You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 12-10-2009, 10:54 PM   #1

Default Pics of your lawn!

Well people, I love grass, the stuff you grow in your front/back yard. In fact, I'm almost obsessed with having nice lawn. Here we have kikuyu, being a summer grass it tends to die off ( goes yellow) in the colder months and comes alive in summer ( mid-green colour). However this year I managed to create a potion of fertilizer / liquid that has brought mine back early from the dead. All the neighbours in the street seem a little interested in why I am the only one with grass that is green ( we all have kikuyu) without weeds and un-tidyness. So what does your lawn look like? Are you proud to have nice lawn, or do you have no time or interest in maintaining it?

Last edited by duaned; 12-10-2009 at 11:13 PM.
duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2009, 10:58 PM   #2

No pics here but I'd kill to have my lawn looking that good. 2 puppies and crap soil doesnt help though.
Old 12-10-2009, 11:01 PM   #3
bng

nice grass, looks awesome.
can we throw hellies on it?? haha
what do you do for a living??
bng is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2009, 11:01 PM   #4

good on OP rub it in why dont you. LOL
trying hard my lawn looks good but wont stop raining so i can mow it and spruce up.(love the smell of fresshh cut grass)
Old 12-10-2009, 11:09 PM   #5

Originally Posted by bng
nice grass, looks awesome.
can we throw hellies on it?? haha
what do you do for a living??
Self employed installing audio visual products, and TV antennas.
Old 12-10-2009, 11:15 PM   #6

That lawn looks like it needs some character...I'll send my wife up.

She really leaves an impression

Old 12-10-2009, 11:19 PM   #7

LOL, did she check the mailbox with round up on her soles?
Old 12-10-2009, 11:22 PM   #8

You're close (it's been posted a couple of times before now)... roundup on the driveway then go to move the sprinkler!
Old 12-10-2009, 11:50 PM   #9
Mark351
Built Ford Tough

With the rain in winter/early spring, our property has started to recover. Greeniest it's been for years abd this was after mowing for the second time in a month.

Mark351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2009, 11:53 PM   #10
EFPWR
B-Series Powered!

Originally Posted by GasOLane

Love it! By any chance does she go by the alias Mr Bean? :P

Last edited by Falcon Coupe; 14-10-2009 at 05:46 PM. Reason: Quoting pics on same page
EFPWR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-10-2009, 11:56 PM   #11
BOSS07UTE

i just ripped up my front yard so no pics there but if u wanna see some mad looking grass u should see the grass at the job site i'm on.........i'm taking it before i leave
BOSS07UTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-10-2009, 12:15 AM   #12

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Mine was mint, now its rooted, now im waiting to build a new house with some decent grass, and hopefully a decent scott bonnar mower!

That is some awesome grass, whats the secret??

And i like having a good lawn, i try and mow ours every week!

Last edited by Smoke Pursuit; 13-10-2009 at 12:25 AM.
Old 13-10-2009, 12:27 AM   #13

Nice maintained lawn mate, the key is the prep and ongoing maintenance of them. These days people are shrinking or getting rid of lawn but you can still have a top lawn with the correct prep.

If you deep rip, apply good soil, wetting agent, sub surface drip irrigation it will be good all year round. Too many people just throw on the soil & the seeds/instant turf and leave it.

If the lawn is healthier it will be deep rooted and get its own water deeper in the soil and be more resistant to drought and nasties. With a deep ripped soil and good organic stuff mixed in the roots will grow easier, compacted soil will make it hard.

If you have a water tank and pump hook up some dripline 450-500mm apart over the lawn about 40mm below the topsoil, it will do a better job and you will lose less water to evaporation. Fertilise every few months, plus add the odd application of seasol or a few tablespoons of molasses in water does the same trick.

We have done a few synthetic lawns this year, they come up looking great but not really a huge fan. They still need maintenance, cost a heap to install and they get quite hot during summer. Natural lawn actually decreases the temp of your backyard.

Enough Don Burke info from me anyway....
Old 13-10-2009, 12:30 AM   #14

working hard for the bowling look , not quite there yet
Old 13-10-2009, 12:32 AM   #15

double post
Old 13-10-2009, 12:39 AM   #16

Originally Posted by duaned
Well people, I love grass, the stuff you grow in your front/back yard. In fact, I'm almost obsessed with having nice lawn. Here we have kikuyu, being a summer grass it tends to die off ( goes yellow) in the colder months and comes alive in summer ( mid-green colour). However this year I managed to create a potion of fertilizer / liquid that has brought mine back early from the dead. All the neighbours in the street seem a little interested in why I am the only one with grass that is green ( we all have kikuyu) without weeds and un-tidyness. So what does your lawn look like? Are you proud to have nice lawn, or do you have no time or interest in maintaining it?

wow . i thought that was SIR WALTER - BUFFALO. thats the best looking KIKUYU, ive ever seen well done .

Last edited by Falcon Coupe; 14-10-2009 at 05:45 PM. Reason: Quoting pics on same page
Old 13-10-2009, 12:44 AM   #17
benoxr

However this year I managed to create a potion of fertilizer / liquid that has brought mine back early from the dead.
Looks good. Similar to mine just at the end of winter - early spring.
Mine is a male sterile Kikuya. Each October I dry fertilse it but shortly after patches of yellow appear and some of it in the past has almost died off because of the fertilsing. It all comes back good though. Have you found liquid to be a better choice? The fertilser I used this year is specifically for Kikuya, contained black beetle killer and seems better than those I used in the past, so far at least.
R.I.P. Jarrad 22/05/83 - 08/12/02
benoxr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-10-2009, 12:51 AM   #18
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Originally Posted by GasOLane

Lol, that's some 'BIG' footprints ! , looks like bigfoot walked through there with acid on his/her ! feet.

Hmmm, ok, So I sore those pics of the nice grass ( very nice ;) ), so I ran outside and snapped 3 pics of mine in the dark just now ( a tadd of it anyway )..lol, as I love my lawn too .. hehehe

:eclipsee_

Last edited by Falcon Coupe; 14-10-2009 at 05:47 PM. Reason: Quoting pics on same page
XR6-VCT-2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-10-2009, 12:57 AM   #19

ok . the comp is on . give me a couple of weeks , my pic here is a coupole of years old . i'm trying desperately to get my santa anna couch up to speed .
Old 13-10-2009, 01:19 AM   #20
benoxr

Originally Posted by gtfpv
ok . the comp is on . give me a couple of weeks , my pic here is a coupole of years old . i'm trying desperately to get my santa anna couch up to speed .
your on. Does this mean I wont get an answer now about what fertiliser's work better?
Old 13-10-2009, 08:53 AM   #21

I use a combination of solid and liquid fertilizers. I use the liquid one ( occasionally fish emulsion) at night after a warm day. The nitrogen in this stuff takes to the grass like a duck on water! I mix and match a combination of solid fertilizers, and only apply after some heavy rain. The next day I ensure it is watered in well.
I love my grass so much that I went to the effort in moving ( and changing) the letterbox so the postie doesn't ride his bike across the grass! Sad!
Old 13-10-2009, 08:56 AM   #22

Originally Posted by XR6-VCT-2000
Lol, that's some 'BIG' footprints ! , looks like bigfoot walked through there with acid on his/her ! feet.

Hmmm, ok, So I sore those pics of the nice grass ( very nice ;) ), so I ran outside and snapped 3 pics of mine in the dark just now ( a tadd of it anyway )..lol, as I love my lawn too .. hehehe
Very nice, that looks like a winter grass. What type is it?

Last edited by Falcon Coupe; 14-10-2009 at 05:47 PM.
Old 13-10-2009, 10:59 AM   #23

What do you do for the weeds? Our Kikuyu is starting to fight back now after a bit of rain, but there is still a heap of weeds mixed in, even after a feed 'n' weed.
Just did small coring and top dress, so it's a bit muddy at the moment.
Old 13-10-2009, 02:42 PM   #24
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

The grass seed I use comes in either 5kg or 25kg sacks and is made by / called 'Valley Seeds' . It's an all year round grass that is a pre-mixed combination of around 7 different kinds of grass seeds. cheers.

:eclipsee_
XR6-VCT-2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-10-2009, 02:51 PM   #25
divine_afg
Extreme_Custom

My backyard is going through a make over atm
would post some pics soon-ish
divine_afg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-10-2009, 08:12 PM   #26
fordOwner

I cant hold back.. Im going to blow you all away with pics of my lawn!! :
Im a Turf Manager at Kings Park and Botanical Gardens here in Perth, and im going to strip them up on Friday and show them off to ya's.

Click here to see my ute
fordOwner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-10-2009, 08:47 PM   #27
benoxr

Originally Posted by fordOwner
I cant hold back.. Im going to blow you all away with pics of my lawn!! :
Im a Turf Manager at Kings Park and Botanical Gardens here in Perth, and im going to strip them up on Friday and show them off to ya's.
Now come on, no driving around the neighbourhood taking photos of others' lawns.
Old 13-10-2009, 08:52 PM   #28
benoxr

Originally Posted by sgt_doofey
What do you do for the weeds? Our Kikuyu is starting to fight back now after a bit of rain, but there is still a heap of weeds mixed in, even after a feed 'n' weed.
Just did small coring and top dress, so it's a bit muddy at the moment.
When the kikuya is healthy and thick, you wouldnt have to worry about too many weeds so I guess what to do about the weeds is promote a healthy grass and let the grass take care of the weeds. I used that feed'n'weed years ago and found it gave me many more weeds than before I used it. Used it on 2 occasions then scrapped that idea.
Old 13-10-2009, 09:00 PM   #29

My lawn died out front due to the drought and me having zero idea :hihi: Now the clover has come and it looks mostly all green. Which is good, because we had the scarab beetle and that pretty much finished off the lawn. Apparently the beetle doesn't like clover so the longer it's there the more it spreads and gives us the appearance of lawn.
Old 13-10-2009, 10:09 PM   #30

I use a combination of solid and liquid fertilizers. I use the liquid one ( occasionally fish emulsion) at night after a warm day. The nitrogen in this stuff takes to the grass like a duck on water! I mix and match a combination of solid fertilizers, and only apply after some heavy rain. The next day I ensure it is watered in well.
I love my grass so much that I went to the effort in moving ( and changing) the letterbox so the postie doesn't ride his bike across the grass! Sad!

hahaha LOL Theres a few people like that in my street . have tape around the footpath almost 24 / 7 . the bloke across the road has 1 wife , 4 daughters, 1 ex wife and 2 daughters from that marriage . he is always out the front looking after his immaculate lawn . we think he has a name for every blade of his BUFFALLO grass . he either loves his grass or is trying to get some time out from the 8 women in his life .