You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 01-10-2020, 10:57 AM   #1
gutza

Default How Strong are Jack Stands

Hi Guys.

Obviously, over the years, there has been recalls on Jack Stands and Trolley Jacks. Also, I guess, you get what you pay for as well.

Accidentally came across this YT Video this morning ......

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjmXQNhKCks

Also on the same channel, this one, which included a Trolley Jack.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_fqF09QQjc

gutza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2020, 11:14 AM   #2
PG2
#neuteredlyfe

Default Re: How Strong are Jack Stands

Originally Posted by gutza View Post
Hi Guys.

Obviously, over the years, there has been recalls on Jack Stands and Trolley Jacks. Also, I guess, you get what you pay for as well.

Accidentally came across this YT Video this morning ......

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjmXQNhKCks

Also on the same channel, this one, which included a Trolley Jack.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_fqF09QQjc

As they say, never get under a car only supported with a jack.

I suppose nothing is 100% and anything is only as strong as it's weakest link.
PG2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2020, 12:05 PM   #3
Tonz

Originally Posted by PG2 View Post
As they say, never get under a car only supported with a jack.

I suppose nothing is 100% and anything is only as strong as it's weakest link.
or stupidest
Old 03-10-2020, 10:47 PM   #4
happy1

I buy the 4-ton jack stands, and I buy the oversize trolley jack as well, at least double the capacity of what I try to lift. I never stick as much as a foot under the vehicle until I have jack-stands, or wheels and wooden blocks etc, under the car.

When I jack up to take off one wheel, I have the habit of putting the wheel immediately under the door sill, (and add a plank or a brick to take up the gap). That way the car can't fall far.

happy1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-10-2020, 11:06 PM   #5

Forget the jack stands

Now I just want to buy one of those Hydraulic Presses

Think of the hours of family fun squashing annoying **** and posting it on youtube.

Imagine all the crap that I could post back to the manufacturer, in an envelope.
Old 05-10-2020, 12:44 AM   #6
oldel

Anyone got a welder? I want to make these
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-tOi48FsoU

Of course I wish I could buy a mini 4 post like m539 restorations. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgIDBw8ELTQ
oldel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-10-2020, 11:12 AM   #7
Pis-ton broke

does he take the jacks back to supercheap and ask for a refund?
Pis-ton broke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-10-2020, 12:41 PM   #8
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by oldel View Post

Of course I wish I could buy a mini 4 post like m539 restorations. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgIDBw8ELTQ
Wonder how much welder and grinder slag spots finished up with on the side and front of the black car?? Brother in law built some like years ago but he had the pivot point much further back,so when you drove up onto the ramps the car went past the centre and the front dropped down to make the ramps level
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-10-2020, 02:35 PM   #9

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

Originally Posted by oldel View Post

I don't think much of that design (first video), without diagonal bracing to prevent them from collapsing sideways.
Silver Ghia is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-10-2020, 07:27 PM   #10
GCRXR6

Originally Posted by Silver Ghia View Post
I don't think much of that design (first video), without diagonal bracing to prevent them from collapsing sideways.
My thoughts as well. He did respond to a like comment, that he did rectify this later.
Old 05-10-2020, 09:32 PM   #11
Pis-ton broke

didn,t every thing brake at over double "rated working load" if so , then that's great. if not, then i would be concerned that chinese stuff isn,t up to spec and is dangerous. it shows that the australian standards are being administered . and if you chose to work under overloaded gear, then your an idiot and this is party how accidents happen.
if you want high load rating, just buy higher rated gear.
Old 05-10-2020, 09:40 PM   #12
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by Pis-ton broke View Post
didn,t every thing brake at over double "rated working load" if so , then that's great. if not, then i would be concerned that chinese stuff isn,t up to spec and is dangerous. it shows that the australian standards are being administered . and if you chose to work under overloaded gear, then your an idiot and this is party how accidents happen.
if you want high load rating, just buy higher rated gear.
Without going back over the video I’m pretty sure most of the stands were breaking at 4-5 times rated load.Jack stands don’t collapse under a stable load.Most “accidents” occur when the car gets moved and the stands fall rather than failing.
Old 05-10-2020, 10:31 PM   #13
Pis-ton broke

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Without going back over the video I’m pretty sure most of the stands were breaking at 4-5 times rated load.Jack stands don’t collapse under a stable load.Most “accidents” occur when the car gets moved and the stands fall rather than failing.
agreed, some people don,t know how to set a safe working area under a car. as a general rule i follow is; set up stands on grass, well i will throw large blocks of wood or car rims with tyres under the chassis rails. if the stands fail or move i have a redundancy safety backup.
Old 06-10-2020, 02:46 PM   #14
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

Old mate and his press channel is an absolute crackup. The things he squashes are unreal!

Ed
Old 06-10-2020, 03:03 PM   #15
Vesper Martini

From the videos I would say jack stands are very strong.. the amount of weight to break just one. when you normally spread the load over 2 or 4.

as above I'd be more concerned of the slipping or tipping over

Personally I use hardwood blocks.
Seadoo Challenger 210SE 310HP
Vesper Martini is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-10-2020, 03:22 PM   #16
gutza

Originally Posted by Bevsta007 View Post
From the videos I would say jack stands are very strong.. the amount of weight to break just one. when you normally spread the load over 2 or 4.

as above I'd be more concerned of the slipping or tipping over

Personally I use hardwood blocks.

Hi Bevsta.

Totally agree. They all seemed to exceed their safety rating.

I was curious about the failure points.

The one that surprised me a little, was the trolley jack.

I was expecting the seals / o-rings on the piston to fail before the frame crumpled.
Old 06-10-2020, 03:36 PM   #17
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by gutza View Post
Hi Bevsta.

Totally agree. They all seemed to exceed their safety rating.

I was curious about the failure points.

The one that surprised me a little, was the trolley jack.

I was expecting the seals / o-rings on the piston to fail before the frame crumpled.
Yeah says a bit for the hydraulic seals.The old plain jane bottle jack collapsed at about 10 times limit didn’t it.wheras the floor jack frame was the weakest link
Old 06-10-2020, 03:49 PM   #18
gutza

Hi Tassie.

Spot on. Hydraulics are very powerful ....
Old 06-10-2020, 03:56 PM   #19
Vesper Martini

I've straightened up a house using a bottle jack, my biggest issue was stopping the jack sinking into the ground
Seadoo Challenger 210SE 310HP
Vesper Martini is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-10-2020, 10:31 AM   #20
JGthirty3

Autobarn Stand recall.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ea7...CmUB7N_oN/view
JGthirty3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2020, 04:26 PM   #21
gutza

Originally Posted by JGthirty3 View Post
Interesting. The first video showed, seemed to show the same failure point, although at a lot higher 'pressure'.
Old 08-10-2020, 05:00 PM   #22

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Yeah says a bit for the hydraulic seals.The old plain jane bottle jack collapsed at about 10 times limit didn’t it.wheras the floor jack frame was the weakest link
Agree, Just this morning I was lifting 500Kg Granite blocks onto the truck with the hydraulic hand crane rated at 1000Kg @ the shortest reach. The weakness is what the crane is bolted to ie the trucks alloy tray.
Even with the attachment points through bolted with a steel packer and spread over several webs of the frame + a steel outriggers underneath, I could see the tray deflection.

Old 09-10-2020, 12:25 AM   #23

https://www.productsafety.gov.au/rec...-3000kg-4000kg