Old 22-05-2005, 01:24 PM   #1
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Default Best bargain cars you've bought

I was just wondering what the best deal anyone here has got when they've got themselves a car.

I'll start, although I'm sure others have got better bargains...

My 1976 Mk II Escort 2.0 GL 4 door Ghia with rallye pack options (front and rear spoiler mainly) cost me a grand total of $50, along with the swap of a dead 1982 Nissan Pulsar. It didn't have an exhaust (well, the extractors had been removed and the 2.5" exhaust pipe it had I seriously doubt would have passed RWC), and the engine had started to be dismantled. It also had some rust which needed to be repaired in the footwells, and needed 4 new tyres. But asides from all that, it was in fairly good condition (I've had to fix a few other things since then, can't remember everything off the top of my head), and I think it was a bargain.

Anybody else care to tell us about the bargains they've got? Psycho Chicken, I know you've got a beauty to add to this thread.
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 01:31 PM   #2

My first ca, a MKII escort rally pack.

The grand price of free. The only catch was I had to push it home myself.

Old 22-05-2005, 01:35 PM   #3
hqtunna
FNTUF

My first car was a 79 XD Fairmont...

Picked it up for free off my auto tech. teachers mate and it passed to the pits no probs, never broke down on me....was a bloody good car.
hqtunna is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 01:44 PM   #4

hehehe

1979 XD Fairmont Ghia. Factory 351, 3 speed auto. PERFECT paint, panels straight as. Only problem with the interior is a bit of the fabric is hard on the top of the back seat. It looks brand new. Only rust we could find was the size of a 50 cent coin on the LHR door skin. No rust in the usual places. All chrome work intact, lowered, exhaust, mags (go the Jellybeans!).

$1100.

Also got an XE Fairmont Ghia for $100, it's shagged though. Still, the headlights are worth that.
Old 22-05-2005, 01:45 PM   #5
Mike Gayner

Nissan Silvia R13 turbo - $40. Paddock bashed it until it died.
Mike Gayner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 01:54 PM   #6

84 Meteor for $150. with rego and RWC it cost about $500 to put back on the road.
85 Panelvan. $450. straight but a touch of rust. probably cost me $600 with rego/RWC to put back on the road. done other things like new carpet, zorst, stereo and the likes but would have passed without doing them.
96 Nissan Maxima. $2500. currently in the process of putting back on the road. looking at about $2000 to see it RWC. new radiator support panel has been fitted so now its a new bumper, airbag and a few other little things.
Old 22-05-2005, 02:08 PM   #7
klawsterfobik
Bad Music and Litre Bikes

heh, well i thought i did well with my TC Cortina. $500, XLe, 1 owner 25,000 miles. Was original, spotless ineterior, good exterior. No RWC or Reg
Anyway. Enough reality, back to the topic.
klawsterfobik is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 02:11 PM   #8

My AU was a bargain! Lots and lots spent and I got it for nearly the price of a stocker with twice as many K's.

Also the XC GXL wannabe for free was good with a good running 302 and 3 speed auto.

My manual 4.1 XF was only $700 with a RWC, Did good burnouts!!

My EB gli was only $1200 and the RWC cost me $300.

My bike was cheap, on the road for $2200. Bought it for $1000, put an engine and new battery in and got it all on the road pretty cheaply in my opinion. Ive driven it everyday for a 6 months without a hassle. It gets 250kms to 10 litres too!!
Old 22-05-2005, 02:16 PM   #9
brenx

I've had a couple now I think of it:

75 XB Fairmont @ $3300 wrecked out for $4500 still getting $ from it. I'm still earning $ from it

1980 Escort RS2000 2 dr Bought for $3000 sold 3 years later for $3000. Owed me $10.

95 Hyundai S-Coupe bought for $8000 insured for $22,000. I had that car a long time. Traded for $3200 recently. I got my $ worth from it. Owed me $700.

02 Mazda Astina bought for $12,700 market val is $17,000

I've been ripped hard on a few too.

Tuned by Hallam Performance
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 03:20 PM   #10
RED_EL_XR8

XY utility, $40.00 c/w 6½months rego, no rust, nothing straight, Screwdriver, as ignition key.

I brush painted the inside of the tray red, cos I had red. Cleaned it up a bit ran till the rego was gone, and sold for $1400 through the trading post. Bargain!
RED_EL_XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 03:28 PM   #11
needfordspeed

XE Falcon, crap condition - FREE
XF Ghia - Awesome condition - FREE

Both got paddock bashed, I sold the XE for $150 on ebay and it wasn't even running, XF ghia was sold to some guy as a daily for $350.
1988 EA S-Pack|MPI|LSD|AIT turbo manifold|Garrett GT3540|3" Exhaust turbo back|Cooler|Sports ryder shocks|Pedders lows|Resprayed|Microtech LT8s|60lb Injectors|Bosch 044 with surge tank|3000 RPM stall|Ported AU head|Turbo grind cam|Crow double valve springs|1.3mm MLS headgasket|C4 Conversion|Built bottom end|Custom plenum|10.6@125MPH

Last edited by needfordspeed; 22-05-2005 at 06:23 PM.
needfordspeed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 04:21 PM   #12
MrFlibbles
ill have a beer milkshake

i got a nice xb 4 door, cost zero as the owner thought the rear main was gone.... i just replaced the oil sender!

i also had a nice xd 4 speed 6 for $300, all i spent on that was a sports exhaust and some lowered springs grand total $500 spent, sold to a mate for $800 who drove it into a tree on the way back from melbourne.
1969 Isuzu Florian
1976 Chev luv (really its just a rebadged Isuzu!)
1980 Isuzu KB 4x4
MrFlibbles is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2005, 09:12 PM   #13
cheese
Has a blue one

1970 Singer Vogue.Paid $10 for it rego'd and warranted,sold it for $750 two months later
Old 22-05-2005, 10:16 PM   #14
sfr rob
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○

Originally Posted by RED_EL_XR8
XY utility, $40.00 c/w 6½months rego, no rust, nothing straight, Screwdriver, as ignition key.

I brush painted the inside of the tray red, cos I had red. Cleaned it up a bit ran till the rego was gone, and sold for $1400 through the trading post. Bargain!

HAHAHAHA!!

thats funny stuff!
My ex band member had a ford telstar i swear if you sneazed near it it would unlock the doors!
nah.. but you could use sticks etc to start the thing!
sfr rob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2005, 01:30 AM   #15
Sundeep

-EF Ex-Taxi 740,000km $400, made double that back (with parts for self as well).
-ED GLi, slight RHS damage bought for $300, sold for $2200.
-1990 EA Ghia $350, made double that back (with parts for self as well).
-1990 EA S Pack, immaculate bar front damage, $400.
-1985 XF Ghia FREE, sold for $350 (same as Gilly's).
-Free Pepsi at Glenferrie Pizza Hut last week, priceless.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2005, 01:33 AM   #16

1975 toyota corona paid 400 bucks for it had a grouse 18r in it, i put a 5 speed in it , used it for 2 years, then give it to my little brother for his first car , he drove it for another year, a low fuss car never worried about getting doors banged into it ,or driving over shit roads , went like a rocket for an old 2 litre, and simple to fix , definatley good limo.
Old 23-05-2005, 03:56 PM   #17
LuvinmyEB
Beware of mood swings!

$400- for a Datsun 1600, only problem was that there was a little bit of worn carpet under the accelerator (was the original carpet too). :hihi:

$150- for a Corolla (late 70's by memory) that was parked on carpet in some guys garage, still had rego and was in RWC. Sold it the next week for $900-.
Old 23-05-2005, 04:07 PM   #18
4lex
the pom

in England in 98 I paid $6.5k equivalent for a mint '92 MR2 GT Tbar with 31k km on the clock from an old guy who kept it in the garage unless it was sunny (not often) - he'd been offered a ridiculous trade in and accepted my offer of $500 more. Ran it for six years with no costs apart from consumables, and sold it with 160k km on for $9.6k. Could do with more deals like that

Last edited by 4lex; 23-05-2005 at 04:08 PM.
4lex is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2005, 04:21 PM   #19

It would have to be a 1988 EA Fairmont Ghia for $1200. We were going to use it for spare parts when I crashed my car, but we decided it was too good to wreck and gave it a general tidy up. It had done 300,000 but was still running well. We gave it a new steering rack and some cheap, second-hand tyres. We then sold it for $3500. At most, we would have spent $500 on it so we made a good profit that helped cover the repairs to my car.

Daily 2010 FG XR50T ute - Lightning Strike
6 speed manual, XR8 bonnet, hardlid, Streetfighter airbox

Old 23-05-2005, 04:35 PM   #20

I think I'd put the EA here. It had 150,000 clicks on it, pretty straight, went well, had countless problems with it later. The guy wanted $2700 for it, I got it for $2300.
Old 23-05-2005, 06:09 PM   #21
TIRED6
A V8 salute to my DEATH

I would have to add my EF ex-taxi in here. It has 800,000Km's on it. New front rotors, pads, tyres, radiator and air-con pump. Already converted to a T-bar, with buckets.

Needed, nothing but rear tyres, (FREE - MATE), new RH indicator and some new sway bar bushes. With 8 months rego.

$2400 spent all up to date, $1750 paid originally.
Old 24-05-2005, 03:46 AM   #22
paul351xb

ZH Fairlane with 351, FMX, nine inch, power steer for $400. Put the running gear in my car and sold the shell and mags for $200.
I was pretty happy with that deal.
paul351xb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 09:46 AM   #23
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

My foulcon was a pretty good deal - cost me something like $800 with rego, did 100,000k's in it over a year or so, spent maybe another grand on it and traded it for $3500 on the Green Machine.

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
GreenMachine is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 10:42 AM   #24

I wolud have to say the XW and XY Fairmonts i picked up about two to three years ago both from the same place. The XW was a GS, Orcher pink with 351 Weser and C4 with Borg warner diff and with under dash air and 8 track and not one ounce of rust and the XY Artic White was again a GS Fairmont 351 Clevo, C4 and 9" again with under dash air and 8 Track. Picked them both up for the great sum of $1,500 dollars in Lilydale. They were owned buy an old couple and i had serviced them all the time so i new the history. The only things they need was tyres and one new windscreen. Sold them both at Shannons. Got $10,500 for the XW and 15,650 for the XY the best money i ever spent.

Last edited by BJ; 24-05-2005 at 10:45 AM.
BJ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2005, 10:58 AM   #25
PULLY6

my first car was a great deal - 1982 Toyota Corolla 1.2L 5sp. bought for $1000, traded in absolutely f*ked condition for 1250. Did great burnouts, was paddock bashed, had no stereo, v. little rego, front right strut didn't exist any more, diff was buggered, no front brake rotors, didnt have 3rd gear. i ripped AVC off something fierce. but he screwed me on the EL, so it balances.
Old 24-05-2005, 01:00 PM   #26
rag top

XP ute - bought for $800, sold 9 months later for $2600;

Cortina stationwagon, bought for $250, got $1300 as a trade in;
Old 24-05-2005, 02:23 PM   #27
Neeek
65 Galaxie Hardtop

Amusingly, these are all of the cars I have ever bought, and all have been cheap.

GBP50 - 1983 Auston Metro. First car. Put out to pasture when the front subframe collapsed at 60mph... that was fun...

GBP325 - 1987 Skoda Estelle. Mushroom grey, caught fire after I flogged the hell out of it for 6 months... the fire was more amusing than the broken subframe on the Metro... so was the handling with the engine in the boot and no weight up front..! Missed it when it was gone...

GBP900 - 1989 Audi 90 Sport. Glorious, that was. Had been fitted with twin Webers in place of the fuel injection; quite why, I will never know. Spat fire occasionally. Great fun, and missed loads when I moved to Oz.

$800 - 1984 ZK Fairlane. Shitbox. Painted it black because I was bored one day. Huge and far and away the silliest car purchase I had made thus far. Dull, dull, dull. Never went wrong, though, and I did love it for reasons I still can't explain.

$1,300 - 1977 ZH Fairlane. Look left. The only thing I don't like about it is that I could've bought it for $200 less, but got carried away and offered too much. It misbehaves, but even then I enjoy working on it and fixing things here and there. With any luck, I'll keep this one for a good while yet. First V8. Intoxicating.

But in our family, my brother takes the proverbial biscuit. His first car was a Renault 5, bought for the sum of GBP25. He ran it for nearly 2 years before it expired. Then his next car was a 1967 MGB GT - bought for GBP4,400, spent in excess of five grand keeping it on the road, and then sold it for GBP2,500. He was gutted. I laughed until it hurt.

Neeek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-05-2005, 12:43 AM   #28
a-total-tool

I purchased a N12 Pulsar as my first for $350 bucks, just because it was a manual and I wanted to get a manual licence. It was in mint condition and had 15" alloys. I thrashed it everyday for 3 years and I sold it 2 months ago for $2100. I still see it driving around.
a-total-tool is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-05-2005, 03:35 PM   #29
xr8daz

AU XR8 sedan
full body kit
dual rear spoiler
5 speed
factory sunroof
one owner
Momo steering wheel
RWC + Reg
= $14000

gotta love working in a car yard.....
Daz
xr8daz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-05-2005, 05:02 PM   #30
rick'o
Car Slut

1957 3-tone Cusso. Bought in '88 for $1950.00. Mint condition.

HQ LS Monaro. Bought mid 90s for 2k. Again, mint.

FB Station Sedan with waggot tc head. Swapped for a guitar amp (although the car was later stolen by a c*nt I knew, but couldn't prove it ).

LC GTR mocked as an LJ XU-1. $2,500. Later crashed it and got nearly 6k in bits
rick'o is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post