You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 15-09-2020, 06:01 PM   #1
ozpacman

Default Grab your popcorn and pull up a chair!

What's this going to go for I wonder?

I love the sales pitch re previous owners.

https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotD...&pgn=3&pgs=100
ozpacman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2020, 06:07 PM   #2

Default Re: Grab your popcorn and pull up a chair!

GT with a 289?
Old 15-09-2020, 06:22 PM   #3
kypez

Originally Posted by Wretched View Post
GT with a 289?
It was used to transport it. Has the correct engine included. Suggests the correct engine needs work!
kypez is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2020, 06:23 PM   #4
ozrunner

You didn't read all the description

"Matching number engine included on a pallet.

The car has a 289 windsor and C4 Transmition installed so it could be driven from Victoria to QLD in 1992 for work commitments."
ozrunner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2020, 06:46 PM   #5

My bad d'oh.
Old 15-09-2020, 06:54 PM   #6
cheap
Wirlankarra yanama

Reading the description, and seems to be missing the section where they're prepared to pay someone to take it.
cheap is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2020, 07:10 PM   #7
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

The rivets on the compliance plate look new to me, maybe just my eyes or they were removed for storage previously.
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2020, 08:30 PM   #8
lra

Where are these barns that barn finds are found at.
But, really, if you go to any small town in Oz, you will find stuff just sitting out in the open, mostly neglected old cars that are in better condition than that Falcon, but not collectible. Old Holdens, Fords, Valiants, and English varieties are there for the fossicker.
Near Cordillo Downs (SA) a very surface rusted Austin A40, but the body was still solid.
At Eromanga (Qld), pulled up at the pub, and noticed a Fordson iron-wheeled tractor, and a Ford Prefect ute side by side in a scrapyard across the road. My father had the same when we were living on a sheep station when I was a little kid. My missus somehow just couldn't share my excited surprise and (bad) memories.
lra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2020, 09:55 PM   #9

Poor car, what an ignominious end for a piece of history.
Hopefully it gets restored and back on the road.
Old 15-09-2020, 10:45 PM   #10
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

Original donk is cactus, has a Holden spare parts oil filter on it..

Ed
Old 16-09-2020, 01:00 AM   #11
Streets

Current bid 30 grand. Everybody on eBay selling their back end of a demolished hardtop with a 40k reserve sweating right now
Streets is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2020, 05:54 AM   #12
is now there

Originally Posted by lra View Post
But, really, if you go to any small town in Oz, you will find stuff just sitting out in the open, mostly neglected old cars that are in better condition than that Falcon, but not collectible. Old Holdens, Fords, Valiants, and English varieties are there for the fossicker.
Near Cordillo Downs (SA) a very surface rusted Austin A40, but the body was still solid.
At Eromanga (Qld), pulled up at the pub, and noticed a Fordson iron-wheeled tractor, and a Ford Prefect ute side by side in a scrapyard across the road. My father had the same when we were living on a sheep station when I was a little kid. My missus somehow just couldn't share my excited surprise and (bad) memories.
Australia - cars near the ocean rust, cars away from the ocean not so much
Old 16-09-2020, 08:18 AM   #13

I've seen better stuff on farms around here outside. The barn is reserved for the Massey or John Deere.

Old 16-09-2020, 09:09 AM   #14
FairmontGS
WT GT

"Barn find"... Well I found the barn it was stored in

FairmontGS is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2020, 03:18 PM   #15
Vesper Martini

Looks like it was optioned with Bathurst Globes
Seadoo Challenger 210SE 310HP
Vesper Martini is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2020, 03:40 PM   #16
FairmontGS
WT GT

Originally Posted by Bevsta007 View Post
Looks like it was optioned with Bathurst Globes
Aftermarkets.
Old 16-09-2020, 04:07 PM   #17
tweeked
N/A all the way

"As with all vehicles sold in the Classic Car Division, they have been well looked after by their previous owners." Yeah, a cut and paste there.....

tweeked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2020, 04:15 PM   #18
Sprintey

It's an appealing and simple colour combo white/black inside, got books and original motor in deal - hopefully it finds someone skilled in all the rust work to bring it back from the brink.
Old 16-09-2020, 04:16 PM   #19
Sprintey

And perhaps better for price obtained if advertised with things like rats or chickens in the current market
Old 16-09-2020, 08:47 PM   #20
CyberWasp

I would bid for it but don't have enough money to buy the car and to build a chicken shed to store it in.
CyberWasp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2020, 09:24 PM   #21
Tassie f100

Looks better than the FC ute parked next to it
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2020, 09:27 PM   #22
Tassie f100

The black coupe on trade unique cars doesn’t look like a bad bit of gear
Old 17-09-2020, 06:44 PM   #23

https://www.australianmusclecarsales...hardtop-244203
Old 17-09-2020, 06:50 PM   #24
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

Crush it and put it out of its misery,.....

Nizpro equipped and Tuned by the BEST in the west
Xtreme Ford Tuning

479RwKw Fuel limited, more pumps and power too come.

F6#0507 & #0639 Pro racer and Tech expert

NIZPRO modifying falcons like Premcar can only dream of , see VIDEO below.
https://youtu.be/oa4IfguGQ-A
arronm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2020, 08:28 AM   #25

Like I mentioned earlier, there's better stuff sitting out in the paddocks around here.

Old 18-09-2020, 09:26 AM   #26
FairmontGS
WT GT

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
That's in sound nick under the rubbish paint job.

But $225k? What's a manual XA GT coupe in good condition worth? Maybe $175k? What's that black coupe going to cost to restore? Maybe $75 -$100k?

Doesn't make sense...
Old 18-09-2020, 02:22 PM   #27
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by FairmontGS View Post

But $225k? What's a manual XA GT coupe in good condition worth? Maybe $175k? What's that black coupe going to cost to restore? Maybe $75 -$100k?

Doesn't make sense...
Looks like it would be one of the easier restoration projects.doesn’t appear to have huge rust repairs,mainly smaller bits here and there,mainly around the boot,rear window and bottom of mudguards,bit of seat trimming and new hood lining.I reckon if you were to hit the engine bay with high pressure blaster most of the black would fall off.Be interesting to know why the radiator hoses and fan blades are off and appears that the A/C compressor is missing
Old 18-09-2020, 02:30 PM   #28
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

Originally Posted by lra View Post

Where are these barns? Driving through country Australia I've only ever seen sheds.

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2020, 02:46 PM   #29
lra

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
Where are these barns? Driving through country Australia I've only ever seen sheds.
Agree.
But the media has termed them 'barn finds', so that is what it is. The most obvious reason is 'globalisation'.
People who are not from Australia would not understand 'chook shed wreck'.
lra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2020, 03:27 PM   #30

Originally Posted by FairmontGS View Post

Doesn't make sense...
I'm blown away that somehow cause it's been ignored for 20 years, allowed to degrade and become a filthy mess, that somehow it makes it more valuable

It's absurd.