Old 02-06-2011, 01:05 PM   #1
Brute 33

Default Filling your wife or girlfriends car with fuel....

I am just curious as to know, how many blokes fill up their wives/girlfriends vehicles with fuel on a regular basis as they refuse to do it...reason for this, a friends wife ran out of fuel and blamed him for it ....so big domestic ....and he does not ever use it, other than to go and fill it up weekly.

Brute 33 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 01:21 PM   #2
fasty73

Default Re: Filling your wife or girlfriends car with fuel....

I pay for my missus gas, I work for a taxi company and we have our own gas pumps and I have a card for it and the money comes out of my pay but she fills the car up.
fasty73 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 01:24 PM   #3
GTP-814
love the quad cams

Originally Posted by Brute 33
I am just curious as to know, how many blokes fill up their wives/girlfriends vehicles with fuel on a regular basis as they refuse to do it...reason for this, a friends wife ran out of fuel and blamed him for it ....so big domestic ....and he does not ever use it, other than to go and fill it up weekly.
No mine & daughters fill up their own cars, but the wife refuses to wash hers, so I end up doing it as i cant stand a poor looking car - i know sucker me
GTP-814 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 01:25 PM   #4
freaky

mine fills up, checks tire pressures and dipstick on her own
freaky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 01:26 PM   #5

Does she do the majority of the housework, like cooking, vacuuming, washing, making the bed, etc, etc, does she have sex when he wants it, etc, etc.

Fill up the ******* car and get over it, it is no big deal, I have been doing it for years
Old 02-06-2011, 01:27 PM   #6

I normally drive so I am the one that does fill up, my wife rarely drives.
galaxy xr8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 01:59 PM   #7
stang65
FPRJET

I agree with Big Trev.....
stang65 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:05 PM   #8
mud
Pommy Ford tragic

Yep, my wife does lots of other stuff I don't won't to do. Happy to fill her car up and wash it (occasionally anyway, it's only a Volvo after all.)
Old 02-06-2011, 02:06 PM   #9

Mine does everthing herself......

Old 02-06-2011, 02:11 PM   #10
Beer Baron

I also agree with Big Trev.
Old 02-06-2011, 02:12 PM   #11
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Mine fills her car (diesel) up herself. She had a laugh the other day watching some guy fill his up with gloves on. She thought it was funny anyway.
naddis01 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:13 PM   #12
StrokedXT

So some of you guys think it's ok for a fella to be abused for not doing something his wife is more than capable of doing?

Seems a few pussy whipped posters are scared of telling the mrs to do her job.
StrokedXT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:16 PM   #13

Originally Posted by StrokedXT
So some of you guys think it's ok for a fella to be abused for not doing something his wife is more than capable of doing?

and you will show your wife/girlfriend/partner this post when?

Actually, I have just been in the other room discussing this exact thread with my wife, laughing at people who sook about helping out their best friend who would be their wife/girl friend/partner
Old 02-06-2011, 02:16 PM   #14
sbcb
BA Xr8

Congratulate your mate, she sounds like a hell of a catch
My Ford List - AU1 Futura, AU1 Cobra XR8, EB Gli Project Car, AU2 XR8 200kw, AU1 Fairmont Ghia VCT, AU1 V8 Tickford Fairmont Ghia, BF Xr6 6spd ZF, BA MkII XR8, AU3 Fairmont, SX Territory, AU3 Xr8 220kw, BA Xr8.
sbcb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:19 PM   #15
Jack960

Yeah I second this. Id fill it up if I had used the majority of the tank, but if id driven it once and she cracked it for not filling it, id tell her to get stuffed :P
Jack960 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:22 PM   #16

Originally Posted by GTP-814
No mine & daughters fill up their own cars, but the wife refuses to wash hers, so I end up doing it as i cant stand a poor looking car - i know sucker me
my wife is the same and a few years ago she was at me for a new car, I figured she treated her existing car badly (never washed or vacumed it) and it had pently of car park dents from not choosing her spots better. so I got her a car where all the hard work of neglect had been done for her,

she hit the roof, I explained that all the hard work in the car park and by the gum trees local birds and Macdonalds eaters had been done for her.

(yea I got fond of my own company for a little while)

she then proceded to take care of the car washing it and vacuming it reguly

the time for a new car came and I sugested she find this car and I would check it over once she had found it.

She did and found a really tidy AU3 (a few years ago now) and she kept it imaculate I dont think the kids were allowd to sneaze in it let alown make a mess. unfortunatly a P plater Tboned her and that was the end of the AU, again she chose its replacment and with the deals being offered we went new, a nice new run out VZ and up until 12 months ago she kept it shimk

its now starting to resemble her orginal car it might be time to find a busted ar$e cosmeticaly territory (as thats what she wants) as I cant see any point in geting her a glammor if shes going to treat it like crap part of the reason Ive held off looking for a car for her is due to the condition of the dunny door

Old 02-06-2011, 02:29 PM   #17
divine_afg
Extreme_Custom

I have great excuse not too. She wanted colour of her car Pink. I got it
Resprayed Custom Pink and Avoid it when ever I can.
divine_afg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:33 PM   #18
rancidpunx
FPV GTR

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For technical contribution to all things car-care related. And helping/advising forum members with the best possible information. 

I will fill the missus Ranger with diesel if ive driven it a fair bit. Other than that she fills it herself.
- Veridian Green PJ Ranger XLT -
The Work Truck

rancidpunx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:38 PM   #19
Mrs Russellw

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: All your effort in keeping me sane and on-track. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For her honest, direct and helpful advice to members. The content of her posts help many members on the forum and most times, turn a very negative thread into a postive one. 

I am more than capable and looked after myself for years when I was alone but I now find my car is usually always full. Russell will take the Ute or the GT into town and fill them for me but he also opens doors for me, unpacks the car, carries all the shopping in etc. Must say it took these old fashioned values a while to get used to but i love it and appreciate being valued. I also make the extra effort which makes a happy household.

Originally Posted by CAMS290
Fact is Gaela's GTP IS the quickest NA Boss 290 Sedan now (by a long shot)
The precedent of stripping weight and using full slicks was set years ago now.

So if you want to beat em, ya gotta join em, and being manual makes the time even more credible.
GT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 02:47 PM   #20

My wife fills her hybrid up but never washes it or checks the oil.
Old 02-06-2011, 02:50 PM   #21

Gee some people must have some real good close relationship's with their partner's here if they can't find the time or gesture to atleast fill up a vehicle, and then have the nerve to go of at them and argue.
Maybe they would be better of alone or with someone else.
galaxy xr8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 03:02 PM   #22
Andy777

my wife fills her car up, but if we are going out in her car, and it needs fuel i am more then happy to get out and fill it up
Andy777 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 03:04 PM   #23
BlackXR8

My missus fills her own up, but I have had to get 3 fuel caps from the wreckers
BlackXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 03:32 PM   #24
Landau Stable
Landau Tragic

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For his many posts on welding and fabricating for coupes 

+1. I can't believe this forum is so full of cats. Man up FFS! When my girl and i go somewhere, i am happy to be a gentleman and to get out and fill up for her when she needs fuel. However, the instant a woman becomes so lazy that she demands i regularly fill up a car that i barely use, her *** will be shown the door. Fortunately, my girl is respectful enough to never demand something so ridiculous.To the OP, your mate needs to show his missus the door until she can grow up and quit being such a selfish little princess. A relationship requires respect, and clearly she has none for him, if it becomes a blown up argument.
Old 02-06-2011, 03:33 PM   #25

I fill/wash/vacuum/service my own. I'm the only one who drives it.

If someone else was driving it regularly, then I'd expect that they contribute accordingly, but I wouldn't expect my partner to do so "just because".

On the few occasions where Dad has wanted me to drive him somewhere a fair way away, I fill it before we leave, and he pays for it to be refilled upon our return.
Blueprint, manual, 4490's, Redback 2.5" dual exhaust, BA Typhoon rims, tint, fog light covers, BF tailights, blue illuminated window switches, Ghia bootlid carpet, lower grille, FPV door spears, steering wheel & interior bits, XR6T + F6 intake, K&N filter, Typhoon spoiler, tuned, sway bars, custom angel eyes & plates..YUM!

Old 02-06-2011, 03:40 PM   #26
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Is the question - Do you fill your wifes car up when you are both in the car? Or - Do you make a trip for the sole reason of filling your wifes car?

I understood the OP to mean the latter. If we are both in the car or if the car offer fuel when I happen to drive it (rarely) then I generally fill it up.
naddis01 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2011, 03:54 PM   #27

I drive all the cars on a regular basis and just fill them up because I think she does enough for me already.

If it is low and she has the car, she fills it up.

Having said that, it isn't the first time she has taken one of the cars for a long run and I find it full the following morning.

It isn't really a 'rule' as such. I just try to beat her to it.
Old 02-06-2011, 03:56 PM   #28

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

I fuel my g/fs up everyweek for her, except for the odd occasion when she gets low enough and has to do it herself.

She doesnt whinge about having to do it, but I usually wash the car on a sunday arvo and fuel it up Sunday night for her, she works longer hours then me due to travel so its only fair that I save her a bit of time during the week!
Old 02-06-2011, 04:03 PM   #29

I fill my wives once a week, funnily enough thats about the only time I drive it...hmmm

I also dont care, its hardly an inconvenience.
Old 02-06-2011, 04:04 PM   #30
rst2000

he is obviously batting out of league to put up with this prima donna...
rst2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post