You don't get them at that price anymore unfortunately

Last year I got my G6ET with 19s,alarm,mats,weathershields,bonnet,headlight and boot protectors for $47,000
The G6ET Spot is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2010, 08:16 PM   #13
LimeGlaze

I bought fuel for 52 cents per Litre once - but as with all these type of stories - that was a while ago. Lets not confuse a fair price at the time for a bargain in todays world!
LimeGlaze is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2010, 09:00 AM   #14

Limeglaze,
Good point
Couldve bought a P3 for 4.5K once
Oh hang on that was near 40 years ago
Old 08-08-2010, 11:18 AM   #15
rex351

pair of good straight cleveland "Power By Ford" rocker covers from local wreckers for $20 just last year! also a couple of paddock find xw/xy shells for a box of beer each. shells buggered but lots of bits still good, like 16:1 steering box, V8 engine mount plates, V8 accelerator pedal/linkage etc etc etc. All in last couple years
rex351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2010, 09:54 AM   #16
43SOM XB
photoguy and XB owner

My story has a few parts...
We got some dollars togther and thought we'de start the xb's transition to a v8.
We posted up on the club forum. any v8s or diff going?
that day the reply- paul has a 9" diff and leon has a 351.
cool.
rang them organised a deal.
The 9" diff was fresh and ready for install. $400
The 351 was freshly stripped, so we could see the cond. All my mech/bro could say is F-you. like new bores, and clean as a whistle. 4mab crank, mild crow cam. everything but the carb and dizzy.
then did some work for a mate, an install into his stagea, for a set of eagers and rims, then swapped those for the extractors for the motor convertion.
so there ya go 1000 bucks for a 351 and diff convertion.

recently at a swap meet. shaker scoop top. $50, i didn;t get back quick enough. :(
Old 09-08-2010, 12:21 PM   #17
AussieLion

Ok. Sacrilege in the FORD forum:

About 20 years back I'd been eying off a HT Holden wagon sitting in a carport gathering dust for years. I went in and asked asked about it. The guy said it was his fathers [passed away recently] and if I wanted it I could have it. I asked for some sort of receipt for transport dept cos it was possibly roadworthy as it sat - only 38k genuine miles on the clock. The guy says "How can I write a receipt when you got it free?" I handed him five bucks!

That car is still in Redcliffe, QLD, with the lady who bought it off me and she still swears by that old Holden to this day ...that lady is my cousin!

$5.00 >>>> One owner HT Kingswood wagon: 38k miles, 6cyl 3spd column 6 seater & log books too!
AussieLion is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2010, 03:40 PM   #18
XBCoupeNZ

Originally Posted by AussieLion
Ok. Sacrilege in the FORD forum:

About 20 years back I'd been eying off a HT Holden wagon sitting in a carport gathering dust for years. I went in and asked asked about it. The guy said it was his fathers [passed away recently] and if I wanted it I could have it. I asked for some sort of receipt for transport dept cos it was possibly roadworthy as it sat - only 38k genuine miles on the clock. The guy says "How can I write a receipt when you got it free?" I handed him five bucks!

That car is still in Redcliffe, QLD, with the lady who bought it off me and she still swears by that old Holden to this day ...that lady is my cousin!

$5.00 >>>> One owner HT Kingswood wagon: 38k miles, 6cyl 3spd column 6 seater & log books too!

You win

"Target acquired .... target engaged ..... TARGET ANGRY!!!"
XBCoupeNZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2010, 04:30 PM   #19
anto
Za Dom spremni

picked up an XA GT bonnet couple of years ago for free. The missus put an ad in the paper without me knowing as I had been frustrated on continually missing out on them on ebay when they were suddenly fetching over a grand.
Anyhow the bloke calls me and asks what I want it for and after I tell him he says you can have it for free!! I offered him a bone, couple of hundred bucks,...no thanks. how about a cartoon or two, no thanks...just take me for a spin when you finish restoring the car he says....needless to say that hasnt happend yet
AU III XR8 red ute
anto is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2010, 08:11 PM   #20

XBcoupe,
No way he wins !!!!!!
Its a holden ,
$5 is tooooooo much
Old 09-08-2010, 08:19 PM   #21
bingoTE50

two VW 1200 6 volts 63 Models for $500 in 1982 . The rear interior in one was still under plastic .
bingoTE50 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2010, 08:41 PM   #22

Berwick swap meet here in Melbourne back in February (the biggest in Melbourne).
5.30am people still unloading, me & a mate nearly jogging from stall to stall. I came across a bloke unloading ford parts in milk crates.
I find one, and then another XA coupe complete tailight assembly in excellent condition. Asked how much, he said what are they worth? I said how's $50 the pair sound. No worries he said. SOLD!

The last pair in similar condition sold on ebay for over 10 times that.
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2010, 08:51 PM   #23
ZDI-970
Formerly D3v[]

went to buy an xc mirror off a nice old fella, he pulled out a box full and said which one do ya want, i said how much for this one, $5 each, hmm il take two then, both in good condition and ones a remote one
ZDI-970 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2010, 10:38 AM   #24
xe351

Originally Posted by anto
picked up an XA GT bonnet couple of years ago for free. The missus put an ad in the paper without me knowing as I had been frustrated on continually missing out on them on ebay when they were suddenly fetching over a grand.
Anyhow the bloke calls me and asks what I want it for and after I tell him he says you can have it for free!! I offered him a bone, couple of hundred bucks,...no thanks. how about a cartoon or two, no thanks...just take me for a spin when you finish restoring the car he says....needless to say that hasnt happend yet
thats an awesome story!

I picked up an xagt dash at a swap meet with all gauges about 2 years ago, asked the old bloke how much "$40" he said, sssold

Twin Horns 8-9/74 and lower horn dated 7-8/74, GT hubcaps. GT aircleaner. Please pm me if you can help
xe351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2010, 11:28 AM   #25
stooy

I bought a very good XB GT bonnet for $100 out of the trading post, Dad got there to pick it up and it came with great set of bumpers too.
1985 Porsche 911 Carrera 3.2 Coupe - Iris Blue
1989 Suzuki GSX-R 750
2007 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado -4.0L V6 Manual JTG Liquid LPG Injected
stooy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2010, 11:58 AM   #26
stooy

I bought a very good XB GT bonnet for $100 out of the trading post, Dad got there to pick it up and it came with great set of bumpers too.
1985 Porsche 911 Carrera 3.2 Coupe - Iris Blue
1989 Suzuki GSX-R 750
2007 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado -4.0L V6 Manual JTG Liquid LPG Injected
stooy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2010, 05:37 PM   #27
351fly

In 2000 I picked up my XB GS fairmont coupe for $250 had full interior GT bonnet,GT grille, GT spotlights, GT dash, Gt steering wheel,alloy rear wing No motor or box. Had a little bit of rust but the usual for a coupe.
The bloke I brought it off said his son was going to do it up and he was sick of it sitting under his house so he told him he was selling it and the son agreed. All mine now.
Old 10-08-2010, 05:44 PM   #28
XBCoupeNZ

Originally Posted by 302 XC
XBcoupe,
No way he wins !!!!!!
Its a holden ,
$5 is tooooooo much

LoL sorry forgot where I was.

But it's $5 - thats almost what a 2 litre bottle of milk costs here now

"I'll give you 2 litres of milk for your car!"

"Target acquired .... target engaged ..... TARGET ANGRY!!!"
XBCoupeNZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2010, 05:46 PM   #29
xbrules
/[_][_]==DMC==[_][_]\

was at my fave wreckers not too long ago, was wondering around and spotted 2 pieces of coupe side glass sitting behind a wheelie bin, both bits in mint condition with glass dividers and seals and window regulator brackets. said to bloke how much for those, "uh, $40 each mate" I couldn't get my hand into my pocket fast enough to grab my wallet

Daily: AU series 1 Fairmont Ghia
The Classic: Jan 79 ZH Fairlane, EFI'd 302 Clevo
The Project: Aug 73 Ford Landau Hardtop

During his lifetime, the average man will spend around 5 years behind the wheel of his car.... Make those years count... Drive a Ford.
xbrules is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2010, 06:41 PM   #30

XBcoupe,
Never get my XC rally pack for 2 litres of milk,
I dont care how many sheep ya throw in on the deal !!!
Now IF i had a holden here,could do a deal on that !!!

Just off topic a touch
My mate keeps asking if he can store his holden 1 tonner here
Missus says
"Yep sure,remove the badges, the ID plate,and anything "holden" on it'
"NO holdens in this yard ,full stop"
Needless to say its still at his place
Roll over larfin everytime he asks